CD Dub I agree 100% feckin disgusted with this
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 05/02/2013 12:29:52
JayP County: Dublin Posts: 142
1328780 I think people miss the point.
Dublin dont actively go recruiting players from other counties. Paddy Quinn is a fella from outside Dublin who lives and works in the city and has done for a few years. He has no chance of playing with Tyrone because of the commute etc and Mickey Harte isnt looking at him!
Its not like he was on the Tyrone panel for 5 years and then Dublin "robbed" him.
If hes living in Dublin for a set amount of time and has established roots to him, Ive not got any problems with his selection.
The Seanie Johnston case differs for numerous reasons.
Declan Darcy played for Leitrim.......if he was a Dub he should have chose to play for Dublin only. He is a Dub of course, but it looks odd that he chose to play for Leitrim first. The truth is he was overlooked for Dublin and Leitrim inquired and he thought he might never play for Dublin and chose to play for the county his parents came from. Again...Ive no problems with this.
Like in club cases, where a player is actively and aggressively recruited ...... I disagree with that.
Once again a year or so ago the chairman of the Dublin county board said Dublin would never pick and outsider on the football team and that was backed up by alot of Dublin posters here (a lot of whom have made no comment now that its happened)
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 05/02/2013 12:33:18
Moomoo your right on this one you can sleep soundly tonight and your medal is in the post well done you've won at last.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/02/2013 12:42:02
And Irish people shouldn't get work in London or New York......because they aren't English or American???
Paddy Quinn shouldn't be selected for Na Fianna because hes from Tyrone and stopping a young lad from Glasnevin getting into the team????
How many country lads play for your clubs lads......do you wanna tell them they are imposters to go back to where they came from???
People always talk about the inclusiveness of the GAA......If Paddy Quinn isn't eligible for Dublin after living and working here for a few years then whats the point.
He wants to play to as high a level as he can possibly play..... Maybe he wont be good enough......but he isnt the type of guy who is a mercenary and joined a county panel as soon as he got here. Hes played away for a club, and hes been given a chance after a few years.
Hes no Seanie Johnson lads!
JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 05/02/2013 12:48:32
JayP County: Dublin Posts: 143
1328916 And Irish people shouldn't get work in London or New York......because they aren't English or American???
Paddy Quinn shouldn't be selected for Na Fianna because hes from Tyrone and stopping a young lad from Glasnevin getting into the team????
How many country lads play for your clubs lads......do you wanna tell them they are imposters to go back to where they came from???
People always talk about the inclusiveness of the GAA......If Paddy Quinn isn't eligible for Dublin after living and working here for a few years then whats the point.
He wants to play to as high a level as he can possibly play..... Maybe he wont be good enough......but he isnt the type of guy who is a mercenary and joined a county panel as soon as he got here. Hes played away for a club, and hes been given a chance after a few years.
Hes no Seanie Johnson lads!
No one is saying its the same as Seanie Johnson. Its only you that is saying that
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 05/02/2013 12:53:36
Fair play to you JayP - managing to mention SJ in every post. All along I thought that he met all the criteria set out by the GAA so thats why he got the transfer. I suppose if you say if often enough you'll believe it yourself. The majority of counties (yes including Dublin) have been involved in dodgy transfers throughout the years be it at intercounty or club level. But yea you keep on denying that.
Dublin - the county where all GAA transfers are legit. Fair play.
sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 05/02/2013 13:10:09
Bluewave County: Dublin Posts: 137
I'm a Nafianna man and Paddy has been a great servant to our club for many years, may I add many of our top drawer Dublin players jumped ship during the last few difficult years Paddy did not. I'm sure Jim would have assessed his loyalties prior to selection and had a chat man to man with the fella. He deserves his chance and until someone takes the jersey off him it's his.
Look mate, I think the fella has served our county very well and I hold no ill-feeling to him what so ever. In fact he is my favourite Tír Eoghain man at the moment. But that is exactly what he is. He has worked very hard for this chance and fair play to him for doing well so far particularly in the O' Byrne Cup. However, I am just expressing my opinion that I think Dubs should represent Dubs. I am not being militant about this like others here - maybe. As long as he is named in the squad and in possession of the ball on the field I'll be cheering him on but i'd much prefer to be cheering on one of my own. I don't know how any from from any county would want to play for a county that not their own. Thats just me.
Again, I hold no ill-feeling towards him and respect him. He's just not a Dub. This sort of thing has crept into the hurling set up and it has taken away a wee bit ferom our recent success and progress. For me anyway.
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 05/02/2013 13:20:15
Oh right this pointless thread is still going. A guy wants to play football and he's been given a chance Dear oh dear, it's disgraceful. He's played a handful of games for Dublin He's what 31... I for one hope he does his very best and from what I've seen he's got guts and has worked hard for Dublin That means a lot. I wish him all the best and maybe he might prove a lot of us wrong Personally I don't see him making it onto the Championship squad No harm in giving a man a chance. He works and lives in Dublin and captain's Na Fianna I mean what's the issue exactly? No rules have been broken, No dodgy transfers No Story here whatsoever. I think it would be much more of a story if it came out that Dublin intentionally ignored a player because he wasn't born in Dublin. That for me is a far worse outcome and I'd be completely ashamed of such an ignorant stance. I'm glad that Jim is obviously a man with the right mind set and he made the right call in the here and now. Now it's up to Paddy and he's not done too badly Again all the very best to you Paddy and bloody congrats to you too… you've soldiered a long time.
