Jerry Kiernan's comments

19/02/2013 19:06:44
arock
Chamney's contention speaking from sun drenched Sporting rich Spain (but bankrupt Spain) "There's no GAA in Spain to fill people's head with foolish ideas" what foolish idea's do the GAA feed? Its his sport that is total pathetic, it is toxic and devoid of morality. It is he and his like that walk around with their heads full of foolish idea's - their own deluded expensive ones, he should get a begging bowl like the rest of us.

The GAA relies on massive volunteering to survive and to fundraise. Every damn juvenile team the lenght and breath of the country don't get hand-outs they GRAFT for it. And then then we who contribute have to listen to this offensive tripe from another crop of no-hoper Irish athletes. Grafting is not something this professional freeloader and his athletic croonies would dream of doing. Go away money won't make you and your like run faster!!
This state as a nation is on its last uppers so we should indulge a bunch of no-hope'ers full of pipe dreams? I say screw them no funding, give it to schools and athletic clubs - let these chancer's and annual failures get out there and sell their dream, if they can find any eejit willing to invest in it so be it.

Pathetic post Arock
Athletics as a sport most certainly is not totally pathetic nor is it toxic or devoid of foolish ideas.
All sports rely on massive volunteering to survive and fundraise,
Grafting is something all athletes do if you knew what you were talking about rather than talking shite.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 19/02/2013 21:59:14    1336417

This thread is proving Kiernan right , posters like Arock and Hill16 do live in a cloistered world and have no idea of the graft and hard work that athletes put in , most Irish athletes competing at national level would put GAA players to shame with the training , dedication and work ethic .

tinrylandman (Carlow) - Posts: 387 - 20/02/2013 09:56:24    1336460

Tinrylandman I don't think you are comparing like with like, I'm sure if you compare athletes competing at national level (who would be the pick of the crop) with say Donegal, Mayo or Dublin players you would find very little difference in their fitness levels, ignoring of course they are completely different disciplines.

OntheWhiteSide (Kildare) - Posts: 452 - 20/02/2013 10:06:20    1336470

hill16no1man

i agree yes its a competition when racing against somebody in a skill set regarding sports you would have to agree you do not need a sporting brain to take up running or compete in the marathon.yes i also agree its exactly what you teach people that fitness does not mean you have to be sporty.
haha and no i have ncehs qulaifications

What would qualify as a sporting brain though?

To just go jogging casually and not in a sporting sense you won't need the mental preparation and mental toughness that competitive athletes need to succeed no. But the same could be said of anybody engaging in sport and not doing so at a high level couldn't it?

To actually run a marathon you're talking about serious levels of mental toughness, determination and focus, as well as a lot of self discipline. Factors which would be common amongst most athletes across pretty much every sport there is.

There's also the tactical element to it, in terms of pacing yourself, setting time goals and milestones etc.

Obviously there'll be a difference in what is required mentally between a marathon runner and a footballer, rugby player, golfer etc. but I don't think there's any reasonable argument for saying that there's no sporting mentality involved.

Of course as we said a person may not be sporty when starting out, but if they train away long and hard enough, and they start entering marathons then they'll have developed a sporting brain even if they aren't aware they've done so.

hill16no1man

my ignorance thats why i train people who are involved in 8 differant sports i think i have a very good knowledge of the skill set required for most sports,

Then surely you'll be able to appreciate the science, both mental and physical behind running a marathon? The mental / psychological side of things would play a large part in many sporting skillsets, especially if a person is looking to be competitive.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3691 - 20/02/2013 12:36:57    1336588

ormondbannerman
Read what said I was qouting the athlete himself "There's no GAA in Spain to fill people's head with foolish ideas" - go on then ormondbannerman - respond to his remark which he made. It wasn't the only nonsesne in his post about the GAA, he twice attacked the GAA and the poeple involved in it.

Athletics as promoted, coached, administered is pathetic, my daughter RUNS for Ireland so I know first had what a pile of crap it actually is. As an international event it is toxic only the deluded think otherwise.

My use of the word "Grafting" was in reference to Irish athletes inability to graft for MONEY not graft on the track.

