Poaching Players from Small Clubs

sedico

1311297 Perhaps Cualann you should go back to the first page of this thread I think you'll find that you were one of the first to mention SJ on this thread. Funnily enough the thread title mentions clubs too.

Your reverse gear doesnt seem to be working very well.

What is this in response to?

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 17/12/2012 10:35:55    1311303

sedico

1311297 Perhaps Cualann you should go back to the first page of this thread I think you'll find that you were one of the first to mention SJ on this thread. Funnily enough the thread title mentions clubs too.

Your reverse gear doesnt seem to be working very well.

What is this in response to?

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 17/12/2012 10:40:21    1311307

My young fellow plays U12 soccer as well as GAA.

In September a chap transferred from another soccer club to his club,after the season had started.

Seems he was entitled to do this under soccer rules as long as he transferred before 15 days of the new season had elapsed?

Everyone knew real reason he transferred was because even though club he previously played for are strong it just happened that the team they were fielding in his age group were very weak.

Personally,I don't think too much of that.

Mind you,there's a young fellow in the parish next door to us now trying to transfer to our U12's next year because he has a "strong family connection" with our club and because,more importantly,his father wants him to play A instead of C.

I know his club will object and I doubt very much the Co.Board will ratify the transfer but I don't think much of that either even though he's a very nice kid and a very strong player.

As "Big Dan" Shanahan said,you never leave your club.

It's ok if you have to go far from home for work or study reasons but otherwise I'm not for it.

Muilleann (Tipperary) - Posts: 114 - 17/12/2012 13:55:49    1311376

The parents rule should be srapped. Old way was the best, where you played for your own county. Only difference that was allowed was where you were born, and in GAA terms that means where your parents lived when you were born, not geographically where the hospital was.
So if young Deegan lived in Finglas for a while before the family moved to Ashbourne, then he has no worry about playing for Dublin. Id he in Ashbourne all his life, then it should be Meath. If his father wanted him in Dublin so bad, he should have lived there.

pattheposty (Monaghan) - Posts: 43 - 18/12/2012 10:18:35    1311599

If Mulligan's reasons for moving are true I wish him all thes best. All I have read about this is whats on this site.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 19/12/2012 09:39:27    1311996

what is he living in dublin for if he's a longford based garda?

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 19/12/2012 10:53:40    1312014

You'd have to ask him that. Don't forget, however, there are thousands of commuters to Dublin and from Dublin each day.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 19/12/2012 10:55:55    1312016

It does seem very strange that he says that the commute back to Leitrim to play is too much, yet he is commuting from Dublin to Longford every day to work? Is it just coincidence that he has happened to live "for the last 3 months" in St Brigids catchment area and not in the catchment area of a lesser club?

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2581 - 19/12/2012 11:05:12    1312024

all sounds very suspicious to me, but maybe he has a missus living in Dublin or something. Just surprised how all these county stars end up going to the same few big clubs. When I joined a club in Dublin I think I was the only culchie there.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 19/12/2012 11:21:58    1312030

Rosineri1
County: UK

1312030 all sounds very suspicious to me, but maybe he has a missus living in Dublin or something.

Thats what I was thinking and that is why I am a bit hesitant to have a go.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 19/12/2012 11:34:03    1312034

I'll have to admit that I have never set foot in either Longford or Leitrim (my loss I know) so I did a quick google map check in terms of directions between Longford, where the lad is based as a Garda, and: (i) Kinlough (where Melvin Gaels are based, I believe) and (ii) Blanchardstown (where St Brigids are based, I believe).

With Longford Arms Hotel as the focal point (I presume he is based in Longford town as a Garda), Kinlough is marginally nearer at 104km (one way) to his place of work than Blanchardstown at 114 km. However, with, I presume better roads going into Blanchardstwon than Kinlough, Google have calculated the driving times as being about 18 minutes less to Blanchardstown (1 hour 37 v 1 hour 19). Either way, it is a savage drive to either club after a days work.

If he was going to make it easier on himself, maybe a transfer to a club in Longford or south Leitrim would seem better. Also, if he is going to continue to line out with Leitrim intercounty team, the committment will be even more savage as the commute will be back to Dublin now (assuming this is permanent residence in Blan'town). Anyway these are his decision to make. He is a good footballer. Hopefully things will work out well.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 19/12/2012 12:00:16    1312043

14/12/2012 16:03:06
christopher

THere is no one to blame for these sham transfers other than CentralCouncil, cause they have being turning a blind eye to it for years.They would rather see about 20 top clubs with all the good players and to hell with the small clubs .America, England and top clubs in Ireland have being poaching top players with a job and a brown envelope for years. Central Council are like our Goverment they tell you this is the first time they have heared about it. If they checked on clubs like St Bridgets Dublin St Galls Belfast and St Bridgets rosscommon but to mention a few and see over the last couple of years how many tranfers into these clubs and you find out they are all top class players who dont even live or work in the area. Its to easy to get an address, it should be home town or were you work to stop this corruption. Mulligan neither works or lives in Dublin but i bet he already has his new address and key for the door this last month and he hasnt even put in for his transfer yet

@Christopher - you are been awful harsh on Mulligan when he is not even from our county. I have had a scan of the Leitrim Observer online and can see no detail in the press about the transfer so perhaps we should all wish the lad the very best as by the sounds of things it all sounds quite straight forward. It is odd to see no statement from Melvin Gaels or their manager on this matter.

