its quite clear mayo were by far the worst for 3rd man tackles blocking off and the like...they were much more extreme than the other sides..master has consistently shown bias against joe brolly in the past so i would take his comments on brolly with a pinch of salt...mayo bragged about all the attention being on donegal before the final but now they complain when they cant get the job done?
ffgg (Longford) - Posts: 2571 - 09/01/2013 20:04:41
Brolly is not just an analyst but a critic also - therefore he can say what he likes about anything about the game.
Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 09/01/2013 20:12:38
exactly..and hes a good one also..nobody wants a boring pundit who says the same old stuff with little to offer
ffgg (Longford) - Posts: 2571 - 09/01/2013 20:19:12
Re sgoldrick
You would say that, wouldn't you. you are a donegal supporter. I am neutral. The Cork forwards had the beating of you. If counihan had to get his tactics right there would have been no stopping them. fact was the right ball wasn't played in to them often enough, the wrong option was taken, I think if youse meet them again this year they will beat yis.
Dung.
McGuinness got his tactics right as usual and Donegal stopped Cork from playing. Simple as. The amount of wides Donegal had in the second half was almost criminal. I could be proven wrong but I think that Cork team has had its day...
Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9822 - 09/01/2013 21:32:41
Not as if Mayo dont have enough media time throughout the year, plus having to listen to McStay and Carney. John Maughan all over the radio. Lets face it, Donegal were the team everyone loved to hate for their style of play and the negative press they received in 2011 was severe. They adapted a little and so got the deserved pludits last year. CAn Mayo build on last year? Personally, I dont think so, but I hope they do. The collapse at the start of the All Ireland was disappointing for all who wanted to see a competitive game , and in fairness to Mayo, they made a great effort to pull back that gap. Horan should keep quiet on this, they need to go about their business and get back to the same stage as last year.
Hopefully (Offaly) - Posts: 143 - 10/01/2013 09:49:29
AthCliath How come you werent on last year saying the same about spillane, some of his comments about donegal could definetly be construed as trying to influence the outcome of games. going by your logic on brolly. Or are we now looking at it with tinted glasses.
Did spillane make these comments at the 11th hour before donegal played in a final against a team using the exact same tactics, while ignoring the actions of the other team totally? Because if he didnt then they are not the same thing. Im not saying he isnt allowed criticise, im saying that he is supposed to do it honestly. If he was going to do an article on tactical fouling before the AI final, then fair enough, but how can you pick on the lesser evil of the two sides and ignore the guys who were doing it far more professionally all year? The article should have been about both teams, otherwise it is just one-sided garbage.
I dont get how people say you should take what he done with a pinch of salt. He tried to influence the outcome of the AI final by putting out a disingenuous article. No way should that just be ignored, it shouldnt be tolerated. That isnt being a critic or a pundit, their job description doesnt involve trying to influence the game with biased articles so their favourite team wins!
ffgg, if you think that mayo were more cynical than donegal last year then im sorry, I dont like to be personal but frankly you dont know much on the subject. The most cynical act I seen on the field in last years championship was the ethos of foul the man when you lose a kickout. That is every single time, not when they get close enough to get a score, just foul them at the source every time. Therefore they dont get near the goals until the offenders have their defensive system in place. They cannot create an attack. That is organised cynical play, and donegal done it in every single game. They also done it in such a way as to avoid getting cards, again, organised and planned. That is the most cynical act we have ever seen in the gaa. They were operating as a cynical collective. That blows mayo's pulling a guy in front of the posts and getting a card, out of the water.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 10/01/2013 10:21:25
Lockjaw County: Donegal Posts: 2587
McGuinness got his tactics right as usual and Donegal stopped Cork from playing. Simple as. The amount of wides Donegal had in the second half was almost criminal. I could be proven wrong but I think that Cork team has had its day...
Fair enough, we will see. By the way I was cheering for youse that day.
s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 10/01/2013 10:27:47
10/01/2013 10:21:25 TheMaster County: Mayo Posts: 5446
1316136 AthCliath How come you werent on last year saying the same about spillane, some of his comments about donegal could definetly be construed as trying to influence the outcome of games. going by your logic on brolly. Or are we now looking at it with tinted glasses.
