Division One 2013

EnolaGay

"Cork have never struggled against Tyrone and will get back on course here."

What's that based on doublehop?

Hes probably basing it on the two championship meetings that Cork played Tyrone in the 1973 and 2009 all ireland semies. Cork came out on top twice.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 07/03/2013 16:37:34    1344880

Would agree to an extent, it definitely is the best way to get the loss out of the system to jump straight back on the saddle but they have had some amount of games lately with O'Byrne cup, Sigerson Cup, Club Games, U21 and Senior think some of them need a breather.

_________

Yea as i said though i reckon it will be left up to them, They know their bodies if they feel fit enough and mentally able to play on Sunday gavin will pick them. Ciaran Kilkenny and Jack McCaffrey would be the two in question here, Reckon Emmet O Conghaile along with one or two others will be in the squad but nt the starting XV ...

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 07/03/2013 16:44:06    1344882

I suppose I was mainly thinking in relation to 2009. Maybe that was a bit of a stretch to say never...

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 07/03/2013 17:27:28    1344903

It'll great to see Kyle Coney back for Tyrone at the weekend, lets hope he can remain injury free for the rest of the season. Interesting that Harte has chosen to field a stronger team against Cork than the one that beat Donegal comfortably, clearly sees a bigger challenge from the rebel county.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 07/03/2013 21:38:53    1345084

Tyrone team for Sunday. Trying to get game time for Coney and O'Neill - they'll do well to last the 70.
I see Cork have named a strong side should be a good test for us and hopefully Cork.

1 Niall Morgan Éadan na dTorc

2 Aidan McCrory Aireagal Chiaráin 3 Conor Gormley An Charraig Mhór 4 Cathal McCarron An Droim Mór
5 Ryan McKenna Eaglais 6 Joe McMahon An Omaigh 7 Ronan McNamee Achadh Uí Aráin

8 Colm Cavanagh An Mhaigh 9 Sean Cavanagh An Mhaigh

10 Patrick McNiece Oileán a'Ghuail 11 Peter Harte Aireagal Chiaráin 12 Matthew Donnelly Trí Leac
13 Kyle Coney Árd Bó 14 Stephen O'Neill Clann na nGael 15 Ronan O'Neill An Omaigh

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 08/03/2013 10:24:33    1345186

brend, what is the story with coney up there? I think everyone expected him to be a nailed on starter by now. Has he not developed as well/quickly as expected? You see that with very good underage players some times...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 08/03/2013 10:35:04    1345196

Enola Gay

Over the last ten years (little point in going back further) Cork have played Tyrone in the league in 2010, 2007, 2006, 2005, 2004, 2003.
We played each other in the championship in 2009.

Corks record is Played 7 Won 2 (2011 and 2007), drew 1 (2004 I think) and lost 3. I hardly think 1973 is relevant to today. I know it was not you that initially said
that we don't struggle against Tyrone, however, who ever it was, I think the above shows that we hardly dominate either. The last time we played in 2010 we scored 16 times in Omagh (0-16) but still managed to lose to a Tyrone team that scored 12 times (3-09). At that time our paths were going in different directions (we were upward and went on to win league/All Ireland that year while ye were relegated) and we still lost.

It is a bit early to be making wild predictions about what will happen later this year but ye have made a great start to the year (unbeaten and McKenna cup in the bag) while we have been extremely sluggish (patchy performances against Kildare and Down and outplayed by Tipp and Dublin). We have massive scope to improve and the players to do so. You'll be favourites but I think it will be close. Right now I would be happy to avoid relegation. We need 6 points at least. the sooner we get them the better.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 08/03/2013 10:41:48    1345202

He is the real deal Master, unfortunately for him, and for us, he was injury prone for most of last year and wasn't at the top of his game. A fully fit, and might I say focused, Kyle Coney, can add an extra dimension to the Tyrone attack, we shall have to wait and see on that one.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 08/03/2013 10:50:09    1345209

bennybunny
I've always found Cork football to be an enigma, I've been tipping them for AI success for the last few years and somehow they always find a way to lose when least expected. I know they've had a couple of high profile retirements but do you think they are AI winning material this year?

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 08/03/2013 10:53:58    1345212

Ollie / doublehop / brend / bunny

Tyrone and Cork have played out some great games in the League over the past 10 years or so. I remember travelling to Cork for a league game around 03/04 which ended in a draw, a fantastic match. To say Cork have never struggled against Tyrone was a bit of a sweeping statement though and probably only based on the 09 semi-final. I think we can all agree that Tyrone are a much changed team from that day. When we beat Cork in 2010 in Omagh we had no right to win that game, and ended up getting relegated that year anyway (the only two wins we could muster were home to Cork and Kerry, arguably the top two teams).

