James Horan blasts RTÉ All-Ireland bias

Read about this in the Examiner this morning. Basically James Horan felt that RTÉ was biased in the media coverage towards Donegal in the build-up to the All-Ireland, which may have influenced officials, etc. He also brings it up for the Dublin game.

I'm not sure what he's trying to do here but have a read and make your own judgments.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/football/horan-blasts-rte-all-ireland-bias-218947.html

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 08/01/2013 12:42:01    1315177

Exhibit 1 Your honour

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/football/2012/0920/338376-joe-brolly-tips-donegal-to-edge-dour-encounter/

Joe Brolly believes Mayo's 'tactical fouling' will stop Donegal's game in Sunday's All-Ireland Senior Football Championship final in Croke Park

The Headline on the RTE website read "Joe Brolly expects tactical fouling from Mayo" That was a disgraceful attack to begin with and it was a clear attempt to influence officials

James Horan who is a process Engineer clearly understands that part of Mayos process let them down, he identifys the process through value stream mapping. He looks at the value added and non value added activities. The non value added activities cost Mayo an Ireland and not Michael Murphy's general play. He clearly is one of Irelands most intelligent managers

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 08/01/2013 12:58:46    1315195

Maybe im wrong but didnt Horan bring out factually incorrect information before the Dublin game about the referee reffing in house games for Dublin. He think he didnt get his match ups wrong, I had a good laugh at that.

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 08/01/2013 13:00:44    1315198

The media did buy into the fairytale alright, there is no doubting that. Going forward, in the interest of fairness, they should probably wait to do this until after the event.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 08/01/2013 13:01:00    1315199

Fair play to him
He's managed to twist so much guff around that he may actually just convince his players that they are good enough.
I credit him for his stance, but there's a lot of what if's in that piece
For him to say that the media may have influenced officials is a little strange.
Didnt the same man in the build up to the Dublin game pretty much try his best to influence officials?

Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 480 - 08/01/2013 13:04:57    1315204

He think he didnt get his match ups wrong

Seemingly it's the media and certain Mayo players fault.

Not his.

Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 480 - 08/01/2013 13:09:45    1315208

Surprised to read this from Horan.

He's usually such a steady guy and one whom I've admired down through the years.

Muilleann (Tipperary) - Posts: 114 - 08/01/2013 13:11:11    1315209

From my recollection of events Mayo were delighted to be coming into the final under the radar. Can't have it both ways...

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9822 - 08/01/2013 13:17:33    1315215

Surprised to read this from Horan.

He's usually such a steady guy and one whom I've admired down through the years.

Me too, cant see what purpose it serves.
Most managers would be delighted that their team were totally underhyped for an All Ireland final.
I think hes talking nonsense.

pundit2 (Louth) - Posts: 597 - 08/01/2013 13:19:28    1315217

In fairness, the Mayo bias on RTE's GAA coverage is ridiculous. Both Martin Carney and Kevin McStay wax lyrical about them year in, year out. Give us a break Horan.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2581 - 08/01/2013 13:26:00    1315220

it covers up the fact that the Mayo corner back was on the wrong player for the first goal and that McFadden wasn't being picked up for the second either

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1903 - 08/01/2013 13:30:22    1315224

I presume he's having a dig at Joe Brolly?
He based an article on the topic of Mayo's tactical fouling in the semi-final and the fact that they went virtually unpunished of said offences.
Deegan then booked a Mayo man for a foul in the first 5 minutes of the AI final. Seeminly sending a message that they werent going to get away with it again.
Perhaps James thinks Joe had an influence over M Deegan?
Some would say a positive influence.

Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 480 - 08/01/2013 13:33:45    1315225

Whatever everyone thinks about Horan saying this, everyone would surely admit Brolly only had one intention when pushing this story before the final and that was to influence the referee. No one can disagree with that...

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 08/01/2013 13:35:53    1315227

When you embrace the dark-side in the manner Mayo did last year against Dublin,
you have to expect some backlash by the Dublin loving media!!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 08/01/2013 13:36:36    1315228

Listen, ok yes the Media jumped on the "jimmy's winning matches bandwagen" but if Horan was worth his salt he would have used that to his and his player's advantage this game was ideally suited to a smash and grab all ireland, the truth is Horan messed up and there is no point in blaming others while there are still mirrors on his wall in Mayo

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 08/01/2013 13:39:06    1315230

doublehop

1315227 Whatever everyone thinks about Horan saying this, everyone would surely admit Brolly only had one intention when pushing this story before the final and that was to influence the referee. No one can disagree with that...
_______

Yes good point and I agree but if it's good enough for James to use a similar tactic before the Dublin game. Then surely it's ok for Joe Brolly to do the same.
Horan's current stance and his views in the above article appear deeply hypocritical IMO.
What's good for the Goose and all that?

"No one can disagree with that... "

Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 480 - 08/01/2013 13:41:25    1315231

Ahh so thats it!
Rte lost the All Ireland for Mayo.Very surprised to hear this from James Horan,it has to be up there with alex Fergusons"we lost because we couldent see eachother in the grey jerseys"on the list of great excuses.

juniorbsub (Wexford) - Posts: 646 - 08/01/2013 13:42:48    1315232

Lockjaw

From my recollection of events Mayo were delighted to be coming into the final under the radar. Can't have it both ways...

I second that!!!

The_Panacea (UK) - Posts: 67 - 08/01/2013 13:43:19    1315233

Although I think James maybe should have kept his feelings in house. There can be no doubt that a number of rte panelists made a point of highlighting mayos so called tactical fouling. With 4 mayo lads carded by half time, it's fair to say that this had an influence.

unstoppable (Mayo) - Posts: 38 - 08/01/2013 13:43:31    1315235

In fairness, the Mayo bias on RTE's GAA coverage is ridiculous.
Both Martin Carney and Kevin McStay wax lyrical about them
year in, year out. Give us a break Horan.
Icehonesty
wexford

Good point there icehonesty, and both of those 2 fellas chose to
ignore Mayo's 'dark arts' exploits, which is hypocritical when they
have been so critical of these tactics in the past!! There's nothing
like good auld hypocrisy!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 08/01/2013 13:43:42    1315236