22/02/2013 11:30:15 brendtheredhand Ormond, the 1980s was a golden era for Irish middle and long distance running, Coughlan, Treacy, Flynn, O'Sullivan, O'Meara, they could all compete with the best before the Africans decided that they could run after all! (You will note that Kiernan does not feature on that list) Middle distance yes but not really long distance. Kiernan wasnt anything to Coughlan, Treacy but was still good enough to make top 10 in marathon in an olympic games.
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 22/02/2013 11:49:05
And not one olympic gold medal among the lot of them...
Fat Boy (Cavan) - Posts: 372 - 22/02/2013 12:17:07
Well Tinrylandman. How long would it take one of your top sprinters to run 100meters if they stopped and started 4 times?
dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 22/02/2013 12:25:11
while race walking is a hugely difficult discipline and we have had some success it's not exactly a mass participation event. Boxing is the obvious sport to put funds into as it has many positives to society and not just in Olympic year. funding or lack of is going to be an issue for the foreseeable future so I can't see the government ploughing money into any sport in the hope of bring home medals. Its great to see any Irish sports person doing well on the world stage and it's not all about medals. the late 70's and early 80's saw a good deal of relative success from the mile, cross country and up to marathon and for the record I'd have a lot of time for athletics in general
lillyboy (Kildare) - Posts: 429 - 22/02/2013 12:28:58
Tinryland you are making some very uninformed statements there. Pls back up your ridiculous statement regarding 80% of clubs and counties being in debt. Also what has expenses got to do with anything? The drug testing commission have stated that there is no issue with GAA so dont be introducing red herrings. Maybe ye should concentrate on getting your own house in order rather than your silly rantings about GAA.
pennypincher (Carlow) - Posts: 777 - 22/02/2013 12:29:11
Fat Boy County: Cavan Posts: 289
1337727 And not one olympic gold medal among the lot of them... __________________ Sadly true Fat Boy!
brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 22/02/2013 12:36:57
pennypincher County: Carlow Posts: 394
1337740 Tinryland you are making some very uninformed statements there. Pls back up your ridiculous statement regarding 80% of clubs and counties being in debt. Also what has expenses got to do with anything? The drug testing commission have stated that there is no issue with GAA so dont be introducing red herrings. Maybe ye should concentrate on getting your own house in order rather than your silly rantings about GAA. ________________________ We can't even be sure from what standpoint he is coming from other than on a wind up, not a very good one at that given the statistical approach he has decided to take and the fact that it can be stripped bare with minimal effort.
brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 22/02/2013 12:40:26
Correction Fat Boy, stupidly I forgot to mention John Treacys memorable silver in the 1984 marathon, but your point still stands up to scrutiny.
brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 22/02/2013 12:42:21
I think Kerry people who participate in other sports are envious of the attention the Gaelic footballers receive in the county. JJ Hanaran who plays for Munster is also is from Kerry posted this statement on a article by Brian o Connor titled 'Elite GAA players give everything for nothing'. JJ said " In the real world there is a word for someone who works like a dog for nothing, that is #Gobshite". This tells me one thing about JJ, that if he is playing Rugby just to get payed he will not become successful to the highest level. You play a certain sport because you love it, not for financial reasons.
ballaghmen (Mayo) - Posts: 318 - 23/02/2013 15:38:14
23/02/2013 15:38:14 ballaghmen I think Kerry people who participate in other sports are envious of the attention the Gaelic footballers receive in the county. JJ Hanaran who plays for Munster is also is from Kerry posted this statement on a article by Brian o Connor titled 'Elite GAA players give everything for nothing'. JJ said " In the real world there is a word for someone who works like a dog for nothing, that is #Gobshite". This tells me one thing about JJ, that if he is playing Rugby just to get payed he will not become successful to the highest level. You play a certain sport because you love it, not for financial reasons. Well when their achievements are not backed to anything near as much as they should in their native county than yes theyre right to be a slight bit envious. JJ was one of the top under 20 players in the world last year yet didnt get half the recognition he should have Do you have a link to an article where JJ said that? He isnt playing rugby to be paid(sic). He is playing rugby because he loves it. All players do. They wouldnt work as hard if they didnt love it
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 23/02/2013 17:50:13
Judging from JJs comments (if he did say that about working like a dog for nothing) we can see that while the celtic tiger may be dead,the mentality that spawned it is alive and well.Never mind him.Hell probably have cauliflower ears,two bad knees and a busted up shoulder area by the time hes forty. On the fitness thing,I dont think that Gaa players are as fit as we think they are. Joe Brolly mentioned before last years AIF that there is a finite level of fitness one can reach,implying that the Donegal lads were as fit as a man can possibly be.Slight exaggeration there Joe.I would say that when you factor in a forty hour work week,Gaa players are among the hardest working sportspeople in the world (and that is NOT an exaggeration)
joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 23/02/2013 18:55:36
The more I read these posts lads the more revealing is the world inhabited by a sizeable number of ye and he more convinced I am of what I said before...cloistered little world lads, cloistered little world...! I pity ye!
Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 23/02/2013 19:32:38
23/02/2013 18:55:36 joncarter Judging from JJs comments (if he did say that about working like a dog for nothing) we can see that while the celtic tiger may be dead,the mentality that spawned it is alive and well.Never mind him.Hell probably have cauliflower ears,two bad knees and a busted up shoulder area by the time hes forty. On the fitness thing,I dont think that Gaa players are as fit as we think they are. Joe Brolly mentioned before last years AIF that there is a finite level of fitness one can reach,implying that the Donegal lads were as fit as a man can possibly be.Slight exaggeration there Joe.I would say that when you factor in a forty hour work week,Gaa players are among the hardest working sportspeople in the world (and that is NOT an exaggeration) I presume youre taking the piss but in case you are not how will he "probably have cauliflower ears, two bad knees and a busted up shoulder area by the time hes forty"????
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 23/02/2013 19:41:51
ormondbannerman County: Clare Posts: 3857
1338261 23/02/2013 15:38:14 ballaghmen I think Kerry people who participate in other sports are envious of the attention the Gaelic footballers receive in the county. JJ Hanaran who plays for Munster is also is from Kerry posted this statement on a article by Brian o Connor titled 'Elite GAA players give everything for nothing'. JJ said " In the real world there is a word for someone who works like a dog for nothing, that is #Gobshite". This tells me one thing about JJ, that if he is playing Rugby just to get payed he will not become successful to the highest level. You play a certain sport because you love it, not for financial reasons. Well when their achievements are not backed to anything near as much as they should in their native county than yes theyre right to be a slight bit envious. JJ was one of the top under 20 players in the world last year yet didnt get half the recognition he should have Do you have a link to an article where JJ said that? He isnt playing rugby to be paid(sic). He is playing rugby because he loves it. All players do. They wouldnt work as hard if they didnt love it
you could say the same about gaa in our national media for its popularity and size it gets a tiny percentage of national media compared to foreign sports. i dont think you can honestly say all players are playing rugby becuase they love it,why are so many new zealanders coming here and to france ahead of playing in their own country,also why is johnny sexton going to play for a french club too? surely he is already playing for the best province in europe in the last 5 years do you not think he is moving for money?
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/02/2013 21:51:04
Ormond bannerman Pro sports by their very nature are played for money. You think that Zebo or Sweatnam would be playing Rugby if it was amateur. They would both be playing for Cork most likely. But they choose to have a career in rugby for the financial rewards... simple as. Oh yeah will you explain Sextons move while youre at it.
pennypincher (Carlow) - Posts: 777 - 25/02/2013 09:50:40
Re JJ Hanaran Munster rugby player and his #Gobshite" comment, I find once the debate sinks to name calling that side of the argument is already lost. Its just envy and there is alot of it about. For instance has anyone noticed the RTE add re paying your TV licence "one way not to do it is using a GAA commentators voice" What is that about?
mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 25/02/2013 12:21:51
24/02/2013 21:51:04 hill16no1man you could say the same about gaa in our national media for its popularity and size it gets a tiny percentage of national media compared to foreign sports. i dont think you can honestly say all players are playing rugby becuase they love it,why are so many new zealanders coming here and to france ahead of playing in their own country,also why is johnny sexton going to play for a french club too? surely he is already playing for the best province in europe in the last 5 years do you not think he is moving for money? Look at the indo today. There was 9 pages on rugby, 8 i think on hurling/g football and 12 on soccer. That is great for GAA considering its season is only starting up while rugby and soccers seasons are on the way to the end of the season. Yes i would say nearly all pro rugby players are playing because they love it. You wouldnt play a sport where 1 injury could end your career becuase you are only in it for the money. So many new zealanders are coming here as they want life security and if they stayed in new zealand mightnt get enough games if they are in their 30s as younger options would be picked. Jonny is gone to france as he wants pay security. He was earning fairly low money until around 2008/2009 and will still need to work after he retires from playing.
25/02/2013 09:50:40 pennypincher Ormondbannerman Pro sports by their very nature are played for money. You think that Zebo or Sweatnam would be playing Rugby if it was amateur. They would both be playing for Cork most likely. But they choose to have a career in rugby for the financial rewards... simple as. Oh yeah will you explain Sextons move while youre at it. Yes in pro sports money plays a role but if it was such a big role wouldnt many more irish players be playing outside of ireland in england/france where wages are that much higher. Most chose to play their entire career in Ireland where wages are lower than in some other countrys. Yes i do think Zebo and Sweetnam would be playing rugby it it was amatuer. They would be playing for their club and whatever other team they would be elgible for. Pro Sport is only for a short time of peoples lives so players are entitled to get what they can out of it as playing careers end when players are 35/36 if they are lucky and they have to make enough money to live. Most pro rugby players have to get jobs after rugby as they dont earn enough to live off their rugby earnings. Only superstars like o driscoll will be lucky enough not to have to work full time after he finishes playing rugby
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 25/02/2013 18:56:44
ormond
gaa is the biggest of them sports and recieves lowest pages whats good about that? the irish soccer season is only starting!! life security is that your fancy term for they are coming here because they get better money? the same with sexton you say again pay security? you mean more money really just admit it why else would he leave his own local team which has been the most succesful team in europe overt he last number of years to go to a weaker team if he loved the game more then the money?
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/02/2013 11:02:31
26/02/2013 11:02:31 hill16no1man ormond, gaa is the biggest of them sports and recieves lowest pages whats good about that? the irish soccer season is only starting!! life security is that your fancy term for they are coming here because they get better money? the same with sexton you say again pay security? you mean more money really just admit it why else would he leave his own local team which has been the most succesful team in europe overt he last number of years to go to a weaker team if he loved the game more then the money? You know full well that all the pages on soccer were on the leagues in england, spain etc not ireland. Life Security is not fancy term at all. Rugby careers are at max 12 years so players have to get what they can as a career is not life long and they need to live. Yes money is an issue but to be fair if you were asked to move to another similar company and would be paid 30-40% higher in the new role you wouldnt move. Yes he loves the game more than the money but he has to think clever about his future.
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 26/02/2013 11:29:22
ormondbannerman County: Clare Posts: 3880
1339277 26/02/2013 11:02:31 hill16no1man ormond, gaa is the biggest of them sports and recieves lowest pages whats good about that? the irish soccer season is only starting!! life security is that your fancy term for they are coming here because they get better money? the same with sexton you say again pay security? you mean more money really just admit it why else would he leave his own local team which has been the most succesful team in europe overt he last number of years to go to a weaker team if he loved the game more then the money? You know full well that all the pages on soccer were on the leagues in england, spain etc not ireland. Life Security is not fancy term at all. Rugby careers are at max 12 years so players have to get what they can as a career is not life long and they need to live. Yes money is an issue but to be fair if you were asked to move to another similar company and would be paid 30-40% higher in the new role you wouldnt move. Yes he loves the game more than the money but he has to think clever about his future.
thats not irish news then so you feel that british sport should get more pages then the top irish sport? your basicaly admitting he is going for money as you refer to a company and what does a company run on MONEY!!! Sport is not supposed to be a buisness and if you really believe players love the game more then the money you would surely could not justify sexton moving from the most succesful rugby team which is also his local team to a weaker rugby team in another country just becuase he is getting more money
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/02/2013 21:07:45