There are always people on this forum that try to take the good out of things. A fantastic result and first all-ireland appearance from Ballymun...and they are always the usual suspects that try to take the good out of everything.
Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 17/02/2013 20:14:47
Well done Ballymun, hope ye win it
Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 17/02/2013 20:49:01
JayP County: Dublin Posts: 149
1335309 TheMaster.....
You have never proven my claim that the Mayo lads feigned injury was false!!! You just say it didnt happen. 17 mins of that half Mayo lads lay on the ground. Adequate time was not added.
Just because you say it didnt happen doesnt mean you are correct. You go back and watch a replay of that second half from last year. The PROOF is there to back up what Im saying.
On a seperate note....cynical play. Both Ballymun and Crokes were guilty of stopping runners. It seems to me to be accepted by opposing teams and all successful teams are doing it. Its hard on officials as if they see a blocked run and whistle they deny a quick break. Ballymun were guilty of committing frees high up the pitch to stop Crokes breaking especially towards the end of the second half. Again.... TheMaster states the obvious when he says it happened at yesterdays game....it happens in every game. I Answers on a postcard!!!!
What do you have to prove they were faking injury? Players get injuries in games at different times just because it happens early on doesnt mean there faking it
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 17/02/2013 21:26:56
What proof have you they didnt fake the injuries??? Was adequate time added. Case closed Im right!
JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 18/02/2013 08:37:32
Am delighted that this year we will four new teams contesting both finals in Croker on Paddy's Day.
Can't wait to get up there again!
Well done to Ballymun,they're some club.
Muilleann (Tipperary) - Posts: 114 - 18/02/2013 09:44:21
JayP You have never proven my claim that the Mayo lads feigned injury was false!!! You just say it didnt happen. 17 mins of that half Mayo lads lay on the ground. Adequate time was not added. Just because you say it didnt happen doesnt mean you are correct. You go back and watch a replay of that second half from last year. The PROOF is there to back up what Im saying.
First off where is your proof that they were faking injury? But secondly, and most importantly, I did prove it. I stated that every single guy that went down 'faking injury' was either substituted straight away, or within the next 10 minutes. If they are faking injury then generally they dont need to go off, otherwise what are they faking injury for? Its a bit extreme to actually fake an injury so much that you fool your manager also, wouldnt you say? Kinda defeats the purpose, dont you think? And then you tell me to go back and watch the game, you dont even know what happened in the game. I wonder, will you actually address the above, or will you ignore it again?
On a seperate note....cynical play. Both Ballymun and Crokes were guilty of stopping runners. It seems to me to be accepted by opposing teams and all successful teams are doing it. Its hard on officials as if they see a blocked run and whistle they deny a quick break. Ballymun were guilty of committing frees high up the pitch to stop Crokes breaking especially towards the end of the second half. Again.... TheMaster states the obvious when he says it happened at yesterdays game....it happens in every game. I Answers on a postcard!!!!
Well first off, at least you had the backbone to admit ballymun were using cynical tactics. You are the only person who has even done that much. Says a lot about the honesty of some of the posters on here. A) If it happens in every game then why the 6 month long moaning session about the mayo-dublin game? Why the different treatment? B) Ballymun done exactly what mayo done. Thier opponent needed goals, they knew it and so did their opponent. They stopped that happening.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 18/02/2013 10:19:58
the master the idfferance is both sides were doing cynical stuff yesterday and you only want to point out ballymuns faults and not point out crokes doing it also,where as last august mayo were the only isde on the day being cynical and also rolling around on the ground not injured.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 18/02/2013 10:28:36
didn't the Brigids manager Kevin McStay play with Kickhams when he was stationed in Dublin?
Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 18/02/2013 10:49:08
hill16no1man the master the idfferance is both sides were doing cynical stuff yesterday and you only want to point out ballymuns faults and not point out crokes doing it also,where as last august mayo were the only isde on the day being cynical and also rolling around on the ground not injured.
How can they be pretending to be injured when they were taken off? Can you explain that to me? Are you telling me that no dublin player blocked the run of a mayo player in the game? Are you actually serious? Also, dublin targeted alan dillon in the game, in an attempt to curb his influence. Is that not cynical play?
The more time passes since that game occured, the less the dubs seem to remember about the actual game...
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 18/02/2013 10:55:04
Here we go again. Please... for the sake of the thread
Lads just say that Ballymun did put in a few tackles at the end to stop Crokes moving up the pitch. Because they did...
