O'Byrne Cup Final

doublehop

ye ended up with a very strong forward line as id say 4 at least will start for ye in the championship where as we only had one definate in bernard brogan who was starved of ball all night some balls that went in where closer to the keepers hands then to him.out of the whole team i reckon we only had two players that started that will be definates in the championship mdma and brogan so wouldnt read into it in terms of later in the year.i do feel butsy(darren daly) had a stromer in chb and nelson has played himself into the league line up next week at corner back along with mccafrey who is certainly going to be a top player.paddy andrews is finally showing his club form at inter county level and done alot of good work in half forward line but other then that i dont see many the others who started apart from maybe mannion realy pushing for places.no disagree on supple every kickout he took he lofted straight up into the air which any midfielder will tell you is always going to be won by the oppostion or broken by them as they are the ones attacking them balls and gives your own fielders very little chance of catching it.
has to be said it was a night when eamon fennell would have cleaned up in centre field as some the guys we currently have there are nowhere near good enough.i think paul flynn is nailed on to start centre field next saturday night with bastick now likely to be suspended.how only bastick was picked out was a disgrace also as johnston started the whole thing by dragging the player in possesion around the neck to the ground and then johnny doyle clearly threw a punch and was not even spoked to.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 27/01/2013 18:47:54    1324408

LillyLad

Here lads full strength Kildare team ?? The backs were strong not going to lie, have to say it was funny Ollie Lyons keeping Brogan in his pocket throughout the match, never gave him a sniff did the same in 2011 until he got injured. Cathal McNally, Gary White, Rob Kelly, Niall Kelly, Paddy Brophy, Dan Flynn, Brian Flanagan, and Johnny Byrne were not starting and some were not on the panel last year. Oh and Hughie Lynch was out for the whole of last year. Some of out more established players were playing in different positions too eg Eoghan Flats.

lyons didnt have brogan in his pocket every 50 50 ball that went in to them he fouled brogan and gave away a free.
and every other ball that went in was miles over their heads the quality of ball going in was very bad cant blame brogan for that.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 27/01/2013 18:49:54    1324409

Well done to Kildare

Nothing between the sides really but to Kildares credit they just kept on coming back
Dublin were ahead by 3 points at least 3 times in the game but could never pull away
The pitch made sure the quality wasnt great
Very happy with the approach Jim Gavin is taking
Theres no point just talking about the talent coming through. He's right to not just think about
winning a tropy. Much more important to look at lads and give the ones with promise a taste of the action
For me Hudson was our best player in January
Well worth a 10'er wha
Well done to Kildare finished the stronger with 1-2 in last 10 minutes
That'll win most games
You always have to try a take some positive from defeat but this time it's not hard to take several positves from Dublins performance

Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 480 - 27/01/2013 19:00:57    1324420

Waynol are you one of them lads with the drum or badhran?

______

Yeah i had the drum last night!!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 27/01/2013 19:51:47    1324486

Lol, and they're off, and it's only Jan! Great stuff lads, should be a good year!!!

______

It will be a good year on the field , But off it and in particular on the hoganstand forum it will be just arguements and personal attacks. Its ridiculous , When i started posting on here 3 or 4 years ago we had great posters like ConnollyDub , Dellboypolecat , Patrique , Steocluxton etc and they always debated. They always contributed well to the forum , Now its just posters having personal vendettas against one another. Hostility etc. It's just not the same anymore.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 27/01/2013 19:59:41    1324498

Good point Wayno
It's time that admin put content before their hit counts.
It's come time to boot certain posters.

Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 480 - 27/01/2013 20:07:40    1324509

What was the Dublin team last night?

Jackos_Wacko (Kerry) - Posts: 417 - 27/01/2013 20:15:54    1324519

Waynol are you one of them lads with the drum or badhran?

______

Yeah i had the drum last night!! Are you messing with me?? I know you to see so ,the drum is black and you have the strap around your shoulder?? Whose your man with the badhran? Ha he never stops fair play to ya's

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/01/2013 20:20:14    1324524

I'm not suggesting any posters on here are bad contributors , But there are certain posters who are always at war with each other. One will comment on a topic and their shadow would be there giving them grief. It's just all got a little out of order. There was a time when everyone on here could have a discussion and it wouldn't get personal , Now you look over comments and sly digs/jibes between people and they are personal. Must remember this is a forum. As the house rule states when you are typing a comment "These message boards are intended to be used for Gaelic Games related discussions and are aimed to be family friendly". Alot of stuff said and alot of stuff that Admin let through aswell is a bit below the belt in my opinion.

