O'Byrne Cup Final

KingdomBoy1

i hope kildare blow every 1 of ye out of the water in leinster this year, (meath and dublin) go on the lillies.

Fear is a terrible cross to carry!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 27/01/2013 14:50:28    1324221

Piddym . You got to be taking the p***?
Now i see it's your first post so maybe you not familiar with me (unless you a Lilly in disguise) every dub supporter on hear will tell ya i give them as much stick as anyone, . Just i dislike kildare (well their antics over last 6 years) a hell of alot more than i do dublin,

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/01/2013 14:56:19    1324226

Kingdom boy, obviously it's the last part of your username thats relevant hear, as if you think kildare will beat either your very much mistaken, actually offaly will more than likely beat kildare, we are talking about a team which has not beat one of the top teams in last six years (dublin Kerry cork donegal mayo even failed against down, add Tyrone to that too,) the highest rated team they had beat prior to last year was meath (and that wasn't much at that time) also all bar one of them wins were lucky and the one that wasn't kilkenny footballers would have beat meath that day, and we put that right last year in Croke park, when we beat them back to newbridge. Again your wishes will not come to fruition

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/01/2013 15:08:49    1324234

Ah lads come on. McGeeney has 7 victories as manager to Meaths one. It bugs the hell out of him. And dont believe all he says. His post here last week proved that his knowledge of even his own county is suspect.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 27/01/2013 15:29:59    1324245

Would you blame royaldunne, the amount of nonsense he had to put up with before we played Kildare last summer, we were told not to bother turning up, its actually funny to look back at some of their posts. PiddyM you're from Kerry and your first post is about Royaldunne and Kildare do you expect anyone to take you seriously.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 27/01/2013 15:37:02    1324250

Royaldunne I am very familiar with you. Every time I visit this forum the first thing I read is some nonsensical drivel by you, in fact posters like yourself are the reason I don't frequent this place as much as I use to. By reading your posts I gather that you are probably a very young chap on the windup but if you could offer something more beneficial to forum it would be a better place for all. I am a man in my 40's who would like to come on here and chat to other GAA fans about GAA matters in an adult way. There are proud Meathmen who post here that I reckon cringe at what you say sometimes.

PiddyM (Kerry) - Posts: 17 - 27/01/2013 15:49:48    1324261

This is a thread about the O'Byrne Cup Final. If posters do not keep on topic, their messages will not be posted. Feel free to set up threads about other topics on the main page and county forums, but please keep to the point of the thread.

Admin.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2275 - 27/01/2013 15:53:54    1324266

Lol, and they're off, and it's only Jan! Great stuff lads, should be a good year!!!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8812 - 27/01/2013 15:58:54    1324274

Is it fair to say Kildare are hot favourites for Sam now after that massive win last night...

Matthew (None) - Posts: 1084 - 27/01/2013 16:07:09    1324282

Fair play Admin, well said...

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 27/01/2013 16:10:58    1324286

fair enough admin, well done once again to the o'byrne cup champions Kildare.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/01/2013 16:11:22    1324287

Well said admin!! Be gone boy from the kingdom and set up an I Hate Dublin thread on the Kerry page. I'm sure you and moomoo will keep each other entertained!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 27/01/2013 16:20:48    1324296

i'm sorry kerry74 i don't mean to offend anyone, i'm just being honest, and i dont speak for any of my fellow kerry posters, only my self.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/01/2013 16:48:18    1324318

Of the players who were not first team regulars last season I thought all the youngsters Niall Kelly, Paddy Brophy, Daniel Flynn, Cathay McNally, and Jonathan Byrne (all in their first season) did very well yesterday. Kelly and Flynn in particular. Eoghan O'Flaherty playing centre back was a bit mad, I doubt we'll be trying that again. Chalky still going very well and finally looks to have established a place for himself in the team. Flanagan also seems to have really carved himself a niche position in and around the breaks and should keep his position. Rob Kelly really struggled. In a more serious match I'd say he would've been called ashore before half-time but the plus side of that was that Flynn went well when moved out to the middle when they switched. Johnston (of course not a regular last year either) missed that sitter but made a real nuisance of himself, wasn't getting much change from the ref. Seems to be a dangerous trend. I thought Roley and Lynch did well when they came on also, calm heads were needed and they provided that.

Be very interesting to see what team starts against Donegal now with all those players laying down a marker. So very encouraging in that regard but all the smart postersthinking we're reading anymore into it? Really, ye can relax...

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 27/01/2013 16:51:08    1324320

Great crowd last night, good atmoshere and craic, on the match it was a great match for both teams to try out different lads, it was noticeable that mc geeney brought on experienced lads as the game went on ,where as gavin brought on a lot of minors.and kept changing midfield which really should let him know that o mahony is no way good enough.
For Dublin i thought darren daly(butsy) had his best game in a Dublin jersey,jack mc caffrey is gonna start in championship ,hes too skillfull and confident not to. o conngaile is gonna get better. we will need him if nothing else for his aerial ability. I dont think O'Mahony or Brady are quite up to it in my own opinion. pains me to say it but quinn done ok and was missed for last part of extra time ,where we scored nothing. We rely on mdmc too much, he was great again last night if only we can get someone to help him in the middle. for kildare i thought no27 niall kelly looked good.
well done kildare looking forward to league match already.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 27/01/2013 16:52:35    1324321

Well you would be of to a good start with less of the hate, Jesus it's football where're talking about, good and bad everywhere.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 27/01/2013 17:07:01    1324334

A win against Dublin in a pre season tournament will mean little in the overall context of the season but is a boost ahead of next weeks National League game wih Donegal. I'm sure Royald would have had liked that opportunity ahead of Meath's arduous Division 3 campaign.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 3049 - 27/01/2013 17:10:09    1324337

Kerry and Dublin is a great rivalry but with great respect for each other. Supprters always have got on well with each other. The craic will be mighty in Killarney for the league game.

kerry74 (Kerry) - Posts: 1354 - 27/01/2013 17:33:52    1324353

Here lads full strength Kildare team ?? The backs were strong not going to lie, have to say it was funny Ollie Lyons keeping Brogan in his pocket throughout the match, never gave him a sniff did the same in 2011 until he got injured. Cathal McNally, Gary White, Rob Kelly, Niall Kelly, Paddy Brophy, Dan Flynn, Brian Flanagan, and Johnny Byrne were not starting and some were not on the panel last year. Oh and Hughie Lynch was out for the whole of last year. Some of out more established players were playing in different positions too eg Eoghan Flats.

LillyLad (Kildare) - Posts: 65 - 27/01/2013 17:34:19    1324354

A fine game of football by two teams who got enough out of it to look forward now to the rest of the year.
I wouldn't read any more into it than that.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 27/01/2013 17:36:21    1324356