Sam 2013

I think Kerry are one of the few teams who can break down Donegal, avenging semi final defeat will a strong motivator.

Also the thread is about SAM 13, yet the same old posters from the same old counties hijack it and turn it into a nostalgic competition of "mine is bigger than yours"
Boring and repetitive at this stage.

commander (Kildare) - Posts: 225 - 17/01/2013 13:51:44    1319668

Meant QF not SF defeat

commander (Kildare) - Posts: 225 - 17/01/2013 13:56:55    1319670

Well said commander! I think it would be refreshing if we talked about what tactics we think we'll see from different teams this year instead of the usual rubbish.

I'll get the ball rolling and say that I'm very nervous about our opener in Ulster against Tyrone. Mickey Harte is a shrewd operator and he came closest to derailing Donegal last year in my opinion. Forget about what happened down in Kerry. Harte has 6 months plotting done and is welcoming back one of the best and most influential players in the country in Sean Cavanagh. It's going to be fascinating to see the tactical dual between himself and McGuinness in May.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 10280 - 17/01/2013 14:38:05    1319695

commander

1319668 I think Kerry are one of the few teams who can break down Donegal, avenging semi final defeat will a strong motivator.

Also the thread is about SAM 13, yet the same old posters from the same old counties hijack it and turn it into a nostalgic competition of "mine is bigger than yours"
Boring and repetitive at this stage.

Couldn't agree more.

I'd also add that certain posters on these forums think their county has a devine right to win AI's on a regular basis and that the new kids on the block (ie Donegal and Mayo) have no right to dine at the top table. These posters always seem to think that there is something wrong with the football played by these new kids on the block who dare challenge their self proclaimed superiority.

Its now 2013 and there are 5/6 main challengers for Sam. Stop living in the past and accept it.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 17/01/2013 14:48:34    1319709

Sorry lads, Sam 2013 will be between Donegal, Cork and Dublin, Kerry are in with a chance as always but I don't think they are quite as good as the other 3 at the minute. Outside of them teams there isn't anybody capable of winning it, it's that simple.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 17/01/2013 14:52:08    1319711

It's between Donegal, Dublin, Cork, Kerry and Mayo, with Donegal out in front at the moment. The other 4 are on par with eachother IMO. Kerry and Cork will be in the last 8 and anything can happen from there on. I've already said that alot will have to go right for Kerry to win it. Cork need some new blood in the half-back line. Dublin similar to Kerry with new manager, favourites IMO. Mayo will be a threat as always.

Donegal v Dublin Final a possibility.

Great Summer ahead.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 17/01/2013 15:00:10    1319719

Donegal are the fully developed package and surely favourites, but if Dublin and Cork can elevate their football and tactical levels to that of Donegal's then they stand a great competitive chance of dethroning them, a 3 horse race in my opinion but I eagerly look forward to each and every championship encounter, the excitement and unpredictability of it all.

Scrounger (Meath) - Posts: 12 - 17/01/2013 16:20:28    1319771

17/01/2013 11:37:36

Please god anyone but Donegal (Meath and Kildare aswell of course) to win Sam this year, they were horrible winners of our beatiful game with there packed defences with sweepers getting all stars at wing forward and there constant fouling and dirty play they make me sick . I'm telling you now Donegal and Jim mcguinness are the worst thing to ever happen to our game. Please god there put in there place this year.

You should check Dublin's 2011 ALL Ireland win the only difference Donegal 2012 were better than Dublin 2011

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3878 - 17/01/2013 16:21:05    1319772

I have Donegal as favourites as of now but they will have to reproduce the hunger and their tactics might be answered, by opponents or referees, unless they come up with a new system which Jimmy may have in the locker.

Mayo, Kerry & Dublin next in line

KELF (Kildare) - Posts: 775 - 17/01/2013 16:25:42    1319775

Yewtee i too have nothing against mayo, but like htaem stated there was alot of bitterness from mayo after 96 and i too agree they should havr won it following year but i think that bitterness is what stopped them, in 09 mchale was been interviewed before match with Graham geraghty and guess what all he talked about? 96 time to move on. Andas for those who are complaining about people talking about past games and glories, maybe it's cause we have a proud tradition, where as most of those complaining are from haven't won a all ire since wt Cosgrave was leading the free state and hitler hadn't even came to power, even. Whats it now 85 years, ahh don't worry soon the centennial anniversary will be happening so yous will have something to celebrate. Anyway i have said previously and will say again donegal and cork are ahead of the rest with Dublin and Kerry next, then a. Fair bit behind is mayo heading the chasing pack, if they can close that gap this year is the best they can hope for, won't win it for another few years

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/01/2013 17:12:46    1319806

1. Donegal
2. Kerry
3. Dublin
4. Cork
5. Tyrone
6. Mayo
7. Meath
8. Kildare
9. Galway / Armagh / Laois
10. Offaly

That's my view on the rankings for this year think Armagh and Offaly will be the surprise packages, Meath will have more fight in them and can beat anyone on a given day regardless of form. Think my native Dublin have the most exciting forward line combinations but we must find a suitable supply line to feed them.

Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 17/01/2013 17:31:32    1319820

Not complaining about people posting about past glories, just in the right forum and genuine posts about football, after all this is what the site is for. This one is about Sam 2013. The first poster to agree with me was from Donegal so your point about those complaining, WT and the free state was invalid.
The thread had descended into a juvenile slagging match, with purile comments like " they started the fight but we finished it".
No one is questioning any counties past glories, fair play to Meath on their past glories, wish Kildare had even half as many in lifetime.
I'm married to a Meath lady so I have been to many Meath matches with my brother in law, letting you know in case you have paranoid delusions that my posts were anti-Meath.
It just happens that off track and point scoring comments seem to come from the same old clique.

commander (Kildare) - Posts: 225 - 17/01/2013 17:44:57    1319831

Commander ill give you one thing you are not so far as bad as the majority of your county men, as for "we finished it " that was clearly ment in jest as id say mayo was as good as our lads. And further more that incident should never have happened, it reflected bad on our games on its biggest day, I was mearly replying to a Tyrone man who actually said they needs d boxing gloves, i mean kettle pot black stuff, as for donegal man he was clearly thinking of clondalkin post I'd say, could be wrong. But if you read back all of the mayo /meath stuff started cause I said i didn't think mayo could win all ire and i couldn't see them having such a easy run to final this year

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/01/2013 18:03:53    1319843

Please god anyone but Donegal (Meath and Kildare aswell of course) to win Sam this year, they were horrible winners of our beatiful game with there packed defences with sweepers getting all stars at wing forward and there constant fouling and dirty play they make me sick . I'm telling you now Donegal and Jim mcguinness are the worst thing to ever happen to our game. Please god there put in there place this year.

Clondalkin

"Beatiful" = beautiful & "there" = their

If you are going to talk drivel at least spell it properly.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 17/01/2013 18:40:40    1319860

he cant...do you not realise muckross kilkenny and costello are the best minors of all time and rory o carroll would have colm cooper peter canavan and pat spillane in his backpocket on his own?

ffgg (Longford) - Posts: 2571 - 17/01/2013 19:00:54    1319874

ffgg
I know I shouldn't rise to it, but there are times.........

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 17/01/2013 19:25:12    1319887

A few Donegal posters worried about Tyrone in 1st rd of Ulster championship. It will be a titanic tussle. Even if Donegal lose and end up in qualifers i feel they will beat most teams and easily advance to a QF. Then the real battle commences.

kerry74 (Kerry) - Posts: 1354 - 17/01/2013 19:38:42    1319905

Ok lll give my top ten
1 . Cork
Now ok people are going to say why not donegal? Well i just thinkthey have the better overall players man for man. Star players pick from any of five, biggest negative this is surely last chance for all ire glory for corks best team in quarter of century.

2. Donegal, biggest plus Jimmy, has a manager ever had such a influence on a team? Best player McFadden, biggest drawback the second year syndrome, I doubt even jim can overcome that

3. Dublin, can they prove 2011 wasn't a fluke? Star players roc and if he chooses football kilkenny., biggest negative, the fans, I think a new manager has to impose his will on the team, there should be no untouchable players, big names of the past need to be benched

4. Kerry, lots of pressure on new management, negatives has kerry gone to the well too much? Star player gooch.

5 Mayo. Just doesn't seem to be near the other top 4 at min, can't see em winning it, star player andy moran., biggest negative self beliefs

6 Tyrone, positive is Micky heart, negatives include still inexperienced

7 meath, positives, young team and some very impressive players including keoghan and biggy Reilly. Negatives, never thought id say this but our forward line is poor which means we may have to revert to cian ward and bray, also worries persist re midfield, star player, Graham Reilly, walk onto any team in Ireland

8 kildare, mcgeeney last year will he leave them in better shape than took over? Or will he be remembered as a Dave oleary figure in leeds., biggest negative, pundits lauding hype on them and fans buying into it this has clearly got to players and has had a very bad influence on the team, star player j Doyle

9 laois, can put it up to most teams on their day, negative, there style of play and lots of cynical fouling, star player Kingston

10 . Louth I see louth as the bogey team for some of them teams ahead of them, positive very good forwards, capable of taking exceptional scores, negative still hung up on leinster final of ten, star player paddy Keenan

Thats my views anyway

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/01/2013 20:04:58    1319925

Second year syndrome is a very strange phenomenon. If any manager can overcome it then JMcG is that man but at the same time it's hard to overcome the fact that only one team has achieved it in over 20 years and even one of those wins was through the back door.
The Tyrone game will tell a lot. Then & only then will we know where Donegal's heads are. I not expecting to see anything till then

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 17/01/2013 20:13:06    1319930

Almost agree with that Royaldunne only thing is i'd have Mayo above Kerry and Dublin as they have beaten Kerry, Cork and Dublin in competitive games in the last two years and are improving.

Jackos_Wacko (Kerry) - Posts: 417 - 17/01/2013 20:35:54    1319940