Many players playing for county teams havent been born in that county. Is that not a fact?
Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 480 - 05/02/2013 13:27:08
Beelzedub County: Dublin Posts: 119
Many players playing for county teams havent been born in that county. Is that not a fact?
Apparently there is a fella from Cavan playing for Cill Dara.
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 05/02/2013 13:38:50
Oh right this pointless thread is still going. A guy wants to play football and he's been given a chance Dear oh dear, it's disgraceful. He's played a handful of games for Dublin He's what 31... I for one hope he does his very best and from what I've seen he's got guts and has worked hard for Dublin That means a lot. I wish him all the best and maybe he might prove a lot of us wrong Personally I don't see him making it onto the Championship squad No harm in giving a man a chance. He works and lives in Dublin and captain's Na Fianna I mean what's the issue exactly? No rules have been broken, No dodgy transfers No Story here whatsoever. I think it would be much more of a story if it came out that Dublin intentionally ignored a player because he wasn't born in Dublin. That for me is a far worse outcome and I'd be completely ashamed of such an ignorant stance. I'm glad that Jim is obviously a man with the right mind set and he made the right call in the here and now. Now it's up to Paddy and he's not done too badly Again all the very best to you Paddy and bloody congrats to you too… you've soldiered a long time.
very well said Beelzedub,and i agree with a lot you have said,however were is dublin football going with this? there are, and always will be talented footballers from counties all over ireland,living and working in dublin and playing club football with dublin clubs, do we start giving all these players who express an interest in playing for dublin a chance?surely this would not be the way forward,as this would be preventing our own young talented footballers a chance to break into the squad.
superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2850 - 05/02/2013 13:53:59
Jimbo what do you mean what's the issues here? I think a lot of Dubs have highlighted the issues. We don't want outsiders on our football team it's simple really. Sure if its no issue lets get Gooch,Galvin,O Niell etc jobs in Dublin so they can play for us. I'm a towers man I know the manager and I'm strongly against this just like a lot of towers are.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/02/2013 13:57:07
Lads its all a bit odd with Paddy Quinn, he has lived/lives in Ringsend no more than 10 mins walk from Clanna Gael. He trained with Clans for a while when Talty managed them and was looking like he would transfer and play there when at the last minute he transfered to Na Fianna on the other side of the city on the basis that he wanted to try and get on the Tyrone panel, this ambition was best served by being with a senior team, perhaps not very loyal to a community you live in but understandable I suppose as Clans are only in Intermediate and a bit of a "no contest" when you are aiming for bigger things. That said, one could still argue quite easily that this guy is a complete mercenary....Doesnt play with his local club!, Doesn't travel to play with his home club!, and now has elected to give up on his stated ambition to play with his native county. will he really go through hell when its needed for the Dubs ??? Would we want him on our team with 7 mins to go in an All Ireland final when we are a couple of points down to maybe ........."Tyrone"????????................I know I wouldnt!!!..... But I can see why there would be differences of opinion as to be fair he is a fine player....
bluejay (Dublin) - Posts: 47 - 05/02/2013 14:02:28
how can anybody say based on his performances so far hes a fine player or has done well,all he does is handpass the ball haha it dont take much ability to do that you learn that at young age,just like niall corkery hes strong and fit hardly make you inter county footballer,i thaught paul hudson had far better impact on the o byrne cup yet dont think he even made the bench last saturday,i would also feel craig dias and bryan cullen will come back into the panel ahead of quinn in that kind of a role of doing the grafting
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/02/2013 14:38:03
hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 3600
1329004 how can anybody say based on his performances so far hes a fine player or has done well,all he does is handpass the ball haha it dont take much ability to do that you learn that at young age,just like niall corkery hes strong and fit hardly make you inter county footballer,i thaught paul hudson had far better impact on the o byrne cup yet dont think he even made the bench last saturday,i would also feel craig dias and bryan cullen will come back into the panel ahead of quinn in that kind of a role of doing the grafting Hill I totally agree with you here buddy
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/02/2013 14:57:29
Culann County: Dublin Posts: 1522
Apparently there is a fella from Cavan playing for Cill Dara.
The same lad that now lives in Kildare and plays for a club in the county thus making him eligible to play for Kildare?
There's no real comparison between these two cases so I've no idea why Seanie has been mentioned so much on this thread.
If people are against the idea of Quinn playing for Dublin based on principle then fair enough that's their opinion and they're fully entitled to it, but once he pulls on the blue jersey surely they'd be able to put that aside and cheer him on like the rest of the team, after all as long as he's putting the same effort into playing and training as the rest of them then isn't he just as much a part of the team?
if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3692 - 05/02/2013 15:04:05
In an ideal world, I'd prefer to keep it all blue, but is this Tadgh knocks over the winner come Septembrer, I feel the put upon ones will mellow in their old age.
realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8812 - 05/02/2013 15:14:52
Only joking if in doubt! Because of the high profile that situation was given. Relax!!
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 05/02/2013 15:22:30
SORRY KELF POINT OF INFORMATION Mick Casey hailed from Rhode and played for Rhode.!!
Brinsley Swartz (Mayo) - Posts: 2225 - 05/02/2013 15:28:58
Seanie Boy.. who do you think Darran O' Sullivan should be playing with then ?
s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 06/02/2013 14:51:44
only a sub for dit
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/02/2013 18:03:15