Did spillane make these comments at the 11th hour before donegal played in a final against a team using the exact same tactics, while ignoring the actions of the other team totally? Because if he didnt then they are not the same thing. Im not saying he isnt allowed criticise, im saying that he is supposed to do it honestly. If he was going to do an article on tactical fouling before the AI final, then fair enough, but how can you pick on the lesser evil of the two sides and ignore the guys who were doing it far more professionally all year? The article should have been about both teams, otherwise it is just one-sided garbage.
I dont get how people say you should take what he done with a pinch of salt. He tried to influence the outcome of the AI final by putting out a disingenuous article. No way should that just be ignored, it shouldnt be tolerated. That isnt being a critic or a pundit, their job description doesnt involve trying to influence the game with biased articles so their favourite team wins!
ffgg, if you think that mayo were more cynical than donegal last year then im sorry, I dont like to be personal but frankly you dont know much on the subject. The most cynical act I seen on the field in last years championship was the ethos of foul the man when you lose a kickout. That is every single time, not when they get close enough to get a score, just foul them at the source every time. Therefore they dont get near the goals until the offenders have their defensive system in place. They cannot create an attack. That is organised cynical play, and donegal done it in every single game. They also done it in such a way as to avoid getting cards, again, organised and planned. That is the most cynical act we have ever seen in the gaa. They were operating as a cynical collective. That blows mayo's pulling a guy in front of the posts and getting a card, out of the water. ____________
So after over a couple of dozen posts and a couple of thousand words of waffle - You finally come to the point - Blind, Bitter and sour grapes Mayo were not got enough to beat Dublin legitamately and were not good enough to beat Donegal Illegitimately
ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 10/01/2013 10:31:57
I have said it before on here and other places, when Mayo win Sam they can talk, till then let them do the talking on the football field and that goes for both players and Management. Just shut up boys till Sam is safely in Castlebar and then ye can talk.
culmore (None) - Posts: 1398 - 10/01/2013 11:04:21
No not at all ruanua. Donegal won the final and deserved to win it. I have stated over and over that I feel no ill will towards donegal. That is how they set themselves up and good luck to them, im not complaining about that. My issue is brolly was writing an article on the subject, and chose to totally ignore donegal, who in all honesty were far more accomplished at it than mayo were.
Mayo were not got enough to beat Dublin legitamately and were not good enough to beat Donegal Illegitimately
Also, I dont really buy into this. The reality of the mayo dublin game is that when the football was 'legitimate', mayo were 10 points up. Furthermore, if mayo tried to beat donegal 'illegitimately', then donegal were playing 'illegitimate' football also, werent they? Either way, im not trying to say that mayo should have won, so you are going down the wrong road with that post.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 10/01/2013 11:48:38
Fair enough sgoldrick, but would you not agree that Donegal should have had that game well sewn up with about 10 -15 minutes to go? How you can come to the conclusion that Cork should have won is beyond me, all neutrality aside.
Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9822 - 10/01/2013 12:27:18
Ahh sure who cares Kilkenny is coming home!
Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 480 - 10/01/2013 12:29:04
Been away for a few days & only seeing this story now.
Having read the article I must say I am more than a bit surprised. I had Horan down as one of the young rising stars of management who would, in time, bring an All Ireland to Mayo. Not any more. The level of self pity & self delusion in that article, assuming of course that he was accurately quoted, would be quite worrying to me if I was a Mayo supporter. It's everyones fault except his. Brolly is a critic & commentator who calls it as he sees it. Free speech gives him that right. If anything there was more pressure, the pressure of expectation on Donegal than on Mayo. To think that his match ups were fine is nuts. Martin Carney called it not five minutes into the game & the fact that Horan did nothing about it almost led to a third goal only for an excellent save by the keeper. Worse than that though was to blame individual members of his own team & to name them as being responsible for Donegal's goals. I simply couldn't believe what I was reading & that passage alone will do more damage to Mayo than a hundred Joe Brolly articles. Mayo have a fine squad of talented footballers & they deserve better than this.
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 10/01/2013 12:58:27
1315863 s goldrick County: Cavan Posts: 1786
Cork had the beating of them and there was nothing Donegal could have done about it. Cork beat themselves.
