Sam 2013

ClassApart

Cute_Kerry_Hoor sorry I just glanced at the rankings and didn't read his post! But they are still wrong!

Yea I don't agree with Kerry being 2nd anyway!!!

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 15/11/2012 17:04:45    1298288

i agree culann gilroy was excellent at lessening the hype and keeping it down as dublin under pillar received outrageous hype and were under enormous pressure and simply werent good enough and could not deal with it when it came down to it

ffgg (Longford) - Posts: 2571 - 15/11/2012 17:13:09    1298292

Yet again we'll hear how Tyrone and Kildare are "genuine contenders" from the usual hack journalists. Can't see past Donegal.

DeebyBee (Galway) - Posts: 108 - 15/11/2012 17:15:08    1298296

Cute_Kerry_Hoor

ClassApart

Cute_Kerry_Hoor sorry I just glanced at the rankings and didn't read his post! But they are still wrong!

Yea I don't agree with Kerry being 2nd anyway!!!

As in they shouldn't be that high ata ll.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 15/11/2012 17:15:20    1298298

brendtheredhand

1298244 What odds would you get on that Jimbo?
________

Id have to guess Brend... I'm not a gambling man whatsoever

But I'm guessing..... really favourable?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 15/11/2012 17:25:37    1298301

Malonemagic
County: Laois

Laois wont win Sam or anything but expect them to have really good year . Have been really developing physically under McNulty . This year we have three additions to te team as well - Donie Kingston is back , Niall Donoher who was injured last season . And Conor Meredith who once scored three three goals in a Leinster Minor Final , and who has been playing in the AFL in Australia.

Is Meredith definitely back for good? I thought I heard somewhere he was doing some sort of college course in Australia on the side so assumed he might be giving it another year at least.

Be a very good addition to the panel if he is back permanently anyways.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3692 - 15/11/2012 17:30:13    1298304

tyrone maybe the had loads of injuries last year and have a great underage setup....kildare no they are just the medias team..they have yet to beat a good side under mcgeeney

ffgg (Longford) - Posts: 2571 - 15/11/2012 17:35:29    1298307

Donegal are the team to beat and if they are going to be stopped in Ulster it will be by tyrone in the first round whereas in the all ireland Kerry, Cork, Dublin and Mayo will all be looking to dethrone the champs.
Dublin will look to bounce back after the poor season last year. They will probably win Lenister again with Kildare and Meath not far behind but when it comes to the quarters Meath and Kildare won't do much damage.
Mayo to win Connaught again be in the all ireland semi at least. Munster is a throw up between Kerry and Cork and they will both have a say as to where Sam goes in 2013.
Top in my opinion
1)Donegal
2)Mayo
3)Cork
4)Dublin
5)Kerry

Jackos_Wacko (Kerry) - Posts: 417 - 15/11/2012 18:33:58    1298346

If in doubt : played in club champ and last I heard he had found work here and would be available to play

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 818 - 15/11/2012 18:43:39    1298348

To sum up, Kildare did better against Donegal in 2011 than Cork did in 2012. We are a long way from winning the All-Ireland. No-one is saying any different.

Kildare and Tyrone having shorter odds is all based on each-way places and the respective chances of both teams of making a semi-final where a bookie would then have to pay out. Both teams have consistently got to the quarters (except last yr in Tyrone's case where they met Kerry in the qualifiers) so are bound to be next in the odds.

But as I've said there seems to be quite a big gap between the top 5 and everyone else and no is denying that. The Meath lads can relax.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 15/11/2012 20:29:44    1298410

I reckon Donegal are favs, but i have a gut feeling that Tyrone will catch them in the first round in Ulster. Thus making tyrone favs for Sam. You heard it here first.

Cork and Dublin are next and then Kerry.

Mayo have as much chance of winning sam as i have with Georgia salpa.
Mayo had a handy run to the final last year. Beating leitrim Sligo and Down. While they caught The Dubs cold without Alan Brogan. As much i would like to see Mayo win they havent a hope in hell.

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 15/11/2012 20:56:03    1298424

ffgg
County: Longford

1298267 yes well dublin are not kerry i think you should realise that

jaysus ffgg, yis won a leinster in 1968,and your telling us we are not kerry, glass houses and stones spring to mind.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 15/11/2012 21:20:44    1298440

i dont mean dublin fans in general athcliath i just mean clondalkin who puts dublin under unfair expectations..i am well aware of longfords record..if you looked at my previous posts it would be blatant that i was only responding to clondalkin not dublin fans in general so please real all my posts before jumping to attack me or longford

ffgg (Longford) - Posts: 2571 - 15/11/2012 21:31:10    1298454

Too early lads, big players could become a cropper in Mickey Mouse games, winner will come from Donegal, Dublin, Kerry or Cork! Outsiders are Kildare, Tyrone and Mayo!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 15/11/2012 21:36:19    1298460

doublehop

To sum up, Kildare did better against Donegal in 2011 than Cork did in 2012. We are a long way from winning the All-Ireland. No-one is saying any different.

Kildare and Tyrone having shorter odds is all based on each-way places and the respective chances of both teams of making a semi-final where a bookie would then have to pay out. Both teams have consistently got to the quarters (except last yr in Tyrone's case where they met Kerry in the qualifiers) so are bound to be next in the odds.

But as I've said there seems to be quite a big gap between the top 5 and everyone else and no is denying that. The Meath lads can relax.

Pretty sure each way bets only apply to the teams who make the final, with bets on the losing team paid out at 1/2 the original odds.

If there's bookies out there paying out on each way bets on teams who make the semis then there's some serious money to be made.

Incidentally there's some bookies out there who have Meath at shorter odds than Kildare, but it's good to know the voyeurs are out there anyways...

