clondalkindub County: Dublin Posts: 3169
1331722 He's a beast lads , probably the most underrated player out there. Somehow he's been nominated 3 times for an all star at full back and hasn't won it once. Has a player ever been nominated in the full back position 3 years in a row and not won? And he's only 22
My god do you ever give it a rest? How many more times are you going to tell us ''he's the best full back in Ireland?'' if hes a good as you keep saying he would have won an All Star simple as that. Plenty of players much better them him over the years didnt win All Stars are you worried about them as well?
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 10/02/2013 21:41:32
clondalkindub County: Dublin Posts: 3170
1331754 That's fair enough MuckrossHead , thanks for a much better response than your first post on the matter. Jaysus Muck that Murphy lad is some player best in Ireland at the moment, mind you not many forwards would do what Bernard Brogan did to Marc O Se today.
Agreed. It's early in the year yet but class players will always look good. Looking forward to your visit to Ballybofey.
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 10/02/2013 21:45:14
No ill never give it a rest until justice is served for The Roc haha. Hard luck today moomoo when the old guard are back you's will be much better team.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 10/02/2013 21:47:14
Agreed moomoo. Like a broken record. He's a good full back but others are as good if not better.
sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 10/02/2013 21:47:23
I'll be up there if we don't have a match that day like today only for it to be called off head wrecked. What's a nice hotel to stay in up there before the match Muck?
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 10/02/2013 21:54:20
Very disappointed with Mayo yesterday. Aidan O Se aside, we were quite simply awful. Stray passing, running into tackle and working the ball back, sideways and anyway but forward. In fairness the Tyrone blanket defence worked well for them and our lads could not penetrate through. When you are playing against class players like Stephen O Neill and Sean Cavanagh you will always be punished if you are not on top of your game.
Mayo only woke up with 5 mins to go when Tyrone went 4 points up and in fairness battled well to lead by two points. I had left my seat walking towards the exit when we went two points up and was standing at the stairwell looking on when Tyrone go the penalty....I though the Mayo team must have done the same because they simply switched off. I hope they learn from that for the next day.
In truth it was a smash and grap if we had one and didn't deserve it. I would have taken a draw but Tyrone were the better team despite Mayo having the most position we were useless with the ball. Mayo have 2 weeks hard work before Sunday nights game against Dublin in Croker. Tyrone will be there or there about's on the August bank holiday you would feel and their match with Donegal next up in the league will be very interesting.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11691 - 11/02/2013 09:26:10
Just to change my league predictions - The Dubs, Cill Dara, Tír Eoghain agus Maigh Eo to contest the semi finals with the Dubs gaainst Cill Dara agus Tír Eoghain in aghaidh Mhaigh Eo. Ciarraí agus an an Dún to go down with Corcaigh agus Dún na nGall doing enough to hang on. I'm pretty sure i'll be changing these predictions again though.
As a Dub i'm absolutley delighted with the win i gCill Airene inné. One thing that worried me however was the missed chances. Brogan missed a very simple free from 21 yards and had one or two bad wides and Paddy Andrews, although he had a good game, hit two goal chances head height at the keeper. We should have been much further in front at half time. That said any win against Ciarraí is welcome.
Regarding the Maigh Eo Tír Eoghain game, what an ending to the game. Tír Eoghain deserved their win however. I felt Maigh Eo got two very soft fress just before the penalty but as I said before what an ending to a game.
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 11/02/2013 09:26:16
I wasnt that bothered by it to be honest with you YT. A few more recognised forwards on the field and we would have won the game I believe. We didnt play well, and looked sluggish, but then training has been stepped up recently as we were a bit behind the others starting back. Even then we could have gotten over the line is vaughan went for a goal instead of a point. I thought the ref was quite poor though. There were a number of fouls given which resembled nothing like a foul, and they ended up as scores too. Im not sure it was a penalty at the end either, it was inconclusive at best and you cant give a penalty when you are not sure. It would certainly be disappointing if that kind of thing were to happen to any side come championship time.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 11/02/2013 10:19:13
have to say the refs have been very inconsitent,same thing happened in the o byrne cup final bastick gets red card and doyle gets nothing. yesterday donaghy strikes mccauley,mccauley reacts and what happens mccauley gets red card and donaghy gets a yellow card. clondalkin il agree o carroll had good game yesterday but gave a hospital ball to connolly that caused his injury id say he ont thank him for that.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 11/02/2013 11:05:09
clondalkindub County: Dublin Posts: 3173
1331776 I'll be up there if we don't have a match that day like today only for it to be called off head wrecked. What's a nice hotel to stay in up there before the match Muck?
