Identity and culture? A person is what a person feels and if a player wants to play for a certain county, and suits the eligibility criteria set down, what is the problem? Having said that certain elements in the 26 counties should realise that Irishness and the Irish nation are NOT solely confined to that geographical area called the Republic of Ireland. There are 1000's of young people who are being forced to emigrate because of the sins of this and previous governments and who will have children born abroad? Are these kids not part of the Irish diaspora. In fact if we are to be factually and statitiscally accurate people in Ulster could claim sole ownership of the term Irish given that the seat of the Irish language, music, religion and culture lies in the Northern part of the island. It is shocking the amount of partitionism that has grown since partition which cuts both ways.
Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9829 - 03/02/2013 21:54:59
A non issue really.
Dubs have played players from outside the county before.....a Leitrim Connaught winning captain I think!!! Declan Darcy......
And Declan is one of Jims selectors if Im not mistaken.
The Seanie Johnston issue is different, Paddy Quinn is working in Dublin and has been about the club scene numerous years in Dublin.
Ive no issue with lads playing for Dublin if they are from outside the county, an awful lot of clubs were set up by country folks working in Dublin. If it werent for country folks in Dublin, GAA mightnt be as strong. If a lad is working in a county and has established roots....he should be an option for selection.
Seanie's transfer was a joke and was handled poorly by Kildare. Huge difference with the Quinn issue.
JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 04/02/2013 10:18:31
JayP and everyone else can we set the record straight for once and for all re Declan Darcy Contrary to popular belief, Darcy is NOT a Leitrim man!! Declan Darcy and his brother Ken are born and bred Dubs. With Leitrim parentage. When Declan played for Leitrim, he was a Dub playing for Leitrim. When he came back home he was a Dub playing for Dublin Declan Darcy was NEVER ever ever from Leitrim
On the Quinn issue, I am 100% against it. I think its disgraceful and i am shamed by it. I cant say it any clearer than that
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 04/02/2013 11:20:11
uibhfhaili1986 County: Offaly Posts: 8
1327250 Why is this not getting much media attention.The fact that Dublin with a population of around 1.5 million are picking outsiders is unacceptable.Its bad enough any other county picking an outsider in my opinion but Dublin doing it is ten time worse.
A rule needs to be brought in where if you play at minor level or above for a county you cannot ever play for another county.Intercounty GAA becomes pointless unless there are fairly stringent criteria regarding the eligibility of players and I dont care how long Paddy Quinn is playing for a dublin club he isnt a Dub and should not be allowed to play for Dublin.Dublin have let themselves down by doing this if I was on the Dubin panel I wouldnt be too happy.
I agree with that. Also, just to add, I do not know why someone from another county would even want to play for the Dubs. I could never understand a Dub wanting to play for another county. Also, he is more than likely taking the place of someone who has dreamt all his life to play for the Dubs and would give it everthing he has got.
That said as long as he is playing and trying I would be reluctant to critizise him. He has not broken any rules. Also, as the big guns begin to return I don not envisage him being around come the summer.
I wish him no harm and appreciate his efforts but Dubs should play for Dublin. Before anyone starts I have the same critisms of the non Dub hurlers but I would never wish them bad luck or resent them while playing for us. This is a question of policy for management and county board.
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 04/02/2013 11:36:21
I agree with Jay P. It's inevitable that Dublin are going to attract players not born in the county due to its employment draw.
I am interested though but suspect the answer differs from Dub to Dub - Does the fact that he comes from Tyrone have a bearing? Or that he is from Ulster? Or is it just that he's not a Dub?
Putting myself in your shoes if someone is worth their place and gives it everything on the pitch I couldn't give a jot. Now within reason of course if the team has a number of "Blow ins" then the character of team will change but that's ceratinly not the case. Paddy must be doing something right - it's not as though Jim Gavin is a Na Fianna man? Do any of the Na Fianna Dubs feel differently?
Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 04/02/2013 13:38:07
dubes County: Kerry Posts: 45
1327774 seanie_boy County: Tyrone Posts: 2341 1327272 Now now lads take it easy! Its not the issue at hand,but us lads from the north are well aware about the importance of jurisdictions and all thats implied with it,sure yez are great at tellin us we are not in Ireland when it suits some of yez.If you read my post again you will see that I was saying that it was a not an issue.And I wasn't making any disparaging remarks about Darren O' Sullivan with the point I was making.He was born and raised for a large part in London,nothing wrong with that in my eyes so I don't know why you are getting annoyed.Nothing wrong with any Tyrone player being born in Canada either.
Yez dont need anyone to telll yez, just look at a map!!! And as for making disparaging comments about Darren, you needlessly dragged his name into the conversation even though he has played with his club since U10 ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Wow there ye go the DUP's man in Kerry has spoken.You lads have a serious issue with the facts.When I say that Darren O' Sullivan was born and raised for a large part of his upbringing in London,I am not telling lies about him so I don't know why the remark would be disparaging.As I said already there is nothing wrong with this or the fact that a Tyrone player was born in Canada.
seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 04/02/2013 13:40:37
JayP County: Dublin Posts: 137
1328022 A non issue really.
Dubs have played players from outside the county before.....a Leitrim Connaught winning captain I think!!! Declan Darcy......
And Declan is one of Jims selectors if Im not mistaken.
The Seanie Johnston issue is different, Paddy Quinn is working in Dublin and has been about the club scene numerous years in Dublin.
Ive no issue with lads playing for Dublin if they are from outside the county, an awful lot of clubs were set up by country folks working in Dublin. If it werent for country folks in Dublin, GAA mightnt be as strong. If a lad is working in a county and has established roots....he should be an option for selection.
Seanie's transfer was a joke and was handled poorly by Kildare. Huge difference with the Quinn issue.
I think it is seeing as we were told that it would never happen by the chairman of the Dublin county board. Why has he not said anything about it? Something that was over looked when he (and the other Dubs on here) made that comment was the fact that not so long ago Dublins sub keeper was from Kerry.
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 04/02/2013 13:45:34
Tyronetim County: Tyrone Posts: 975
1328238 I agree with Jay P. It's inevitable that Dublin are going to attract players not born in the county due to its employment draw.
I am interested though but suspect the answer differs from Dub to Dub - Does the fact that he comes from Tyrone have a bearing? Or that he is from Ulster? Or is it just that he's not a Dub? 100% that he's just not a Dub. What county he comes from has no added bearing on my opinion.
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 04/02/2013 13:55:13
Fair play to Paddy He's battled hard for long enough at Na Fianna Lives in Dublin, works in Dublin and now he's got his chance to impress He had a very soilid game against Kildare and he put in a good nights work against Cork from what I've seen so far he wont be on the panel come the end of the league I hope he can prove me wrong I'll be shouting for him all the way once he's wearing Blue If he keeps a another player out of the panel that's their problem Step up if you're good enough and take it back Jim was 100% right to give him a chance. I think he's deserved it and has put a lot into the OByrne cup It's up to himself now to improve and to bring himself upa gear or two I'm not sure if he's capable of it but I hope he proves me wrong All the best to him... I wouldnt think very much of some of my fellow Dubs opinions on this thread.
Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 480 - 04/02/2013 13:58:19
Agree Culann - interesting to see whether you represent broad consensus particularly when you consider some of the rhetoric and non-posted comments.
Beelzedub - that's what it should be about. I doubt given the strength of feeling he's there cheaply assume it's on merit and you're right it's up to the others to displace him.
Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 04/02/2013 14:15:53
Ulsterman says
A person is what a person feels and if a player wants to play for a certain county, and suits the eligibility criteria set down, what is the problem?
Well said.
Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 480 - 04/02/2013 14:20:03
Tim, any chance Mickey might come sniffing? Tyrone are not kniocking out quailty forwards they way ye once did
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 04/02/2013 14:56:39
dont see why he is on the panel regardless of where he from last week was probably his best match so far but he refuses to kick the ball too often always looks to handpass we have far better players in the forward line
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/02/2013 15:07:40
Liam - he might be the kind of forward we need - capable of winning kick outs we definitely have a dearth of those currently (Ryan Mellon,Gerard Cavlan - fielding and Dooher and McGuigan for picking up the scraps all retired).
As to the quality forwards assume you mean of a scoring variety I'd say after some concerns that's probably our most competitive area now assuming they get match fit without relapses. The full forward line has SON, Penrose, McAlliskey( Very impressive so far this year), Ronan O'Neill (Came on Saturday after cruciate), Coney (Back after groin and ankle more recently), Mark Donnelly and Darren McCurry. Half forwards less clear but Peter Harte and Mattie Donnelly likely starters. So maybe we are in the market for that type of half forward though doubt even if Mickey did come sniffing we wouldn't be able to use him wiht his club in Dublin.
Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 04/02/2013 15:42:32
I'm a Dub my parents are not, they are the one's who introduced me to the GAA. They are the one's who brought me to Hill16 as a child. I thank them greatly, would I play for their counties of origin, NO. But by the same token all of this pure blood nonsense is a thing of the past and almost nazi like thinking, we live on a small island if we all had pure blood lines from our respective counties I'd imagine we'd probably have 3 heads, 4 eyes and 5 arms too.
I'm a Nafianna man and Paddy has been a great servant to our club for many years, may I add many of our top drawer Dublin players jumped ship during the last few difficult years Paddy did not. I'm sure Jim would have assessed his loyalties prior to selection and had a chat man to man with the fella. He deserves his chance and until someone takes the jersey off him it's his.
Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 04/02/2013 17:41:15
True nice sentiments Bluewave.
Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 04/02/2013 17:45:06
I dont care where anyone is born, dont care if someone is born or raised in one county ,grows up in another county and plays for them,goodluck to them, i agree somewhat with ulsterman its where you feel you are from. But dont tell me at the age of 30 or 31 after been here for 5years ,P quinn sees himself as a DUB.(tyrone tim , i dont care what county it is) People agreeing with him playing for dublin, really cant argue then if Dublin turned out like parnells , I mean they work up here and fit the criteria. ive nothing against p quinn, good club man and basically just wants a game of ball, which Dublin are facilating at the moment.
AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 04/02/2013 20:24:49
I think people miss the point.
Dublin dont actively go recruiting players from other counties. Paddy Quinn is a fella from outside Dublin who lives and works in the city and has done for a few years. He has no chance of playing with Tyrone because of the commute etc and Mickey Harte isnt looking at him!
Its not like he was on the Tyrone panel for 5 years and then Dublin "robbed" him.
If hes living in Dublin for a set amount of time and has established roots to him, Ive not got any problems with his selection.
The Seanie Johnston case differs for numerous reasons.
Declan Darcy played for Leitrim.......if he was a Dub he should have chose to play for Dublin only. He is a Dub of course, but it looks odd that he chose to play for Leitrim first. The truth is he was overlooked for Dublin and Leitrim inquired and he thought he might never play for Dublin and chose to play for the county his parents came from. Again...Ive no problems with this.
Like in club cases, where a player is actively and aggressively recruited ...... I disagree with that.
JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 05/02/2013 09:56:57
we have a proud tradition since i have been alive of having dublin born players on the dublin team and i know most peopel agree that thats how it should be regardless of if its paddy quinn or colm cooper trying to line out in a dublin jersey
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/02/2013 10:22:14
Lads how can you not care where a player is from? It's all about playing for the county your from that's one of the great things about the GAA. So would lads not care if Dublin had 15 players not born in Dublin playing for us?? I very much doubt that, as I've said before with a pop of over 1 million people we don't need outsiders on our team, and especially right now when we have serious underage talent coming through. No offence to the lad Quinn it's not his fault.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/02/2013 11:46:58