Donal Keoghan, Young Player of the Year 2012

Anyone who thinks Kevin Reilly would get in the Dublin team is either seriously delusional, or they are mixing Kevin and Graham up perhaps...??
And even if they are, they are still wrong. I have seen Graham Reilly 3 times in the flesh and he was poor each time. Wouldnt get near a top side
Keoghan has done no more than Stephen Shaughnassey did in 05, than countless countless young playes down the years did before being found out.
If Keoghan is still playing IC football in 3 years come back to me
until then dont try and tell me he would get in Cork, Dublin or Donegal (the last 3 champions teams) as he simply wouldnt
Not yet

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 24/10/2012 16:04:59    1287677

pigonastick - G Reilly is top scorer from play in the championship. Unless I've missed something, he has scored more than Flynn, Cullen and A Brogan put together!

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 24/10/2012 16:07:28    1287680

Liam don't worry neither keoghan or Reilly will let the fame get to them like a certain b brogan did that's s for sure,

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/10/2012 16:11:52    1287683

Realdub who was last leinster team to contest a all ire final before eleven? Meath ten years previous and before that 99 do how in gods? Name were you a kick @f ball away? And only for a free that wasn't you'd still be waiting

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/10/2012 16:16:41    1287689

There's been a whole new tin of worms opened since your earlier comments Liam, but again I have to say I think you're wrong about Graham Reilly. I agree to an extent regarding Keoghan, I was very impressed with Donal this season, I think he was our best player but he's a young lad and it was his first championship so I don't want to go too far. But G. Reilly was one of the highest scoring players from play in this year's championship, he's worth 2 or 3pts per game from the half forward line, surely the Dubs could use someone like that in their starting 15.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 24/10/2012 16:19:58    1287692

I'M from Meath and to be honest neither of the Reilly's would get on the Dublin team! nevermind talking about the Donegal one!

RossiesRock (Meath) - Posts: 369 - 24/10/2012 16:22:08    1287696

Yes in a completely different set up plus he scored 12 of his 18 points in 3 games against carlow and wicklow! B brogan scored 2-05 against louth but it is fair to say he had a poor year by his standards....i guess we are just a little more realistic in dublin!

pigonastick (Dublin) - Posts: 487 - 24/10/2012 16:25:05    1287698

Where is all this nonsense 'us against the world' thing coming from? I dont hate meath, I dont care about them. Do you care so much about mayo?
As for '09', that is 4 championships ago, can you tell me where dublin or donegal were 4 championships ago? Recounting tales of quarter final wins from years long gone is meaningless as far as Im concerned. We lost to longford the following year, and both teams mean as much to me as the other, that is to say, very little. Do you hold grudges against every team you face in the championship or something? Maybe that is the last time you got near football in september or whatever, I dont know, but for me, it is long gone.
As for another meath poster telling me that the first meath poster was right, the phrase turkeys voting for christmas comes to mind...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 24/10/2012 16:25:55    1287699

ClassApart

1287605 Sorry the Master a good few people on here from Donegal have said Keogan should get it.

the donegal lads are playing the cute kerry hoor with ye.........you guys on the other hand are all screaming from the hill of tara that your man keoghan will get the award...........the donegal lads have learned more than just how to win an all-ireland.............they've taken more off kerry than the all ireland.....they are the new cute hoors of gaelic football........the new breed of meath supporter is so gullible i have to say..........

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 24/10/2012 16:26:26    1287700

G Reilly would get on the Dublin team but not because he was top scorer from play. This stat keeps getting rolled out here. He filled his boots in three matches against Wicklow and Carlow (x2). Plenty of Dublin players probably would have done the same in that regard. He is quality and constantly regurgitating that stat doesn't do him justice. Surprised Gillespie isn't getting mentioned, wouldn't be far from Dublin team, certainly better than Fennell anyway.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 24/10/2012 16:27:14    1287702

Gammy_Knee
County: USA

ClassApart

1287605 Sorry the Master a good few people on here from Donegal have said Keogan should get it.

the donegal lads are playing the cute kerry hoor with ye.........you guys on the other hand are all screaming from the hill of tara that your man keoghan will get the award...........the donegal lads have learned more than just how to win an all-ireland.............they've taken more off kerry than the all ireland.....they are the new cute hoors of gaelic football........the new breed of meath supporter is so gullible i have to say..........

I could've sworn Dublin were the defending Champions. It'll take another 128 years of GAA history for them to take the "cute hoors" tag from us!

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 24/10/2012 16:36:31    1287707

This thread is about Donal Keoghan not what players are good enough to get on the top teams.
If he wins he will be the first back since Killian Young to recieve this award.
Does he deserve it? Yes and No. He probably played the best football out of the three of them and man marked three very skillful forwards but the other two played football in september and did Keoghan play league football this year cause until the Kildare game I never heard of him and neither did most of the country.

finuge93 (Kerry) - Posts: 166 - 24/10/2012 16:37:25    1287708

Ah don't mind Louth pigonastick, sure C. Ward scored 4 goals (and possibly a few points) against them in one match and he wasn't playing for as good a team as Brogan does either.....ps by your logic does that then make Ward better than Brogan? I mean he did score more against Louth after all!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 24/10/2012 16:40:27    1287714

Htaem

1287714 Ah don't mind Louth pigonastick, sure C. Ward scored 4 goals (and possibly a few points) against them in one match and he wasn't playing for as good a team as Brogan does either.....ps by your logic does that then make Ward better than Brogan? I mean he did score more against Louth after all!

