This is pure and utter rubbish. Brolly pointed out ways in which Maigh Eo were synical. He is a pundit. He anylises games. Thats what he is supposed to do. This had effect on the game in so far as two Maiyo players were carded in the first few minutes agains Dún na nGall for synical fouling. Two deserved yellow cards. Fair play Brolly.
Also, as has been said above theis same fella, Horan, tried to influence the ref against the Dubs by coming out telling porkies about the same ref. A bit cheap me thinks.
Master won't like this!
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 08/01/2013 13:44:58
Good point there icehonesty, and both of those 2 fellas chose to ignore Mayo's 'dark arts' exploits, which is hypocritical when they have been so critical of these tactics in the past!! There's nothing like good auld hypocrisy! _________
I think that was the logic behind most of the above article.
Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 480 - 08/01/2013 13:47:11
Can't understand why Horan would see that as problem, going into an AI final with all the talk about the other team sounds ideal to be honest.
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 08/01/2013 13:47:18
i dont think maurice deegan needed joe brolly to write an article to influence him that mayo used cycnical fouling in the semi final all he had to do was watch the games himself and he would know like the rest of us,im sure a ref every year for the final reviews both sides games and sees what kind of a game he is going to have to deal with
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/01/2013 13:54:39
unstoppable County: Mayo Posts: 15
1315235 Although I think James maybe should have kept his feelings in house. There can be no doubt that a number of rte panelists made a point of highlighting mayos so called tactical fouling. With 4 mayo lads carded by half time, it's fair to say that this had an influence.
Aye but take a look back over the game. Can you honestly say that any of them WEREN'T yellow cards? Mark McHugh nearly had his head taken off by one. If it wasn't so early in the game, and the score line as it was, that Mayo defender could have seen red.
Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9822 - 08/01/2013 13:56:50
Beelzedub I presume he's having a dig at Joe Brolly? He based an article on the topic of Mayo's tactical fouling in the semi-final and the fact that they went virtually unpunished of said offences.
The thing with that is Donegal had evolved an even more ruthless method of tactical fouling, and used it, unpunished, all year. To claim it was mayo that needed to be watched, while ignoring donegals system was very biased. If he had done an article about the tactical fouling mechanisms of both teams then that would be fair enough, but he didnt. In all honesty we all know brolly is there for a bit of controversy, but on this occasion, in my opinion, he actively tried to abuse his position as a pundit to influence the game, which is something that nobody wants to see in the gaa. We all know manager talk before games, rightly or wrongly, but their colours are nailed to the mast from the get go, brolly is supposed to be a neutral observer, an impartial expert there for the good of the game. His actions in my opinion were a disgrace.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 08/01/2013 13:57:07
Lockjaw County: Donegal Posts: 2582
If it wasn't so early in the game, and the score line as it was, that Mayo defender could have seen red.
Cillian O' Connor defo should have gone. He hit out twice or three times as far as I remember. I think the score line saved him.
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 08/01/2013 14:03:20
TheMaster County: Mayo Posts: 5419
1315252 Beelzedub I presume he's having a dig at Joe Brolly? He based an article on the topic of Mayo's tactical fouling in the semi-final and the fact that they went virtually unpunished of said offences.
The thing with that is Donegal had evolved an even more ruthless method of tactical fouling, and used it, unpunished, all year. To claim it was mayo that needed to be watched, while ignoring donegals system was very biased. If he had done an article about the tactical fouling mechanisms of both teams then that would be fair enough, but he didnt. In all honesty we all know brolly is there for a bit of controversy, but on this occasion, in my opinion, he actively tried to abuse his position as a pundit to influence the game, which is something that nobody wants to see in the gaa. We all know manager talk before games, rightly or wrongly, but their colours are nailed to the mast from the get go, brolly is supposed to be a neutral observer, an impartial expert there for the good of the game. His actions in my opinion were a disgrace.
I'm not sure many would agree with you. Just look at all the posts up til now. Only Mayo people seem to be defending Horan. Why am I not surprised!
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 08/01/2013 14:05:53
08/01/2013 13:17:33 Lockjaw County: Donegal Posts: 2582
1315215 From my recollection of events Mayo were delighted to be coming into the final under the radar. Can't have it both ways...
___________________ Nail on the Head here Prior to the game cleary the Hype had reached fever pitch in Donegal, Rows about homecomings, Sam-mobiles, Interviews with over confident former players from Letterkenny etc etc At the same time There appeared to be conscious effort in Mayo given previous set-backs to key things low key and if anything Mayo were revelling in sitting back and letting Donegal be the author of their own overhyped misfortune.
The first interview McGuinness have after the Cork game was to state that the following few weeks would be the best/most memorable of the players lives and he wanted them to enjoy it.
It wasn't a case of the media being biased against Mayo it was a case of Mayo tryng to play cute-hoorism about the Hype.
