Jerry Kiernan's comments

ormondbannerman
County: Clare

You are getting silly now with your arguments saying rubbish like the IRFU would save loads if they didnt play the players. Yes if you look at the likes of Paul o Connell, Donnacha Ryan effort they put in they would put the same effort in if they were not being paid. Ive heard from players like trevor hogan and others that they would do it all again as top class players and would play for nothing.
Go back to the players whos careers bridged the amatuer and pro eras and you would see the likes of Axel, Gaillimh, eric elwood, reggie corrigan, trevor brennan and they put the same effort from their first appearances in the amatuer era to when they were paid to play.

Again you've a serious issue with the patronisation of anyone who dares to have a different outlook than you.

You stated that professional sports people would still make the exact same effort they make if they weren't being paid because they love their sports so much.

The only logical question to be asked in counter to your point is the one I asked. Why pay people when they'll put in the same effort for free?

If you can answer that without being patronising or belittling it would be much appreciated.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13796 - 28/02/2013 16:55:10    1340474

MesAmis
Again you've a serious issue with the patronisation of anyone who dares to have a different outlook than you.

You stated that professional sports people would still make the exact same effort they make if they weren't being paid because they love their sports so much.

The only logical question to be asked in counter to your point is the one I asked. Why pay people when they'll put in the same effort for free?

If you can answer that without being patronising or belittling it would be much appreciated.

They pay them as it creates an open and transparent system. For years when rugby was still officially amateur players were getting secretly paid and turning pro meant the payment was open and everyone knew people were being paid.
Pro people would still in the main put in the same effort as they would still be playing games, training and now the importance of winning, the hatred of losing etc
Now you are being patronising me(with the sh*te about only logical question) with this post.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 28/02/2013 19:50:33    1340567

ormondbannerman
County: Clare

They pay them as it creates an open and transparent system. For years when rugby was still officially amateur players were getting secretly paid and turning pro meant the payment was open and everyone knew people were being paid.
Pro people would still in the main put in the same effort as they would still be playing games, training and now the importance of winning, the hatred of losing etc
Now you are being patronising me(with the sh*te about only logical question) with this post.[/i]

Aithníonn ciaróg ciaróg eile.

Why was there a need to pay players secretly in the old amateur days if, as you've stated, the money makes no difference to whether they play, or make the same effort, or not?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13796 - 28/02/2013 20:48:13    1340593

MesAmis
Aithníonn ciaróg ciaróg eile.
Why was there a need to pay players secretly in the old amateur days if, as you've stated, the money makes no difference to whether they play, or make the same effort, or not?

As players were being rewarded for playing for a club.
Training and playing for the honour of a jersey is grand and grea but if a club is willing to pay you expenses then you hardly will not accept them
I was paid travel expenses and quite well last year to play with a certain limerick club at under 21 level. Would the money have made a difference to myself or the other 4 players from nenagh, kildare playing. no it wouldnt
Money doesnt make a difference in most cases. Look at the numbers of pro players who have went back after retiring from pro rugby and played at amatuer level with their local club

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 28/02/2013 20:59:35    1340599

http://corkrunning.blogspot.ie/2014/03/irish-athletics-commentator-jerry.html

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 25/03/2014 13:13:48    1564767

he hasnt gone away you know , now opposed to re-development of Ruislip in London , or rather just don,t use tax payers money , maybe we should spend it on wonderfull Winter Olympians , either way listening to him this morning he came accross as a bitter and small minded, two runners similar era one called Eammon Coughlan did/does great things on and off the track ,the other well enough said .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 25/03/2014 13:58:24    1564791

I have long held the opinion that the GAA should be responsible for athletics in Ireland. Historically running and throwing sports were GAA domain. The tailtean games were an example of that and got much bigger crowds than any athletics event ever did. With GAA clubs building walking tracks and organising 5K runs up and down the country the next logical step would be GAA clubs having running as part of the sports they offer. Would make more sense than most of what Jerry Kiernan says.

jpcampion (Laois) - Posts: 194 - 25/03/2014 14:54:04    1564825

The guy possibly has a point with the funding for rowing/swimming etc. However, he is as subtle has a brick and completely void of tact. He comes across as a desperately bitter,jealous individual.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 25/03/2014 15:13:33    1564835

there is some truth in what he says though. but at the end of the day it comes down to what do you think is more important: a sport where lots of people take part in but there is no international dimension or a sport where there is an international dimension but very few if any irish athletes ever reach the top. jerry did reach that level through hard work,dedication and ability. most facilities that gaa clubs have were paid for by the local community and fundraising by the gaa committees. there are grants too of course but I think there should be room for both sports . It is true that the government should be putting alot more money into building swimming pools and athletics tracks but I think Jerry is wrong to target the GAA. It's not their fault that they are so popular.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5520 - 25/03/2014 15:14:00    1564837

Perhaps the GAA could loan Jerry Kiernan some money to get rid of the mullet.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 896 - 25/03/2014 15:20:52    1564843

Mr. Kiernan should read the columns by David Walsh in response to British Basketball being stripped of all it's funding by the UK Sports Council. The idea of ploughing money into limited appeal sports for international recognition over sports which have big participation numbers doesn't add up. Success in sport mostly cannot be measured in the medals table. It's what it does for people and communities on a daily basis. By saying that there is no standard applied to GAA getting money except their popularity he has missed the point entirely.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 25/03/2014 15:56:39    1564865

