Donal Keoghan, Young Player of the Year 2012

Realdub since dub won AI im 95 how many air titles have they won, better still how many finals they been in, I'll telling you meath were im3 winning 2, so dub must have contested more bye your logic

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/10/2012 18:53:53    1287799

My logic is simple, over the last 13 or so years, we've been far superior on average, thats the only point I'm making, lose 2010 for starters, thats a joke. And yes the anti-Meath brigade is alive and well, I'm putting myself forward for president : )

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8816 - 24/10/2012 19:09:27    1287807

Let's keep this thread on subject if possible, ypoty.
To answer earlier question he was injured during league and did not play, he made his debut v wicklow and was outstanding. Same v carlow, i feel he ticks all the boxes for this award, just one last thing to the poster who said he wouldn't be in shake up, how was he named in gaa team or year? A independent view, so that proves he is well deserving of this award, whether he gets it remains to be seen but he most certainly deserves it

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/10/2012 19:22:36    1287812

The only joke hear realdub is that you claim been in ONE AI final and winning One is better than been im three and winning TWO, well if that doesn't show we need more focus on maths I don't think anything will :)
As for ten? Yep we didn't deserve that win just like dub didn't deserve theirs last year, no free v kildare and certainly no free v kerry. So real time to use first part of your username and get real!!!!

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/10/2012 19:28:33    1287818

Why does the clock start in 96?

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 24/10/2012 19:48:55    1287833

I'm not talking AI wins or appearnces, not even Leinster titles, I'm talking about, on average, who has been the better team over the time-span, and it's Dublin by a bloody mile. Not sinking in, is it? Dublin didn't deserve last year? You're comparing that to your farce of 2010? Look, Kildare have been a better teams than ye for the last 5 or so years, don't mind Dublin, your one tainted title doesn't disguise the fact that the county, you went to town on for the last year for some reason only known to yourself, was actually a far superior side to ye, 3rd rate, and 3rd division, thats Meath!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8816 - 24/10/2012 19:58:25    1287837

Doublehop, if the clock started back in the 1880's the debate would be pointless from Meath's angle : )

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8816 - 24/10/2012 20:05:02    1287842

Yeah of course your right rd the better team were the one who won the least over the team frame You meantioned

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/10/2012 20:46:54    1287856

Anyway enough of the ravings of a man who picks out a time frame to back up a argument where we were the more successful.
getting back to issue in hand i feel donal will get this and miss out on all star which is a pity as i feel both would be justified

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/10/2012 20:50:16    1287858

Now that that's sorted let's get back to the subject im hand

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/10/2012 21:13:16    1287872

You're the one who brought up a time-frame, gold-fish memory syndrome. All you're good at is hating Kildare and sucking up to the Dubs come summer, sad!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8816 - 24/10/2012 21:20:10    1287878

And whats that rubbish about playing for more than 20 mins and ye would of beat us? We played for 5 and beat YE!!!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8816 - 24/10/2012 21:36:11    1287886

for those that say donal keoghan hasnt played enough championship games this year to win the award the facts are he played more games then any mayo player and they got to the all ireland final.im sure you wont here the same argument when it comes to mayo players getting allstars

bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 24/10/2012 21:47:22    1287893

I wasn't comparing Mayo with Meath I was just highlighting the fact that Meath were knocked out of the all ireland qualifiers by Laois on a scoreline of 1-15 to 1-12.

If you do want to compare heres my analysis. It's not about quantity, it's about quality. Mayo beat the then reigning all ireland champions (Dublin) in the all ireland semi final. Mayo also hammered the 2010 all ireland finalists (Down) in this years quarter finals. Meath drew with Carlow, were beaten by Laois and they didn't even reach the all ireland series (quarter finals). Meath were also relegated from division 2 this year. Meath are a 3rd rate team. They don't deserve a mention when it comes to all stars and awards for 2012. That's my lot now.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 25/10/2012 08:39:07    1287908

Htaem, U know the craic by now ;)

RD - I see the might Biggy and the mightier Keoghan, Batman and feckin Robin if we were to listen to you, didnt make all stars, not to mind players of the year!!!
Its all in your little head!

Graham Reilly is a decent player, no more no less. He might get into our team as a seconf MF but I would bet next year Flynner will play MF and Batman Biggy certainly wouldnt get a game ahead of a real superhero like SuperFlynn !!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 25/10/2012 09:08:26    1287920

This award along with poty are voted on by the inter-county players, if thats the case not a chance of a Meath player getting it.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 25/10/2012 10:14:53    1287952

BettystownRoyal, I find it amusing that you talk about conveniently forgetting something, when you totally ignored mcbrearty's run to the final and chose to compare against cillian o'connor only. Instead you say keoghan would mark mcbrearty out of it, but that doesnt have any relevance at all. Basically you want it every way, you compare games played when it suits youand then dont when it doesnt. Also, you talk about keoghan marking mcbrearty out of it, I believe o'connor would take keoghan to school.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 25/10/2012 10:35:24    1287967

Paranoia is a terrible thing.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 25/10/2012 10:50:54    1287975

This award along with poty are voted on by the inter-county players, if thats the case not a chance of a Meath player getting it.

Eh, why?

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 25/10/2012 11:15:04    1287999

htaem, u know the craic by now ;)

RD, no Meath man got an all star, no meath man won anything.
Its all in your head!! Ye are also rans, ye are irrelevant. And none of ye're players would get in the Dubs team, Cork team or Donegal team.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 25/10/2012 11:19:55    1288006