Either Jackson's or the Villa Rose are within earshot of the ground. Mind you they are both fairly choosy & the sight of Dublin's best in full regalia might be a bit off putting for them. If you are badly stuck give me a ring & I will put you in the shed out the back with the hens. They might find the smell hard going but one night won't kill them!!!!!
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 11/02/2013 11:13:29
TheMaster - I agree with you on the referee Deegan. He was awful to both teams. Some of the decisions were baffling and he would not let the game flow. Too much stop and starting.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11691 - 11/02/2013 11:18:43
Indeed it looks like the most interesting div one in many a year, both kildare and Tyrone were expected to go down, now it looks like both will be in semis while two of cork kerry and down will get relegated, interesting times ahead
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/02/2013 12:16:34
Theres 5 games left. Down, Cork or Kerry could win their remaining 5 games and even finish top of the league. Silly to say so early on.. Ask me again after game 4 who will be relegated and i will have a more realistic/likely answer
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 11/02/2013 12:22:50
No they weren't royaldunne!
brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 11/02/2013 12:24:07
TheMaster County: Mayo Posts: 5788
1331850 I wasnt that bothered by it to be honest with you YT. A few more recognised forwards on the field and we would have won the game I believe. We didnt play well, and looked sluggish, but then training has been stepped up recently as we were a bit behind the others starting back. Even then we could have gotten over the line is vaughan went for a goal instead of a point. I thought the ref was quite poor though. There were a number of fouls given which resembled nothing like a foul, and they ended up as scores too. Im not sure it was a penalty at the end either, it was inconclusive at best and you cant give a penalty when you are not sure. It would certainly be disappointing if that kind of thing were to happen to any side come championship time.
The Master - you should take a leaf out of Yew Trees book and accept defeat graciously. You cant blame the Ref lad, dry your eyes. Fouls that werent fouls and fouls that should have been fouls, and on and on and on. Look ye got beat by a hungrier team. Stephen O'neill getting the penalty was pure justice at the end since he was pushed around and kicked about for most of the game, O shea landing on him with the knee was very classy dont you think and no wonder he reacted to that one with an O'Driscoll style leg grab and tumble.
cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 11/02/2013 13:26:38
The Master There were a number of fouls given which resembled nothing like a foul, and they ended up as scores too.
I'm compelled to agree with you here. How some of those frees Mayo got just after Higgins' goal were given defies common sense and the last one given after the penalty in an effort to get the draw. Still Tyrone prevailed. Very magnanimous of you though I underestimated you.
A number of Mayo men should have got the line - Seamy O'Shea was pulled ashore but should have been gone before that. The antics around the penalty were disgraceful. The left-half back on Mark Donnelly. I noticed a poster from Mayo complain about Cookstown fans whistling at frees against Charlestown. Maybe it was the same boys who travelled west and booed the Tyrone penalty.
Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 11/02/2013 13:47:19
Yes Tyronetim, those frees were soft, mayo got called for a few soft ones also when they were on the attack, and they ended up as scores down the other end. It is a shame that in a tight game these things can have such an influence. I dont believe it was a penalty either to be honest, but on the day tyrone were the better team. However, there was 5-6 decisions that he got wrong that ended up in scores for one side or another, and I think it would be very hard on any side if they were to go out of the championship over such things. Casc, what are you talking about? Im not blaming the ref at all, I said he had a bad game. You seem to want me to be saying these things such is your over-riding want to rub it in, but the reality is I didnt read into the kerry game too much, and the same goes for this one. Also, how is the penalty justified? What was the foul exactly? Higgins got his hand on the ball, that was why he miskicked it. If the goal was at the other end I would have no issue admitting it was fortunate, I dont see what the big issue is with doing so.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 11/02/2013 14:11:24
1331850 I wasnt that bothered by it to be honest with you YT. A few more recognised forwards on the field and we would have won the game I believe. We didnt play well, and looked sluggish, but then training has been stepped up recently as we were a bit behind the others starting back. Even then we could have gotten over the line is vaughan went for a goal instead of a point. I thought the ref was quite poor though. There were a number of fouls given which resembled nothing like a foul, and they ended up as scores too. Im not sure it was a penalty at the end either, it was inconclusive at best and you cant give a penalty when you are not sure. It would certainly be disappointing if that kind of thing were to happen to any side come championship time.
You're being a wee bit harsh with him there Cacs. Yes a bit more gracefulness in defeat would have been nice as Tyrone were the better team for 65 minutes of the game, a fact freely acknowledged by James Horan and the vast vast majority of Mayo supporters. However, I do agree with him in relation to Maurice Deegan's performance. It defies belief in my view that this fella is lauded as one of the best in the business. The game was never let flow in any shape or form yesterday and although players are as responsible as the ref for this, his decision making is very inconsistent. I agree that a lot of frees were given for inoccuous challenges whilst blatant frees (two handed push in the back of S O'Neill) being one and there were examples for Mayo as well going unpunished. Mark Donnelly was nailed cheaply and high off the ball and although a yellow card was given, I think it could have fallen under rule 5.6 - behave dangerously to an opponent in any way and therefore a red card. I also agree that I do not think it was a penalty. I think that any contact made was after Donnelly had taken the shot and did not impact on its direction or accuracy. Some could argue that the two Mayo frees prior to this were equally as soft and they probably were but balancing up wrongs does not make it right. In fairness he also gave Mayo the opportunity to equalise after the penalty when the allotted 3 minutes of injury time were well and truly up.
omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 11/02/2013 14:15:22
I would like to congratulate Kildare on their win on Saturday. I think had Damien Cahalane not get sent off we might have won. He was very stupid and I don't know what was going through his mind. Hopefully somebody will have a word in his ear. He was playing well before that stupidity.
That said Kildare were full value for their win. It seems we do not know what to do with our best players. Fintan Goold is as talented a half forward as there is in the country but he simply gets the ball on the Cork 45 and solos to the other 45 and turns around and handpass it backwards. Eoin Cadogan is as good as corner back as around. Wins the ball, burst out and stops at invisible forcefield for Cork backs that is our own 45 and handpasses to the side or backwards. Aidan Walsh and Paul Kerrigan drift in and out of the game as they don't seem to know what they are doing or what they are supposed to be doing. Colm O Neill is a number 14/full-forward in the traditional sense. Put him near the goal and he will cause panic as he did a bit on Saturday. However, no sooner is causing danger when he is shafted out to the wing or in the corner and Donncha O Connor is in full forward. When things are going badly we turn to Pearse O Neill and Paudie Kissane and off go young and up and coming players.
I am convinced we have the talent to win the All-Ireland. However, we have no game-plan what so ever. I must go one of the training sessions these days to see what the hell is going on there.
bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 11/02/2013 14:24:59
Yeah, it'll be a different league when it all returns after the three week break. Kildare have used the O'Byrne Cup run very well to fill our pockets in the first two games against two teams that haven't looked to peak yet but things could all change when it all comes back in March. Meath after all won their first two games in Div 2 last year. I don't think we'll beat Dublin in Croker or Mayo in Castlebar so it's the two Newbridge games we'll need to be looking at to avoid going to Newry on the last needing a win. Kerry in a few weeks should be a great game. As I said yesterday, hopefully Crokes win on Saturday which will hopefully take the edge off the inevitable backlash after they've only scored 4 points in their last 105 minutes of football.
doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 11/02/2013 14:25:10