A bitter man who makes up facts to suit himself, pay no heed to him or his ramblings

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3747 - 25/03/2014 16:07:04    1564874

25/03/2014 13:58:24
Damothedub
he hasnt gone away you know , now opposed to re-development of Ruislip in London , or rather just don,t use tax payers money , maybe we should spend it on wonderfull Winter Olympians , either way listening to him this morning he came accross as a bitter and small minded, two runners similar era one called Eammon Coughlan did/does great things on and off the track ,the other well enough said .
What would be wrong with spending it on the winter Olympians?
Jerry is right(kind of) with what he says but how he expresses his thoughts is terrible and only goes out to rile people up. Considering his occupation as a primary school teacher you would think he would be better at expressing himself.

25/03/2014 14:54:04
jpcampion
I have long held the opinion that the GAA should be responsible for athletics in Ireland. Historically running and throwing sports were GAA domain. The tailtean games were an example of that and got much bigger crowds than any athletics event ever did. With GAA clubs building walking tracks and organising 5K runs up and down the country the next logical step would be GAA clubs having running as part of the sports they offer. Would make more sense than most of what Jerry Kiernan says.
But would GAA clubs actually do better than Athletics Ireland I doubt it and Athletics would suffer.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 25/03/2014 16:11:31    1564880

When I saw his picture my initial response was, "What the **** would Rudi Voller know about the GAA?"

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9746 - 25/03/2014 16:17:10    1564883

It is an amazing interview really - there is so much wrong with it that it is almost impossible to know what part to address first. Its not often somebody comes along who makes you thankful for the occupants of Leinster House but Jerry manages it.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 25/03/2014 16:34:58    1564898

25/03/2014 16:11:31
ormondbannerman
I suppose its not the point whether they would bring more success. Definitely if GAA clubs promoted athletics then local participation would be greater. Facilities for athletes would in general be better too. As it is the GAA has many fine athletes and if though wider participation a gem was unearthed then that would help the success rate. I've seen some GAA lads who have never run a race enter in a 5K and (pardon the pun) run away with it, even with athletics club members in the same race. The talent is there it just needs promotion in the right way.

jpcampion (Laois) - Posts: 194 - 25/03/2014 16:38:53    1564899

Not the first time the bould Jerry went into an Anti - GAA rant. Pity Jerry wouldent go over to London and other major cities in Europe and see what GAA clubs are doing for the young Irish emigrants and the Diaspora as a whole.I lived in Britain and know what great work they do. Strikes me that he is jealous of our continued success and our great facilities. Jerry is probably still running the roads of South Dublin on his own and fuming at the GAA clubs facilities out that direction.
Great GAA clubs like Kilmacud Crokes, Ballinteer St.Johns, Naomh Olafs and Cuala. Jerry get a life and take that big chip off your shoulder!!!!!

Brownred (Cavan) - Posts: 229 - 25/03/2014 16:56:13    1564914

jpcampion
County: Laois

1564899 25/03/2014 16:11:31
ormondbannerman
I suppose its not the point whether they would bring more success. Definitely if GAA clubs promoted athletics then local participation would be greater. Facilities for athletes would in general be better too. As it is the GAA has many fine athletes and if though wider participation a gem was unearthed then that would help the success rate. I've seen some GAA lads who have never run a race enter in a 5K and (pardon the pun) run away with it, even with athletics club members in the same race. The talent is there it just needs promotion in the right way.
Not just promotion but facilities, the kind of facilities that few if any GAA clubs can provide. Exactly whereabouts are they going to place the hanmmer cage, long jump pit, standard 400M track? Are we forever going to be known as a nation of roadracers?

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 25/03/2014 16:59:50    1564920

While I also would be wary of Irish public funding bring used, especially to construct amenities in another jurisdiction, the funding in question is coming from an existing Emigrant support program, so the funding isn't totally unreasonable in that sense.

However, this guys rationale is so ridiculous, its hard to know where to begin. Anyone who says there are not alot of standards to be met to play inter-county hurling or football is being absurd, and has obviously has not watched any GAA intercounty championship match in the last 20 years, if ever. I mean, how could he not be aware of the incredible standards in athleticism, physicality, and skill that Kilkenny hurlers have set in the last 10 years. The lengths that other teams have had to go to to just compete, the standards of athleticism /fitness/strength that requires, as well as maintaining one of the most advanced skillsets of any sport in the world, well they are way beyond what an amateur player should be expected to produce.
My jaw has been constantly hitting the floor in the last few years at the standards our players are playing to, in both codes. Anyone who diminishes that isn't just being ignorant, they are being WILFULLY ignorant which is worse.
Ridiculous bitterness.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 25/03/2014 17:01:18    1564923

In fairness performance enhancing drugs aren't cheap. How are our track running stars supposed to compete when does men up in Leinster house are giving money to amateur athletes and what is practically an emigrant center for the Irish in London instead of paying for their steroids. In all seriousness though, Jerry makes about half a good point before his clear hatred and jealousy towards the GAA takes over.

RebelCork (Cork) - Posts: 789 - 25/03/2014 17:03:28    1564926