The GAA has put a lot of resources into Dublin over the past decade and they are starting to see the fruition of that now BUT let's not get carried away. I still say Dublin didn't convincingly win their most recent All Ireland, it was more that Kerry threw it away and until Dublin win it back to back or win several like Kerry and Tyrone did then most of this is hot air. It is a good thing for the GAA to have a healthy Dublin side; economically, atmospherically and all round general interest the GAA wins. However they won't dominate it; Kerry, Cork, Donegal, Tyrone etc won't all go down the tubes at the same time.
Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9840 - 20/02/2013 13:49:49
i have made the point before that leinster under age g a a will face a major problem in coming years in that dublin are going to domanate under age and this will distroy the games in provence [ not dublins fault, credit them for getting house in order]
Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 3065 - 20/02/2013 13:59:12
Too early to say, just because players X, Y and Z are the best underage players in the country doesn't mean they'll turn into top players at senior level when they develop. It does look very good for us though, players like Kilkenny, McCaffrey, Costello and O'Congaile were all outstanding players at minor and u21 and are already breaking into the seniors at such a young age, but definately too soon to predict a golden era.
CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 20/02/2013 14:01:02
if_in_doubt County: Kildare Posts: 1677
1336620 Dublin Golden Era - about to begin
Really it began a few years ago when structures were finally put in place to help maximise the size of the potential player pool and the talent available.
Years of focusing on getting things right at underage level; by underage level I don't necessarily mean minor and under 21, I'm talking developments squads at under 14 and under 16 level and nursery programmes in clubs is bearing fruit.
They didn't pluck the talent they have at the minor and under 21 grades out of nothing. It was always there, it just took a bit of time for it to be nurtured and developed effectively.
Football became more popular and probably more importantly so did hurling. GAA is the cool sport in Dublin now, it used to be football; Italia '90 and the wave of support that followed, and for a while it looked like rugby was the sport to be associated with, but now, and over the next decade or so at least, it's going to be Gaelic games.
Nothings ever certain in sport. And underage success will never guarantee senior All Irelands.
It definitely puts them in a stronger position than the rest of us though.
wouldn agree that soccer was the cool sport after italia 90 maybe for a year but i know growing up as a kid at that time the dublin v meath 91 saga captured most young kids attentions and support levels for the dublin footballers has always been there in the 90tys and actualy peaked from 2002-2009 as probably the largest attendance figures in gaa history,the recession obviously took its tole on the drop in supporters since like it has in every county or sport in ireland so its kind of hard to gauge at the present day if the money was still there would the full house signs be still up for leinster championship games like it was in that period or would the fact that we have dominated leinster for so long have seen inteest drop in them games anyway?.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/02/2013 16:00:13
Dublin aren't the only team doing well at under-age level though. Other counties are prominent at these levels and do well.
geoff (Tyrone) - Posts: 377 - 20/02/2013 16:00:33
Of course its a brilliant prospect that GAA could become the big sport in Dublin.
Having lived there for 7 years & worked there for 40 I know that huge sections had no interest in GAA and in fact among a lot of the soccer & rugger bods there was an antagonism and bitterness.
I played soccer & rugby there and was often shocked by the attitudes I was met with. Soccer lads would slag u for playing/supporting GAA and rugby jheads would just look down on you from the great heights of their arrogance ( bit like RD) . To know that the children/grandchildren of many of those now play GAA is a real change for the better.
Now Dublin becoming so strong and nurturing their talent base will be a problem for the rest of us but sure isn't that a challenge to relish.
KELF (Kildare) - Posts: 775 - 20/02/2013 19:58:51
I wish Dublin nothing but the best & congratulate them for the way they are organising at under age which will I'm sure bring All Irelands in years to come.
Speaking as an unreformed culchie, a date with the Dubs is a special one in our calendar & to tell you the truth I was a teeny bit disappointed that they did not make the final as that would have been some occasion.
