Donal Keoghan, Young Player of the Year 2012

No kik he didn't play in navan match, was still recovering from a foot injury that kept him out of whole league, was probably fit enough to play that game but banty obviously thought not fit enough or more likely match fit, his first competitive match was v wicklow and while biggy got motm donal was all the talk after the game with some drawing comparison to Martin O'Connell or rob omalley although i feel these sort of comparison are unfair, he is his own man and should not be compared to great men of the past, especially since football has evolved so much

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/10/2012 09:59:32    1288514

i don't believe keoghan was on the meath panel for the league............ he only joined it when meath got relegated........desperate measures called for desperate introductions to the panel for the championship..........royaldunne saying he was injured for the league is misleading............he was never an option until meath got relegated and banty came under serious pressure to get a result against wicklow.

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 26/10/2012 14:38:58    1288653

Gammy_Knee - Whats your problem.
Keogan got injured in a challenge game against Cavan in Jan, thats why he didn't play in the league.
You would have seen him playing wing back against Louth in the Fitzsimons Cup in Navan this time last year. He also played corner back in the final against Armagh as far as I know. So he didn't just appear from nowhere.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 26/10/2012 14:56:58    1288662

Gammy do u ever tire of been wrong?
Google what i said and see if im right, everyone with a ounce of football knowledge knows donal was injured during league

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/10/2012 15:50:44    1288688

why are people on here talking about some lad half of us havent even noticed or seen play yet?..iv never seen a lad who is a back!..get so much hype on here its laughable

ffgg (Longford) - Posts: 2571 - 26/10/2012 15:58:01    1288693

As good a footballer as Keoghan is, he sure as hell doesn't merit 6 pages of childish back and forth comments.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 26/10/2012 15:58:37    1288694

Exactly cute hoor. Being hyped up here by certain individuals. But thats not a surprise.

Don't know which I'd rather at this stage. If he gets it we'll be listening to the gloating for weeks and if he doesn't we'll be listening to the whinging for weeks. Its a lose lose situation.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 26/10/2012 16:08:25    1288700

Cute it's not our fault that your knowledge if great performances by players only extends as far as dingle area, gey out more see the footballing world "read a few papers watch tv listen to national radio, they have all spoken written etc in glowing terms of donal, it's not all about daithi and the roses you know

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/10/2012 16:33:37    1288707

Sedico jealousy is a terrible thing

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/10/2012 16:38:57    1288710

are meath really gone that pathetic that all people do is hype up some corner back who had a few solid games?

ffgg (Longford) - Posts: 2571 - 26/10/2012 16:39:04    1288711

Yeah its all meath ffgg sure wasn't it us who nominated him for ypoty, oh wait thats right that was done by others, well it was us that put him in gaa team of year, oh wait we didn't do that either, we are entitled to post about one of our players who is nominated for a award just like donegal or mayo can, nobody is forcing you to discuss it and we understand why you wouldn't, but if we want to we will

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/10/2012 16:53:57    1288722

royaldunne

Cute it's not our fault that your knowledge if great performances by players only extends as far as dingle area, gey out more see the footballing world "read a few papers watch tv listen to national radio, they have all spoken written etc in glowing terms of donal, it's not all about daithi and the roses you know

Did I say any different? It's obvious you're only here to pick fights, short of a job I'd say and highly frustrated. Grow up.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 26/10/2012 16:54:57    1288723

Oh btw ffgg it was SIX solid games not a few

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/10/2012 16:55:52    1288725

I think most of us have said he won't get it. Its the intercounty players that vote so not a chance of a Meath player getting it. think O'Connor will get it. Will be some personal achievement to get it 2 years in a row.

Did Longford or Kildare have any new talented young players on display this year that we can discuss, because I have no problem in doing so and I'm sure Royaldunne wouldn't either.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 26/10/2012 16:58:49    1288731

Indeed classapart I'd love to contribute to that discussion, but one thing is odd their manager thought it more important to watch kildare senior club final than the replay of slashers and killoe. Very odd

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/10/2012 17:08:50    1288737

Division 3 is where division 3 players play. End.

georgelee (Louth) - Posts: 523 - 26/10/2012 19:07:19    1288772

georgelee

Division 3 is where division 3 players play. End.

Yes yes, that's very perceptive of you georgelee, well spotted ;-)

Anyway can we put this thread to bed lads, it had a good run.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 26/10/2012 19:17:32    1288774

Well Podge Fogarty had a blinder when he came on against Tyrone in the league final, didn't feature much in the championship though. Unfortunately two of our other brightest talents are more than likely moving to pastures new.

I'm sure yourself and royaldunne would love to have a chat about them but I don't think a thread about a Meath player is the best place to do so.

I'm afraid I'm not really in a position to comment on any Longford players.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3692 - 26/10/2012 19:18:52    1288776

Congrats to Cillian O'Connor.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 26/10/2012 19:21:02    1288778

Sorry to see that young Keoghan didn't get YPOTY I thought he deserved it. However it seems that unless you are in the All Ireland you have little chance of getting any of these awards.

OntheWhiteSide (Kildare) - Posts: 452 - 26/10/2012 19:36:44    1288783