League Finals in New York

s goldrick

its amazing how small-minded and insular some posters on here are. maybe they should go abroad for a while. there are not many things ireland are good at and not many uniquely irish things that we can be proud of. one of them is gaelic games another is traditional irish music. these are things which we can truely be proud of. anyway getting back to the league final being played in New York. why not , it would be a great occasion and give all the GAA folk a chance to see a major final. also don't kid yourself, plenty of people from ireland would make the trip over. i went over in 1997 for a league game played between Cavan and Kerry. It was played in Downing stadium, Randalls Island. wonderful weekend and great occasion. I think this stadium has since been pulled down and a brand new complex built upon the site so don't know if it would be an option again.

why do i need to go abroad to see if ireland are good at things thats a weird statement again it seems you pine for a pat on the head from big nations to feel something is good.there are plenty of things ireland is good at just becuase we now have a culture in ireland of putting anything irish down does not mean it is not good none of the other countrys do that to their own stuff just look at england you never see them slagging their own things yet it has become not cool to say something irish is good which is sad to see.why take the league final away from supporters who have supported their team all year its not fair,people complain about price of tickets or trains to matches in croke park now people want to make supporters travel to america to see them hardly the answer.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 27/11/2012 21:06:13    1303651

it's called broadening your horizons, and thinking outside of the box! Something I wouldn't expect Hill to be too familiar with. God forbid us irish did something outside of the ordinary, jaysus no keep it local sure, be grand. me me me me me

pati (Meath) - Posts: 80 - 27/11/2012 21:49:01    1303676

what are you on about pal.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/11/2012 09:25:16    1303701

think there is a simple solution, why don't we bring back the ban and tighten teh rules on it a bit, have to be 100% Irish, be able to trace your family back to pre famine times, be able to speak as gaeilge fluenty and have never set foot outside of Ireland. Also you can never have even watched any foreign sports. This rules should ensure our sports remained pure and not tarnished by any forign types.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 28/11/2012 09:26:05    1303703

you can waffle on about rubbish all you want you still know deep down what i mean.
why take the league final away from the people who go to the matches during the actual league and why would you want to have to travel to sydney or texas to watch your county play in a championship match,god knows most of you did enough complaining about ticket prices as it is here,i dont get it id rather be able to go to the matches then have to watch my team on tv.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/11/2012 10:22:53    1303717

s goldrick

... there are not many things ireland are good at and not many uniquely irish things that we can be proud of. one of them is gaelic games another is traditional irish music.

Just out of curiosity. What things uniquely Irish can we not be proud of? You suggest above that there are things uniquely Irish we cannot be proud of.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 28/11/2012 11:20:45    1303738

Rosineri1
County: UK

1303703 think there is a simple solution, why don't we bring back the ban and tighten teh rules on it a bit, have to be 100% Irish, be able to trace your family back to pre famine times, be able to speak as gaeilge fluenty and have never set foot outside of Ireland. Also you can never have even watched any foreign sports. This rules should ensure our sports remained pure and not tarnished by any forign types.

Just from that post alone, steriotypiacly i'd say you are a proud Irishman who hates Irish language, music, and culture in general and really repsects his history and heritage. Out of cuiosity, would I be correct?

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 28/11/2012 11:25:38    1303740

obviously not read or paid any attention to my previous post then Culann, am an extremly proud Irish man living in London, been involved in playing hurling and football for one of Lonodn's oldest clubs, managing, serving on the club committee, being a county board delegate, set up the clubs ladies team. Basically from March to October 4 of my days a week are taken up with the GAA. But although GAA is main passion sports wise I have also played rugby, soccer, basketball and aussie rules, all sports I have thoroughly enjoyed but have never felt nearly as much involvement in playing them as I have with my club team back home or indeed my club team in London (which to me is nowmy club ahead of my club team back home).
Also as regard Irish culture, sadly I am not a fluent irish speaker or do not play an musical instruments, but I do go occasionally with my one of my friends to listen to his girlfiend play in the weekly session in one of our local pubs. Also you may like the book collection I have which along with featuring Sports Autobiographies from various sports including GAA, travel literature, history books and various novels also I have a decent collection on books irish history ancient and also more modern, (I recommend Ernie O'Malleys book , On another Mans Wound).I also have a few books on Irish myth and legends following on from stories an elderly neighbour used tell me in my childhood, and after Heminway my favourite author is Behan.
Finally last year I and another person set up an Irish society in the place we work and have organised a few nights for the Irish and second generation in our offices, which have included going to a trad night and going to an Irish play starring Cillian Murphy.
Now I didn't feel I had to come on here and prove my Irishness and pride in being Irish to people. I assumed most of the people on here who are regular posters do so because they love the game. The fact is we all have different opinions on what we feel needs to be done to improve the game. You and Hill obviously have very different views to the likes of myself ffgg and S Goldrick. We feel we have the greatest sports in the world and that they should be showcased to the world, like we have with our music, movies, dance, and literature. These are all things that make us proud to be Irish and show that we can hold our heads up high with any other nation in the world. The fact is we have two of the greatest sports in the world and you seem like you want to keep them to yourselves. I don't think our games would be sullied by being viewed by more people around the world, I don't think you have seen that happen to Irish dancing after what we have seen in the post Riverdance era. I think people would enjoy watching our games but I don't see millions of people taking up the game. There may new teams pop up in different places but these teams would never be able to compete with the team sin Ireland due to teh sheer passion there is for teh games in Ireland and how it is linked to our national identity.
Now as with previous parts of this thread I am sure you will pick out one bit of what I have just witten and have a go at my opinion. But I have said my piece and will not be dragged into any further debate on the matter.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 28/11/2012 13:16:40    1303809