Santapplause (Donegal) - Posts: 1 - 19/12/2012 14:59:32    1312110

its amazing how when a country guy goes to a big club in dublin its the dublin club who gets the blame not the player yet when eamonn fennell wanted to go to bigger club in dublin he was the one got the blame bit strange aint it

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 19/12/2012 20:11:45    1312259

more poor me dublin siege mentality is it hill?...most people are not out to get dublin or anything...dublin is slightly different as regards club football anyway as there is no parish rule is there not?

ffgg (Longford) - Posts: 2571 - 19/12/2012 20:20:49    1312263

Poaching can and will always happen where clubs are within the same catchment boundry, the parish rule however prevent the major moving of players. However in with regarding to the current slump in work one cannot blame a player for moving clubs where the move is "backed" by the promise of work

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 19/12/2012 20:34:32    1312269

ffgg
County: Longford

more poor me dublin siege mentality is it hill?...most people are not out to get dublin or anything...dublin is slightly different as regards club football anyway as there is no parish rule is there not?

No parish rule in Dublin.

Family, your area and schools tend to have a lot to do with what club you end up playing with.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13827 - 19/12/2012 20:46:41    1312272

First of all as long as there are no rules being broken its all perfectly legal, be the transfer be at club or Inter-county level, you might not like it but thats the rules, change them. In some recent high profile cases though - coaches and buses have been driven through the existing rules and they have set some really dangerous precedent's. The consequences will be far reaching for the smaller counties adjacent to larger ones. Ditto with clubs, if you look at what happens in Dublin at club level, if your not careful you will have the same situation at Inter-county level - Super Clubs and Super Counties.

And least anyone be under a misconception none of these super Dublin clubs "poach" anyone at Juvenile level - you'll not get away with it. But their size has completely distorted the growth of some GAA games across the City/County. For example where you have a Super club you have clubs around it struggling for numbers - now is that the way you want the Inter-County scene to go?

Its not the fault of the big club, demographics, geography, the location of primary and secondary schools, its no secret that take Na Fianna withing a two mile radius you have 9 secondary schools and about 8 primary school - some the biggest on the Northside, that is a huge number of clubs feeding into one club. Whitehall Colmcilles on the other hand near Na Fianna has far fewer schools feeding into it and the numbers are far less as a result.

At adult level its slightly diffeent, Na Fianna and Kilmacud are also adjacent to Universities so they get a large amount of studemnts playing with them. I don't beleive either of these clubs would "pay" anyone to play for them - they don't need to and I don't believe either club would allow it.

But back to the points re transfers and parent rules etc etc. I can see where in time we will have the Super County and the Super clubs spread right across the country and it will be because there is no vision of how we want our games to develop. We have different rules and regulations, and worse even the rules we have, we have short-sighted bending of rules by some clubs and counties and this is undermining everything.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4955 - 20/12/2012 11:49:28    1312360

regarding Mulligan, found out he has been living with his girlfriend in Dublin the past four months, so appears a genuine transfer.

Which clubs in Dublin would be seen as the largest recruiters of non Dubs (and are actively recruiting them) and are there clubs that have more of a home grown policy. Must be hard on young lads who have come through the underage teams and seen there chances at senior limited due to lads from outside being brought in. In London the Tir Conaill Gaels have set up a Junior team which is just for the lads that have been brought through their underage system as they were frustrated at the lack of opportunities they got at senior level as the club preferred to recruit lads from back in Ireland.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 20/12/2012 11:54:21    1312363

as i have always stated i am from Brigids and didnt post on this until i new facts. Mulligan asked to join Brigids not the other way around he came to the club stating he was living in Dublin. The fact that Leitrim has had strong Brigids connections in the past with the Darcy brothers and Jason Ward who were Dubs who played with Leitrim helped him chose Brigids i would say and McGlynn was another who played with the club. Do i agree with lads from the country playing with my club to be honest i dont i never minded country lads training with us but that was as far as i would go unless they were lads who were settled and not going to be returning home. in regards players we have that are from outside the county it would be John O'Loughlin from Laois(he is one i definately do not agree with fantastic footballer but not exactly a million miles to play with his home club) and C. Moran from Mayo. in the case of Moran he is living in the area with a number of years is married to a local girl and her brother/family are big into the club so that one was always going to happen. otherwise with the club i would say they is probably 7-10 from the minor winning team of 2008. Brigids have also lost James Brogan Philip Brogan and Declan Lally to transfers to Plunketts in recent years who would have all been local lads.

dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 20/12/2012 12:46:52    1312397

Rosineri1
County: UK

I'd say most of the bigger clubs have introduced strict club policies - you will see huge changes in the next few years as the baby boomers mature.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4955 - 20/12/2012 12:51:48    1312403