O'Byrne Cup Final

A few points. I know its the O' Byrne Cup but I was very dissappopinted we didn't win it. Now thats all the negativity.

The positives totally out weighed the negatives. A great game and a great test for the young Dubs. It shoyuld bring one or two of them on a good bit. Cill Dara proably deserved it over the 70. They were nmore clinical and didn't have to work as hard for their scores. Doyle should have gone. The ref didn't see the Bastic incident but he turned in time to see the Doyle incident. He sent Bastic off after refering to the line. It was a bit strange I ahve to admit. Brilliant to see a good crowd out.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 28/01/2013 08:24:08    1324617

90 minutes not 70!

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 28/01/2013 08:58:18    1324628

Very disappointed we didn't win Saturday night lads. Kildare certainly had the edge.
What kills me though is how did Doyle stay on the pitch, he should have gone. In typical form the ref didn't do his job properly, you can see in the video footage that he clearly saw the incident with Doyle but chose not to give him a red card but instead chose to give Bastic a red card because that is always the easy option and the linemans who instructed it was only Bastic - well you should open your eyes pal and do you job properly - incompetent doesn't begin to describe it. Bastic will be missed but he needs to keep a cooler mind and not lash out. RANT OVER! Great crowd

fantasticdub (Dublin) - Posts: 22 - 28/01/2013 09:39:50    1324649

I understand your frustrations with the referee and refereeing in general. I wasn't at the game myself but I understand that JD was lucky not to see the line.

Last year we had the same complaints about Connolly in Newbridge and we were accused of whinging and moaning about the ref. I think supporters are entitled to question these decisions without being accused of being whingers and moaners.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 28/01/2013 10:09:26    1324661

Bastick through the first punch so in my book Jonny Doyle is entitle to throw one back so lets leave it at that and forget about weather he should have got red or not. Great game again fair play to Kildare Jonny Doyle kicked an outrageous point in the first half I even clapped that one myself. Just goes to show how good The Roc is when you see the roasting Brady got off O Conor.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 28/01/2013 11:33:17    1324697

That was sporting of you clondalkindub.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 3049 - 28/01/2013 11:47:53    1324712

will doyle be done on video footage if thats the case as it unfiar if bastick gets suspeneded for next weekend and doyle gets to play when they both done same thing.
also it was poor reffereing that started the whole thing as seanie johnston dragged the the player coming out with the ball around the neck to the ground and the ref waved play on he then comes back after it all and only deems it a yellow bastick a red and doyle not even a talking to

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/01/2013 11:51:23    1324719

Kildare didn't pursue a case against Connolly last year and his incident was fair more dangerous. Why are you so eager for Doyle to be punished?

Besides Doyle's punch seemed to land on his opponents arm. Yes it's still striking but Bastick's punch was a lot higher.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 28/01/2013 12:14:50    1324735

its not doyle really its the bad officaiting that bugs me,nobody would have thrown a sigle punch if he had aof blown for the free when johnston dragged the player down by the neck to the ground like you cannot get a more blatant free and yet he waves play on

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/01/2013 12:33:10    1324748

Regarding the red card.

I genuinely didnt see Bastick or Doyle lash out. However i believe Basticks red card was deserved so i have no qualms or arguements about that , Also, I don't believe in retrospective action unless its something really serious. So i wouldnt be gettin too worked up over Johnny Doyle either. handbags nothing more than that

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 28/01/2013 12:34:54    1324749

Bastick should have matured by now, got what he deserved!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8812 - 28/01/2013 12:36:09    1324750

Real Dub - must have taken you forever to think of that response!

fantasticdub (Dublin) - Posts: 22 - 28/01/2013 13:07:16    1324776

I'm sorry fantastic, what exactly are you talking about?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8812 - 28/01/2013 13:41:57    1324807

You learn more in defeat than victory, congrats Kildare deserved to win in my opinion. Dublin had goal chances early on and should have made one count worrying for some of the new lads that twice they threw away leads which indicates a lack of composure/cuteness. Midfield once again abit of a mess for Dublin, any big game we have lost down the years occur when our midfield is in a constant state of flux throughout the 70mins this happened Sat night.

As regards old time posters on here, I think a majority of you typify why the GAA find it hard to attract new blood with your clan like attitude alot of you also suffer from ageism, I may be younger than alot of you but I know my IQ is fastly superior to alot of you too. I have played the game at a high level and this is a public forum which entitles everyone to an opinion regardless of age or post count.

Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 28/01/2013 14:32:02    1324833

Bluewave

You learn more in defeat than victory, congrats Kildare deserved to win in my opinion. Dublin had goal chances early on and should have made one count worrying for some of the new lads that twice they threw away leads which indicates a lack of composure/cuteness. Midfield once again abit of a mess for Dublin, any big game we have lost down the years occur when our midfield is in a constant state of flux throughout the 70mins this happened Sat night.

As regards old time posters on here, I think a majority of you typify why the GAA find it hard to attract new blood with your clan like attitude alot of you also suffer from ageism, I may be younger than alot of you but I know my IQ is fastly superior to alot of you too. I have played the game at a high level and this is a public forum which entitles everyone to an opinion regardless of age or post count.

Jaysus Bluewave you got a right dig in there!! You can have an opinion as long as it doesn't conflict with certain posters. If it does it will be scrutinised, you will be asked a million questions and your contribution will be assessed. Fair play to ya

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1733 - 28/01/2013 15:06:46    1324861

sedico

1324661 I understand your frustrations with the referee and refereeing in general. I wasn't at the game myself but I understand that JD was lucky not to see the line.

Last year we had the same complaints about Connolly in Newbridge and we were accused of whinging and moaning about the ref. I think supporters are entitled to question these decisions without being accused of being whingers and moaners.

I'll back you there any day Sedico, as I did on here after that match in Newbridge. I was only about 10 yards from that Connolly incident and he should have walked, no doubt. Having said that Doyle certainly should have gone as you said. He had a good game but he had the experience to get out of Dodge as soon as he through the punch. He was up in the full-forward line like a flash keeping his face away from the scene. That's experience for you.

Kildare deserved the win no doubt and I was impressed with their fitness. A bit too much hand passing maybe but that's how we won an AI so in know position to criticize. They played very much like we did under Giller and picked off probably the best 3 points of the match. I was delighted with the young dubs though. Plenty of talent coming through and great foot passing throughout. If only we had a decent midfield!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 28/01/2013 15:48:50    1324878

1324697 Bastick through the first punch so in my book Jonny Doyle is entitle to throw one back so lets leave it at that and forget about weather he should have got red or not. Great game again fair play to Kildare Jonny Doyle kicked an outrageous point in the first half I even clapped that one myself. Just goes to show how good The Roc is when you see the roasting Brady got off O Conor.

it doesnt really, in fairness O conor doesnt always be that good, even in the semi against us, menton was marking him, who isnt naturally a full back, he was only filling in for kevin reilly and menton still done a good enough job on him that o conor was then taken off.

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 28/01/2013 16:37:42    1324910

The thing with O'Connor isn't necessarily that he played to his best against Dublin, or played poorly against Meath, it's more to do with the tactics the team plays and the type of ball and support he gets.

For too long he was left isolated in the full forward line and most of the time a ball was lumped in on top him there was time for defenders to crowd around him waiting to catch it or tackle him, and for the most part the support he received was poor, with very few players near him or running off his shoulder.

Against Offaly he played a little bit further out and closer to the half forward line, meant it was harder for the Offaly defenders to surround him, and the ball that was sent his way was more often than not sent in low and quick. A big difference to just pumping in the high ball and hoping for the best.

The Dublin defence lacked a bit of experience on Saturday night, especially with O'Carroll and Cluxton missing.

Fair enough he mightn't have scored 1-2 if he was being marked by O'Carroll, but at the same time maybe we would have used him a bit differently and brought him further out the field, leaving more space inside for the likes of Naill Kelly, Paddy Brophy and Johnny Doyle.

Tactically I hope Jason Ryan is going to have big influence on us this year.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3692 - 28/01/2013 16:53:27    1324921

Bluewave

Oops!!!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 28/01/2013 17:19:06    1324934

Kildare needed to win this game more than the Dubs, it will give them great confidence to win a Lenister title. I would like to see them win a title this year.
While Dublin really didnt need to win the game. Jim Gavins biggest problem this year will be, is to pick a starting 15. Dublin have some serious new players from their underage set up. C Killkenny played a stormer for Castleknock at the weeked. The Dubs could dominate football for the next 10 years.

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 28/01/2013 17:28:26    1324940