Dark horse for 2013

Cannot see anyone outside of division 1 winning an all Ireland, even semi final would be pushing it. When is the last time a division 2 won Sam? Out of the division 1 teams, Down do not have a strong enough defence, Tyrone are in transition and have too many players to find, Kerry are gradually fading out and Kildare do not have enough quality. That leaves Donegal, Dublin, Mayo and Cork. Mayo still have a few players to find. Realistically no dark horse is going to win an all Ireland, pick one from Cork, Dublin or Donegal.

MB1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 360 - 17/12/2012 21:24:17    1311549

Louth 22/1 for NFL Div2.... get on ....and happy Christmas to All.

kikfada (Louth) - Posts: 2091 - 18/12/2012 14:25:36    1311729

The last team from Division 2 that won the all ireland was Armagh.

Hardasnails (Monaghan) - Posts: 288 - 18/12/2012 14:43:30    1311751

said it donkeys ago but Antrim will make the ulster final in 2013.

CheFinny (UK) - Posts: 1358 - 19/12/2012 21:47:12    1312289

Chefinny, u culd b right, but ulster is so tight that it is all on the day. I must look at their draw. I think that the league will throw up a bit of form for us to see whos who and who is not. Having said that, last march, I went to croke park and watched dublin beat us by 9 points. They could have had 3 or 4 goals in the first half. We won the all ireland.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3846 - 20/12/2012 11:21:04    1312352

Black Beauty for the National :)
OK, how about Cork finally for Sam ?

omahant (USA) - Posts: 3234 - 20/12/2012 12:02:11    1312368

omahant
County: USA

Black Beauty for the National :)

Cork finally for Sam? Sure they won it 2 years ago, won't that do them for a while!!! :)

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 20/12/2012 12:18:33    1312381

Offaly anyone?

lukeFitz (Offaly) - Posts: 100 - 20/12/2012 12:43:50    1312393

Considering the panel of player that Cork have at their disposal they have already savagely under acheived. There does not appear to be signs of internal fighting so then the manager and backroom team must take the blame. Cork put simply at the moment have the players but are just tactically retarted in their approach both before a game and are incapable of altering their play mid game to suit the situation they are in. Typical example is Donegal game this year and the 2009 final against kerry. They also lack leaders..... they need a serious trainer/manager and a serious culling.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 20/12/2012 13:46:32    1312438

lukeFitz
County: Offaly

1312393 Offaly anyone?

Would definatly agree.

I know that given recent years its easy to say that they can only improve, but theres been some very good minor and u21 squads in the past few years and those players should be coming through.
With a new manager on board and confidence built up from a good run winning the league (which I fully expect) then who knows what the championship may bring from them. definatly capable of a run to late July in the qualifiers anyway.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 20/12/2012 14:46:00    1312473

I think Tipperary and Cavan will make waves in 2013. Both have young teams, but also very strong teams.

Tipperary looked very good last season, very solid looking team who will learn from 2012 and i believe they will cause an upset in Munster this year.
Cavan have a super chance at a run to an Ulster final in 2013, they were unlucky to get Donegal in the opening round last season. I think they have shown real potential, and will do damage with a bit more experience and confidence.

Outside of that, I will be Interested to see how Meath progress and to see if McIver can turn Derry into a football force they have the potential to be.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 15/01/2013 17:33:50    1318762

GaryMc82
County: Derry

Would definitely agree with that assessment. Two counties along with Dublin who have arguably produced the best underage teams in the past few years. We're going for our fourth u21 Ulster final in a row this year. A good few of the panelists have minor medals from 2011 so it's looking good.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 15/01/2013 17:59:22    1318777

I don't think Cavan will be even close to an upset. Their first match is against Armagh. They only just beat half an Armagh team minus all the Crossmaglen players in the Mc Kenna cup. Yes they have had good individual underage players but they often have had. Likewise Tipp. Both better than prior years but I don't think they will actually win anything.

Roscommon and Armagh for Provincial Titles. Tyrone for All Ireland have a genuine chance I'd say.

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 15/01/2013 19:38:42    1318832

Does anyone think Roscommon represent good value at 13/2 for Division 3? Probably best bet is to back them each way at 1/3 place odds. New manager, good crop of youngsters coming through i.e. 2012 U21 Connacht champions beating both Mayo and Galway before making All Ireland final. Only thing is could they be without St Brigids lads for first couple of fixtures?

They have both Meath and Monaghan at home wont fear either of them, neighbours Sligo at home, their three away fixtures all come in Ulster versus Fermanagh, Antrim and Cavan though.

NFL Division 3 Betting - Meath 13/8, Monaghan 5/2, Sligo 13/2, Roscommon 13/2, Cavan 7/1, Antrim 11/1, Wicklow 20/1, Fermanagh 20/1

gaelicgab (USA) - Posts: 878 - 15/01/2013 20:37:03    1318860

Personally speaking Tipp are a dead cert to get promoted from the bottom division. Fancy them to win the league out and go on to make an impact on the championship, they will be a tricky one for Kerry in the Munster quarter final. Came close to the Kingdom last year despite everyone thinking it was an unconvincing performance from Jack O'Connor's team.

gaelicgab (USA) - Posts: 878 - 15/01/2013 20:45:37    1318865

Meath.....a feck it, I tried to say it with a straight face but it just wouldn't happen, dark horse eh, hmmmm let me see, Laois or Tipperary.

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 15/01/2013 21:10:44    1318882