aidan64 County: Kerry Posts: 106 I fancy Cork to be a lot stronger this year.[/b] The Dubs wont be far off either. Kerry and Donegal to go out in the Semis
On what basis?? Our half back line is too old. The legs are gone from O' Leary, Canty, Kissane. For me next year SAM is between Dublin & Donegal with Longford & Meath as dark horses to have a good run in the back door a possibly make the Q/F's.
Rebel.Og (Cork) - Posts: 519 - 13/12/2012 13:29:25
Not alot of mention on here about Kildare. I fancy them to cause a few upsets next year with the help of Division One football they will peak at just about the right time.
cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 13/12/2012 14:07:36
Legs gone from Kissane? Are you for real? He was like a duracell bunny against us.
doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 13/12/2012 14:15:18
A few outside bets which are worth a go. They are not certainties by any means but much more likely than the odds suggest... Tyrone 20/1 (Have won 3 of the last 10 All Irelands and still have a lot of good players eg Sean Cavanagh key player in each of those All Irelands) Kyle Coney 66/1 for player of the year (If Tyrone do go far they will be heavily dependent on Kyle Coney for scores) Kieran Donaghy 66/1 for player of the year (Surely a better chance than 66/1) Cork to go unbeaten 100/1 (There is only one match in Munster they could lose so thats a start)
tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 13/12/2012 14:54:14
cacsmckilly County: Tyrone Posts: 531
1310048 Not alot of mention on here about Kildare. I fancy them to cause a few upsets next year with the help of Division One football they will peak at just about the right time.
Now you've done it casmckilly ! Everything was just dying down nicely..now all our lovely neighbours will abandon their washing and shopping and be on here arguing your point!
I think the rebels will be back with a bang !
St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1722 - 13/12/2012 14:55:40
Think tyrone who go well this year...
DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 13/12/2012 15:23:41
tyroneed County: Tyrone Posts: 16
1310083 A few outside bets which are worth a go. They are not certainties by any means but much more likely than the odds suggest... Tyrone 20/1 (Have won 3 of the last 10 All Irelands and still have a lot of good players eg Sean Cavanagh key player in each of those All Irelands) Kyle Coney 66/1 for player of the year (If Tyrone do go far they will be heavily dependent on Kyle Coney for scores) Kieran Donaghy 66/1 for player of the year (Surely a better chance than 66/1) Cork to go unbeaten 100/1 (There is only one match in Munster they could lose so thats a start)
I'd imagine that the Cork unbeaten odds include the League too.
Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 13/12/2012 15:24:09
Dark horse to win it would be Tyrone, never never underestimate Mickey Harte.
To have a good run Meath, Longford, Tipperary
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 13/12/2012 15:44:01
A lot of talk about Longford doing well next year hope their are right. If we beat Wicklow we face Meath. Some of the better players are injured or travelling and apart from one or two lads from County Champions Killoe I cant see where the new players are coming from. I would assume if we progress it will through the back door. Might be a fight to remain in Div 2.
bullring (Longford) - Posts: 204 - 13/12/2012 15:48:59
Cute_Kerry_Hoor County: Kerry Posts: 1641
1310103 tyroneed County: Tyrone Posts: 16
1310083 A few outside bets which are worth a go. They are not certainties by any means but much more likely than the odds suggest... Tyrone 20/1 (Have won 3 of the last 10 All Irelands and still have a lot of good players eg Sean Cavanagh key player in each of those All Irelands) Kyle Coney 66/1 for player of the year (If Tyrone do go far they will be heavily dependent on Kyle Coney for scores) Kieran Donaghy 66/1 for player of the year (Surely a better chance than 66/1) Cork to go unbeaten 100/1 (There is only one match in Munster they could lose so thats a start)
Obviously includes the League or else 100/1 would be amazingly generous. But Cork have recently done well in league too.
tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 13/12/2012 15:54:40
St.Conleth County: Kildare Posts: 510
1310085 cacsmckilly County: Tyrone Posts: 531
1310048 Not alot of mention on here about Kildare. I fancy them to cause a few upsets next year with the help of Division One football they will peak at just about the right time.