As long as there are apologists in the GAA like yourself we'll have to put up with a constant stream of ill-informed tripe.

So ormondbannerman answer this directly ehat does he mean by this "There's no GAA in Spain to fill people's head with foolish ideas" and do you agree?

Since you clearly did not read what this athlete said I'll make this easy for you:

"Athletics needs to stand on it's own two feet and move away from receiving the bulk of its money from the Sports Council. That way they can operate without undue influence from the bureaucrats. To do this they need corporate money and lots of it…which will never happen because the GAA sucks all that up…oh the pipedreams."

So ormondbannerman - they need to GRAFT harder, and finally do you agree "To do this they need corporate money and lots of it…which will never happen because the GAA sucks all that up…oh the pipedreams"

Now tell me who is talking through their rear?

As for the rest re International athletics - yep its toxic

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4953 - 20/02/2013 13:04:25    1336611

Arock , that is a pathetic post and why any one would let their daughter participate in a sport that they think is toxic is beyond me . In the dealing that I have had with AAI I think is is quiet well run and they have increased their membership by over 50% in the past 2 years so they must be doing something right . The issue that other sports have with the funding to the GAA is that the GAA are getting a disporportionate amount based on participation levels , social inclusion etc. and I believe they are quiet right .

tinrylandman (Carlow) - Posts: 387 - 20/02/2013 13:37:02    1336648

Your boy Chamney's comments are pretty pathetic in fairness.

His gripe is that athletics can't get corporate sponsorship because the GAA hoovers it all up, well sorry about you buddy that isn't the GAA's fault. The fact of the matter is that people don't care enough about athletics in this country.

If enough people cared about athletics they'd have no problem attracting sponsors or in turn getting funding. However that isn't the case. No-one cares about them which is not the GAA's fault.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13796 - 20/02/2013 13:51:45    1336656

Tinrylandman

Most of the sports that have particiapation level above GAA (apart from soccer) are sports that can be participated in without needing to join a club or be competitive i.e Cycling,walking,running.I wouldnt count them as sports as most people participating are only doing so for exercise and are not competing in those sports, I go for a walk fairly often but I wouldnt count this as participating in sport.In order for sombody to count as participating in sport they have to be competitive sports in my opinion.

Also in order to get funding from lotto/government clubs have to raise a certain percentage of the money themselves and then the goverment will help out with the rest maybe the reason the GAA is able to secure funding is because its clubs and members are organised.The GAA can't be blanmed for being competently run.Our club are buldng a community centre,gym and walking track which will be used by all the community even people who arent interested in GAA. I would say alot of GAA clubs have similar facilities that are shared with the community so not all the money the GAA gets from governmant/lott is spent solely ion GAA activity.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 20/02/2013 13:53:36    1336658

If Irish athletes were coming back from the Olympics and Worlds dripping in medals OR filling 80000 stadia then they would have a point. The fact is that the GAA has 750000 members and creates millions of Euro/Pounds in income for the island so this is like Scrappy Doo barking at Scooby and Shaggy. As I said many athletes compete in individual sports and are so arrogantly into themselves that you can only laugh at times. They think finishing 5th or 6th in their competition heats or 50th in an international cross country is enough to demand 1000's in funds. I, and many others, have NEVER heard of this Jerry Kiernan guy but most of us know Joe Kernan and that says it all.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9816 - 20/02/2013 14:06:27    1336670

tinrylandman
County: Carlow

This thread is proving Kiernan right , posters like Arock and Hill16 do live in a cloistered world and have no idea of the graft and hard work that athletes put in , most Irish athletes competing at national level would put GAA players to shame with the training , dedication and work ethic .

