James Horan blasts RTÉ All-Ireland bias

MuckrossHead
Fair enough Master, but how do you address it? Brolly wasn't having a go at Mayo but instead, at what was in his eyes poor refereeing in the semi final. If a pundit can't raise issues like this then we may as well do away with them all together. Free speech entitles all of us to an opinion.
For the record nothing Brolly said had any effect on the two goals that effectively decided the game. It was just poor defending.

What refereeing was he referring to? For my money he was pointing out that mayo's cynical play shouldnt be allowed to influence the final. Fair enough. What about donegals cynical play? Surely his gripe should be with cynical play in general, and not mayo's cynical play alone? You say he is entitled to free speech, but surely the fact that it is his job to analyse football means that he is compelled to do so in an honest manner? That as a professional he is employed to give a fair reflection of any upcoming games. I mean if he could count the fouls in the mayo match then I dont see how he couldnt do it in all the previous donegal matches to date. In truth what he came out with is what you would maybe expect from an over-zealous donegal fan, or if the roles were reversed, an over-zealous mayo fan. The fact that we have a professional analyst acting like a total fanboy, and what is more actively trying to influence the game with highly biased remarks is just unbelieveable. It brings the game into disrepute. I think he should have been warned about his conduct, and the warning made public. If he were to continue with this behaviour then just get rid of him. Replace him with peter canavan maybe, who is a superior analyst anyway and has no interest in abusing his position to make headlines. You need guys there who respect the game enough to not try to influence it. It wouldnt happen in any other self-respecting sport so I dont see why we should have to put up with it.

As regards the goals, im not saying mayo should have won so that really doesnt matter.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 14/01/2013 14:41:22    1318148

theboydonegood

Mayo will have no where near the success they had last year. Cian O'Neill was the brains behind last years particular operation and he has bolted for Kerry. Watch and see...

Donie Buckley will add to Mayo, might even do a better job than O' Neill.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 14/01/2013 14:56:30    1318163

Fair play to Brolly. I read his article in yesterday's Title. He's right. Horan does have to kop on. Well done Brolly. Stand your ground. I would advise anyone here who is using an article published in yesterdays independent to have a go at Brolly to read Brolly's own article.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 14/01/2013 15:07:26    1318171

Boydonegood what a lazy prediction. If Mayo don't win an All Ireland it will be down to their lack of scoring forwards not the loss of their physical trainer. Yes he is a loss but for you to claim he is the brains is 100 per cent nonsense.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8445 - 14/01/2013 15:17:51    1318176

where is brollys article?

ffgg (Longford) - Posts: 2571 - 14/01/2013 15:21:06    1318180

How it is lazy theflaker? It is my opinion and I am more than entitled to it. Whether it is right or not only time will tell.

theboydonegood (Donegal) - Posts: 522 - 14/01/2013 15:24:31    1318185

Of course it is lazy. Everyone knows the reason Mayo haven't won anything is due to their lack of scoring forwards. Fitness has never been an issue so your claim is daft. If Mayo aren't playing football in September next year you will pin it all on the loss of their fitness trainer? Bizarre.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8445 - 14/01/2013 15:32:42    1318198

theboydonegood

Mayo will have no where near the success they had last year. Cian O'Neill was the brains behind last years particular operation and he has bolted for Kerry. Watch and see...

Thank you for your opinion. Cian o Neills work was great last year and what he did will be repeated in training this year, Donnie Buckley will add to the ball work/match tactics this year.

Mayo will push on imo and unlike you i will back this up. We play Galway on 19th May, Galway are struggling last couple of seasons, they have lost joyce and bergin to retirement , although Galway have hinted they are preparing well for the upcoming season it will probably be a year or two down the road before they get it together. Mayo will have enough to manage Galway, next up will be the Ross in Castlebar, we dont lose to ross in McHale park. Next up will be the Connacht final probably Sligo in the Hyde again and again we will prove too much for Sligo.

This will find us in HQ again for a q/f and we will prove a test for any county after that. Honestly, write Mayo off if you want but i think you're mistaken .

''Watch and see'' indeed.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 14/01/2013 16:02:24    1318219

Mayo should try to forget about what Brolly says, its Love Ulster all the way with Joe. He is quite blinked in his view.

