Aussie Rules Trials

Just wondering if anyone had a list of players who attended the recent trials at DCU

FishAndChips (Kildare) - Posts: 1 - 12/02/2013 20:28:41    1333079

Down with this sort of thing!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 12/02/2013 21:19:22    1333108

From Dublin I heard Cormac Costello was....not sure who else was from other counties, will post if I find out though.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 12/02/2013 21:41:39    1333122

agreed gatekeeper .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/02/2013 21:52:57    1333137

bet your happy bout that dubsfan28.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/02/2013 21:59:17    1333145

All these boys are chasing the professional dream and not the actual love for the game. Thats why so many irish lads return home when they find out its not all what its cracked up to be. With exception of James Laverty of Antrim, I don't know any of those lads who have played one competitive game of Aussie rules. You have to love, enjoy and have a passion for what you do to succeed. In the example of Ciaran Kilkenny his was gaa.

sneachta (None) - Posts: 414 - 13/02/2013 09:53:17    1333187

Here's the list of players that attended.
AFL trialists - Cormac Costello, Gavin Burke, Shane Carthy, Eric Lowndes, Niall Scully (all Dublin); Paddy Brophy, Daniel Flynn (both Kildare), Damien Cahalane (Cork); Bill Maher, Philip Quirke, Steven O'Brien (all Tipperary); James Laverty (Antrim); Conor Carville, Niall Grimley (both Derry); Shane Walsh (Galway); Ronan Daly (Roscommon); Che Cullen, Lee Cullen (both Fermanagh); Adam Gallagher (Mayo); Ethan Rafferty (Armagh); Hugh McFadden (Donegal); Padraig Lucey (Kerry); Cameron Cope (Wolverhampton); G Leech (Westmeath).

donegaldouble (Donegal) - Posts: 318 - 13/02/2013 11:06:45    1333237

fair play to jack mccafrey he told kennelley where to go that he wasnt interested.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 13/02/2013 11:20:45    1333253

the lads are doing this in teh hope of being professional sports people, not for the enjoyment of the game, I am sure most of them would love to be doing that rather than being sat in an office all day or out in all sorts of weather on a building site. I love playing gaelic but if I was ever good enough to have been given the chance to have played professional aussie rules I would have jumped at it.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 13/02/2013 12:52:17    1333347

dont agree with roseiniri sport is not about financial gain in my opinion sport is ment to be something you enjoy not do for money.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 13/02/2013 12:56:44    1333349

Oh oh... there's a lot of time and investment into Dublin GAA taking aprt in these Aussie trials

But what can you do... many counties have lost very valuable resources to Aussie rules

Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 480 - 13/02/2013 13:03:56    1333358

Thats a bit worrying, especially 5 very talented Dublin players who could be nabbed. Personally I think Costello is a bit lightweight for Australia so I think he'll stay, Erik Lowndes is fantastic though I wouldn't want to lose him.

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 13/02/2013 13:07:38    1333361

Wouldnt have to worry about this as much if the Railway cup was promoted in place of the mogrel game. Playing that stupid game is just another outlet to drain our best young talent.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 13/02/2013 13:28:19    1333372

even if there wasn't the compromise rules game the Aussies would still be targeting Ireland for players because of the similarities between the games. Stynes and many others went out there before the compromise rules was set up. Also the guys that play in the compromise rules series never get looked at by the aussies because they are usually gone past the age they are looking for.
As for love of the game being the main pull, its not the case for many people, ok it was for young Kilkenny. But if you are a young lad and you get offered as a professional sports person and then look at your job prospects in Ireland in the currently climate, the Aussie offer will look very tempting, no matter how much you love you gaelic. Look at the lad from Cork who decided to play the rugby because he was getting the chance to play sport professionally, something the GAA wa snever going to offer him.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 13/02/2013 14:00:55    1333398

13/02/2013 12:56:44
hill16no1man
dont agree with roseiniri sport is not about financial gain in my opinion sport is ment to be something you enjoy not do for money.

Thats grand saying that sport isnt about financial gain but there isnt a huge number of jobs going thesedays and these young lads are getting the chance to poten be paid to play sport using the skills theyve learned playing gaelic.
Best of luck to them and feck the begrudgers

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 13/02/2013 14:30:53    1333431

From a Galway perspective I hope Shane Walsh isn't picked up anyway. He's been super in the Hogan Cup for Jarlath's in the last few years. Great talent. Think he might not be big enough though considering what the Aussies usually look for.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2393 - 13/02/2013 14:46:04    1333443

It isnt an issue as only a small percentage of players make it. The others, go out there, and get to experience a professional environment and come back as better players.

PK57 (Louth) - Posts: 1664 - 13/02/2013 14:46:54    1333445

And the difference between leaving Ireland for a job as a professional plumber, electrician, doctor, nurse etc. and being a professional Aussie Rules player is what exactly?
If any of these lads were leaving for the above no one would be complaining. They have no obligation tio anyone. Good luck to them.

Dubfan Abroad (Dublin) - Posts: 282 - 13/02/2013 15:21:39    1333476

ormondbannerman
County: Clare

13/02/2013 12:56:44
hill16no1man
Thats grand saying that sport isnt about financial gain but there isnt a huge number of jobs going thesedays and these young lads are getting the chance to poten be paid to play sport using the skills theyve learned playing gaelic.
Best of luck to them and feck the begrudgers

so what about a woman who takes a job that degrades herself for money society dont hold the same opinion of their not being a huge number of jobs and fair play to the girl for doing it,i think people value money too much in life its a true saying it wont mke you happy and it does not solve everything i would rather be happy then be loaded and living somewhere alien just becuase i get paid money to be there,you only get one life and years later may look back and say i should not have followed the money.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 13/02/2013 17:15:01    1333552

I'd be disappointed if either of the Kildare lads were to leave for Oz because of this but that would just be me being a selfish Kildare fan.

There's a very limited spectrum for full time professional sport in this country. If a lad has to chance to make a living for himself from playing sport, and at the same time live in and experience a different country and culture then best of luck to him.

The amount of lads who actually give up GAA for the AFL has to something like less than 0.001% of the entire GAA playing population. Plenty more players are lost to other sports year round but because they aren't playing at county level nobody who's giving out here seems to mind.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3691 - 13/02/2013 17:16:04    1333554