Now you've done it casmckilly ! Everything was just dying down nicely..now all our lovely neighbours will abandon their washing and shopping and be on here arguing your point!
No joking here St Conleth, I can see Kildare winning Leinster and pushing for a place in the All Ireland Final. McGeeney will have them chomping at the bit next season. The gloves are off now for Kildare, god help the likes of Meath and Dublin
cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 14/12/2012 09:58:49
doublehop County: Kildare Posts: 2564
Legs gone from Kissane? Are you for real? He was like a duracell bunny against us.
Against ye? Are you for real??? In all fairness that wasn't a proper contest & he wasn't under pressure. Against Donegal he was badly exposed & didn't have the engine to keep going when Donegal were flying in the second half.
Its easy to look fit & fast when you are hammering a team. But against Donegal, our half back line's ageing legs were badly exposed.
Rebel.Og (Cork) - Posts: 519 - 14/12/2012 10:13:18
tyroneed County: Tyrone Posts: 17
1310118 Cute_Kerry_Hoor County: Kerry Posts: 1641
1310103 tyroneed County: Tyrone Posts: 16
Obviously includes the League or else 100/1 would be amazingly generous. But Cork have recently done well in league too.
Cork have to play Kerry in Tralee in the League and more than likely again in Killarney in the Championship for starters. Donaghy should be 666/1 instead of 66/1 !!!
Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 14/12/2012 10:26:32
MourneArmy County: Down Posts: 981
If Down win the All Ireland in 2013, I'll eat Slieve Donard!
ballybannongael (Down) - Posts: 547 - 14/12/2012 15:25:22
ballybannongael County: Down Posts: 468
Deal! Lol
MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 14/12/2012 17:04:18
Definitely Dublin ;)
TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 16/12/2012 13:47:45
cacsmckilly County: Tyrone Posts: 534
1310376 St.Conleth County: Kildare Posts: 510
1310085 cacsmckilly County: Tyrone Posts: 531
No joking here St Conleth, I can see Kildare winning Leinster and pushing for a place in the All Ireland Final. McGeeney will have them chomping at the bit next season. The gloves are off now for Kildare, god help the likes of Meath and Dublin
To be honest, Kildare have been playing the "dark horse" card now for the last 3 or 4 years. They're a very good solid outfit but what can they bring to the table that we haven't seen already..? Have they any good new players coming through..? Their best player over the last few years is slowly fading towards retirement and while I certainly won't write them off for next year, I just can't see them doing anything different. Dublin will win Leinster at a canter next year and they won't be far from Sam either. Too early to tell what O'Dowd will do with Meath but we could spring a few surprises.
Dublin or dare I say it, Mayo for Sam..!
RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 16/12/2012 14:11:21
TheGateKeeper County: Tyrone Posts: 1177
1311082 Definitely Dublin ;)
DEFINITELY.
AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 16/12/2012 14:14:51
carlow hurlers to survive in div 1b after beating wexford
carlo (Carlow) - Posts: 258 - 17/12/2012 19:14:48
We do have a good few young players around - Eoin Doyle, Fogarty, Dowling, Paul Cribbin's back from Australia. As well as Seanie of course. Also Carbury's Willie Groome and Naas' Conor Mellett reportedly did very well in a challenge match last weekend. We have actually used quite a lot of players even over the last season or two. How could we not with the amount of injuries we've had? Even getting Lynch, Flynn and Leper back will make a difference...
That's not to say I think we're about to storm the championship or anything like that. But I'm tired of this myth that we haven't changed our team since McGeeney took over in 2008. It has actually changed quite a lot and will hopefully keep evolving.
A big improvement on 2012 is definitely possible with the players available to us. I still feel we underachieved. I wasn't one to get carried away with the hype the other years and in the same way I wouldn't be throwing the baby out with the bathwater in despair now either. A big stretch for that to be enough to win Leinster but Division 1 might help. Keep the faith!
doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 17/12/2012 19:57:05