Poaching Players from Small Clubs

Culann
You are talking about yourself who grew up in Dublin, I'm talking about the parent rule especially at minor level, to me if a child grows up and plays with a club in Meath they should play with Meath regardless of where their parents are from. As I said what if the best 15 minors in Meath had a parent from another county and they went to play with those counties, that doesn't make sense. There can't be discretion and special cases, and you can't be looking at where people feel they are from. For example if you had kids if they grow up in Meath do you think they should play with Meath or Dublin, where you are from.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 16/12/2012 16:54:39    1311158

sedico
I don't believe anyone tried to justify SJ's transfer so stop telling lies to make yourself popular.

Loads of Kildare supporters did especially on here. The funny thing is, if Laois, Dublin or Meath had of signed him instead those very same Kildare lads would be criticising it.

I'm also aware many Kildare fans were against it.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 16/12/2012 17:30:07    1311177

Every time a decent footballer/hurler emerges in North Belfast the West Belfast clubs are over poaching him straight away. That is one of the main reasons there are only 3 North Belfast clubs who without their best players can't move up the Leagues.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9819 - 16/12/2012 17:55:17    1311192

Culann

ClassApart

1311109 Culann - I am familiar with this, but it doesn't matter where their parents are from or who they support, if they want to play county football they should be playing for Meath because thats where they are living and playing their club football. The parent rule was brought in to help weaker counties and its turning out to be the opposite.
16/12/2012 15:29:35

So its balck and white with you then. That Meathman born and reared in Dublin I mentioned above really isn't a Meathman and he was wrong to turn down the chance to play for Dubs. Its that simple, is it?

Look, I am against playuers transferring and playing for other counties willy nilly and without a connection. One hundred per cent. But things are often not as black and white as people think. I am Dub living and playing in Meath. I lived in Dublin til I was 22 or 23. I have a right to represent my county which is Dublin. 100% in my opinion but apparently not in yours.

So your against Ryan O'Dwyer, Niall Corcoran and Maurice O'Brien playing hurling for Dublin?

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 16/12/2012 17:59:55    1311194

Billy get your facts right first before coming on here.

Hudhastings (Leitrim) - Posts: 87 - 16/12/2012 18:08:58    1311198

Most players will choose to play/stay with the clubs that they started out with (unless they are forced to emigrate or something where playing with their initial club is not practical). Most players will probably choose the play with a club that is relatively local to them as it most rational to play with a team that is near rather than drive 50 miles (or have the parents drive them) away.

There are exceptions to this of course and things change over time. Guys for whatever reason may decide that they want to play with some other club. If some guys from Cavan wants to drive to Kildare to play a game of football or somebody living in Longford would rather drive to Dublin to do that same thing, then who is anybody to judge? It is a game of football at the end of the day. It is a hobby. It is fun. It might not be a rational choice to drive x number of miles further than another pitch but ultimately it is a choice.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 16/12/2012 18:32:42    1311203

So your against Ryan O'Dwyer, Niall Corcoran and Maurice O'Brien playing hurling for Dublin?

Absolutely not, sure aren't they living, working and playing club hurling in Dublin?
What I'm talking about is the parent rule, where Dublin are taking young players who live and play club in Meath, but are playing county with Dublin because of this rule.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 16/12/2012 18:48:04    1311207

is young deegan not born in Dublin ?? should the parent rule be outlawed in club football aswel as county do you think ?

dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 16/12/2012 19:11:14    1311213

ClassApart

Absolutely not, sure aren't they living, working and playing club hurling in Dublin?
What I'm talking about is the parent rule, where Dublin are taking young players who live and play club in Meath, but are playing county with Dublin because of this rule.

I was asking Culann if he is or not

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 16/12/2012 19:42:57    1311224

of course deegan was born in dublin sure id say 90% of south meath were born in dublin you would be mad to go even consider navan. maybe drogheda but sure thats not much better.

tic_for_tac (Meath) - Posts: 151 - 16/12/2012 19:45:14    1311226

moomoo

1311224 ClassApart

I was asking Culann if he is or not

SUPRISE, SUPRISE MOOMOO.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 16/12/2012 20:12:45    1311235

Sorry moomoo!

