Poaching Players from Small Clubs

I didnt think Emyln Mulligan would walk away from a club he won two championships in two years, but then-----. At the moment he is living in kinnagad, but i'm sure St Bridgets have an address got for him already. On this forum I see the President of the GAA, O Neill, urging small clubs not to amalamate for the sake of having a strong team,just to stick it out until things get better, the GAA just turn a blind eye to this POACHING by big clubs with money. This has being going on for years and the so call Central Council should put a stop to it. I was at a certain club when a player who is part of a county Management now, got a job coaching under age in our club at €65,000 a year plus car and all he did was coach about 20 times. This poaching is killing small clubs and the GAA have to do something to stop these false addresses
post in Leitrim forum as well

christopher (Donegal) - Posts: 81 - 13/12/2012 14:49:53    1310077

So let me get this straight, young lad is a garda in Longford, living in Kinnnegad, playing club in Leitrim but wanting to move to St bridgids??? oh and still line out and train with Leitrim???

Ridiculous !!!!! Would love to hear the "reason" for the move to the new address...maybe it's closer to work?..... or girlfriend ?..... or the zoo? ......

freddy2 (Wexford) - Posts: 215 - 13/12/2012 15:03:38    1310090

I'd like to know more before I judge him but its not looking good!

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 13/12/2012 15:11:35    1310094

Is that St Brigid's in Dublin? pardon my ignorance of this case, but if it is Brigid's in Dublin (or anywhere else) it just shows you can drive a bus through the GAA's transfer process. While our leader encourages small clubs not to amalgamate "for glory" but to "stick it out" - seems he could do something about ensuring due process was adhered to. Just look at some of the high profile inter-county transfers of a late - talk about stretching the rules. It seems all you need for a transfer now is a GPS device rather than a piece of paper.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4955 - 14/12/2012 08:08:10    1310350

Intercounty transfers oflate? Wake up man its going on for decades. Its not a new phenomenon.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 14/12/2012 09:04:42    1310359

What are these players being actually offered to switch club?

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 14/12/2012 09:23:20    1310367

I come from a relatively small club love to be able to compete with the big guns as we have some very good young players. The problem is that the old guard in the county want to keep the status where the strong can main so and the rest can play for glory and the odd moral victory. The current system is encouraging players from smaller clubs and counties to either drift to Dublin or to other sports. Why would a talented committed player continue to play for a shoddy set up which is typical of most small GAA clubs.

downtheroad (Laois) - Posts: 21 - 14/12/2012 09:36:40    1310372

downtheroad
County: Laois
. Why would a talented committed player continue to play for a shoddy set up which is typical of most small GAA clubs.

Are you serious? Do you know anything about the GAA? The GAA is a democratic institution. If there is a shoddy set up there imrpove it or get the people that make it shoddy out. If there are only a small amount of players within the club go out and encourage more young people to play the games. Thats what amateur sport is all about. The club is the most important part of the GAA in my opinion because it is community based and thats what the GAA is all about.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 14/12/2012 09:47:41    1310374

you play with them because its where you are from, the club your family have played with for generations, pride in the parish, playing with lads you have played football with from when you were 7/8. Its what makes the GAA great, that nearly ever small parish around the country has their own club. I transferred to a club in Dublin for a year and there just wasn't the same feeling of belonging for me and never really enjoyed it as much as I did back home.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 14/12/2012 10:03:42    1310379

If these tranfers continue to get out of control it will be the end of the GAA as we know it. All that is great about it will be damaged. The Seánie Johnston transfer saga in particular has done untold damage to our great organisation. I hope Mulligan has good reason to trasfer to Brigids. I really do.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 14/12/2012 10:09:58    1310381

Lads,that's why the Divisional system in Cork and Kerry works so well.

For example,when Naomh Aban in Ballyvourney were intermediate Anthony Lynch and Micheal Cronin could both play intermediate with their own club and at the same time play senior with the Muskerry divisional team.