I don't know what to expect on Sunday to be honest. Cork don't seem to be going well at the minute, but they still have some fantastic footballers on their side. The way they pulled a result out of the fire against Down last week will stand to them as well. I'm looking forward to seeing Sean Cavanagh and Aidan Walsh battle it out around the middle. The Tyrone team named was surprising to see so many changes, but Mickey will be looking to give some more people game time ahead of our trip to Croker next week. I hope Tyrone have enough about them to still be unbeaten when we arrive there

EnolaGay (Tyrone) - Posts: 653 - 08/03/2013 11:24:44    1345244

Yes Brend, I think Coney is the real deal, but Harte has made one or two references to his allergy to hard graft. Good to see him back.

gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 08/03/2013 12:19:15    1345291

brendtheredhand

I've always found Cork football to be an enigma, I've been tipping them for AI success for the last few years and somehow they always find a way to lose when least expected. I know they've had a couple of high profile retirements but do you think they are AI winning material this year?

I think we could win the All-Ireland this year. I think we have the players at our disposal to be able to do so. The major problem is using what we have effectively. I like Conor Counihan but I think he is slow to learn from his/the team's mistakes and he is extremely loyal to certain lads. Our half back line is a major problem. Kissane, O'Leary and Canty. While some efforts are being made to find replacements, these lads are Counihan's default half backs which he will always turn to if things are not going according to plan.While all have been great servants to Cork, we have able bodied replacements in Tomas Clancy and Conor O Driscol who are only getting the odd look in and almost certainly will not be involved in Summer. Denis and Jamie O Sullivan likewise have not been given much of a go over the last few years.

We still play like robots. There seems to some invisible wall between both 45s where our players are only allowed solo or handpass in this zone and all kicking will be blocked by the wall. Fintan Goold, a talented but stifled footballer, just solo's the ball between 45s and gives a handpass. Colm O Neill is often sacrificed in front of goals to try and bring somebody else into the game and Aidan Walsh could be the best midfielder in the country if he knew what he was supposed to be doing.

In short if the odds lengthen on Cork winning the All-Ireland then they might be worth a sneaky tenner. However, at 4/1 you'd be better off buying yourself a few more pints!...either way you'd be p**sing away your money..at least you'd enjoy the pints..

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 08/03/2013 15:05:41    1345468

Pints it is then bennybunny:o)

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 08/03/2013 16:22:31    1345538

Hi guys,

Tactical preview of Donegal and Kerry now live http://action81.com/blog/?p=6864

Emmet

emmetryan (Dublin) - Posts: 154 - 08/03/2013 17:29:23    1345604

This is a wee bit late but i'd just like to add my thoughts on the Dubs v Maigh Eo game. I thought the Dubs well deserved there win but showed that they are not as good as some people are suggesting. They let Maigh Eo back into the game three times and they were very open and were caught exposed a few times. They'll have to put this right. I think it is more of a system thing then an individual player thing. That said they showed good attitude and a desire ti win when Ger was sent off (he's going to have to learn from this - he is our real leader in the backs).

Regarding Maigh Eo, I was frustrated by them again. Although their antics were not as bad as they were last September they were still up to their old tricks. I don't know what they are going to do if ans when the black cards are introduced to the game. Thats a problem for them I suppose.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 09/03/2013 10:23:47    1345763

I would be pessimistic about Cork's chances against Tyrone. The simple way I look at it is that it's virtually the same Cork team as last week, which were extremely lucky to beat Down. I would think at the moment that Tyrone are a good deal better than Down, so I am expecting us to loose. Counihan has always been extremely conservative in team selection and playing style, and I was surprised and dismayed when he decided to continue for another two years. Yet he has changed nothing and the fear is that the finest crop of footballers that Cork have had since the 1980s will be completely wasted and end their careers without a second All-Ireland medal.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 646 - 09/03/2013 14:03:30    1345851

Agreed middleton, Counihan has under-achieved with that panel, natural footballers for all positions,
and all giants of men too! Who would do a better job do you think?

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 09/03/2013 14:41:03    1345871

TheGateKeeper

1345871 Agreed middleton, Counihan has under-achieved with that panel, natural footballers for all positions,
and all giants of men too! Who would do a better job do you think?

Just anybody who will let them go out and play football.

John Cleary, perhaps. He was a forward himself and must know how they work.

Brian Cutbert did a marvelous job with the Cork minors in 2010 and almost managed the impossible with a sieve-like full back line who let in shoals of goals all during the championship and were just pipped by your own county in the All Ireland final.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 646 - 09/03/2013 17:19:46    1345955

To dub supporters, just wondering to any of you think the inclusion of supple in this particular game has anything to do with what he said happened before?
Not generally a conspiracy theorist but this does look odd.
What are the views, and please lilies leave out the insults, it'sjust a question to the dubs, yeah or neigh?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/03/2013 18:17:23    1345990

If it's just for the Dubs maybe put it on the Dubs forum, no?

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 09/03/2013 18:51:42    1346011