Malonemagic
County: Laois

If in doubt : played in club champ and last I heard he had found work here and would be available to play

Cheers for that, obviously my info was a little bit out of date, may get myself some new sources. Heard O'Dempseys were beaten in their semi final alright but didn't know he was back playing for them, you reckon he'll be given a chance in the half forward or full forward line?

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3692 - 15/11/2012 21:52:06    1298476

kerryrowz
Mayo had a handy run to the final last year. Beating leitrim Sligo and Down. While they caught The Dubs cold without Alan Brogan. As much i would like to see Mayo win they havent a hope in hell.

That may be but if that's thats the case....Mayo must be the luckiest team in the History of getting to finals so?. I suppose we were lucky to get to the League Final and semi final last year too. Now I admit our Final record is terrible and depressing but Mayo don't get any credit for consistently getting to finals and being the longest serving team in Division 1 of the league.

The same aul guff is wheeled out each year and same aul clichies about Mayo. Funny how most of the people that make those comment have little to shout about themselves.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11999 - 16/11/2012 08:57:23    1298490

The same aul guff is wheeled out each year and same aul clichies about Mayo. Funny how most of the people that make those comment have little to shout about themselves.

Look, I'm just expressing an opinion. I have never commented on Maigh Eo's reagrding other years ever. Deal with what I wrote about this year. Can you seriously argue that the Dubs and Ciarraí were 100% this year compared to other years? Can you seriously argue that you were not well beaten by Dún na nGall and Corcaigh? Can you seriously argue that apart from those four teams that you had any tough games? Can you seriously argue that it wouldn't have been as hard to get to a final had you been drawn against, Ciarraí, Corcaigh or Dún na nGall? Look, just deal with my point. Rebute if you can.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 16/11/2012 09:51:12    1298506

ffgg

the gaa was far better off for the hype around dublin under pillar as they had full houses for all leinster championship matches where as under gilroy the whole damening everything and style of play turned some people off.i dont think the hype had much to do with anything there is always a certain expectation on dublin teams and it is a fair expectation as we have the biggest support and are second in the roll of honour so we should be expecting to be in the shake up every year and looking at next year itshould be no differant we have won 2 under 21 all irelands in the last 3 years and have appeared in back to back all ireland minor finals winning one last year while appearing in the last 3 all ireland semi finals and winning an all ireland last year so it is a fair expectation to believe they can win it.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 16/11/2012 10:00:51    1298509

Culann - I was not having a pop at you but here is my comeback anyway.

1. There is no doubting we had an easier run to the final than Donegal but we did beat a down team that everyone said would beat us and a the reigning all ireland champions (Just like last year). I think Mayo have been in more finals than anyone bar Kerry in the past 20/25 years so lucky run excuses kind of run out of steam there.

2. If you check back I actually said we were a class forward or 2 short of winning an All Ireland and I stand by that. We lost Andy Moran who was a big loss and will have him next year and hopefully one or 3 new faces in the staring line up.

3. The average age of the Mayo team was 23 last year and while there are no guarantees in life, I would hope we will be there are there about's over the next few years.

4. The first 10mins of all Ireland finals needs to be addressed as we seems to be caught ball hopping and teams know that. Hopefully we can improve that bit more and get lucky along the way for next year. Every team needs luck to win an all Ireland.

5. To sum up - the posts I see that laugh at the thought of Mayo having a hope of winning Sam drive me up the wall. It shouldn't but they do. I feel we get no national respect and you know what, maybe we deserve it until we do win Sam but other counties don't seem to get it. Anyway - RANT OVER

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11999 - 16/11/2012 10:55:15    1298525

the gaa was far better off for the hype around dublin under pillar as they had full houses for all leinster championship matches where as under gilroy the whole damening everything and style of play turned some people off.

The GAA did well out of the Dubs back then but the Dubs won f all. I agree with you here.

i dont think the hype had much to do with anything there is always a certain expectation on dublin teams and it is a fair expectation as we have the biggest support and are second in the roll of honour so we should be expecting to be in the shake up every year and looking at next year itshould be no differant.

I differ in opinion here, Hill. I think the hype effects us. For example I remember one summer when the Dublin Daily newspaper was out under Tommy Lyons reign. There were interviews with five or six players in the paper and it appeared all the players believed what there other fellow players were saying about the team. They were all talking about how good they were and how they were going to beat Laois on the Sunday. They thought all they had to do was show up. Also, the same paper was giving out free bets on how much the Dubs were going to beat Laois by. They lost the game!

I think we have a lot to learn from Ciarraí folk. They always talk up the opposition and in their own eyes, for some reason, are never favoutites in games they are involved in. The result = no hype. For some reason they often go on to win SAM despite all that!!! I reckon the hype has cost us All Irelands in the past in particular Donegal in 1992 comes to mind (no offence meant a mhuintir Dhún na nGall). We should be in the shake up every year. I agree with that but its too much for people to expect us to win every year (players aside).

we have won 2 under 21 all irelands in the last 3 years and have appeared in back to back all ireland minor finals winning one last year while appearing in the last 3 all ireland semi finals and winning an all ireland last year so it is a fair expectation to believe they can win it.
hill16no1man , 16/11/2012 at 10:00

This is all brilliant but we have to make sure we give ourselves every chance to fulfill the potential we have for future All Irelands and I believe we can do that by not putting so much pressure on these players and not to set the expectancy level to high. Expect it privately maybe. Maybe I'm just a glass half empty man but I believe 100% in what I am saying and I believe the lack of hype helped big time in our All Ireland win in 2011.

PS Its killing me that ffgg is agreeing with me.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 16/11/2012 11:24:44    1298545