When Naomh Aban went senior they just played senior with their own club.

Now that they're back intermediate again they can once again play for both club and division.

That way players can stay with their parish club and still play at the higher level with their own club.

Trust the cute Cork and Kerry people to come up with such a great system.

Muilleann (Tipperary) - Posts: 114 - 14/12/2012 10:12:14    1310382

Rosineri1
County: UK

1310367 What are these players being actually offered to switch club?

Rosineri, are you asking the question because of what other UK Clubs offer.
It is alleged that scouts for Uk clubs have in the past offered inducments to Irish club players to come over to play in the UK.
We here in Cavan lost players to clubs abroad when construction was at its height and builders could not find a worker for less than E100 into the hand per day.
The Gaa turned a blind eye to it as the USA Dollar gravey train was overlooked.
If the GAA was serious about pay for play if a survey was done on the returning players after the North American finals are over and get some of the players to expose how Pub, estate agents, and Builders have bought in teams for years.
I understand that one team that played in the USA cost lot of money this year on imported players.
So Roserieri changing clubs in Ireland and elsewhere for the LOVE OF THE SPORT has been alive and well for years but never exposed

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 4055 - 14/12/2012 10:16:52    1310386

TomSmith, I know here in the UK most guys that are enticed over are done so with the offer of a job and in certain cases there may be a brown paper bag involved in depending on the player. What I wanted to knwo is what would a player like Mulligan be given to join Brigids, being a guard he obviously isn't going for a job, so I would expect he would be receiving some form of payment.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 14/12/2012 10:27:32    1310390

Muilleann
County: Tipperary

It seems the system you outline should be rolled out, very flexible and win win.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4955 - 14/12/2012 10:38:26    1310393

Cualann I call bull on that. There were plenty of dodgy transfer down through the years prior to the SJ one. Some involving your own county. And if you think otherwise then Im afraid you're turning a convenient blind eye to it.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 14/12/2012 11:02:55    1310403

sedico

1310403 Cualann I call bull on that. There were plenty of dodgy transfer down through the years prior to the SJ one. Some involving your own county. And if you think otherwise then Im afraid you're turning a convenient blind eye to it.

Why would you even suggest I am turning a conveniant blind eye. Anyone, and from any county or club, who does what SJ did is the same in my opinion. Is that clear enough for you. Jeepers, why would I say its wrong for one and then condone others? Have you a chip on your shoulder or something?

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 14/12/2012 11:22:27    1310406

Why would I have a chip on my shoulder.

Im from a small club who constantly lose our better players to the senior club up the road. No doubt there are100s of clubs in the same boat. If these saviours of our association were as concerned during these club transfers as they were during the SJ one then the Gaa might have done something about it.

To blame the transfer problems on the SJ saga is simply wrong. Its a grassroots problem but because they aint high profile they aint being highlighted.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 14/12/2012 11:37:15    1310412

sedico

1310412 Why would I have a chip on my shoulder.

Quite simply your previous post very deffensive and you were suggesting that I would have one rule for one player and another for a player from my county. Relax man.

Im from a small club who constantly lose our better players to the senior club up the road. No doubt there are100s of clubs in the same boat. If these saviours of our association were as concerned during these club transfers as they were during the SJ one then the Gaa might have done something about it.

I have nothing really to say about that. Thats your opinion. Fair play.

To blame the transfer problems on the SJ saga is simply wrong. Its a grassroots problem but because they aint high profile they aint being highlighted.

Who blamed the transfer problems on the SJ saga? Are you implying that I did. What I said about SJ is clear. Read back over it - word by word and slowly but surely if needs be. You are rebuting things here that were not said.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 14/12/2012 11:46:18    1310417

Im well aware of what you wrote. The SJ transfer in particular did untold damage.......

Thats black and white to me.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 14/12/2012 12:13:07    1310439

Seemingly not from this quote from you

To blame the transfer problems on the SJ saga is simply wrong.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 14/12/2012 12:16:01    1310441