I am FITNESS INSTRUCTOR AND PERSONAL TRAINER and you say i have no idea what hard work athletes put in haha.
you have no idea what fitness means as their are so many differant aspects of fitness that you could hardly say taking gaa out of the equation for one minute that a marathon runner is fitter then a rugby player becuase he can run further but then by your same way of thinking a rugby player could turn around and say he is fitter becuase he has more strength.do you get what im trying to teach you each sport has differant fitness requirements

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/02/2013 15:41:54    1336757

if in doubt

i agree with you what im trying to point out is that you can run a marathon or do long distance running without being in a sport where as you cannot play a game of soccer,gaa or rugby and not be playing a sport,the sporting skillset required to run is the same as it is in a professional manner its the competition elemant that gives it a mental differance thats my point

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/02/2013 15:47:08    1336760

uibhfhaili1986
County: Offaly

Tinrylandman

Most of the sports that have particiapation level above GAA (apart from soccer) are sports that can be participated in without needing to join a club or be competitive i.e Cycling,walking,running.I wouldnt count them as sports as most people participating are only doing so for exercise and are not competing in those sports, I go for a walk fairly often but I wouldnt count this as participating in sport.In order for sombody to count as participating in sport they have to be competitive sports in my opinion.

Also in order to get funding from lotto/government clubs have to raise a certain percentage of the money themselves and then the goverment will help out with the rest maybe the reason the GAA is able to secure funding is because its clubs and members are organised.The GAA can't be blanmed for being competently run.Our club are buldng a community centre,gym and walking track which will be used by all the community even people who arent interested in GAA. I would say alot of GAA clubs have similar facilities that are shared with the community so not all the money the GAA gets from governmant/lott is spent solely ion GAA activity.

excellent post

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/02/2013 15:50:27    1336762

hill16no1man

i agree with you what im trying to point out is that you can run a marathon or do long distance running without being in a sport where as you cannot play a game of soccer,gaa or rugby and not be playing a sport,the sporting skillset required to run is the same as it is in a professional manner its the competition elemant that gives it a mental differance thats my point

But as soon as a person enters a marathon then surely they're participating in a sport?

There could be a similar argument made about a group of lads having a kickabout on a pitch in an estate. They're only playing a game, it would only become a sport if they were to do it in a competitive and organised environment, like the marathon runner as opposed to the casual jogger.

I suppose the question of when does a game become a sport is an entirely different debate though.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3691 - 20/02/2013 16:02:46    1336771

yes but i would say most of the causal joggers do run marathons but have no interest in sports you have probably trained some yourself

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/02/2013 17:32:08    1336828

back on topic its great to see somebody from the gaa come out against kiernans comments,nicky brennan responded to them today

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/02/2013 17:33:20    1336829

set up a series of tests!!

Darran O Sullivan V David Gillick

Karl Lacey v Mark English

Paul Durkan v Eileen o Keefe in the shot

poiu (Donegal) - Posts: 71 - 20/02/2013 17:37:17    1336832

sure wasnt jack mccafrey the fastest sportsman at an irish sports council camp attended by all sports over 20 metre sprint recently clocking i think it was 2.8 seconds

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/02/2013 17:44:28    1336844

hill16no1man

yes but i would say most of the causal joggers do run marathons but have no interest in sports you have probably trained some yourself

Yeah but I'd argue that if they are interested in running marathons then by default they have an interest in sport.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3691 - 20/02/2013 18:03:29    1336860

Bring back The Superstars...That would sort it out!

juniorbsub (Wexford) - Posts: 646 - 20/02/2013 18:26:09    1336879

tinrylandman
County: Carlow

I ask myself that all the time, but thank god she's a better camogie player at least there is something "pure" in her life. The international sport is rancid up there with cycling, always has been always will.

The Sport in Ireland is run very very poorly, I fund my own daughter, the so-called "club" she's involved with wouldn't lower themselves to do something as menial as fundraise. And of course if you want to "leave" a club in Athletics!! Ha ha ever tried that one? an absolute impossibility. I wouldn't encourage anyone ever again to go next to near athletics.
The main gripe with these people is that they have absolutely NOTHING to sell, a bit of honest self-reflection would do wonders for these professional head-wreckers.

And thats twice you and that Ormond guy have referred to my comments as pathetic. All the while you have absolutely nothing to say on the issue other than berate people in the GAA for taking issue with comments like Chamney and that other clown. They are offensive, inaccurate, if you think mine are fine that seems to be the only thing your capable of addressing.
The only pathetic utterances have come from Kiernan and Chamney all other views, responses and arguments on here flow from those comments, maybe you'd care to deal with them and leave me and my opinion to myself.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4953 - 20/02/2013 18:40:17    1336889