Dublin & Kerry have a mystique about them that makes them both the teams to beat irrespective of how they are doing & I for one am looking forward to the Dubs visit here in the last game of the league.
As for their supporters...............
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 20/02/2013 20:08:32
.....you love us muckross!!:)
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 20/02/2013 20:13:31
Typical , Dublin dismantle an under-prepared Carlow and already everyones ( not pointing at the dubs ) saying how great they are !
In fact 3 All-Irelands since the 80's prove that even with the success at underage , it does'nt always count ; Despite keeping in mind their domination in Leinster .
Its almost that when theres a recession , Dublin does better ! ( success during the 70's ...... )
M.Simoncelli (Meath) - Posts: 126 - 20/02/2013 20:57:56
20/02/2013 20:57:56 M.Simoncelli County: Meath Posts: 67
1336964 Typical , Dublin dismantle an under-prepared Carlow and already everyones ( not pointing at the dubs ) saying how great they are !
In fact 3 All-Irelands since the 80's prove that even with the success at underage , it does'nt always count ; Despite keeping in mind their domination in Leinster .
Its almost that when theres a recession , Dublin does better ! ( success during the 70's ...... )
at last someone speaking some sense! Thank you my meath friend, Now I would wish to god some of that common sense would rub of the conscious of the west, the master from Mayo. So while these guys are stocking up on the baked beans because the big bad Golden era of the dubs is coming the rest of us will see just how it plays out. Underage success does not guarantee senior success.
bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 20/02/2013 21:13:49
It it does happen, you can be sure there will be very vocal calls for Dublin to be split in two.
Drummerboy (Dublin) - Posts: 85 - 20/02/2013 21:24:25
20/02/2013 21:24:25 Drummerboy County: Dublin Posts: 23
1336982 It it does happen, you can be sure there will be very vocal calls for Dublin to be split in two.
And you know, segregation doesn't work! It will never happen in a million years. Definitely not at senior level anyway.
bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 20/02/2013 21:31:41
bluedubstar Now I would wish to god some of that common sense would rub of the conscious of the west, the master from Mayo.
Such an infatuation, I wasnt even on this thread. On the contrary bluestardub, I am fully aware that underage success doesnt guarantee success. However, that doesnt mean we ignore what teams are doing to try to get that success. Just like man city spent a fortune and will win nothing this year, dublin have been doing the same for a long time. However, the fact that city arent winning the league doesnt mean that the fair play rules are going to be discarded does it? Money doesnt guarantee success, but it helps, a whole lot.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 21/02/2013 10:26:33
Floops County: Dublin Posts: 1067
1336531 All bow before us! We are unstoppable!
Dublin must be praised for the work they have done underage and have some great teams at the minute. A strong Dublin team is only good for the GAA as it brings a greater level of interest to the GAA and also teams will always raise there game playing the Dubs in Croke park. However comments like above will only lead people to think there is a arrogance about all Dublin fans and players when it is only the minority like every county, but the Dubs seem to come in for more stick about it. I would never begrudge Dublin an All Ireland and hope we get a few days playing Dublin in the latter stages of the championship.
ballaghmen (Mayo) - Posts: 318 - 21/02/2013 10:30:35
MesAmis County: Dublin Posts: 5344
1336471 Culchie hype machine in full flow.
Why do we have to put up with this nonsense any time we win a game? We played Carlow in an U21 match and we have to listen to same auld bull.
Strange not so long ago there was a thread saying how culichies all hated Dublin...
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 21/02/2013 10:57:52
21/02/2013 10:26:33 TheMaster County: Mayo Posts: 5904
1337037 bluedubstar Now I would wish to god some of that common sense would rub of the conscious of the west, the master from Mayo.
Such an infatuation, I wasnt even on this thread. On the contrary bluestardub, I am fully aware that underage success doesnt guarantee success. However, that doesnt mean we ignore what teams are doing to try to get that success. Just like man city spent a fortune and will win nothing this year, dublin have been doing the same for a long time. However, the fact that city arent winning the league doesnt mean that the fair play rules are going to be discarded does it? Money doesnt guarantee success, but it helps, a whole lot.
