Fitness

Preseason training is well under way for many clubs just wondering what lung busting drills are ye taking part in to raise your fitness levels as a team

lukewalsh96 (Cork) - Posts: 252 - 03/01/2013 18:46:15    1313304

Its something i've wondered for awhile. My club doesn't start training till march and i know some of our neighbours are the same but i don't know about other clubs in Kerry.

Jackos_Wacko (Kerry) - Posts: 417 - 03/01/2013 19:50:16    1313333

probably best forgetting about weights and upper body strength so early on slowly gradually ease back with good oul fashion running...

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 03/01/2013 19:56:25    1313338

probably best forgetting about weights and upper body strength so early on slowly gradually ease back with good oul fashion running...

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 03/01/2013 20:14:16    1313352

Do shuttles and lots of them
Do them on the pitch. Use each line to turn around(ie 13,21 65, etc) until you make it to the end of the pitch and back where you started.
do this twice
Do 1 press up or 1 sit up at each line.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 03/01/2013 21:59:23    1313431

went back yesterday for the first time in 2 and a half weeks
was running 10k's on the treadmill pretty easily pre christmas in about 55 mins

ran 5k in 30 mins wednesday and 5k in 33 mins last night and my thighs are like jelly today!!!
Couple of weeks off will do that!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 04/01/2013 10:15:20    1313457

Liamwalkinstown

1313457 went back yesterday for the first time in 2 and a half weeks
was running 10k's on the treadmill pretty easily pre christmas in about 55 mins

ran 5k in 30 mins wednesday and 5k in 33 mins last night and my thighs are like jelly today!!!
Couple of weeks off will do that!

Thats pretty slow. Would you not push yourself?

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 04/01/2013 11:07:03    1313484

thats the point Culann!!!
thats what Christmas has done to me!!
Knackered.com

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 04/01/2013 11:29:20    1313501

Liamwalkinstown

1313501 thats the point Culann!!!
Knackered.com

What sort of times would you record for that in when fully fit and what level are you playing at. I personally do the 5k comfortably under 24 minutes and would do the 10k in about 50-51 minutes and play junior (z!!) football. (I'm nearly hitting 40 and am well and truely past my best!!)

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 04/01/2013 11:40:36    1313511

Liamwalkinstown

Knackered.com

What sort of times would you record for that in when fully fit and what level are you playing at. I personally do the 5k comfortably under 24 minutes and would do the 10k in about 50-51 minutes and play junior (z!!) football. (I'm nearly hitting 40 and am well and truely past my best!!)

Prob do the 10k outdoors in about 55, indoors in about 60
I aint claiming to be no athlete Culann!
Would do a 5K in about 25 mins in or outdoor usually

Dont play anymore. Just do this for general fitness and well being Mo Chara!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 04/01/2013 11:52:21    1313516

Unreal rumors, I hear Stephen Stack will be bringing the Austin Stacks side for runs around the Ring of Kerry but first intends to run them from Tralee to Fenit?

lostintime (USA) - Posts: 533 - 04/01/2013 13:51:15    1313576

Unreal rumors, I hear Stephen Stack will be bringing the Austin Stacks side for runs around the Ring of Kerry but first intends to run them from Tralee to Fenit?

lostintime (USA) - Posts: 533 - 04/01/2013 13:54:08    1313579

Liamwalkinstown

Dont play anymore. Just do this for general fitness and well being Mo Chara!

No bother. Keep it up. Are you to old to play? If you are under 40 I'd recommend going back playing junior football. It hurts like mad but its well worth it.

Ps - I wonder how long it will be before we are fighting on hoganstand again!

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 04/01/2013 14:18:47    1313592

i am 33 Culann
not too old, just utter sh*te!!
i was a wing back
a very poor wing back!!

C'mere, regarding arguing on HS....it is what it is! Its a sports forum, tis only a bit of craic
If I fell out with everyone i argue with on here I'd be up in court on anger issues!

Brend is another chap i regularly row with, and master, and wayne and a few of the mayo lads, but at the end of the day, ye are all GAA brothers to me!
I would have a pint with any man who will talk GAA
Tis only all a bit of craic!

even Moomoo!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 04/01/2013 14:42:10    1313607

The thought of pre-season training is making me sick... Sunday mornings and weekends now out the door once again. Club players should call for games to be fixed for fridays evenings when longer days come in, and sat afternoons otherwise that so whole weekends arent governed by footy or hurley games.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 04/01/2013 15:06:52    1313618

04/01/2013 11:40:36
Culann

1313511 Liamwalkinstown

Knackered.com

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 04/01/2013 15:27:15    1313624

Liamwalkinstown

1313607 i am 33 Culann
not too old, just utter sh*te!!
i was a wing back
a very poor wing back!!

C'mere, regarding arguing on HS....it is what it is! Its a sports forum, tis only a bit of craic
If I fell out with everyone i argue with on here I'd be up in court on anger issues!

Brend is another chap i regularly row with, and master, and wayne and a few of the mayo lads, but at the end of the day, ye are all GAA brothers to me!
I would have a pint with any man who will talk GAA
Tis only all a bit of craic!

even Moomoo!!!

As a new years resalution may I suggest you go down to your local GAA club and start training. I gaurantee you will find you are not as bad as you think.

Regarding hogan stand, absolutely its only a bit of craic. If we all agreed you would get board of it very easily. As you said yourself, i;d sit down for three or four pints on a Friday night with any one here discuss things GAA. A part of the craic is the arguments and disagreements. Thats all a part of it. The forum was very quiet during November and December and if it was not for my disagreements with ffgg I don't think I would have spent much time here. He robably thinks I can't stand him but i'd happily spend a few hours in a pub discussing things GAA with him. So until our next fall out.......

Ps - I mean it, go down to your local GAA club, and start training with a junior team. Its not as hard or daunting as you think. Usually teams go back training this time of year. Junior football is great craic.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 04/01/2013 16:12:45    1313653

I am settled in East Clare with my wife and son
The local GAA club is a Hurling club, they literally have no football team
I am not a Hurling man, never have been, never will be I am afraid

Nearest Football team is in Limerick City and even there its hard to find one!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 04/01/2013 16:25:48    1313667

Just wondering has anyone completed any bleep tests yet and what are your inter county teams doing fitness wise.I hear there is alot going on in clare wexford and longford?

lukewalsh96 (Cork) - Posts: 252 - 07/01/2013 20:33:52    1314980

400-800m runs are the way to go in terms of gaa fitness i think

ffgg (Longford) - Posts: 2571 - 07/01/2013 21:43:07    1315040