Division One 2013

dubbydave to be fair to owl eddie kinsella it was one of the calls he got right saturday night ger brennan gave a great shoulder and he allowed that it was the fact of what he did after he shouldered him that was the offense by throwing himself onto the player on the ground

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/02/2013 14:41:00    1329008

These Tyrone boys are just too modest for their own good:

"Peter Harte feels Tyrone will have to up their performance in Castlebar" IRISH NEWS
"It doesn't get any easier in this division, that's for sure, with a trip to Castlebar this weekend to play last season's All-Ireland finalists," the Errigal Ciaran clubman says ..."We will just have to get our feet back on the ground and work hard in training this week and try and put a few things right. That display against Down won't be good enough this weekend.
"We'll have to prepare well. You have to perform to your best if you're going to win games in this division."

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 05/02/2013 18:39:04    1329222

1328789 I dont believe they are dubbydave. It you take the example of the mayo-kerry game at the weekend, there was a good hard hit put in on feeney in the second half, a real bone-cruncher. But because it was executed well and the timing was right, there was no foul. You give ger brennan as an example, yet I recall him shouldering a guy in the side of the head not so long ago, that is just poor execution and it is more often than not going to be a foul. Similarly shouldering a guy who is already falling over will usually result in a foul. There is an art to that type of tackling, and it seems to be lost on many of the dublin players. Maybe they fall into this trap where they do so much work in the gym that they feel they have to use their strength every time someone comes near them.

i agree to an extent im not saying ger is perfect but many a time of seen him execute a fine shoulder but regardless wether you play for mayo dublin kerry etc. i feel it all depends on the ref some shoulders do warrant a card fairs fair but some cards and frees come down to the incompetence of the ref imo anyway...

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 05/02/2013 19:47:15    1329269

hill16no1man

1329008 dubbydave to be fair to owl eddie kinsella it was one of the calls he got right saturday night ger brennan gave a great shoulder and he allowed that it was the fact of what he did after he shouldered him that was the offense by throwing himself onto the player on the ground

id the match recorded mate and i hold me hands up yep challenge was good enough but in fairness the what followed deserved the free sorry eddie!!! "still dont like ya for what you did to us in parnell park hope we dont get you in the final ha ha ha ha..

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 05/02/2013 19:51:10    1329271

TheMaster and Waynol .....

You lads are taking the urine. Dublin had a poor game.... Mayo had a great first half. And why was I annoyed that Mayo lay on the ground for 17 minutes of the second half. Time wasting of a few seconds is standard, robbing yards on frees happens. A ref letting a team lie on the ground for half a half is a disgrace. Think back to Paidi's Westmeath team who won Leinster against Laois. I attended the drawn game.....Westmeath were winning by 3 points with 5 mins to go. Before full time time Laois were coming back strong and a point down. Stadium announcer announces 4 mins of time added on. Laois scored one 70 mins......Connaughton took the kick out before the we moved into the 71st minute the game was blown up!!! I was so annoyed! He didn't play the other 3 mins!!! Draw kept everyone happy, but if I was a Laois fan I'd have been livid as Westmeath were rocking and Laois were looking like the only team to win it.

The free in the AI final was a free......the one Cluxton pointed!

And the BB free against Kildare was a stonewall free.....yes the RTE footage looked like it was harsh. But the ref didn't give the free for what the rte cameras picked up....the incident was before that. Barry Cahill got the ball and looked to go long. Andrieu McGloughlin had Bernard Brogan in a headlock as Bernard was trying to make his run. Ref lifted his arm for a free and kept it up while running. Cahill seeing the foul delayed by soloing. McGloughlin seen the ref acknowlidging the foul and let go. Cahill hit a horrible ball Brogan was never gonna get to and as McGloughlin and Brogan raced for the ball there was a slight tangle. Releasing Brogan was never getting the pass awarded the free for the Initial Headlock. Correct decision punishing a stupid tackle. The only person who was harshly treated was Brogan as McGloughlin had done that all day.... And Bernard only got one decision. I was sitting with 3 Kildare lads.....they seen the exact same thing and agreed it was a free!

Soft frees happen....

Timekeeping should be taken out of the refs hands.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 05/02/2013 21:29:56    1329349

haha yeah dubbydave eddie certainly has a tendancy to miss pushing and dragging on blue jerseys

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/02/2013 09:42:31    1329378

To say Dublin's tactics against Laois were the same as Mayo's tactics against Dublin is an absolute joke. I salute Mayo for what they did against Dublin but to say Dublin did the same against Laois is just not right.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 06/02/2013 10:11:40    1329391

JayP, you ignore the fact that every mayo player that went down was substituted. Considering it undermines your whole point I can understand why.

Clondalkindub, the only difference between what mayo done and what dublin done was the fact that in the semi, dublin needed goals far earlier in the match. The act of stopping a team when they need a goal was exactly the same in both matches. But since dublin needed them so early, obviously there was going to be more of it on that occasion.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 06/02/2013 10:19:14    1329398

Its a done deal lads.. Mayo won... They defineltly tried to disrupt Dublin in the 2nd half... It happens.. Im sure if the roles were reversed we would be giving out aswell... No point comin on here and writing essays about it though.. Lookin forward to the league game in Croker in a few weeks

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1223 - 06/02/2013 11:02:30    1329421

JayP your account of the 2011 incident seems to be at odds with Brogan's own comments about being impeded while running for the ball. Gilroy claimed after the game that Brogan deserved the free by the law of averages. It would seems both of them missed the headlocking incident that you saw or for some inexplicable reason didn't think it was worth a mention. Strange that...