Sure, I remember when Dublin lost to Tyrone in 2008 and Kerry in 2009 the stick Dublin got on here was amazing i've never seen anything like it in my life HOWEVER i don't recall anything ever getting personal. Heated.. Yes... But not personal and thats unfortunately the Hoganstand times we live in at the moment. I would love nothing more for it to go back to the way it used to be (And the non-sport forum aswell that has really hit Hoganstand for contributors too)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 27/01/2013 20:25:47    1324530

Great game of football considering the conditions leading up to it, and both sides kicked some great scores (one of Doyle's points with the outside of the right boot was spectacular).

Atmosphere was great, definitely went up a few notches as the game wore on in the second half, certainly not something you'd expect from a meaningless game of football in late January.

Both sides had chances to win it in normal time really, Dublin should have managed to hold onto the leads they built up, Kildare likewise had two good chances to get a winning point late on (Seanie and Conway's 45).

Some of the young lads Jim Gavin has introduced looked very good, the number 7 at wing back looked very impressive going forward, covered the whole pitch but probably lacked that bit of experience when it came to defending. The only worry for Dublin is how they might struggle if they are missing Cluxton and O'Carroll at any stage later on in the year. Once O'Connor came on for us we started to put a lot of pressure on a fullback line which seemed to just lack a bit of leadership and organisation at times, again though that could be sorted with a more game time for the young lads. Supple is a good keeper but like Cluxton at times he tends to rush the kickouts and about three of them ended up going right out over the sideline.

Great to see some of younger lads step up to the mark. Niall Kelly and Paddy Brophy looked really comfortable on the ball and kicked some fantastic points, and Daniel Flynn really shone when he went out into midfield. At the back we started poorly enough, loose marking allowing the Dublin forwards in for a few goal chances inside the opening ten minutes which thankfully came to nothing. Lyons did a quality job keeping Brogan quiet, although at the same time the ball going into him was limited for the most part.

The lads showed a great attitude in coming from behind to level it at three or four different times, particularly near the end of normal time. Delighted to see O'Connor get the goal and two points, after last night and the Offaly match it's starting to look like we know how to utilise him a bit more effectively.

Overall a great game of football, great excitement and very entertaining for this time of year.

Only downside was that bloody whistle and the drums, nearly as bad as the Cork oul lads with the drum and bagpipes.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3692 - 27/01/2013 20:34:17    1324538

jacko it was

S Supple; D Byrne, T Brady, D Nelson; C Guckian, D Daly, J McCaffrey; MD Macauley, D Bastick; P Quinn, P Andrews, E O Conghaile; P Mannion, B Brogan, K McManamon. Subs: C Costello for McManamon (42), S Carthy for Quinn (43), D O'Mahony for Bastick (44), P Hudson for Mannion (57), P Burke for Brogan (64); Extra-time E Lowndes for Guckian, Bastick for Macauley, Quinn for O Conghaile; G Sweeney for Quinn (80), Macauley for O'Mahony (86), R McCarthy for Hudson (89).

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 27/01/2013 20:39:57    1324542

27/01/2013 20:07:40
Beelzedub

Good point Wayno
It's time that admin put content before their hit counts.
It's come time to boot certain posters.

Couldn't of agree more Beelzedub. Some of the posts here are very hostile and are just simply abuse. There is an unbelievable amount of trolling, some of the posters have serious issues and are consistent in their abuse but I am baffled as to why Admin dont seem to react to these guys. I actually stopped posting here for 6 months because it just sickened me the carry on. Ok I'll accept that a lot of the posters here are young fellas reading crap in the paper and getting a chip on their shoulder but when one looks through a thread about 30% is actually proper discussion of Football and the rest is bitchy little antagonism. Don't like to point fingers but some of the Lillys and the Royals are making the 100years war look like a long weekend in Butlins... but at least there stuff is harmless, theres other posters who have serious chips on their shoulders.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 27/01/2013 20:42:48    1324545

