Kerry are rebuilding at the moment, a SF/Final appearence this year would progress. Its Dublins to loose at this stage.
kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 24/01/2013 20:30:29
Its amazing a great football county like Galway have slipped so far as hardly get a mention anymore. They were just a kick of a ball away from getting promoted to Div 1 last year so they could be on the improve again. 40/1 to win it and 20/1 to reach the final is where I placed my gentlemans bet last Saturday. One of these years, they will appear from out of the fog.
maroon2gold (Westmeath) - Posts: 551 - 24/01/2013 20:47:33
I see that Meath are now certainties to win Leinster & sure if they so then they will walk Sam.
Must get a grand on before the odds are taken !!!!!!
Ah, no, will stick with my own prediction, Dublin for Leinster & Donegal the SAM
KELF (Kildare) - Posts: 775 - 24/01/2013 21:10:18
maroon2gold County: Westmeath Posts: 521
1323274 Its amazing a great football county like Galway have slipped so far as hardly get a mention anymore. They were just a kick of a ball away from getting promoted to Div 1 last year so they could be on the improve again. 40/1 to win it and 20/1 to reach the final is where I placed my gentlemans bet last Saturday. One of these years, they will appear from out of the fog.
nice to see someone giving galway a mention , hopefully we will be back someday...
gman30 (Galway) - Posts: 100 - 24/01/2013 21:30:03
Dear me my opinion that meath will win leinster has rubbed a few up the wrong way, and surprise surprise they mostly from kildare ::) My analysis is simple, meath are on opposite side of draw to both Dublin and kildare, so looking at it objectively their main hurdle in getting to a final will be laois, who i believe they would beat, yes they have to play either lfofd. /wlow prior to that but a game i also think they will win. Look at they bookie's odds Dublin are overwhelming favs. (Rightly so) then you have meath and kildare virtually same odds then gap to laois, if meath reach their third final in four years i think they will win it, as either opposition will face no fear for them, now of course I'd prefer the easier team in kildare, but if it's Dublin, can't see them going all out to win another leinster and a game before quarters might help them in what they truly want, sam. Meath are a long way from competing for that at min but yes a leinster championship is well within their ability
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/01/2013 08:42:35
maroon2gold County: Westmeath Posts: 521
1323274 Its amazing a great football county like Galway have slipped so far as hardly get a mention anymore. They were just a kick of a ball away from getting promoted to Div 1 last year so they could be on the improve again. 40/1 to win it and 20/1 to reach the final is where I placed my gentlemans bet last Saturday. One of these years, they will appear from out of the fog.
It's very hard for any team to appear from the fog in Gaelic football and win an All Ireland from nowhere. Donegal were Division 2 champions, Ulster champions and All Ireland Semi finalists in 2011 before winning Ulster again and then Sam in 2012.
It is most likely that the All Ireland champions in 2013 will come from the pool of 2012 All Ireland Semi finalists ( Dublin, Mayo, Cork and Donegal ). Outside of that, you could maybe look at Kerry with Kildare and Tyrone slightly behind them.
We don't yet know how well the Dublin and Kerry teams will adapt to their new managers. Prior to Pat Gilroy, Dublin were good enough to keep winning Leinster titles, but constantly failed to be serious rivals for All Irelands. Regardless of how well the squads of Kerry and Dublin adapt to their new managers, I feel neither side will lift Sam.
I believe the 2013 All Ireland will go to Donegal, Mayo or Cork.
GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3045 - 27/01/2013 12:02:51
royaldunne County: Meath Posts: 2999
1323353 Dear me my opinion that meath will win leinster has rubbed a few up the wrong way, and surprise surprise they mostly from kildare ::) My analysis is simple, meath are on opposite side of draw to both Dublin and kildare, so looking at it objectively their main hurdle in getting to a final will be laois, who i believe they would beat, yes they have to play either lfofd. /wlow prior to that but a game i also think they will win. Look at they bookie's odds Dublin are overwhelming favs. (Rightly so) then you have meath and kildare virtually same odds then gap to laois, if meath reach their third final in four years i think they will win it, as either opposition will face no fear for them, now of course I'd prefer the easier team in kildare, but if it's Dublin, can't see them going all out to win another leinster and a game before quarters might help them in what they truly want, sam. Meath are a long way from competing for that at min but yes a leinster championship is well within their ability
LMAO
derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 27/01/2013 12:23:54
Think the provincial finals will be easier to call than all ire, In leinster it looks odds on that it will be meath v dublin What are views on other provinces?
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/01/2013 12:37:58
I know I'm biased but I think Donegal should win again. They're the fittest and most determined team
DL_Man (Donegal) - Posts: 145 - 27/01/2013 17:01:37
Donegal dont have the monopoly on determination. I'm sure if you asked Dublin last year they were determined to do two in a row. Im sure they are determined this year. I'm sure Kerry are determined to win their first AI since last decade too. Likewise Cork! Mayo, Kildare etc. I also don't believe they are the fittest team either. Imo they are on par with every other top 4 team. What are you basing this on? Not stirring just wondering why you think they are any different to other counties competing for Sam.
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 27/01/2013 17:32:33
royaldunne, If were you I wouldn't be worried about Dublin. Laois will take ye out in the semi-final.
lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 3070 - 27/01/2013 17:39:04
Well put Jackeen.
lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 3070 - 27/01/2013 17:54:27
Jackeen 100% agree. It's getting a wee bit tiring listening to some of the stuff written about Donegal. They are not unbeatable far from it in my opinion.
westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 27/01/2013 18:18:55
No that won't happen lillywhite., But what odds on dublin sending kildare through the back door, again
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/01/2013 18:28:12
dont know where meath are getting the cockiness from it took them two games to beat us last year their an average div.3 team at best
oldburrin (Carlow) - Posts: 221 - 27/01/2013 18:50:20
lilywhite1 County: Kildare Posts: 1523
1324358 royaldunne, If were you I wouldn't be worried about Dublin. Laois will take ye out in the semi-final
people are very quick to predict that laois will be in the semi but i actually think wexford will beat laois, id still expect laois to do well in the qualifiers.
meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 27/01/2013 18:51:50
westkerry County: Kerry Posts: 194
1324381 Jackeen 100% agree. It's getting a wee bit tiring listening to some of the stuff written about Donegal. They are not unbeatable far from it in my opinion.
I haven't seen anyone anywhere say that Donegal are unbeatable, I don't know where you got that from. As for you getting tired, it might have something to do with the effort required to listen to stuff that's been written down. That would exhaust the best of us!!
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 27/01/2013 19:05:32
oldburrin County: Carlow Posts: 216
1324410 dont know where meath are getting the cockiness from it took them two games to beat us last year their an average div.3 team at best
Speaking for a whole county is he? Why not direct ur comments to him rather than stupid digs like that at the while county?
Ur not really any better than him urself with posts like that.
Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 27/01/2013 19:20:40
think i upset someone
oldburrin (Carlow) - Posts: 221 - 27/01/2013 19:46:46
royaldunne County: Meath Posts: 3023
No that won't happen lillywhite., But what odds on dublin sending kildare through the back door, again
I'd say it'll be in or around 2/5 or 4/11.
Although it's a long way off and the bookies won't be giving odds for another few months on it, it would seem like the safe bet come the summer.
What odds do you think I'd get on Laois beating Meath again?
I'd guess at 3/1 or 5/2 maybe, but I think that might be a bit conservative on my part.
if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3692 - 27/01/2013 20:54:30