Was this the same game where the RTE panel said that "Donegal had humiliated Cork in the second half" or are we talking about a different game?
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 10/01/2013 13:32:41
Muckross, by in large I agree with the sentiment of what you say, however one thing that jumps out at me is you are giving brolly a pass to say what he likes, but you are panning horan for doing the same...
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 10/01/2013 13:43:05
I think it's fair to say that any yellow card handed out in the final was warranted. The ref did a good job besides one incident prior to Donegal's second goal. Mayo used tactical fouling and should accept the criticism. In Mayo there is a feeling that Horan has a bias view of players, unwilling to develop natural raw talent. Let's face it, any manager that brings on Freeman to win an All Ireland is deluded in the extreme in my opinion.
Washedup (Mayo) - Posts: 34 - 10/01/2013 14:02:53
IM very surprise by horan to say this but i think his interview has been blown way over the top, read it in mayo paper and seem s the view s now from everyone is adding on to it , I think horan is sick with brolly and not RTE runing mayo down all the time with his smart comments about everything losing , fouling, chokers ,up until this year to soft not hard enough , and then to come out and say if mayo got to all ire again they should go on holiday and let some one else play it , that is prob horan main reason and would have any manger annoyed if said about their team , if that was said about derry brolly would write a book about it .
2The 2nd reason horan is annoyed is media saying ger caf should have started on murphy and not keane , this annoys me to cause it was barry moran who let lacey run 30 yards slow motion and pick out murphy , and if you had half the mayo backs on murphy he still would have got that goal cause some catch and great finish fair play to him ... and the 2ndgoal was bad luck some day s you will have good luck {like clarke again dublin} and bad luck other days {keane drop for mcFadden s goal} rem how that goal started o connor fouled no free then donegal allowed to run thru and hit balls into their full forwards donegal hit post rebound s keane catch s and drop its mcfadden goals a lot of bad luck that another day might not happen , horan is entitled to put who mark who cause his the manger , people seem to forget about ger caf mark murphy in the league and what happen that day maybe some people who only go to all ire and semi s for get about league and other games cause murphy roasted ger caf that day so maybe that s why horan swap them .
3. And finally i stil cant belive horan is on about the media ,there must be some other reason in it cause it should have stood to mayo coming under the radar and they uaully rather being under dogs ,, that had no out come on the game the 2goals did , mayo midfield , and no andy moran , was a great chance to win sam but blew it im still annoyed about losing and say horan and the players are to cause it was hard to take but fair play to donegal taking nothing away from donegal just wish it was mayo thats all .. so i hope 2013 is lucky for mayo but to get back is going to be hard but with this bunch of players they might get over the line i would die happy for them to get one in my life time with cork kerry dublin kildare meath donegal tyrone galway and mayo its never going to be easy but there is no point in playing unless you think you can win it so ere s hoping for mayo 2013 its not joe brolly rte media or any one else thats not or going to win it for mayo so its uo to the panel of players and horan to get it right i belive ye can... 4 Take horan s interview with a shovel of salt not a spoon cause means frig all only Brolly really blown over the top .......up mayo 2013... please close this thread to cause a lot of rubbish being said ...
dannyone (Mayo) - Posts: 176 - 10/01/2013 14:06:53
master you have zero objectivity zero.....look at all of mayo games under horan..non stop fouling lads after the ball and off the ball blocking to the extreme..the kerry game last year was the worst for it i have ever seen....if that was donegal who done that the abuse they would have received would be massive
ffgg (Longford) - Posts: 2571 - 10/01/2013 14:52:03
There's no point ffgg. He is worse than you! There is no point discussing anything to do with CLG Mhaigh Eo with him.
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 10/01/2013 15:23:54
Master I accept that both men have an absolute right to free speech but Horan has to look at the big picture in a way that Brolly doesn't. Before Horan talks to the media he has to be sure that what he says doesn't harm morale in the camp & singling individual players out like he did while absolving himself of all blame is the single surest way of doing that. It sends a message out that players are not slow to pick up on. Brolly has no such concerns.
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 10/01/2013 15:24:13