Ballymun Kickhams

Also ditto for Roscommon, beat a top side!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8808 - 16/02/2013 19:38:11    1334955

well done ballymun and st bridgids

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1689 - 16/02/2013 20:43:04    1334989

Ballymun were excellent but as for the fact St Brigids knocked Crossmaglen out, I would like to see the Rossies winning it. Also for the fact Shane Curran looks so sexy in those jeggings!!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 16/02/2013 21:22:58    1335020

TheMaster....

To be honest the Ballymun lads didnt feign injuries....therefore not like Mayo last year.....

On a seperate note.....Well Done Ballymun.

They have no chance in the final though ;-)

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 16/02/2013 21:26:05    1335024

Should be a good final and close as well. Ballymun were well worth their win while, taking nothing away from a dogged St. Brigid's, Crossmaglen never turned up at that game today.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9822 - 16/02/2013 21:29:12    1335028

congrats to st bridgids and ballymun, should be a real good final. but us country folks have to stick together against the big bad townies so go on bridgids ;-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/02/2013 21:40:39    1335040

There'll be some pyjama party in Ballymun on Paddy's night if this keeps up : D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8808 - 16/02/2013 21:48:46    1335048

Dubs will probably laugh at this but do Ballymun draw their players from the district around where the flats used to be or over a wider area? I don't know much about the side; I take it they are a working class type of club.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9822 - 16/02/2013 21:53:21    1335054

dubarra, on the contrary, I am an advocate of everyone being treated the same, hence my post.

JayP, it has been shown, repeatedly, that your claim is not accurate. I can only assume that you are choosing to lie about this for whatever reason.

Anyone have anything to say about the actual cynical play? Instead of this spoofing about asprin getting headaches...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 16/02/2013 21:55:15    1335059

Ulsterman - its a much wider area than the flats and fair play to them great for the local community and it will get more kids playing gaa which is fantastic. They have a fine all weather pitch beside Dublin airport. Well done both teams yesterday I've a feeling brigids might edge it but you never know.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 17/02/2013 09:33:06    1335074

Thought McCarthy was class yesterday and Rock looks very strong

cboyle92 (Down) - Posts: 184 - 17/02/2013 09:57:09    1335078

Dubs will probably laugh at this but do Ballymun draw their players from the district around where the flats used to be or over a wider area? I don't know much about the side; I take it they are a working class type of club.

Ulsterman I'd recommend a read of this...
http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/spending-time-reaps-bigger-rewards-than-flashing-cash-213606.html

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 17/02/2013 10:30:38    1335086

doublehop

Maybe if they embraced both sexes and both codes they would be a far bigger club than they are, very very short sighted, its the only bugbear I have with them and my brothers play with them.

When I went to school in Ballymun you couldn't say you played GAA or a rough time was to had. Most of the Kickhams them would not have been from the "flats". But they've certainly worked very hard in local schools and its paying off.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4955 - 17/02/2013 11:22:09    1335106

Maybe if they embraced both sexes and both codes they would be a far bigger club than they are, very very short sighted, its the only bugbear I have with them and my brothers play with them.

There are girls playing juvenile, but unfortunately they find it hard to make up the numbers for an entire girls team when they reach the appropriate age. As regards hurling, well there is already a hurling club in Ballymun called Setanta. However there is also a belief that if you want to produce top class footballers you need to have them playing football week in week out. Most of the teams now enter the special cups set up by DCC for players that don't play hurling.

Drummerboy (Dublin) - Posts: 85 - 17/02/2013 13:42:14    1335153

For those who think that Brigids will take the final......behold what you thought the outcome of the Crokes V The Mun game would be and hold your predictions over The Mun lads cheap!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 17/02/2013 13:50:34    1335157

Fair play to Ballymun - a fine win against a Kerry outfit - and to get to the final makes all the work worthwhile. I am sure that all in the club have woken up this moring with a big smile on their faces! It is every club player's dream to get to Croke Park for St Patricks Day. Congratulations on a job well done. They certainly played a lovely brand of football in the first half and showed they could defend in the second half when Gooch and co got back into the game a lot more.
On the question of cynical fouling and this is not to take away from the victory yesterdday - Naomh Brid were very cynical at times yesterday. Ballymun fell into the same category very late on. This as I say is not to take away from either teams victory, but it is a problem for all teams and is something of a cancer in our game. It is very frustrating for the players and spectators and does little for the game as a whole.

Finally I am looking forward to the the 2 teams in the final. It will be a great day. Both teams have superb players and Naomh Brid will have to play very well to beat the hard working and skilful Dubs. May the best team win. To be honest it is great to see 2 new clubs in the final, just like the hurling. The club championship is Now a huge huge success. Great games, great players and great passion. Well done to all involved. Lovely to watch both games on TG4 also!A great way to pass a Saturday afternoon!

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1881 - 17/02/2013 14:38:25    1335180

CaisleanCnucha

McCarthy at midfield is definately an option for Dublin.

you must been watching a differant match to me as mccarthy was poor in the second half in my opinion,i thaught crokes took over midfield in second half and was gobsmacked why davy byrne was not starting there.i dont know how people cannot see he has been ballymuns best midifleder all year and again yesterday he put the hard work in and grafted for evrything i think he is far better midifielder then mccarthy

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 17/02/2013 15:14:00    1335192

Ulsterman

theres a clear mix the mjority of ballymun club all come from the ballymun catchment area the people behind the scens and everybody that goes with it,there is a number of guys on the current senior panel who transferred from other dublin clubs and 3 or 4 guys from other countys.as regards the home grown there would be a split between guys who grew up in the flats and guys who grew up in the housing estates of ballymun,there is about 5 players high profile ones on that team yesterday all grew up in the flats

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 17/02/2013 15:17:17    1335197

TheMaster.....

You have never proven my claim that the Mayo lads feigned injury was false!!! You just say it didnt happen. 17 mins of that half Mayo lads lay on the ground. Adequate time was not added.

Just because you say it didnt happen doesnt mean you are correct. You go back and watch a replay of that second half from last year. The PROOF is there to back up what Im saying.

On a seperate note....cynical play. Both Ballymun and Crokes were guilty of stopping runners. It seems to me to be accepted by opposing teams and all successful teams are doing it. Its hard on officials as if they see a blocked run and whistle they deny a quick break. Ballymun were guilty of committing frees high up the pitch to stop Crokes breaking especially towards the end of the second half. Again.... TheMaster states the obvious when he says it happened at yesterdays game....it happens in every game. I
Answers on a postcard!!!!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 17/02/2013 19:41:02    1335309

17/02/2013 13:50:34
Snufalufagus

For those who think that Brigids will take the final......behold what you thought the outcome of the Crokes V The Mun game would be and hold your predictions over The Mun lads cheap!

--------------------

Why do feel the need to sign off with every post? looking at the odds plenty money have been pumped into Ballymun. At the moment they are no different than Garrycastle,Kilmurry-Ibrickane (reached All Ireland finals against the odds) can they go one better than them??

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3684 - 17/02/2013 20:01:01    1335321