This doesn't follow any logic never mind mine! Ok i'll start again only go a little slower.....

pigonastick

1287698 Yes in a completely different set up plus he scored 12 of his 18 points in 3 games against carlow and wicklow! B brogan scored 2-05 against louth but it is fair to say he had a poor year by his standards....i guess we are just a little more realistic in dublin!

Point being Brogan put up high scores against rubbish teams but we are not trying to distort the stats to maintain he had a good year! Keeping it in mind that I think he finished with 17 points from play just 1 behind G reilly he may have been 2 behind! Does that paint the picture for you....do you see logic now?

Now as for ward & Brogan & louth you are comparing 2 team and different players over different seasons its kind of hard to apply logic there or are you just trying to muddy water so you don't have to deal with the facts??

pigonastick (Dublin) - Posts: 487 - 24/10/2012 16:51:53    1287723

Listen up RD, are you saying that Meath have, over-all, been a better team than Dublin over the last 12 or 13 years? If so, you're having a laugh, for the most part ye were rubbish, and that ain't gonna change much over the foreseeable! I have to keep re-posting on this subject as the admin are obviously a Meath-based outfit! I don't normally involve myself in petty squabbles on here, but with you it's quite enjoyable : D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8816 - 24/10/2012 16:57:16    1287727

Liam, I don't often agree with what you write but in this instance you are right. Indeed he is a fine defender but I don't think he deserves YPOTY for performances against Wicklow, Carlow and Kildare.

Meath have two good players in Reilly and Keoghan but some on here are blowing them out of all proportion. Their only contributions to HS to to go on and on about their own county.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 24/10/2012 17:15:08    1287737

This is a non argument. A player from meath won't get an allstar or young player of the year this year. They simply don't deserve it. Anyone thinking otherwise, please read the following mindblowing statement. Laois 1-15 Meath 1-12. Good luck now.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 24/10/2012 17:34:02    1287749

A few daft issues to cover here.

Number 1: Graham Reilly would get on the dublin team. He may be top scorer from play but that was from mid field so it's even better. Why do people say 2010 was a flash in the pan? He was injured in 2011 and came back with a bang this year.. not sure he deserves an all star but he deserves to be nominated. Cullen was poor this year so don't make me laugh saying he'd get on ahead of biggy.

Number 2: Saying Keoghan doesn't deserve it because he hasn't played enough games or against top opposition...

Let's compare Meath and mayo's season.

Meath: Mayo:
Wicklow Leitrom
Carlow Sligo
Carlow Down
Kildare Dublin
Dublin Donegal
Laois

Now we also played Dublin so Cillian O'Connor played one extra top team although we also had Kildare, Laois who are better than Down and an extra game. Fairly evens itself out. The award shouldn't go to someone who who is only good for free taking.

Keoghan roasted every man that he marked including 3 of Kildares players and kevin mcmenamin who got two previous MOTM awards and was the one to watch according to Dub posters on here.

And stick him on Paddy mcBrearty and see if he makes it to half time. I doubt it somehow.

Number 3: Finally the anti meath bias is hilarious. You'd think we were still winning all irelands.

sedico
Liam, I don't often agree with what you write but in this instance you are right. Indeed he is a fine defender but I don't think he deserves YPOTY for performances against Wicklow, Carlow and Kildare.

Conveniently leave out his 4th and best performance v Dublin plus a great first half v Laois. As you say you don't usually agree with his rubbish but as it's about meath you'll make an exception.

Gammy_Knee
County: USA
who did he mark in the wicklow game and both carlow games ?..............were these players kept scoreless and were they replaced ?.

You being Meath's #1 fan should know the answer to that!

kingdomfan
Not a hope in hell of getting it. Cillian O' Connor will get the nod. An excellent footballer with a great ability to get on the ball. Paddy McBrearty will be breathing down his neck. Cannot see Keoghan even in the shake up.

Funny that because he is in the top 3 already and the only one nominated for an all star.

MesAmis
The fact that he didn't play late into the championship could count against him but there isn't any other outstanding candidates imo so he could get it.

Look above at Meath's season compared to Mayo's. With the exception of Donegal in the final we had much harder games than theirs. The only difference they played a weak team in the all ireland quarter as opposed to meath playing them in the leinster quarter and they played dublin in the semi as opposed to the leinster final.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 24/10/2012 17:35:59    1287752

As always bettystownroyal you put it so much better than myself,
but the anti meath brigade are alive and well and by sounds of it the dubs lads are starting to realize if we had played for more than twenty mins against them it would have been ten all over again :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/10/2012 18:40:17    1287785

pigonastick

Fair enough, in 2010 Meath got to the AI semi-final and G. Reilly averaged exactly 3 points per game en route, what more do you want me to say, you're flat out wrong if you're suggesting that he wouldn't get his place in Dublin's starting 15.

Fact of the matter is and I have no problem admitting it because it's true, Reilly would be playing with better players in the Dublin team and that of course means he wouldn't get as much attention off opposition which could only help him even more.

Try to be objective when giving opinions pigonastick.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 24/10/2012 18:50:33    1287795