Dublin 4-27 v 0-02 Carlow

Lads what a win for Dublin, But i'm going to focus on Carlow here, Thats a rotten defeat

I would expect that in a drubbing like that in a hurling match maybe but football ?

.. 31 scores conceeded , Thats one every two minutes basically (Consider the time the ball is in play and that figure is probably one every 80 or 90 seconds and Dublin hit some wides too) . People will say Dublin have a bigger population therefore they have more young fellas to choose from, Or they have a better under age structure than Carlow etc but come on , You can dress it up any way you like, At the end of the day when you go on to the pitch its 15 v 15. Surely basic defending skills should be enough to make sure your not on the end of a hiding like that.

How can a team be beaten so bad. 10 or 15 points is a woeful defeat , But 37 ? I genuinely feel for Carlow looking at that result. It's one of absolute despair. For lads so young too. Where do Carlow go from here ? Is it simply a case that this Dublin team are just one of the better U21 sides we've seen ? Or is Carlow football in even deeper trouble in the future ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 20/02/2013 10:08:46    1336472

Weve had strong u21 sides the last few years.

Last year we beat wicklow and the year before we made the semifinal running wexford close.

A lot of the strong players were overage this year.

Having said that, the result is very poor and reflects poor preparation this year.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1541 - 20/02/2013 10:16:58    1336485

A beating like that suggests something very strange is going on in Carlow.
Great win for Dublin though.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 20/02/2013 10:23:06    1336491

Carlovia

It's very disheartening all the same for the lads who went out there. As i said with the ball in play you basically conceeded a score every 70 or 80 seconds. Then you take into account the wides too and it just ... It looks grim doesnt it ?

I feel the Carlow footballers have been making in roads from underage, As you said a good win against Wicklow last year and ran Wexford close and hopefully some of them lads make it to play for the seniors (I know some did when we went to Carlow in january) and bring Carlow football forward. Its just sad to see the difference in class between the two sides last night.

Shooting practise for Dublin (Without meaning any disrespect to the Carlow fans here/players) will have done them no good moving on (Nailed on for Leinster anyway nobody will stop them) and talk about demoralizing for the youngfellas from Carlow. I just hope it doesnt affect them too badly .. I'm sure they are better than they showed last night

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 20/02/2013 10:25:46    1336493

I would not worry too much if I was Carlow,Kildare and Meath have strong under 21 teams,but one of them will end up get a serious beaten by Dublin

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 20/02/2013 10:26:06    1336494

I would not worry too much if I was Carlow,Kildare and Meath have strong under 21 teams,but one of them will end up get a serious beaten by Dublin

______

Yeah i agree. No-one in Leinster will stop this Dublin U21 team. They're exceptional !!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 20/02/2013 10:32:03    1336499

Obviously this kind of result does noone any good. Carlow probably knew they were facing a juggernaut & didn't prepare well knowing they had no chance. All I can say is that they won't get it all their own in the next round against Longford!

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 20/02/2013 10:53:24    1336508

Firstly congrats to our own boys savage win. Secondly not nice to see any team get a battering like that must be awfull for carlow lads. Seen yesterday the bookie,s had them at a handicap off something like -16 something was,nt right. In saying that sometimes in situation likes this it makes a team step up and makes them stronger as a unit. Hopefully the carlow lads can move on from this and it does,nt set them back anymore...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 20/02/2013 10:57:45    1336511

Wow wow wow cool the jets there Waynol Kildare have a very good U 21 team nothing is won yet, our defence could struggle against a very good Kildare forward line. You never know with underage teams sometimes the favourites just don't do it on the big days (Dublin v Tipp minor final springs to mind).

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/02/2013 11:03:38    1336515

ClkDub - Your some man to be tellin me to cool the expectations , Cant win with you ;)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 20/02/2013 11:10:47    1336520

keeper7
County: Longford

Obviously this kind of result does noone any good. Carlow probably knew they were facing a juggernaut & didn't prepare well knowing they had no chance. All I can say is that they won't get it all their own in the next round against Longford!

I disagree, I think this does us the power of good! It shows not just a will to win, but a ruthlessness that can only be good for Dublin football.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 20/02/2013 11:11:13    1336523

Floops that ruthlesness wasnt much good to us a few years back when we were humiliating the Wexfords and Laois's of this world only to get our arses handed to us by Kerry and Tyrone!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 20/02/2013 11:20:52    1336529

A beating like that suggests something very strange is going on in Carlow.

Yeah, Rag week...

Seriously though, this age group between Kildare and Dublin had some fantastic battles at minor. If Kildare get that far (which is obviously a big if) I don't think we'd get hammered.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 20/02/2013 11:25:12    1336532

I can't fathom a result like that, they should never have been pitted against each - some grading system or lack of. No one gets anything out of that kind of match, can't blame the lads - with county teams you can't take off players doing the damage as the ones coming on are even more hungry to impress.

Shocking

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4955 - 20/02/2013 11:26:45    1336534

That was then, this is now. Are you telling me not to be optimistic Liam? Or are you telling me to hide my optimism?

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 20/02/2013 11:27:14    1336535

Floops
be respectful of history, dont count your chickens and be humble
Sure the signs are good and we cant say otherwise, but nothing is certain, nothing.
All the Meaths of this world need is a decent manager and 10 decent footballers and we could be right back to the 90's all over again
Underage is nothing comopared to senior
Colm Coyle never kicked a ball at underage for Meath, Ricey McMenamin the same for Tyrone, and they did alright!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 20/02/2013 11:32:14    1336538

I don't need a history lesson Liam. Anyway I'm not the one making predictions of how many Senior All irelands we're going to win - you are! I;m just enjoying this result, It would be disrespecting of Carlow not to.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 20/02/2013 11:40:06    1336540

I think the amount of money Dublin are getting will again be highlighted

they have a huge advantage in terms of funding compared to other counties for underage development.

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1903 - 20/02/2013 11:45:20    1336544

Until Dublin turn the underage success into regular Senior All-Irelands then this kind of talk is futile. If that does happen then more luck to the Dubs.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 20/02/2013 11:45:53    1336545

ok floops my bad
i suppose its my innate pessimism and the years and years of hurt that have built up a mistrust within me of optimistic Dublin fans !!!
When i see people adulating us and prophesying that we are going to be the dominant force for a few years etc etc I view it with skepticism and mistrust.
I don't believe for one second that there is a single culchie in Ireland believes that this will be the case
There are ulterior motives all over the place and I dont want Dubs like us falling into the trap laid by the Sedicos and Muckross's of this world!!!
They only lay it so that if and when we fail, they can come back and kick us when we are down.

Sure things are looking good and Dublin GAA is a in a great place right now, but things can change very quickly, and we would do wel to remember that.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 20/02/2013 11:49:17    1336550