O'Byrne Cup Final

Honestly RD you want to hear them at the final whistle it was like they had won Sam they were going mental in the stands haha.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/01/2013 12:12:37    1324145

Oh and Congratulations lads!! Meant to put that in my original post!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 27/01/2013 12:17:02    1324147

royaldunne

Kildare win a obyrne cup and the CB and supporters will be booking their all ire tickets in the morning. Wait for the inevitable leinster is ours and sam coming to Lillie's threads, ::) can't wait for it, after all one leinster final in six years is so impressive :)

At least the one we were in we'd a chance of winning.

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 27/01/2013 12:20:16    1324148

Oh clondankin i am sure it was greeted with absolute ecstasy by them, seen it last year in league, .but like us last year yourself will have the satisfaction of seeing them rather muted in a leinster semi final

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/01/2013 12:23:10    1324149

Cheers Jackeen. Absolutely meaningless in the grand scheme of things but a wins a win.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 27/01/2013 12:25:05    1324151

Haha clondalkin, thats typical :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/01/2013 12:30:00    1324154

But the biggest thing is the person with the whistle? Seriously, there must be people that were standing beside him here. Would you not just make him eat it?

Believe me if i ever catch that fella he will be doing more than eating it... a lot of dubs are sick to death of him.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 27/01/2013 12:36:34    1324156

27/01/2013 11:55:30
sedico

Good call doublehop. In fact a great call.

Any idea when the homecoming is on?

home coing is on as soon as hq sign of on the cheque.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 27/01/2013 12:37:35    1324157

Ah doublehop are you on the windup?! Sure it's all part of the atmosphere. Don't tell me the Lillie's don't shout and roar at the refs too. I've heard it all now!! Just on a side note I was in the terrace. There was a mad oulfella from Kildare and he was the only person I heard shouting at SJ. Told him he shoulda stuck to the hurling when he missed the point in injury time! That got a big laugh and a belt of the bodhran haha!! Not my bodhran FYI :)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 27/01/2013 12:37:49    1324158

Well done to Kildare. I think that little bit of extra experience in your team was enough to take yous over the line. Personally i think the draw after 70 minutes was a fair reflection on the game. Considering the conditions of the pitch , The 10 blip we paid is was money well spent as i thought the game was a very entertaining one as some posters have already mentioned.

Obviously neither team will be getting carried away (Kildare in victory and Dublin in defeat) , Its only the end of january. I would as a Dublin fan however be a little bit worried about the lack of experience especially at the back when it comes to the league. People will play down the significance of the league but i think the league is very important in that if your winning games you can build on it and be consistant. The last few years have shown if you do well in the league you tend to do well in the championship. I suppose we will get a few of the college players back and see where we are. But we do have the likes of Alan Brogan, Ciaran Kilkenny, Bryan Cullen, Paul Flynn, Rory O;Carroll, Philly McMAhon, Michael Fitzsimons, Dean Rock, Kevin Nolan, Cian O'Sullivan**, Ger Brennan** and James McCarthy to come back in the next few weeks/months , But when you consider the level of performance from some of the younger lads i thought we where very impressive just disappointed to come out with a defeat.

If you look at the team that STARTED last night. I'd imagine 2 of them are certain stonewall championship starters (Bernard Brogan and Michael McAuley) .. The rest are playing for places in the panel come the championship. I've been very impressed with JAck McCafferey, Yet again i thought he performed well last night as was the case in most of his appearences for the senior side so far in this years OB cup. Paddy Andrews also impressed me as did Darren Daly.

Also have to comment on the crowd. Excellent turn up last night especially the Kildare fans. There was loads of them ... So well done all who made the effort. Atmosphere was very good.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 27/01/2013 12:43:15    1324161

Alot of people gave us grief about the bodhrans and the drums at the game last night and over the years in Parnell park. I say get stuffed. Yeah they are noisy but we are go to all the games and we try to generate an atmosphere. We dont go to stand there like lemons if yous want that go to watch snooker or golf.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 27/01/2013 12:50:55    1324164

doublehop

how can you say dublin had near full team out?
from numbers 1-7 none of them have ever started a championship match before!

on the game itself have to say ref was poor how on earth he could pick bastick out and not see johnny doyle throw a punch and senaie johnston swing the player around the neck to the ground and wave play on, dodgy decisions.
was good game up till all the substituations it bacame hard to know who was on the pitch or off during second half.thaught shane supple was poor, his kickouts didnt were poor all game.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 27/01/2013 13:02:36    1324172

oh also by the way great crowd last nightjust about full house would make you wonder what the 7 thousand reduced capacity is all about certainly was more then that

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 27/01/2013 13:06:45    1324176

Terrific atmosphere for what was only an O'Byrne Cup game. That idiot with the whistle should be banned from GAA grounds however.

beir_bua (Kildare) - Posts: 746 - 27/01/2013 13:25:58    1324187

I didn't say Dublin had the full team out, I said Kildare didn't. Our starting six forwards (Doyle aside obviously) was very inexperienced.

I see Supple getting a bit of criticism but I thought it was more that Kildare followed Mayo's successful strategy of last year of pushing right up on Dublin's quick kick outs rather than dropping back which would be most teams instinctive tactics. Obviously getting more senior players back will help with that but I think it's something Dublin will have to look at. The quick turnaround from the ball going dead to getting it kicked out has served Dublin well over the last few years and while Supple is a fine keeper Cluxton is definitely the master but with teams catching onto it they might need to tweak it a little regardless who is in goals.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 27/01/2013 13:43:13    1324192

wayonl

People will play down the significance of the league but i think the league is very important in that if your winning games you can build on it and be consistant. The last few years have shown if you do well in the league you tend to do well in the championship.

Donegal barely stayed in Div 1 last year and went on to have an unbelievable run in the championship. I think Gavin is right to bleed new players and if I was a dublin supporter I would be very impressed on the showing last night. A game like that will be great experience. The more established players now know that they have a fight on there hands to nail down a starting place, except for ROC of course.

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 27/01/2013 13:59:13    1324198

Waynol are you one of them lads with the drum or badhran?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/01/2013 14:08:38    1324202

i hope kildare blow every 1 of ye out of the water in leinster this year, (meath and dublin) go on the lillies.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/01/2013 14:30:24    1324210

@Royaldunne. I must say I have never seen a Meathman suck up to the Dubs like you do. You must be terrified of them :-)

PiddyM (Kerry) - Posts: 17 - 27/01/2013 14:42:51    1324214

piddy he should call him self loyaldub not royaldunne.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/01/2013 14:48:32    1324218