But it's okay because MacLochlann had apparently been doing it all day? That's also very strange as he only came on in the second half after Ollie Lyons got injured.

But apart from that, yeah you're spot on... Dublin never get anything off refs.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 06/02/2013 11:12:12    1329423

i thaught this was a division one thread not a trip down complaining memory lane

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/02/2013 11:28:42    1329433

hill16no1man

1329433 i thaught this was a division one thread not a trip down complaining memory lane

agreed now can we get back to division one now.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2850 - 06/02/2013 11:59:44    1329451

Ah stop Master please your talking rubbish, Mayo's non stop cynical fouling tru out the game , there feigning injury tru out the second half,there diving/play acting tru the game , there bending of the rules on the blood subs . Would you stop it was nothing close to Dublin v Laois now please take your Mayo hat off for once and be fair.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 06/02/2013 12:46:06    1329468

Ah stop Master please your talking rubbish, Mayo's non stop cynical fouling tru out the game , there feigning injury tru out the second half,there diving/play acting tru the game , there bending of the rules on the blood subs . Would you stop it was nothing close to Dublin v Laois now please take your Mayo hat off for once and be fair.

That is a load of crap.
A) Where were all these cynical fouls 'throughout the game'? Mayo gave the best display of attacking football of the entire year in the first 50 minutes. In this period it was in fact the dubs who were trying to target alan dillon in an attempt to curb his influence. Why are you making stuff up?
B) Name one player ho went down 'feigning injury' that wasnt substituted either immediatly, or in the next 10 minutes. This point has been avoided over and over, but it is a fact. Will you keep avoiding it and blindly claiming there was feigning injury going on or will you show a bit of backbone and address it?
C) The blood sub was within the rules, that was stated after the match. The only bending going on is your own, with the truth.
D) Dublin Laois exhibited the exact same ethos. Yes there was more instances in the semi, but then dublin needed goals (plural) after 50 minutes, while laois needed one goal after 65.

I agree that this is off topic, and dont want to be going into it, JayP was the one who went down this road, but in the face of such biased analysis there must be a response. I have told the truth, mayo did use cynical fouling in the match. But I have also told the truth regards the injuries, the blood sub, the timing of the fouls and the dublin laois game. Maybe you could take off the 'anything but accept that we lost because we werent good enough' hat and do the same?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 06/02/2013 13:09:15    1329490

ClondD / themaster

Enough already. Old news. thats been gone over and over and over and over
Neither team were good enough to win the AI last year. Dublin or Mayo.
It's now a new year
and this is a bleedin thread about Division 1 NFL 2013
Give it a feckin rest now

Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 480 - 06/02/2013 13:22:58    1329504

Jimbo I know it's been talked over and over but when a man uses a ridiculous example I have to say something. Anyway I'm done now he's full of it with his one sided view as per usual.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 06/02/2013 13:51:16    1329516

Tyrone head to Castlebar on Sunday. Interesting game ahead. We had a decent record against Mayo in the League prior to our sabbatical in Division 2 for a couple of years. Mayo have evolved greatly since then mind you. Tyrone were generally poor against Down, let's be honest about that, and will need to find another gear if they are to compete on Sunday. It will be interesting to see if Mickey makes any changes to the team, a few players were found out of their depth against Down and the subs we brought on did make a difference. I'm quietly optimistic that we will make a good account of ourselves and hopefully provide Mayo with a stiffer test than Kerry did. Ability wise, I don't think there is much between the two teams, but Mayo are in their third year under Horan and are a well drilled unit. This Tyrone panel are still fine tuning and might fall a couple of points short.

EnolaGay (Tyrone) - Posts: 653 - 06/02/2013 13:53:11    1329519

Welcome back JIMBODUB. Why a name change?. Your one of the few who talk sense on here. Regarding this weekends game. I expect a much improved performance from our lads. We will have to improve our supply of ball into the full forward line if we are to stand any chance against the Dubs. Heres to a great game.

kerry74 (Kerry) - Posts: 1354 - 06/02/2013 14:19:49    1329546

Is this a Division 1 thread thread or a Dubs moan about last years defeat to Mayo thread? This topic has analysed to death. Thank god for Wayno1 and his voice of reason.

Anyway time to move onto this weekend's fixtures and predictions please:

Cork v Kildare - Cork
Donegal v Down - Donegal
Mayo v Tyrone - Draw
Kerry v Dublin - Dublin

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11690 - 06/02/2013 17:30:50    1329644

Cork v Kildare - Draw
Donegal v Down - Donegal
Mayo v Tyrone - mayo
Kerry v Dublin - kerry

Pharmstrong (Kildare) - Posts: 29 - 06/02/2013 17:39:03    1329649