Sam 2013

your going to need more than just a 'feeling' if your going to put somebody as a top 10 team with zero to back it up

ffgg (Longford) - Posts: 2571 - 20/01/2013 15:56:15    1320792

well if you look at the louth game today against dublin they are miles away from top 10, they seem to just roll over for dublin no matter what competition they play them in. it could actually be argued that louth are one of the worst teams in leinster because dublin are obviously the best and out of all the teams in leinster louth are one of the least competitive with dublin, carlow would probably give dublin a better game.

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 20/01/2013 16:09:52    1320801

dublins third team beat us well a couple of weeks ago

oldburrin (Carlow) - Posts: 221 - 20/01/2013 16:25:59    1320813

well louth wouldnt beat dublins third team either, it seems like its more a psychological thing with louth that they cant beat dublin because they can play good football but they usually only do against meath.

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 20/01/2013 16:34:56    1320819

Louth play with confidence against Meath because they know how poor Meath are!

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 20/01/2013 17:01:05    1320841

lilypad

1320841 Louth play with confidence against Meath because they know how poor Meath are!

oh really thats why they havnt beaten us in the championship in about 50 years

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 20/01/2013 17:05:45    1320844

I was a neutral at O'Connor park today. Kildare were very lucky to beat a division 4 team. I think a few hammering's will be handed out to them in division 1. SJ stood out for them it must be said though.

Matthew (None) - Posts: 1114 - 20/01/2013 17:18:29    1320857

Lillypad, is this the same poor louth team who beat kildare off the field couple years ago? How poor must they be? Plus at least we have our own county players we don't need cavans., but meathalltheway could be right when it comes to psychology against dubs

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/01/2013 17:28:09    1320862

I was a neutral at O'Connor park today. Kildare were very lucky to beat a division 4 team. I think a few hammering's will be handed out to them in division 1. SJ stood out for them it must be said though.

Plenty of players to come back for Kildare in the league. Not sure what Offaly would have in reserve from the team that they fielded. Either way Cork lost to Tipp at home last week but I doubt anyone down there is losing too much sleep about it. Good thing about winning today is that playing Dublin next week should be good prep for the first day in Croker against Donegal. Would you really read anymore into it?

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 20/01/2013 18:07:59    1320878

Anyway royal, it's Laois you lads have to worry about this year, with a serious banana skin beforehand.

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 20/01/2013 21:35:53    1321018

lilypad

1321018 Anyway royal, it's Laois you lads have to worry about this year, with a serious banana skin beforehand

laois have to beat louth and wexford first. wexford might beat them

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 20/01/2013 21:48:40    1321025

Tru but Wexford aren't the force they were with Ryan at the helm!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 20/01/2013 21:56:23    1321030

the dubs were never in the real world, they wont win another AI for a decade, there flash in the pan year of dedication, determination and true grit was quickly replaced with flash photography and celeb 4 balls in the K club. They reached the summit, but there heads stayed in the clouds, while everyone else went back to the drawing board. Too much hype, not enough humility and self awareness to realise they have to put the effort in every year.

milhouse (Cavan) - Posts: 469 - 21/01/2013 10:11:20    1321059

milhouse

the dubs were never in the real world, they wont win another AI for a decade....

Jaysus, another mystic meg!! *massive eyeroll

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 21/01/2013 10:33:31    1321072

doublehop

I wouldn't worry too much about playing us in the opening game of the league. With the training the lads are doing at present we'll need to be up by about 6 points at half time to have any chance. I'd say Mc Guinness will hope to just do enough to stay in Div 1 and it won't be til the latter part of the league that you will see Donegal clicking into gear. I'm heading to headquarters and will be happy enough with a decent performance but I'd say we're in for a very disjointed and pre-season type display from Donegal.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1683 - 21/01/2013 11:09:12    1321090

milhouse

the dubs were never in the real world, they wont win another AI for a decade, there flash in the pan year of dedication, determination and true grit was quickly replaced with flash photography and celeb 4 balls in the K club. They reached the summit, but there heads stayed in the clouds, while everyone else went back to the drawing board. Too much hype, not enough humility and self awareness to realise they have to put the effort in every year.

hmmmm thats why they train as hard if not harder then any team in january

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 21/01/2013 11:23:05    1321095

I think it'll be Kerry taking Sam home this year
I think their current squad has plenty left another few big years
The only question is if they win it this year could a very important and select few hang up their boots
and leave on the ultimate high
It'll be interesting to see but for me I think Kerry def has a lot left in the tank and they once again the team that
everyone will fear

Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 493 - 21/01/2013 12:10:45    1321128

I hope you're right Tir Conaill Abu. We'll take any league points anywhere we can get them.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 21/01/2013 12:24:57    1321143

Doublehop
I would rest easy about Croke Park as Donegal are really only getting into heavy training now & while I will travel it will not be with any sense of optimism.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 21/01/2013 15:23:00    1321281

i wouldnt pass much heed on early league for a lot of teams as most will be doing very tough training

ffgg (Longford) - Posts: 2571 - 21/01/2013 15:30:55    1321288