Donal Keoghan, Young Player of the Year 2012

Liam don't think anyone of us expected a award, we don't do pity awards, unlike a certain dublin player who was nominated, complete joke that was, now if there was a razzie equivalent then he'd clean up :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/10/2012 11:37:58    1288022

24/10/2012 08:58:43
Liamwalkinstown

1287384 Royaldunne

Not one Meath player, not a single one of them, would get on the Dublin, Cork or Donegal teams.

None of them

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 25/10/2012 11:43:05    1288027

ruanua

1288027 24/10/2012 08:58:43
Liamwalkinstown

1287384 Royaldunne

Not one Meath player, not a single one of them, would get on the Dublin, Cork or Donegal teams.

None of them

BOOM :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 25/10/2012 12:13:21    1288054

royaldunne

1288022 Liam don't think anyone of us expected a award, we don't do pity awards, unlike a certain dublin player who was nominated, complete joke that was, now if there was a razzie equivalent then he'd clean up :)

ANd yet the same player would walk into your team :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 25/10/2012 12:23:30    1288062

Liamwalkinstown where was your superhero flynn in the leinster final? young donnacha tobin never gave him a kick of the ball & flynn was taken off early in second in the second half

bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 25/10/2012 15:22:55    1288189

Liamwalkinstown where was your superhero flynn in the leinster final? young donnacha tobin never gave him a kick of the ball & flynn was taken off early in second in the second half

Well he definitely gave him one kick of it considering it was Flynn who spotted Bastick unmarked and passed it straight into him for the second goal. Was a top pass and finished off the game before half time.

Ye Meath lads are always trying to re-write history. The way ye go on ye swear you were better than Dublin on the day and unlucky not to beat them. Ye were completely over-run, they were out of sight and fell asleep and that's what made the score look respectable, there's no changing that. Live with it. At least Kildare posters on here were man enough to admit Meath hammered us.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 25/10/2012 15:43:26    1288205

doublehop

So Flynn passed the ball and set up a goal, I didn't know thats all you had to do to win an all star. If thats the case Mark Collins should have one.

And Meath are way behind Dublin in terms of development. Nobody is denying it. Considering who our manager was we did well to beat Wicklow.
I said the only Meath players with a nailed down starting spot are Reilly and Keogan. The rest of the team need to pull up their socks or they will be dropped. Worse still we will be in div4. Mick O'Dowd has his work cut out!

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 25/10/2012 16:10:21    1288222

Classapart and Bob, and especially you Class Apart, I am amazed u cant see the craic here!!!!
Open your eyes! Ure here long enuff now!!!!

Doublehop, well said man, well said :)

Feckin Meath, can never take it when they are third and maybe even fourth, in the province!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 25/10/2012 16:19:56    1288227

Liam I would rate us as being better than Kilkenny in Leinster, we are way behind the rest though:) It suits us anyway, we like being underdogs!

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 25/10/2012 16:31:33    1288238

No doubt we are in development, still could be worse, could have a guy more worried about has enough gel in his hair, oh btw liam he wouldn't get near the meath team, the lads would not put up with a guy caring more about his hair, fame terrible thing especially when it gets to a guy :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/10/2012 16:51:01    1288255

I would just like to clear something up, Keogan is the most worthy of the award and most people know that. But myself and im sure a lot of meath posters don't think he will actually get it.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 25/10/2012 17:03:37    1288267

I agree liam, we are a bit like dub supporters saying the actually won AI last year legitimately :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/10/2012 17:04:06    1288268

BettystownRoyal, I find it amusing that you talk about conveniently forgetting something, when you totally ignored mcbrearty's run to the final and chose to compare against cillian o'connor only. Instead you say keoghan would mark mcbrearty out of it, but that doesnt have any relevance at all. Basically you want it every way, you compare games played when it suits youand then dont when it doesnt. Also, you talk about keoghan marking mcbrearty out of it, I believe o'connor would take keoghan to school.

really cus he didn't seem to take anyone else to "school". who did he score against from play? if he played keoghan he'd get ill tempered, throw a hissy fit like he did against donegal and probably get sent off unless the umpires decide to ignore it.

i didn't compare mcbreartys path to the final but how many games was he outstanding or end up getting subbed off. to me i wasn't even considering mcbrearty was going to get it over keoghan. you can't have it every way but what have i said that's not true.

mayo had an easy path to the final and if meath had that run every year despite not being at the races lately we'd have made the final at least once since 2001.

but yeah just to go back to the start keoghan would take o'connor to school and just because he kicks a few frees doesn't mean squat. he can barely score from play as it is let alone against the best young corner back in ireland.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 25/10/2012 19:19:24    1288380

o connor generally is very limited from play master so i very much doubt that statement

ffgg (Longford) - Posts: 2571 - 25/10/2012 19:30:19    1288387

Ah I think I do know the crack by now alright Liam, far be it from yourself to throw the odd provocative post out every now and then for the buzz eh.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 25/10/2012 19:52:04    1288394

Ahh classapart there has to be at least one dub on it regardless of it been merited or not, surprised it wasn't cluxton again, even though in ten he spent more time in net than infront of it @liam :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/10/2012 20:20:57    1288421

ClassApart

1288222 doublehop

So Flynn passed the ball and set up a goal, I didn't know thats all you had to do to win an all star. If thats the case Mark Collins should have one.

And Meath are way behind Dublin in terms of development. Nobody is denying it. Considering who our manager was we did well to beat Wicklow.[/u]
I said the only Meath players with a nailed down starting spot are Reilly and Keogan. The rest of the team need to pull up their socks or they will be dropped. Worse still we will be in div4. Mick O'Dowd has his work cut out!

o'dowd has his work cut out and banty hadn't his work cut out ?.............it's because of lads like you that i would love to see mick o'dowd fail to make an impact with meath..........banty was never good enough for meath, he was an outsider......it'll be intresting to see if your own boy does any better.........

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 25/10/2012 20:58:48    1288443

Yeah gammy that's why you'd like micko to fail "cause of guys like classapart ' MY A###
The reason you want him to fail is cause you would hate to see meath back at the top, pathetic, well we might not be as good as we were but we will get there and we will do it before either louth or mayo,

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/10/2012 21:29:45    1288455

Well said Royaldunne. He would hate to see Meath winning a single match, not to talk about being back on top.

Mick O'Dowd has his work cut out because he is coming in to pick up the mess Banty left behind. He has to overhaul everything from attitudes of players, to the style of football they are playing. But as Royaldunne said we will get there.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 25/10/2012 21:49:20    1288472

Did he play against us in Navan this year...... if so i did'nt notice him.

kikfada (Louth) - Posts: 2091 - 26/10/2012 08:58:46    1288491