Yeah i had the drum last night!! Are you messing with me?? I know you to see so ,the drum is black and you have the strap around your shoulder?? Whose your man with the badhran? Ha he never stops fair play to ya's

_______

Haha yeh that was me. There are 5 of us with bodhrans ... Wont give names but ... We just know eachother from going to games down through the years. Sometimes i'll have the drum , Other times it would be someone else it just depends. We never stop and it gets on peoples nerves but we dont really care , we go to enjoy the game , have a laugh a bit of banter and make a bit of noise , Otherwise you would see and hear more atmosphere at a funural , As i said already if people dont like the noise and atmosphere they can go to the snooker or the golf.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 27/01/2013 20:45:27    1324546

Great to see an O'Byrne Cup Final thread get 150 posts!
The hunger for our games to return to full swing is obvious
Not long left now

Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 480 - 27/01/2013 20:46:08    1324547

Ah we were full strength last night alright.

All our big name players were pivotal last night.

Hence why our best player last year; Alan Smith, our most important player; Leper, and our first choice midfield; Flynn and Lynch, played the grand total of three minutes between the four of them (Lynch on as a blood sub for Chalky in his first appearance for club our county in months).

And yes Dublin did indeed have their third string out.

Of course there's twelve other forwards who'd be ahead of Brogan and McManamon in the pecking order when it comes to naming the first XV and the second choice XV, likewise McAuley and Bastick would be only fifth and sixth choice midfielders for Jim Gavin.

Dublin weren't full strength, neither were Kildare. We finished with more experience on the field, but at the same time our most impressive players (bar Doyle) were the young lads.

Interestingly enough the posters who were playing down the importance of this competition, and talking about how meaningless it is, are the ones shouting loudest about how our greatest team of all time togged out, while the Dubs picked a group of lads off the streets to play for them...

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3692 - 27/01/2013 20:48:33    1324550

If In doubt

Thats a good post. In the first half in particular i was really impressed with someof Kildares point taking. Their kicking ability and the options they took where 9 times out of 10 absolutely spot on. Thomas O'Connor is a quality forward. Reminds me alot of Kieran Donaghy but with a better scoring ability. If he had of started i'd imagine he would have torn us apart.

I think its important to point out that Dublin where without all first choice wing and half backs yesterday. Not that it is an excse but I would imagine if Rory O'Carroll , Mick Fitz , Philly McMahon , Ger Brennan , James McCarthy and Kevin Nolan (Cian o'Sullivan too i suppose) where there we would have been alot tighter at the back

On the plus side though we did score 0-17 without Ciaran Kilkenny , Paul Flynn , Alan Brogan , Bryan Cullen , Dean Rock etc etc .. But it was a fantastic game .. I really enjoyed it , Specially seen as it went to extra time too. We got our monies worth anyway

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 27/01/2013 20:53:30    1324554

Dublin and Kildare at full strength will always go down or near to the wire anyway, as I have said all last year, Kildare have serious potential, much more so than Meath. I'd much rather get beat by Kildare than Meath, and lets be honest, Meath ain't gonna beat us!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8812 - 27/01/2013 21:17:32    1324574

As for playing down the O'Byrne cup, I think I said Kildare had a near full strength team, so don't exaggerate, I play it down because, A, mostly minors and U21s line out for us, B, guys play against their own counties, for colleges??? Is this not an inter-county competition?? We beat Kerry in the league two years on the trot recently, it didn't mean a whole lot to me personally, so now you can kind of gauge how I see the O'Byrne cup.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8812 - 27/01/2013 21:23:27    1324581

as far as i heard on the radio both teams had enough reg players on the pitch so give it a rest. it was a good game for this time of the year! is dublins red card the start of another year of dublins off the play antics!!!!

gaafun (Carlow) - Posts: 6 - 27/01/2013 21:55:37    1324608

Great game saturday night. The young dubs are going to give Gavin a bit of a headache when picking the panel. Was hugely impressed by our own young lillies too.

Great to see Royaldunne congratulating us and then putting in the digs...the usual aul form. Probably still not able to hold anything down since saturday night.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1733 - 28/01/2013 08:08:32    1324612