Dont let themater turn this thread into a "his point of view" and "His own personal gripe" thread once again
Every team in the country would have done the same. There was an element of cynicism deployed by both teams as there is in every game.
Themater is really just stating the obvious in his comment.
Although I think if themaster wants to really point out cynicism he's looking at the wrong Semi-Final on Saturday. He's obviosuly just interested in having a misguided gripe.
If he was truly interested in pointing out cynicism he's pointed a finger at the wrong game.
If themaster wants to compare those antics to Mayo's own cynicism then fair enough
But there are degress of cynicism and themaster knows well himseff that Mayo deployed a strategy of persistent fouling aginst Dublin from the word go and they got away with it. They tried to do the same in the final and their level of cynicism was punished straight away thus rendering their tactic of persistent fouling null and void. Basically they lost their massive advantage and well you could see the true level of Mayo football in the final.
Terrible feeble start, tactically got it wrong from the side line, terrible wides, not finding men with the right pass, bad option taking.. etc etc etc
Mayo's level of cynicism has been highlighted by several sources from several different counties. They all back up the stats that are available for all to see.
Themaster doesnt agree with those view points. Everyone else must be wrong right...?
To compare that reaction to Ballymun's tackles late on in the match is a very weak comparison when you put the two cases side by side.
Ballymun did not deploy a tactic of persistent fouling for the entire match. They put in 3 or 4 tackles high up the pitch in the last 4 minutes of the macth
There are levels of cynicism... and themasters comparison is very weak in this case.
But Ballymun did dish out a few tackles late on. It happens in most games and we've all been on the wrong end of them at times.
Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 480 - 18/02/2013 10:55:46
This thread is about the success of Ballymun Kickhams and discussing the upcoming All-Ireland SFC club final on Sunday, March 17th. Any messages off topic from now onwards will not be posted.
Thank You.
Admin.
Administrator (None) - Posts: 2275 - 18/02/2013 11:05:20
Congrats to Ballymun K.
DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 18/02/2013 11:08:19
Im not trying to change the thread at all. I simply pointed out that there was cynical tactics at play in the game, and asked the question why was the reaction to this game different to the reaction in another game where we when the identical type of tactics were utilised for the same reasons. There was an inaccuracy posted about that game so I attempted to clear that up.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 18/02/2013 11:19:31
Administrator County: All Posts: 1400
1335463 This thread is about the success of Ballymun Kickhams and discussing the upcoming All-Ireland SFC club final on Sunday, March 17th. Any messages off topic from now onwards will not be posted.
Thank You.
Admin. _________
Fair fecks Admin.
Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 480 - 18/02/2013 11:20:43
The Master will you ever chill out man seriously it's club football not mayo Dublin. Well done again Ballymun savage stuff from yous, it just goes to show how good a player George is when Curran has the confidence to play him full back on the Gooch instead of Philly.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 18/02/2013 11:36:36
Indeed Beelzedub, your point about cynical tactics in the other semi final is accurate, it was evident in both games. Let us hope that before the final, both instances are highlighted, and not just ballymun's implementation of cynical play. Otherwise we could have a potential witch hunt for ballymun, while brigids get away with their own version scot free, and for that to happen on the biggest date on the club football calender would be a poor reflection on our game, wouldnt you agree?
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 18/02/2013 11:47:56
Fair play to Ballymun and the only surprise after watching the game was that they did'nt win by more. Brigids are bookies favourites for the final.....not so sure about that...might have to invest!
CapitalGains (Dublin) - Posts: 40 - 18/02/2013 11:56:21
Well done to Ballymun on a historic victory for the club
By far and away the better team on the day and that's saying something considering you were playing Dr Crokes
Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 480 - 18/02/2013 12:05:17
Its a pity some of you aren't so caring and understanding when teams from outside your own county are being slated for tactics etc.
Not having a go at Ballymun, hope they win the thing out, but some of you like to have it every way.
Nice to see admin getting involved all the same, could do with that on every bloody thread though.
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12430 - 18/02/2013 12:20:35
Exactly breffni, that is the point of what I am saying. I echo everything you have said. Except for hoping ballymun win it, and the only basis for that is I think brigids have been knocking on the door that bit longer and have a few more elder statesmen who may not have too many years left.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 18/02/2013 12:38:58