What is the secret of Kilkenny's success??

Foolish comMents here about Leinster final.Kilkenny won all Ireland handy in the end lads. Leinster final was irrelevant to them

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 15/11/2012 20:08:25    1298392

its not about the leinster final.

passtheball (USA) - Posts: 30 - 15/11/2012 20:14:48    1298396

look at mayo they played brillant football all year and lost the final in the first eight minutes.

passtheball (USA) - Posts: 30 - 15/11/2012 20:17:48    1298397

passtheball- mayo didn't lose final in 8 mins. They lost it in first 15 of second half when they didn't take chances and build momentum. My quote about Leinster final not mattering to kk stillstands

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 15/11/2012 21:58:45    1298481

Joe_Don
County: Louth

1297194 "I agree with you 100% JayP ~ WELL SAID, no other sport in Kilkenny is taken as seriously as the hurling, its a crying shame on their part...."

Oh no, another who thinks he has a divine right to tell Kilkenny people how to spend their free time.

Tell me Joe, what difference does it make to the quality of your life if people in Kilkenny play hurling, football, tiddly-winks or conkers?

Also, tell the boys and girls how many representatives Louth had on this year's Irish Olympics team.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1256 - 16/11/2012 09:12:47    1298494

@thurlesblues- a fit Shefflin brought us back from 7 points deficit this year against Galway in the drawn final.If he was 100% in '10 Tipp would have being pulled back too and we would be looking at 8 in a row next year.

richiescats (USA) - Posts: 420 - 16/11/2012 12:59:18    1298599

Thurlesblues going on about a Tipp 3-in-a-row! They haven't even done 2-in-a-row in nearly half a century!

Hey TB, do Tipp have any plans to mark the 50 year anniversary, it's coming up soon?!

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1256 - 16/11/2012 14:18:52    1298661

the thing I noticed is that they normally score more goals and points than their opponents. And folks you dont need me to tell you that this leads to victories and victories leads to success. so it does

goalpost (Armagh) - Posts: 215 - 16/11/2012 17:32:24    1298802

richiescats
County: USA

1298599 @thurlesblues- a fit Shefflin brought us back from 7 points deficit this year against Galway in the drawn final.If he was 100% in '10 Tipp would have being pulled back too and we would be looking at 8 in a row next year.

problem was he didnt ifs and buts oh what a shame!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 17/11/2012 09:34:33    1298914

ballydalane
County: Kilkenny

1298661 Thurlesblues going on about a Tipp 3-in-a-row! They haven't even done 2-in-a-row in nearly half a century!

Hey TB, do Tipp have any plans to mark the 50 year anniversary, it's coming up soon?!

I wouldnt get carried away ballydalane its only in the last decade that Kilkenny overtook Tipp in the roll of honour so Id enjoy it while it lasts and we are glad to see Cody back this year as we want to see himself and Henry hanging their heads like 2010

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 17/11/2012 09:37:55    1298915

clare might be the dark horses next year.

fiddlergreen (Galway) - Posts: 50 - 17/11/2012 13:19:03    1298967

Ah,thurlesblues, we overtook ye 20 years ago next year, 1993. Ye're a dot on our rear view mirror now.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1256 - 17/11/2012 15:58:08    1299000

thurlesblues
County: Tipperary

richiescats

1298599 @thurlesblues- a fit Shefflin brought us back from 7 points deficit this year against Galway in the drawn final.If he was 100% in '10 Tipp would have being pulled back too and we would be looking at 8 in a row next year.

I sometimes wonder do you actually remember what you post. On another thread you say if Lar had been left play his game Tipp would have won and here you are saying its different for Kilkenny

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 17/11/2012 16:34:46    1299018

Richiescats,your goin on about an 8 in a row but without a bad refereeing decision Kilkenny wouldnt have even won the 4 in a row.Im no tipp fan,but they were the better team in 2009 and beat ye out the gate in 2010.Ye definitely put them in their place the last two years though.
Also,I dont like all this talk about henrys injury costing you the 2010 fianl.If ye cant win a game without him,far from being a great team,Kilkenny are in fact a one man team.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 17/11/2012 17:29:19    1299046

joncarter

Richiescats,your goin on about an 8 in a row but without a bad refereeing decision Kilkenny wouldnt have even won the 4 in a row.Im no tipp fan,but they were the better team in 2009 and beat ye out the gate in 2010.Ye definitely put them in their place the last two years though.
Also,I dont like all this talk about henrys injury costing you the 2010 fianl.If ye cant win a game without him,far from being a great team,Kilkenny are in fact a one man team.

Yeah I'd admit that was a dubious call in '09 but the Tipp lads won't admit we were short handed in'10. Yeah the Cats are a one man team alright we have only 57 all-stars since 2000.

richiescats (USA) - Posts: 420 - 17/11/2012 18:03:22    1299062

richiescats

We had to give somebody one it was getting a bit boring there. Ye looked good against our 12 fit men..

richiescats (USA) - Posts: 420 - 17/11/2012 18:06:12    1299063

Im not saying ye are a one man team richiescats.I believe thast Tipp would have won even if Henry stayed on the pitch.Im just saying that if you think that the loss of henry cost you that game,then surely you must admit that for a great TEAM,they are a bit too heavily reliant on one man.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 17/11/2012 19:21:15    1299082

What p'd me off in the 2010 final was why cody picked a clearly unfit john tennyson in such a pivotal position as centre back. The guy had been ruled out for the season just a few weeks before but found himself playing centre back - crazy! Not his fault but the lad couldn't turn left or right. I know cody was limited by brian hogan's injury too but he should've improvised by putting jackie or jj in there. Cody hasn't made many mistakes in 14 years but that certainly was one!

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1256 - 17/11/2012 21:19:03    1299138

Correction Cody has made little or no mistakes. His top players always seem to perform.

Brinsley Swartz (Mayo) - Posts: 2225 - 17/11/2012 21:49:45    1299154

you know I will give it to the Cats they have enjoyed great seuccess in the last 15 years
but dont get carried away lads success comes in cycles for the big three remember it took the cats all of 40 years or more to beat Tipp in a championship game so I wouldnt get carried away just yet because those days will come again trust me.

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 18/11/2012 11:27:49    1299182