Sam 2013

Truth is it shows how much of a job Gilroy done, Tyrone, Armagh and Kerry. all beaten under gilroys reign. Im glad a lot of crap from pillars reign is gone.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 18/11/2012 21:49:15    1299497

dubs look set for a potential period of dominance anyway if they continue to dominate u21 in leinster they should surely have enough players to win at least 2-3 all irelands in next decade

ffgg (Longford) - Posts: 2571 - 18/11/2012 21:50:25    1299498

seems like the championship becomes wider and wider open with each passing year , I personally think Dublin will wipe the floor with everyone this year

stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 18/11/2012 21:57:38    1299503

Some unjustified inflation of the old noggin by the Dubs!!!

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 19/11/2012 09:26:36    1299518

1299011 ....plus we should never have lost that Mayo game in 06. Six years later and I'm still sick over that game.

Me too. This year's poor performance against them didn't help either.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 19/11/2012 09:30:51    1299520

GreenandRed

1299199 Part 2 !

Cork, Cork, Cork. We lost 2 League finals to that team, one hammered, the other well beaten but a strange change in tactic in 2nd half of not pressing players all over the pitch. Brolly was accused of disrespect when he said Kerry had shown little steel in big games once it was put up to them. I would say Brolly was mostly wrong but Cork are more likely to wilt when it's put up to them in Championship. A bit like Pillar's Dubs, many class players, not always playing as a team. Just 1 All Ireland won for such a talented team? Missing some of their top forwards last year they were beating us easily in 1st half. Then heads dropped and game over. If they were such a class team, even without 3 top forwars they should have beaten a young Mayo team out the gate. Had their chances against Donegal too, didn't take them. Somewhat similar to us in a way that playing Kerry in Croker Park in Championship didn't suit them! How good are they? Really? Quarter finalists. Possible winners with a new manager a better team ethic and renewed hunger.

Tyrone will be quarter-finalists, at least. Harte to get some of the old guard back and some young blood. Self-belief is never lacking in Tyrone.

Kerry, always great footballers, not always the best team ethic or self-belief. See aforementioned collapse in 2011 All Ireland Final. There's not many plus points to being hammered in All Ireland Finals by Kerry. Staying to the final whistle to marvel at their skills is probably tthe only one. But today skills alone will win you nothing. Conditioning, tactics, game management (cynical fouling, feigning injuries, subsitutions to waste time, etc) are part and pacel. Eamon Fitzmaurice will get them to the final.

I said earlier that Mayo will win. My heart was doing the typing. We should get to the semis with another midfielder, possibly 2 and at least 4 new forwards. People mentioning Andy Moran when he's not ven playing ball yet ???? He's one guy. We need options. All summer Dillon was the only decent forward we had. O'Connor is a free-taker. Varley ? No. Conroy? Was very surprised at how well he did. Maybe. McLoughlin is quality, but not a high scoring forward, a 7th defender. Docherty doesn't convince me, nor does Freeman but maybe someone can motivate them. Forget Mortimer before anyone suggests bringing him back.

As I've lived and will return to Maynooth I would love to see Kildare do well. How they'll be in Division 1 is anyone's guess. Johnny Doyle won't go on forever. Seanie Johnson is little compensation when Doyle finishes. They need some young talent coming through. Quarter finalists.

Good honest unbiased post from a Maigh Eo man. Fair play to you. You say hear in a decent way what I was saying in a rant but I think we are agreed in what we say apart from in the tone. Fair play to you. (part 1 of the post was reasonable and fair also) The Master and his likes could learn a lot from you.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 19/11/2012 09:38:58    1299525

AthCliath

1299497 Truth is it shows how much of a job Gilroy done, Tyrone, Armagh and Kerry. all beaten under gilroys reign. Im glad a lot of crap from pillars reign is gone.

...and long may it be gone. Pillar was honest and did what he thought was best but as you say its good that a lot of the crap from his reign is gone.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 19/11/2012 09:41:57    1299530

ffgg
County: Longford

1299498 dubs look set for a potential period of dominance anyway if they continue to dominate u21 in leinster they should surely have enough players to win at least 2-3 all irelands in next decade

I'd be delighted with three in the next ten years and think that it is very possible if good care is taken of our young players and Austrialia doesn't poach the best of them.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 19/11/2012 09:44:03    1299532

ffgg

are you that silly you havent read that i said the only differance was armagh managed the one all ireland and pillars dubs didnt,they were simliar yes in ever y other way.your the one getting silly man.yeah that period is over for kerry just like for tyrone neither have one won in last few years so you could say they are not relevant either going by your logic.
dublin werent hammered in 2005 they drew the first match and in the second tyrone were ahead by 7-8 at half time and dublin clawed it right back to 2 points before mulligan got that goal against the run of play anybody in croker that day will tell you there was no hammering.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 19/11/2012 11:54:45    1299608

Mugsy silenced the hill in the most spectacular fashion!
Magic, magic mulligan.

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 19/11/2012 11:58:21    1299614

And more recently Connolly fairly shut you lot up good too!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 19/11/2012 12:56:04    1299675

2008, a 12 point hammering for u lads, nothing compared to your Connolly rant lad!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 19/11/2012 13:07:33    1299682

It's lady actually and you're only as good as your last game. Having to go back to the last decade to get a dig in is frankly just embarrassing.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 19/11/2012 13:37:07    1299712

TheGateKeeper

2008, a 12 point hammering for u lads, nothing compared to your Connolly rant lad!

when was the last time tyrone actualy beat us? that 12 point hammering was the worse thing ye could have done it seems as we have beaten ye since

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 19/11/2012 13:39:19    1299714

yeah its quite a difference isnt it ...tyrone won comfortably enough bar a spirited comeback which was put to an end...move on anyway

ffgg (Longford) - Posts: 2571 - 19/11/2012 15:16:33    1299786

well i say 3 culann because the kerry team are coming to an end and also tyrone are rebuilding so there is a chance there

ffgg (Longford) - Posts: 2571 - 19/11/2012 15:17:28    1299787

There was no hype in 2010 and 2011. Kerry don't win SAM every year. They win about once every three to four years. We win it once every five years. Thats on average

3 All Irelands since 1983 averages nearly once every 10 years for ye??

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 673 - 19/11/2012 17:22:44    1299898

Now now gatekeeper, be nice to the lady : ), and to be honest, Tyrone were lucky that the gap was only 7 points that day, it could've been 20 and you know it!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 19/11/2012 17:53:48    1299926

that was some performance start to finish by the dubs connolly was on firel,its hard to think why the scoreline wasnt bigger there game play was flawless for the 70 mins and the conditions were pretty miserable which makes some of connolly's points pure class.....

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 19/11/2012 19:30:51    1299996

AthCliath

1299497 Truth is it shows how much of a job Gilroy done, Tyrone, Armagh and Kerry. all beaten under gilroys reign. Im glad a lot of crap from pillars reign is gone

in fairness it isnt too hard to beat tyrone and armagh now, they've both gone back alot since they won alll irelands.

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 19/11/2012 19:41:09    1299998