No infatuation there Master, would rather stick pins in my eyes! More of referencing this to the other thread where your own 'infatuation" on Dublin and its sponsorship and the unfairness to other counties.
We could go on forever about 'unfairness' but then we could also reference how unfair it is that Mayo has jumped right up the list of grants from the National Lottery etc. And if one was to dig a lot deeper I am sure there are other cases where letters of representation and lobbying to the the countries head honcho are favoured over other counties ( who btw is a Mayo ;) This would also seem unfair to other counties.
In my opinion, Dublin have got their house in order, more so than any other time in our GAA history. We have done so after limited success over a thirty year span. We done it with extraordinary people, a dedicated grass roots, we are seeing the benefits of this. So in return if we spend a fortune developing the players to the best of their abilities, well thats our business.
bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 21/02/2013 11:04:22
21/02/2013 10:57:52 moomoo County: Kerry Posts: 2656
1337053 MesAmis County: Dublin Posts: 5344
Why do we have to put up with this nonsense any time we win a game? We played Carlow in an U21 match and we have to listen to same auld bull.
Strange not so long ago there was a thread saying how culichies all hated Dublin...
An I bet you have that entire thread posted on wall. Makes you sleep better at night.
bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 21/02/2013 11:08:57
Ballaghmen, I appreciate your point, but I think you might have misunderstood Floops point.....he was being sarcastic....he was playing the sterotypical role given to us by Master, MooMoo and the like It was just Floops being....smart....if you get me?
Master, if Dublin are making that money themselves thru their hard work and dedication to the cause, and its all our own generated revenue, then is it not ours to do so as we wish?? If we raise the money thru the rising popularity of the games in the city, which is a result of the Co Boards own hard work, then what business is it of yours or anyone elses how we spend it?
The Co Board have done savage work promoting the GAA in Dublin, they have made it the No 1 sport in the city. And in doing so they have raked in a small fortune, it is 100% up to them what they do with it.
If a fella wins in the lotto, do you expect him not to spend it so as not to upset the neighbours????
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 21/02/2013 11:13:58
bluedubstar County: Dublin Posts: 415
1337060 21/02/2013 10:57:52 moomoo County: Kerry Posts: 2656
1337053 MesAmis County: Dublin Posts: 5344
An I bet you have that entire thread posted on wall. Makes you sleep better at night.
Like how claiming all culichies hate Dublin wile at the same time claiming they hype Dublin up helps you sleep better?
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 21/02/2013 11:31:35
Master, if Dublin are making that money themselves thru their hard work and dedication to the cause, and its all our own generated revenue, then is it not ours to do so as we wish??
Couldnt roman abramovich make the same point? Couldnt the shiek at city or PSG make it also? They made their money, they can spend it how they like, right? Yet financial fair play is still coming in. Doesnt that tell you anything? You make the point about winning the lotto, but the difference it that when the money is being spent on a sporting team who have to compete against other sporting teams who maybe cant raise a penny, the question of fairness of competition comes into the equation. Also, surely those who give money to the gaa want to see the gaa prosper? And not just their own team with everyone else falling by the wayside. We see such praise being aimed at the bundisliga because of their control on financial equality, while we see scorn poured on la liga and the EPL. Surely we should be looking to do the same in the gaa? Or does your opinion change when you have a vested interest? 'Make it fair unless my team is involved' That doesnt sound right does it?
Also, this notion of 'hard work and dedication is something that isnt accurate. The money was made through superior numbers. The average supporter in dublin isnt giving any more the average supporter in kerry or sligo or anywhere else.
bluedubstar, dublin got their house in order? You say that like the rest of us can follow suit. Nobody has the numbers to do that. The rest of us are going into debt trying to stay competitive. What is your alternative? Give up on being competitive?
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 21/02/2013 11:44:59