pigonastick, exactly right. That is obviously more effective than pulling a guy down in front of the posts, getting booked and conceding a score! That is probably the poorest excuse for a cynical system you can come up with! Maybe there is hope for the dubs after all.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 18/01/2013 11:16:16
TheMaster County: Mayo Posts: 5555
1320071 How do you not intend to be cynical culann? Accidental cynicism? You do realise that is a total contradiction? Im talking about the cynicism they showed against laois last year, I say they will repeat it as some stage this year, it cant be much clearer
So am I. Dublin didn't go out with the intention of being synical. Maigh Eo did against the Dubs and against Dún na nGall. It was part of their game plan. I have nothing but critism for the two or three times my county fouled against Laois but as any reasonale person will acknowledge it was no where near the level of the synisms of Maigh Eo. No where near.
So the 1,000 euro bet stands then? Dublin will commit a cynical act in 2013? Time to put your money where your mouth is...
No I am not going with that bet. I have never once said that Duiblin would be able to do such a thing. I am just speaking here aboyut how Maigh Eo have brought this to a whole new level. You cannot accept that. Thats your problem. Would you not go with my bets above? Time to put your money where your mouth is...
Why do you continually fail to address other people's points?
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 18/01/2013 11:30:54
pigonastick County: Dublin Posts: 451
1320064 I think that Donegals persistant attempts to prevent frees bee taken quickly by the opposition out the field is probably the most blatant of all cynical fouls that has been adapted as part of there game plan! The crazy things is for the last 2 years the Gaa failed to do anything about it! Joe Brolly would have donne well to highlight any player blocking a free should have been booked immediately! Donegal weren't concerned about losing the yards as long as it wasn't within scoring ddistance! This is a prime example of how Donegal have taken cynism too far in the coaching of professional fouls and yet poor Jim doesn't know what a cynical foul is apparently! Again Brolly should have brought this to article for the referree to address also!
Good point and you are right. I hope refs cop on to the likes of this next year. If these antics and Maigh Eo's antics were cut out the game would be a lot better off.
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 18/01/2013 11:33:10
Culann, dublin cynically killed the game against laois, and they done it as a group. Whether this started at half time or 20 minutes later doesnt change a thing, that is purely reliant on when the opposition need goals. Dublin done it as a group and doing that requires organisation, whether that be 10 minutes into the game or 10 minutes form the end, the organisation required to do it is the same. 'kill them off when they need goals' is reliant on when the opposition need goals. The fact that dublin needed goals so early is nobodies fault but their own. That is just the reality of it, and it is something you dont like to hear. Maybe you sleep better at night thinking that this is the reason dublin lost, but the real reason is that they were that far behind in the first place.
You talk about cynical play, yet when mayo were blitzing dublin in the first half there was at least 3 attempts to upset alan dillon off the ball where guys were grabbing him in headlocks, hitting him shoulders after the whistle etc etc. Every time someting was happening, you could set your watch by a bigger dublin player trying to man-handle dillon. Surely that is organised cynical play also? Nobody was going to get hurt with what mayo were doing, does that mean the dubs 'took it to a whole new level' also?
The reailty is donegal were the most cynical team last year, if you cant see that that is just down to your lack of knowledge, plain and simple.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 18/01/2013 12:26:33
Thats is all opinion and I wouldn't agree with any of it. Your opinions are not based on any sort of fact and neither are your 'facts'. At the end of the day it is my opinion Maigh Eo got their cumupance and they deserved every bit of it. I am happy Maigh Eo were found out.
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 18/01/2013 12:33:48
On what grounds do you not agree with it? Simply saying you dont agree with it doesnt make a bit of difference. If what mayo did needed to be planned then in the same fashion to do what the dubs did needed to be planned. It cant be one way and not the other. Both teams were stopping goals as a group were they not? So why is one team doing it by accident while the others are plotting the whole thing from their evil lair?
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 18/01/2013 13:03:12
If only Mayo had a few more like the master Because he's got that head strong belief in his county which has been so lacking in Mayo's long long wait for an AI. Tis a pity not more of his county men have had such strong convictions, becasue it's that lack of quality which has provided much heart break for their loyal fans. and no doubting: the master is a loyal fan but his anguish and massive dissapointment is very obvious. yet still he fights tooth and nail and I admire that, he should start a self help class over in Mayo and give free membership to Mayo inter county players because they need a bit of it
Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 480 - 18/01/2013 13:18:08
The Master
Culann, I will put a bet with YOU that dublin will use cynical tactics in the 2013 championship. €1,000 you said?
You have criticised every poster's knowledge on here that calls you to task on Mayo's disgusting cheating time wasting , fouling, third man tackles, feigning injuries, using more subs than permitted etc etc etc. The fact of the matter is you used such tactics as you are not good enough to go toe toe with the opposition ala Donegal in 2011. Now stop talking nonsense and enjoy 2013.
