Ballymun Kickhams

1335487 Indeed Beelzedub, your point about cynical tactics in the other semi final is accurate, it was evident in both games. Let us hope that before the final, both instances are highlighted, and not just ballymun's implementation of cynical play. Otherwise we could have a potential witch hunt for ballymun
________

I seriously 100% doubt it. I cannot over emphasise the massive unlikelyness of this scenario happening in this case.

To even suggest it is in itself silly and over the top to the extreme and really is just another personal gripe that you want to broadcast on a thread where said gripe has no place whatsoever.

Once again. Fair play Admin.

Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 480 - 18/02/2013 12:43:33    1335522

Ballymum made Crokes like a junior team. When will the penny drop in Kerry, that having skill alone will not win you games anymore. Good luck to Ballymum in the final. This loss might knock the big heads of the Crokes lads.

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 18/02/2013 12:43:44    1335523

Nice to see in the wider Ballymun area (D9 Santry/Finglas even Glasnevin!) Red and Green bunting bedecking houses and local schools, which shows the GAA Club is first about Pride of place and they have done their local community proud. I hope their nursery is choc full of little ones as a result.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4955 - 18/02/2013 12:45:37    1335525

I was at the game and in fairness the Crokes where outplayed for the vast majority of the game, yes there was the odd cynical foul but anyone in the crowd watching will vouch for it being one fo the cleanest games you are likely to watch all year. some might say had it of been Cross it would have been a different game. I hope Ballymun win the final, such a great all round team, and how Dean Rock isnt on the Dublin panel i will never know. In fairness to the Crokes they couldn't have played any worse, missing a penalty, the conversion of no 45s, lets just say it wasnt their best day in the office!

LiosTuathail (Kerry) - Posts: 216 - 18/02/2013 12:53:59    1335529

I sincerely hope that is the case Beelzedub, and if it were to happen I would be vociferous in my defence of ballymun, as Im sure you would be...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 18/02/2013 12:57:04    1335531

Thought it was a great game on Saturday. While there were a couple of cynical tactics from both sides, I thought it was a very sporting game. Hopefully the final will be just as good. Think the wide open spaces of Croker Park will suit Ballymun more than the lads from Roscommon. Hubbard and Rock should be in the Dublin panel come the end of March. Thought McMahon did very well around the middle.

Drummerboy (Dublin) - Posts: 85 - 18/02/2013 13:25:56    1335545

LiosTuathail

1335529 I was at the game and in fairness the Crokes where outplayed for the vast majority of the game, yes there was the odd cynical foul but anyone in the crowd watching will vouch for it being one fo the cleanest games you are likely to watch all year. some might say had it of been Cross it would have been a different game. I hope Ballymun win the final, such a great all round team, and how Dean Rock isnt on the Dublin panel i will never know. In fairness to the Crokes they couldn't have played any worse, missing a penalty, the conversion of no 45s, lets just say it wasnt their best day in the office!

Are none of you righteous types gonna leap to Cross' defence here? What exactly do you mean LiosTuathail?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12430 - 18/02/2013 14:33:44    1335580

LiosTuathail

1335529 I was at the game and in fairness the Crokes where outplayed for the vast majority of the game, yes there was the odd cynical foul but anyone in the crowd watching will vouch for it being one fo the cleanest games you are likely to watch all year. some might say had it of been Cross it would have been a different game. I hope Ballymun win the final, such a great all round team, and how Dean Rock isnt on the Dublin panel i will never know. In fairness to the Crokes they couldn't have played any worse, missing a penalty, the conversion of no 45s, lets just say it wasnt their best day in the office!

Are none of you righteous types gonna leap to Cross' defence here? What exactly do you mean LiosTuathail?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12430 - 18/02/2013 14:34:03    1335581

1335531 I sincerely hope that is the case Beelzedub

I wouldnt worry about it. Rest assured that your "sincere" hopes in this case will soon become reality.

Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 480 - 18/02/2013 14:35:02    1335583

davy byrne is the main man with this ballymun team it stands out why he was made captain, no surprise to see him get a better run this year with dublin

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 18/02/2013 15:38:58    1335633

BREFFNI39 I am not referring to a more nasty game or anything of that nature, what i simply mean is perhaps if Cross had have been playing the Crokes would have been more up for it, whilst not disrespecting the Kickhams perhaps Crokes underestimated their ability, they were extremely slow to settle the Crokes and really only got to grips with the game for a period in the 2nd half which is full credit to the Kickhams but had they have been playing Cross, i think we would have seen a different game but well never know!

LiosTuathail (Kerry) - Posts: 216 - 18/02/2013 16:21:07    1335656

Crokes didn't know what hit them in the first 20 minutes on Saturday. They couldn't cope with Ballymuns pace and power. Runners from half back. Also Leahy, Rock and Furman won their own ball all game and made it count. Philly McMahons distribution throughout the game was excellent.

The penalty was harsh, as if it were the middle of the pitch a free mightn't be given!!!

Rock missed a punch early on in front of nets, Leahy punched one at the keeper when it was probably easier to score. I was at the game, the Crokes fans behind me were honest and were saying the game should be over at halftime. Think Ballymun kicked eleven or twelve wides. Gooch found it hard to get out in front of Sean George. Alan Hubbard was awesome, I thought Ballymun had cloned him at one stage. He was just everywhere!!!

Crokes turned up, they just ran into a very hungry and fit Ballymun team. Crokes had a ten to fifteen minute spell in the second half. But in truth you always felt Ballymun were gonna win the game.

Brigids will go in as favourites as they beat a much fancied Cross team...

But its a final, anybody can win!!!

Best of Luck to Ballymun!!!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 18/02/2013 17:32:44    1335695

Why wasn't McMahon sent off? Why wasn't the penalty retaken? Why is "cynical" and "fit" mentioned so many times, over "honest" and "skillful"?

Kerry_NYC (Kerry) - Posts: 46 - 18/02/2013 19:58:34    1335785

why was it a penalty in the first place you should ask yourself

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 18/02/2013 20:25:43    1335803

That was already answered, it was!!!

Kerry_NYC (Kerry) - Posts: 46 - 18/02/2013 20:28:27    1335807

why was it a penalty in the first place you should ask yourself

For your edification...

Fouls
Rule 5.14 To pull down an opponent.
Rule 5.15 To trip an opponent with hand(s) or foot.
Rule 5.17 To block or attempt to block with the boot when an opponent is kicking the ball from the hand(s).

Penalty
Caution the offender, order off for second caution-able foul.

Another giveaway, not one and I mean not one, Kickham player protested the call!

Kerry_NYC (Kerry) - Posts: 46 - 18/02/2013 20:49:26    1335818

how he tackled him and the guy fell over hardly a peanlty had it happened anywhere else on pitch it be play on

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 18/02/2013 20:50:10    1335819

how he tackled him and the guy fell over hardly a peanlty had it happened anywhere else on pitch it be play on

Not knowing the rules of the game, bias, and/or delusion should not be confused with an opinion!

Kerry_NYC (Kerry) - Posts: 46 - 18/02/2013 20:54:02    1335822

Kerry_NYC

1335822 how he tackled him and the guy fell over hardly a peanlty had it happened anywhere else on pitch it be play on

Not knowing the rules of the game, bias, and/or delusion should not be confused with an opinion!
______

Ah well. You lost, get over it. Ballymun were the better side from start to finish.

Simple as that.

Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 480 - 19/02/2013 09:40:20    1335867

It was a definite penalty, he caused the guy to trip over when he was about to strike the ball. It was a good save too, but a definate penalty.
Wouldnt you agree beelzedub?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 19/02/2013 10:06:43    1335879