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 16/12/2012 21:00:16    1311245

16/12/2012 16:54:39
ClassApart

1311158 Culann
You are talking about yourself who grew up in Dublin, I'm talking about the parent rule especially at minor level, to me if a child grows up and plays with a club in Meath they should play with Meath regardless of where their parents are from. As I said what if the best 15 minors in Meath had a parent from another county and they went to play with those counties, that doesn't make sense. There can't be discretion and special cases, and you can't be looking at where people feel they are from. For example if you had kids if they grow up in Meath do you think they should play with Meath or Dublin, where you are from.

looks like yous have taken to poaching accordians.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 16/12/2012 21:15:12    1311251

ClassApart

do you think the parent rule should not be allowed in county or both club and county ? Like with boundaries etc should a player for example Dublin 15 only be allowed play with a D15 club or should if his father played with a D7 club be allowed play with them.

dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 16/12/2012 21:50:59    1311257

ClassApart

There can't be discretion and special cases, and you can't be looking at where people feel they are from. For example if you had kids if they grow up in Meath do you think they should play with Meath or Dublin, where you are from.

An Mhí. 100%. No ifs or buts. I have kids and I live in an MHí. They support an Mhí. I cannot be any clearer. However my mate, who turned down the chance to play for his county of birth and the county in which he was reared, because he counted himself a Meathman. All his cousins, his both parents and all his holidays spent in an Mhí. I'd like to see a fella Meathman tell him he wasn't a Meathman. Can you not see that there is a grey area there? By the way, in the case of Deegan I am told he lived in his native county until he was 7. He has seen himself as a Dub all his life and why wouldn't he. He was born and partly reared there?

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 17/12/2012 09:17:15    1311272

moomoo

I said

Look, I am against playuers transferring and playing for other counties willy nilly and without a connection. One hundred per cent. But things are often not as black and white as people think. I am Dub living and playing in Meath. I lived in Dublin til I was 22 or 23. I have a right to represent my county which is Dublin. 100% in my opinion but apparently not in yours.

You siad

Your question is a bit surprising. I do not know where it came from based on what I said above. Howveer i'll answer it honestly.

First off there is a work connection there as far as I know. Thats going by the rules. Personally I don't like this work rule.

Secondaly, you have to ask the three lads above do they see themselves as Dubs. If the answer is no then you have to wonder why they would even want to represent a county that is not there own. Thats not what the GAA is all about.

They are not breaking any rules but in my opinion its morally wrong. Its in cases like this i'd like to see them getting rid of the work rule. I can understand the work rule in the case of transfering to other clubs but not in the case of intercounty. If Ryan O' Dwyer is a Tipp man he should play for Tipp. I personally can not understand why any one would want to play for any county other tha here own.

Thirdly, in the case of my Dublin born and reared mate who see himself as a Meathman and who refused the Dubs underage because he saw himself as a Meathman, well he is paert of a grey area. Would you not agree? And what are your thoughts on his situation. By the way he told old now so its too late.

And please, muintir Chill Dara, stop comparing SJ with these posts. Its not comparable.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 17/12/2012 09:30:10    1311276

ClassApart

1311207 So your against Ryan O'Dwyer, Niall Corcoran and Maurice O'Brien playing hurling for Dublin?

Be careful now, are Dublin taking these players or are these players opting out of their own free will to play with Dublin. Be careful with your words. There is a big difference - probably relating to the grey area i am talking about.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 17/12/2012 09:33:33    1311278

The parent rule is a good idea to help weaker counties but if bigger counties are using it to get better players from weaker counties then its not going to work. In the Christy Ring Cup etc teams can bring in players from stronger counties and i think the same shoud be done in football. Counties like Kerry, Cork etc would have a lot of club players that would make a lot of teh weaker teams and something should be done with that.

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 17/12/2012 09:49:19    1311289

Perhaps Cualann you should go back to the first page of this thread I think you'll find that you were one of the first to mention SJ on this thread. Funnily enough the thread title mentions clubs too.

Your reverse gear doesnt seem to be working very well.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 17/12/2012 10:13:04    1311297

moomoo

1311289 The parent rule is a good idea to help weaker counties but if bigger counties are using it to get better players from weaker counties then its not going to work. In the Christy Ring Cup etc teams can bring in players from stronger counties and i think the same shoud be done in football. Counties like Kerry, Cork etc would have a lot of club players that would make a lot of teh weaker teams and something should be done with that.

I don't agree with that. People from Corcaigh who are not good enough to get on the Corcaigh team but are good enough for Ciarraí should not play for Ciarraí. Its a privilage and an honur that not many people get to play for their county. This craic is taking from that. Thats what the soccer crowd do and now look qat our 'national' side. Full of people from other countries who are not good enough to play for their own countries.

I am a Dub. I want Dubs representing me. Thats the way it was meant to be and thats the way it should be. Kerry lads not good enough to make the Kerry panel should not be offered Clare or Tipp as a runners up prise.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 17/12/2012 10:17:22    1311298