bringing back the ban is a good idea though..cant be losing lads to foreign games

ffgg (Longford) - Posts: 2571 - 28/11/2012 14:37:13    1303863

In respect Rosineirí 1, I read your full reply but do not really feel like commenting on any of it bar the following (a few decent points but a lot of inaccuracies regarding myself):

I don't think you have seen that happen to Irish dancing after what we have seen in the post Riverdance era.

Irish dance has been destroyed post riverdance era so much so that a lot of Irish people are abandonng it for Sean-nós dancing which in turn is being destroyed by this new found popularity. Ask anyone who knows anything about Irish dancing and who are interested in it and they will tell you the same. The whole thing has been destroyed because it has gone commercial. Its been manufactured and changed to suit worldwide audiences. It has totally abandoned its original form and roots. I am someone who would know. Trust me.

Sky would have the same influence on our games if they even got a sniff as some people are encouraging and suggesting here.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 28/11/2012 14:45:38    1303870

Whats funny about that ffgg is that next off you'll be saying me and hill said we wanted to bring back the ban!

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 28/11/2012 14:47:21    1303872

never said anything of the sort although hill did suggest something like bringing it back in a different thread a while back...and you wonder why certain people in urban areas are anti gaa!!...that kind of attitude

ffgg (Longford) - Posts: 2571 - 28/11/2012 14:53:03    1303877

Im talking about the small mindedness and backwards ways in which we have a tendeancy to do things. And most of all the lack of foresight. God sure why would you want to play our game away in one of those foreign countries. Those silly Americans were mad to bring their college football teams over here to play their football in order to introduce the sport to some of those who have never seen it live and gain a few extra supporters, absolute madness.

pati (Meath) - Posts: 80 - 28/11/2012 15:53:46    1303919

Im talking about the small mindedness and backwards ways in which we have a tendeancy to do things. And most of all the lack of foresight. God sure why would you want to play our game away in one of those foreign countries. Those silly Americans were mad to bring their college football teams over here to play their football in order to introduce the sport to some of those who have never seen it live and gain a few extra supporters, absolute madness.
pati , 28/11/2012 at 15:53

I know, its cat. Everywhere you look there are people playing American football. Take a spin through Conamara, a walk down Dublin streets and a trip up to Belfast and everyone is playing American football.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 28/11/2012 16:00:25    1303922

ffgg
County: Longford

1303877 never said anything of the sort although hill did suggest something like bringing it back in a different thread a while back...and you wonder why certain people in urban areas are anti gaa!!...that kind of attitude

You are wafflin again. 2 things. Firstly I never said you said anything of the sort. Read back. Secondaly, I have absolutely nothing to do with anybody being anti GAA. I live and will die the GAA and would welcome anyone with anything positive to give, with open arms, into the organisation.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 28/11/2012 16:04:12    1303926

ffgg
County: Longford

1303877 never said anything of the sort although hill did suggest something like bringing it back in a different thread a while back...and you wonder why certain people in urban areas are anti gaa!!...that kind of attitude

By the way, quote for me where hill sugested that, if you can. Would I be correct in thinking that you are about 17 or 18?

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 28/11/2012 16:07:28    1303927

dismissing everybody who disagrees with you as waffle doesnt exactly help the debate culann

ffgg (Longford) - Posts: 2571 - 28/11/2012 16:24:53    1303941

i dont see how wanting to expand the game is anything but positive for the gaa

ffgg (Longford) - Posts: 2571 - 28/11/2012 16:27:09    1303942

look it up culann where hill posted something along those lines ...as you can see above i already stated you never said anything of the sort...now why are you having a go at my age?..im older than that what age are you?

ffgg (Longford) - Posts: 2571 - 28/11/2012 16:45:43    1303960

culann here's hills post about the ban in the sweetnam rugby thread "if other sports ban players from playing gaa then the gaa should look into having it in a gaa contract that you are banned from aussie rules trials while you are a member of a gaa club" excellent suggestion. Oh, incase you hadn't noticed, that was sarcasm on my part. I noticed you didnt pick up on it in my previous comment so i figured i'd point it out to you this time round and help ya out buddy.

pati (Meath) - Posts: 80 - 28/11/2012 16:48:03    1303962