The Media gave Liam McHale plenty exposure on the day before the All Ireland and his tuppence alone was probably worth a few points in motivation for the "Donegal Donkeys"
ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 08/01/2013 14:08:30
unstoppable County: Mayo Posts: 15
1315235 Although I think James maybe should have kept his feelings in house. There can be no doubt that a number of rte panelists made a point of highlighting mayos so called tactical fouling. With 4 mayo lads carded by half time, it's fair to say that this had an influence. __________________________ Do you think they were carded for actually fouling, a revolutionary theory I know but certainly one to bear in mind?
Take your beating James, learn from it, move on and come back stronger this year, leave all that thrash talk to the RTE panel.
brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 08/01/2013 14:08:56
Indeed culann, all the dublin posters are referencing their own loss, what a surprise. Why not try to address what I have stated in the rest of that post. Or are you capable?
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 08/01/2013 14:11:00
TheGateKeeper County: Tyrone Posts: 1199
1315236 In fairness, the Mayo bias on RTE's GAA coverage is ridiculous. Both Martin Carney and Kevin McStay wax lyrical about them year in, year out. Give us a break Horan. Icehonesty wexford
Good point there icehonesty, and both of those 2 fellas chose to ignore Mayo's 'dark arts' exploits, which is hypocritical when they have been so critical of these tactics in the past!! There's nothing like good auld hypocrisy!
Kevin McStay has highlighted foul play by Mayo players in the past.
I can understand why James Horan is doing this, can't understand the timing of it though. I'm sure Horan doesn't really believe that media analysis in the run up to the final cost Mayo the All Ireland but there was some analysis as highlighted by o'gall that was potentially damaging and managers have to look for every inch... While we're on this, Joe Brolly's treatment of Mayo in the media last year was nothing short of disgraceful. The way he targeted Donal Vaughan, an amateur sportsman after the League Final was out of order. He seems to see Mayo as a soft target- higher profile than most teams, serial runners up, apparent chokers- he can get away with making snide remarks and jokes about them because it makes everybody else feel a little bit better about the mediocrity of their own teams in comparison.
roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 08/01/2013 14:11:43
Brolly is a pundit and can be sensationalist.
At least it wasn't a manger of a team releasing incorrect information about the ref before a big game.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13819 - 08/01/2013 14:12:02
themaster I applaud your out right loyalty But Horan has come out badly in this. I wouldn't be too happy if a Dublin manager made similar comments. That's my honest opinion. You can see by the above comments that people just don't buy into it and not too many will. I wouldn't be too happy with a manager who is quick to point the finger at some of his players rather than take the blame himself. He did get the match ups wrong and his reluctance to address his mistakes from the sideline did nothing to help you in your quest for an elusive AI Horan appears IMO to be a stubborn man who is quick to point the finger even at the risk of appearing utterly hypocritical Take from that what you will
Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 480 - 08/01/2013 14:14:04
Culann County: Dublin Posts: 1376
1315263 Lockjaw County: Donegal Posts: 2582
If it wasn't so early in the game, and the score line as it was, that Mayo defender could have seen red.
Cillian O' Connor defo should have gone. He hit out twice or three times as far as I remember. I think the score line saved him. ______________
He should have walked. No one could deny that. He struck out twice and Mayo had a huge slice of luck to keep 15 men on the pitch. Deegan and his umpires got that completely wrong. But at least it kept the game at 15 v 15 from a sitting on the fence and neutral stand point.
Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 480 - 08/01/2013 14:16:41
First of all there was a love affair between the media and Donegal in the build up to the final, Joe Brolly was painful to listen to. Unfortunately for Mayo and James Horan, this had nothing to do with the result, it should actually hinder the team receiving all the plaudits. Hopefully we will be back at the business end next year, if we aren't it will be because we are not good enough, end of.
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8445 - 08/01/2013 14:22:11
TheMaster County: Mayo Posts: 5420
1315273 Indeed culann, all the dublin posters are referencing their own loss, what a surprise. Why not try to address what I have stated in the rest of that post. Or are you capable?
I knew you wouldn't like it!! Ha ha.
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 08/01/2013 14:23:20
Beelzedub, Im not talking about horan at all, Im talking about brolly and his actions. Take off the dublin hat for a minute, and in my opinion what he done goes beyond county loyalties. It was mayo this time, who will it be next time? It shouldnt be allowed.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 08/01/2013 14:24:25
TheFlaker County: Mayo Posts: 287
1315282 First of all there was a love affair between the media and Donegal in the build up to the final
It was a bigger story though Mayo have been in multiple AI finals in the last 15 years This was Donegal's first final in 20 years. It's far more marketable as a story It was an odd matchup for a final too. They took an angle and went with it. I mean you both featured in up for the match right?
Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 480 - 08/01/2013 14:26:22
Culann County: Dublin Posts: 1377
1315284 TheMaster County: Mayo Posts: 5420
1315273 Indeed culann, all the dublin posters are referencing their own loss, what a surprise. Why not try to address what I have stated in the rest of that post. Or are you capable?
I knew you wouldn't like it!! Ha ha.
And I knew you wouldnt be capable...
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 08/01/2013 14:29:59