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 14/01/2013 16:15:29    1318226

Mayo have always had good scoring forwards - the reason they have never won anything is because they haven't stepped up to the mark on the big stage. Some would call that bottling. I just think O'Neill will be sorely missed this year. He is excellent at his job. A real coup for Kerry.

theboydonegood (Donegal) - Posts: 522 - 14/01/2013 16:22:37    1318232

Indeed ffgg, where is this article? Most people would post a link so everyone could read it. That is if your intention was to add something to the debate. Not posting the link and talking about how great it is is hardly going to cut it, you would wonder why anyone would even bother going to the trouble of bringing it up if that was all they were going to do.
Culann, maybe you could just quote the bit that explains why he ignored one cynical system over another and how that doesnt equate to biased analysis, it will save us all some time

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 14/01/2013 16:23:52    1318234

Boydonegood we have never had deadly top class inside men, like Gooch and Murphy. Our highest scorer in the last 10 years was Mortimer, who can score but found it hard to shake stronger men. Bar Andy Moran, how many Mayo forwards would make the Kerry, Cork and Donegal teams? Dillon if he is playing well? Mcloughlin maybe? We have never had 2 or 3 forwards consistently scoring at the same time, we haven't had and still don't have top class forwards. If Moran stays fit and Conroy plays well again this year, then maybe we have a chance.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8445 - 14/01/2013 16:43:52    1318245

I feel James has fallen into a trap here, fallen to Brolly's standards and Brolly is secretly delighted at all this craic. The reason we lost the All ireland is because we are a class forward or two short (which I said all last eyer - even before the final) and a mismatch in the line up which Horan and co must take some blame for and also not making changes sooner.

He was right to leave the Brolly thing alone, as much as we all dislike him in Mayo (even before his comments this year he has always been winding Mayo up).

Has anybody the stats for the amount of fouls Mayo commited v Dublin verses the amount of fouls Donegal commited against Cork so we can but this one to bed?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11652 - 14/01/2013 16:57:42    1318259

Fair play to James Horan for sticking to his guns. I'm sure he's a great guy and all but as an analyst, in my opinion Brolly is sneering. I haven't read his article yet but to write under a headline telling another adult to "cop on"shows a lack of respect. He gave Mayo no credit last year and made a horrible snide remark after they were beaten, neither of those things are Horan's concern. Brolly's attempts to characterize Mayo as a team of cynical foulers is. If anybody has any doubt read this article: http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/football/2012/0920/338376-joe-brolly-tips-donegal-to-edge-dour-encounter/ />
I know it was posted earlier but seriously, read it. Three quarters of it is dedicated to bemoaning Mayo's tactical fouling, on the basis of ONE match. Can you fathom this in any other sport? That before such an important match the main broadcaster would publish an article like that which also name checks Maurice Deegan and his "important role" by the way. This was not just Brolly calling it as he sees. He did not want Mayo to win and allowed it to seep in to his analysis.

Also for Donegal people- Horan clearly states that ye "absolutely deserved the victory". This isn't just about sour grapes. This is Horan looking out for the best interests of his players in the year ahead.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 14/01/2013 17:05:18    1318264

I think Horan was a bit naive to think that they were the better team on the day. If they were, they would have got the better start and held it or stretched on. Its not easy losing an all ireland final, and they could have their day for sure, but they will need their best players available for it.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3852 - 14/01/2013 17:55:55    1318306

51longago

Mayo will push on imo and unlike you i will back this up. We play Galway on 19th May, Galway are struggling last couple of seasons, they have lost joyce and bergin to retirement , although Galway have hinted they are preparing well for the upcoming season it will probably be a year or two down the road before they get it together. Mayo will have enough to manage Galway, next up will be the Ross in Castlebar, we dont lose to ross in McHale park. Next up will be the Connacht final probably Sligo in the Hyde again and again we will prove too much for Sligo.

They should just scrap the connacht championship and hand it to mayo

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 14/01/2013 18:15:08    1318317

s goldrick

Well as much as it might seem cocky, that is the way i see it going, get over Galway and the nestor is ours again. Ross are pure useless, Sligo are probably the toughest test we will have, they showed very well last year and were Mayos toughest game bar Donegal (obviously).

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 14/01/2013 18:41:46    1318336

gotmilk
County: Fermanagh

Anyone else think Horan might be trying to create a siege mentality in Mayo? Take a look at succesful sides. United, Donegal, any Mourhinio team. Siege mentality seems to work.
--------------------------------------------------------

Ding ding ding, jackpot.

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 14/01/2013 18:43:44    1318338

Donegalman

I think Horan was a bit naive to think that they were the better team on the day. If they were, they would have got the better start and held it or stretched on. Its not easy losing an all ireland final, and they could have their day for sure, but they will need their best players available for it.

Have you read ANYTHING Horan has said? He clearly stated that Donegal deserved to win. This is not about Donegal, it's about Brolly.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 14/01/2013 19:16:58    1318357

Exactly right roundball, this is what I have been saying. Brolly characterizes a team on the basis of 20 minutes in one game where they were forced to make 7 substitutions, ignores a more polished version of the exact same trait in the team he has been championing all year and tries to disingenuously influence the biggest game on the calender. And then gets away with it scot free! That kind of stuff should not be happening in the gaa. Could anyone see such things happening in any other sport? People are getting caught up in the mayo-donegal aspect but we need to realise that there is a bigger picture here. It might be mayo-donegal this time, it could be anyone else the next time. This kind of thing isnt acceptable in the game, no matter who is playing

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 14/01/2013 20:27:10    1318394