Ballymun Kickhams

Congratualtions St. Brigids, they were knocking at the door for years,
and deserve the victory. Hard luck to Ballymun, they'll be back.

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 17/03/2013 17:16:52    1351000

Can i first congratulate 2 totally committed teams on a highly enjoyable game of football. Well played ST.Brigids on winning. A great fightback shows the spirit needed to win these finals. Heartbreaking for Ballymun but i know the feeling of losing to a very late score [2011 final]. Ballymun can hold there heads high but it was Brigids day.

kerry74 (Kerry) - Posts: 1354 - 17/03/2013 17:19:10    1351003

Tom1916
County: Armagh

1350985 jaysus ballymun threw it away, by far the better team.

only themselves to blame....no freetaker.
by far the better team""???? Dont think so tom. mannion and kilbride destroyed them. frankie good too and of course cake

beal (Mayo) - Posts: 1388 - 17/03/2013 17:39:18    1351025

Bad w'end for the Dubs, congrats to St. Brigids, deserved win, nice to see players like Frankie Dolan win something worthwhile!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8808 - 17/03/2013 17:44:25    1351034

17/03/2013 17:06:23
Tom1916

jaysus ballymun threw it away, by far the better team. Hard luck to them.

Nonsense did you even watch the game? Ballymun played their best football in the opening 10mins then Brigids clawed them back and deservedly won the game! fair play Ballymun for reaching the final and going to toe to toe with the best. they just came up short and beaten by a better side.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3684 - 17/03/2013 17:57:57    1351059

Frankie has won plenty of worthwhile titles but yes great to see him win an all Ireland.

Rosfan (Roscommon) - Posts: 778 - 17/03/2013 18:18:01    1351083

Gaa_lover
County: USA

1351059 17/03/2013 17:06:23
Tom1916

jaysus ballymun threw it away, by far the better team. Hard luck to them.

Nonsense did you even watch the game? Ballymun played their best football in the opening 10mins then Brigids clawed them back and deservedly won the game! fair play Ballymun for reaching the final and going to toe to toe with the best. they just came up short and beaten by a better side.

spoken like a true rossie!!

beal (Mayo) - Posts: 1388 - 17/03/2013 18:22:37    1351091

Absolutely devo for the lads. To go that far ahead and then to lose by a point at the death well it's something they will question for months to come. Brigids to be fair were the better team on the day and showed massive strength & belief to come back. I thought Ballymuns constant hand passing out of defence killed them. When they played quick long ball into Forman it worked. It's taken Brigids a while but they've gotten over the line today and congratulations to them. Ballymun will be knocking again next year no doubt!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 17/03/2013 18:32:30    1351098

Ballymuns lack of class was exposed in the end, even with a considerable head start Brigids still picked them off despite kicking numerous wides!! Could of been a slaugheter had Brigids turned up for the first 15 minutes of the game!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 18/03/2013 10:13:45    1351278

Congratulations to St Bridits, great comeback.

Hard Luck Ballymun, you can hold your heads up. Inexperience told against Ballymun. But hopefully, they will get another chance, they are a very young team.

Drummerboy (Dublin) - Posts: 85 - 18/03/2013 11:44:08    1351320

I don't go to Croke Park too often (I am OAP). Presenting myself at the ticket shop yesterday I cheerfully asked for a ticket to the Cusack stand."No chance",says the lad."Cusack sold out,Davin still available".
Knowing the attendance would be in about 25000 I found this puzzling.Sure ,I got out my glasses and had a birdseye view from way behind the goals and maybe there is a rational explanation.
Could any regulars tell me whats the crack?

worple (Roscommon) - Posts: 351 - 18/03/2013 12:29:16    1351338

I imagine it was because tickets are automatically sent to season ticket holders of which there are plenty whether they want them or not. That's the only thing I can think of. I was in the Cusack and it was half empty! Hope you enjoyed the game regardless.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 18/03/2013 13:25:11    1351365

Gaa_lover
County: USA

Ballymun played their best football in the opening 10mins then Brigids clawed them back and deservedly won the game! fair play Ballymun for reaching the final and going to toe to toe with the best. they just came up short and beaten by a better side.

Nonsense did you even watch the game?

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 18/03/2013 13:51:19    1351380

No disrespect Tom but you are talking nonsense as your analysis is codswallop; did YOU watch the game? Ballymun had a great opening 15 mins but drifted out of the game after that as Brigid's just steamrolled them for the rest of the match particularly the second half. Kickhams just could't cope with Brigid's physical intensity and slicker movement of the ball.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9822 - 18/03/2013 14:27:17    1351403

Jackeen- you might be right there.It might explain why there were people(touts?) working the queue offering Cusack tickets at face value.At the time I couldn't figure out why they were selling them at face value.I'm a country"lad".

worple (Roscommon) - Posts: 351 - 18/03/2013 15:11:02    1351427

1-6 to 0-4 in the 2nd half clearly Tom1916 from Amagh didn't watch the game. He's posting the same rubbish on the Dublin forum was also doing it when Crossmaglen were beaten so i wouldn't worry much about his bitter comments.

Just like to say hard luck Ballymun i have a feeling you will return to win All Ireland in the years ahead

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4102 - 18/03/2013 15:48:11    1351456

Look, it was a great game, whoever won that was always going to deserve it as both teams played well! Brigids nearly blew it, which is mad considering they were chasing it for a long time, classic final and well done to both!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8808 - 18/03/2013 15:53:02    1351460

Ballymun didn't play well. Brigids had the better of it for about 50 minutes. But they were helped with some strange refereeing decisions. And Ballymun missed too many handy frees too.

Well done to Brigids....they deserve their title. Been knocking on the door years.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 18/03/2013 18:29:28    1351566

Tactical analysis of St Brigid's win over Ballymun in the club final now up http://action81.com/blog/?p=6950

emmetryan (Dublin) - Posts: 154 - 18/03/2013 18:53:21    1351577

The_analyser
County: Roscommon

Just like to say hard luck Ballymun

I agree with the analyser, hard luck ballymun. Best team on the day but you will be back.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 18/03/2013 20:49:45    1351684