The fact you have just said Dublin will play cynically further underlines your lack of knowledge Jim Gavin is one of the most attacking managers in the GAA please refer to our underage dominance.
Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 18/01/2013 13:24:03
Mayo need to stop their whinging. It will not do the team any good.
ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 18/01/2013 13:28:34
The Master
Culann, I will put a bet with YOU that dublin will use cynical tactics in the 2013 championship. €1,000 you said? ___________
Every team in the country uses cynical tactics. Some far more blatantly obvious than others.
Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 480 - 18/01/2013 13:40:24
Bluewave I will tell you straight out, that is bull. I have never stated that mayo didnt have any cynical element in their game. Also, just so you know, the subs were within the rules, maybe actually knowing the rules of the game might be a starting point? As regards going toe to toe, werent dublin using similar tactics to donegal in 2011? We all remember the worst AI semi-final in living memory, so trying to lay the blame on donegal is a bit rich. Furthermore, if mayo used these tacitcs because they werent good enough, doesnt the fact that dublin used them against laois mean they werent good enough either, and by extension, every single team who uses them? Talk about a blinkered view.
The fact you have just said Dublin will play cynically further underlines your lack of knowledge Jim Gavin is one of the most attacking managers in the GAA please refer to our underage dominance.
Indeed, mayo were accredited with giving the best example of attacking football of the entire season against the dubs last year, were they not? What was that about lack of knowledge?
The worst part is, if the dubs had gotten through against mayo, and donegal had done to the dubs what they done to everyone else they played, we would be hearing a totally different story. I dont hold anything against donegal, even though their system was ingrained in every aspect of thier play, not just a 20 minute spell when they were missing 7 starting players. Clearly, the most of the dubs on here take a different stance.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 18/01/2013 14:17:08
Your knowledge of Dublin football is not sufficient to dictate to me so don't bother, you fail also to acknowledge the point of you saying Dublin will play cynically when you have nothing but an axe to grind with Dublin fans as we correctly pointed out your team cheats paint it up with whatever ramblings you want it dose not change or hide the fact that it is public knowledge.
Ohhh I don't know the rules eh, why ? Cause your manager claims they were blood subs, ha your opinion carries the same weight as his....NONE.
Move on, stop trying to use a quality Donegal team in your defence of your biased untrue views.
UP TA DUBS !!!!!
Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 18/01/2013 15:53:06
master im going to slightly agree with you in that the narrative is always different when the dubs are involved and from what iv experienced on here their posters are very one sided
ffgg (Longford) - Posts: 2571 - 18/01/2013 15:59:38
Further more :
Indeed, mayo were accredited with giving the best example of attacking football of the entire season against the dubs last year, were they not? What was that about lack of knowledge?
Accredited by who.... RTE the same organisation you blame for costing you an All Ireland !?
HA we all remember the worst Al Finals in living memory too and they all involve Mayo cause the game is finished after ten minutes.
Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 18/01/2013 16:06:43
what you on about bluewave ? they were great all irelands, i love the games that are over by half time just like the dublin v kerry quarter final of 09 ha ha . sweet.
KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/01/2013 16:16:58
It was surely kingdomboy but we ended up having the last laugh in 2011 didn't we :)
Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 18/01/2013 16:21:18
Anyone who comes onto a thread about mayo-donegal and joe brolly, and finishes a post with 'UP TA DUBS' has already wasted too much of my time. I love how you get those dub posters who try to wind you up, but then end up getting more wound up than anyone. You are just thinking, what are they on about? You see the thing is bluewave, I dont actually care what you have to say, your opinions are totally biased, and you like many dubs but not all, seem to be watching a different game more and more as time goes by. Your memory of the game is ever changing. I would say that you are one of these dubs who uses the line 'we were a kick away from the AI final last year' yet A) you lost by 3 points, and B) mayo had 3 goal chances of thier own. Some kick of a ball that must be. How is anyone supposed to reason with that? I hope the dubs draw donegal this year, and I hope donegal choke ye out of the game like they have been doing, and when that happens, and donegal are coming under endless attacks from the 'UP TA DUBS' brigade, you might see this thread making a re-appearance.
UP TA DUBS indeed.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 18/01/2013 17:12:06
Good man run to your moral high ground after I ripped your flawed argument apart. Anyone who basks in the glory of being accredited with praise from RTE after blaming them for losing an AI is deluded.
UP TA DUBS INDEED
Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 18/01/2013 17:46:25
JUST SHUT UP MAYO SHUT UP!
Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9819 - 18/01/2013 18:11:25
ah ye had the last laugh for sure bluewave fair play to ye. so here's to 2013 and what ever it may bring, all the best to what ever team ye support lads.
KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/01/2013 19:46:40