Best game you've ever been to?

realdub

1309690 Dublin V Kerry 1976/77 & 2011 : )

Kerry v Dublin 75, 78, 84. 85, 01, 07, 09 : )

Not bad for culchies ha

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 12/12/2012 18:48:48    1309752

Westmeath v Louth Division 3 final. Well it was dark for the last bit but i presume that some of the best football ever was played in those closing stages. Pure poetry.

square_ball_69 (Westmeath) - Posts: 826 - 12/12/2012 20:00:33    1309792

Dublin in 76 , though i young and with me DA( who had played for the DUBS IN THE 60S) it was a good memory .
but nothing compares to hugging lads beside me in 2011 when cluxtons free went over and then the final whistle. best feeling feeling ive ever had at a Gaa match.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 12/12/2012 20:05:47    1309797

DEFINITLEY 2011
dublin v kerry final the young lad to experience dublin winning the all ireland final one for the memory books :-)...

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 12/12/2012 20:11:23    1309803

Sorry mes amis. Yeah how could I forget 2010 . 2009 was class though. There were Spanish students in front of me and they were going crazy with excitement

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 817 - 12/12/2012 20:43:08    1309825

Wexford v Cork 2003,drawn game.What a game.

Heres a link http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hzz3pwKuvy4

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 12/12/2012 20:52:56    1309834

Mayo Versus the Dubs in 2006 was some game

shurle (Mayo) - Posts: 48 - 12/12/2012 21:01:08    1309840

Munster final 2004 will never be matched

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=peAFdYkxbVo

deisebhoy (Waterford) - Posts: 416 - 12/12/2012 21:09:11    1309844

Donegal V Dublin 1992 All Ireland Final
First title , massive underdogs & Dublin in Croke Park. Perfect.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 12/12/2012 21:10:00    1309846

Has to be last years all Ireland final Dublin v Kerry for me , what a finish to an all Ireland final. Has there ever been a better finish to a final? I can't think of one, also Dublin v Tyrone 2010 it was so long since we had beaten a so called big team and to finally do it against the favourites for Sam was an unbelievable feeling at the final whistle.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 12/12/2012 21:15:15    1309851

Yea Clondalkindub. The finish to '94 final was even more dramatic than that ;)

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1558 - 12/12/2012 21:49:44    1309878

Hurling: 1998 Offaly V Clare All Ireland semi final 2nd replay in Thurles. Joe Dooley Day.

Football: 1982 All Ireland Final, great Football & then Seamus Darby !!

KELF (Kildare) - Posts: 775 - 12/12/2012 21:50:45    1309881

From a Donegal perspective my four stand out games were:

Donegal v Dublin AI Final 1992 - First ever Senior Title, underdogs and played our best game of the season to win!!
Donegal v Derry Ulster Final 1992 - Down to 14 men against Derry and played a fantastic second half to win.
Donegal v Dublin 2002 drawn match - Never forget the grin that Adrian Sweeney gave the hill after fisting over the equalising point.
Donegal v Cork 2012 AI semi final - I thought this was just a great game of football, played in good spirits, great fielding, point taking and general skills.

I was also at the 1994 game Down v Derry and must say it was the best game as a neutral I was ever at!!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 13/12/2012 10:43:26    1309944

perfect10
County: Wexford

1309834 Wexford v Cork 2003,drawn game.What a game.

Heres a link http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hzz3pwKuvy4

Agreed perfect10. No words could describe it.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6180 - 13/12/2012 10:51:00    1309945

Agree with 1994 Down V Derry- In terms of skill and pure football there has not been a better game since
2009 Hurling Final was just majestic

Away from county I was at a Fitzgibbon cup final in 1992 I think , UCC v UCD . Unreal thunderous game ... UCD won in extra time ..

Finsceal (None) - Posts: 559 - 13/12/2012 12:11:12    1309979

down vs tyrone replay in pairc esler in 2008
went to extra time and down won by a point thanks to a last minute goal from benny coulter
in fairness tyrone went on to win the all ireland that year through the back door
think that was the turning point for down, from bein in division 3 for so many years to turning into a well established division 1 team and giving the championship a good rattle ever since then

hogan11 (Down) - Posts: 59 - 13/12/2012 16:23:37    1310143

Kerryrows, the difference being, 07 aside, the rest of your picks were rubbish games : )

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8756 - 13/12/2012 16:34:59    1310152

Tie Conaill Abu, Adrian Sweeney's cocky smile went missing in the replay, ye were hammered : )

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8756 - 13/12/2012 16:37:30    1310156

2001 connact final

RealRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 332 - 13/12/2012 16:56:15    1310174

Been to many but I have a particular grá for the drawn 2000 Semi-Final with Armagh.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 13/12/2012 17:00:25    1310178