O'Byrne Cup Final

As far as I know Dublin playerd 9 or 10 new lads last night, great run out for them. Also I'm told Kildare were near full strength!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8812 - 27/01/2013 10:49:13    1324100

Bitter lemons sedico?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 27/01/2013 10:50:43    1324101

Lemon I should have written. Not even from Dublin either.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 27/01/2013 11:12:47    1324112

Near full strength? Dunno who told you that. Backs were strong but after that I wouldnt agree. Its only the O Byrne Cup so I would have assumed you wouldnt care. Im obviously wrong.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 27/01/2013 11:16:14    1324113

The they did realdub. Most telling was Gavin brought on 4 or 5 subs in second half of extra time. They announced D Connolly was coming on two mins from the end but that didn't happen. Brogan, McM and MDM all went off. Bassie got the line for pushing Doyle in the face. Doyle retaliated with a punch to the head but got away with it. Thems the breaks. He will be badly missed in the league. I dunno enough about Kildare to know of they were near full strength or not to be honest. Was looking forward to seeing what all the fuss was with SJ but he was unimpressive last night. Supples kickouts were very poor. Not bad under a high ball tho. Their goal was a lucky one for O'Connor but he took his chance. Kildare should have won in normal time but Conway missed a free & SJ a sitter of a point. All in all a hugely enjoyable match with plenty to be positive about heading into the league!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 27/01/2013 11:18:15    1324114

Great game of football for January. Both Teams done well and Kildare deserve their victory. Johnny Doyle is remarkable for a man of his age (and they say intercounty is for college lads, yeah right). While I hate loosing to Kildare I was more than impressed with the Dublin Minors and U21's on show, they are a bit green but this match will have brought them on in huge amounts against a strong Kildare team. Whoever wins the match in the Leinster champion will surely win Leinster.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 27/01/2013 11:30:22    1324119

27/01/2013 10:42:21
sedico

Loving it. Only the O'Byrne Cup but makes the victory all the sweeter seeing the bitter lemons devastated.

Life is good. Cill Dara Abu.

Your easily pleased Sedico, then again one mans salt is another mans sugar. But victories for the lillies over the Dubs are far and few between so enjoy. The real business starts next week. By then the O'Byrne cup will be long forgotten,

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 27/01/2013 11:34:18    1324120

realdub

As far as I know Dublin playerd 9 or 10 new lads last night, great run out for them. Also I'm told Kildare were near full strength!

Not the case. We'd quiet a few new young players and quiet a few of the others playing in positions that wouldn't be the norm. Most encouragingly, all the really top performers last night were the new players.

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 27/01/2013 11:43:04    1324122

Again jackeen that was aimed at myself by sadico.
Well if he can't see i was taking the p***, when i said I'm devastated, well then enough said, :) as was said dub had around 9 new lads last night and by sounds of things kildare had near full strength, i actually think this shows just how far ahead dub are of kildare when kildares first team struggled to beat a dub select,
And it's also understandable why mcgeeney targeted the obyrne cup when no other county did, he knows what the last year of his tenure holds, relegation and leinster semi exit

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/01/2013 11:44:37    1324123

RD they had more or less there best team out we had two guaranteed starters on our team Brogan and MDMC the rest were made up of kids and players who won't get a look in this summer but fair play to Kildare they never gave up and Tomas O Conor gave Brady an awful roasting in extra time we had no answer to him, but that game bring our young lads on , Mannion and Costello are going to great footballers for Dublin they scored some lovely points between last night and Mccaffrey is savage.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/01/2013 11:45:54    1324124

Ah I think I know who you're talking about sedico!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 27/01/2013 11:47:15    1324126

Kildare win a obyrne cup and the CB and supporters will be booking their all ire tickets in the morning. Wait for the inevitable leinster is ours and sam coming to Lillie's threads, ::) can't wait for it, after all one leinster final in six years is so impressive :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/01/2013 11:50:00    1324129

25/01/2013 12:12:55
doublehop

Rifght so what's the predicition. I'm going for a Kildare win after which Dublin posters will attempt to say that it was Dublin's second team against Kildare's first team even though both will probably have roughly the same number of players that started a championship game last season.

When I'm right, I'm right... dear oh dear...

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 27/01/2013 11:50:01    1324130

Clondalkin, glad to hear that, jasus man i was getting worried there, thought it be kildare we facing in leinster final instead of your good selves :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/01/2013 11:53:29    1324132

Good call doublehop. In fact a great call.

Any idea when the homecoming is on?

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 27/01/2013 11:55:30    1324134

Doublehop, might that be cause you knew dub field third team and kildare were going to field best?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/01/2013 11:55:43    1324135

Ok doublehop your right it was our championship team out last night.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/01/2013 11:57:15    1324136

All joking aside fair play to kildare, without doubt the kingpins of obyrne cup.
Congratulations l

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/01/2013 11:57:36    1324137

Looking forward to Div 1 football now. Its where the real action is. First time in a long time the eight best teams are up there.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 27/01/2013 12:04:05    1324139

There is no poster who talks as much about an other county as you do about Kildare royaldunne. You would surely agree with that? 5 posts in this thread already today and it's just turning 12 on a Sunday morning.

Still was a very enjoyable game. Dublin's team would have been far more experimental I would agree with that but you couldn't say we were full strength. We did have a good few young lads and squad players on the team contrary to what's being said above. Everyone in Kildare knows we beat Dublin last year and it didn't count for much. Still ideal preparation for Donegal next week. Might have a sneaky chance of an upset in that, hard to know.

In the game itself, Dublin supporters are crazy when it comes to refs. Some of the things they call for fouls or get onto the ref about aren't close to being frees. Everytime Ollie Lyons looked at Brogan supporters were shouting at the ref. Booing the team onto the pitch in an O'Byrne Cup game? But the biggest thing is the person with the whistle? Seriously, there must be people that were standing beside him here. Would you not just make him eat it?

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 27/01/2013 12:08:09    1324142