Jeez, Liam. Someone had their Weetabix this morning. That's a crazy statement! doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 24/10/2012 11:00:44 1287442 Link 0 |
Wrong AGAIN Liam. Keoghan would walk onto that Dublin side, possibly even get in the Cork team. Class player. theboydonegood (Donegal) - Posts: 522 - 24/10/2012 11:07:19 1287445 Link 0 |
If Donal Keoghan wins Young Player of the Year, he will be the first player ever to do so without his county making at least the Quarter Final stage in the same year. I think McBrearty will get it possibly. Here are the past winners: Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 24/10/2012 11:32:24 1287455 Link 0 |
Keoghan played well in the games we seen him in. But I dont think he has done enough to be called a truely class player just yet. Who has he marked in all fairness? K Mac? Very unpredictable, can be good an bad in equal measure. Doyle? Very accurate, but a lethal corner forward? Not his position these days in my opinion. Furthermore, both the dubs and kildare were shown to be not all they were cracked up to be further down the road. What was impressive about him was the fact that he came out of nowhere and kinda caught us by surprise, whereas we knew about the other two. However that shouldnt be confused with him being better than the other two. Contrary to what many say, I thought O'Connor was excellent this year. His scores were coming from frees, and so people are saying that he wasnt scoring from play. But he wasnt playin that role for the team from play. His link up play was outstanding. He has remarkable intelligence of the game for a lad of his age. He has also came up against some very good defenders this year and was rarely not out in front. Similarly, McBrearty came up against some very tough opponents. He was unlucky to be be facing higgins in the final, because you could count on 1 hand the number of guys who have given him the run around. I dont believe keoghan done enough to warrant the award, he was excellent, but then nobody is denying that, and that isnt what the argument is about. It is about who was the best of the three, and for me it is a toss up between the other two. I think O'Connor is a better player than mcbrearty, but mcbrearty probably done a little more over the course of the year to get the award. TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 24/10/2012 12:10:49 1287471 Link 0 |
Very good player, the future is his, not now. Liam is wrong about NONE of the Meath team being good enough to make other county teams, most of them wouldn't in fairness but not all. As for RD, hes just trying to grab some solace from another poor year. Those poor years are starting to mount : ) realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8816 - 24/10/2012 13:16:15 1287533 Link 0 |
Yeh its funny the counties that hate Meath the most are saying he shouldn't get it. ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 24/10/2012 13:17:05 1287535 Link 0 |
ClassApart TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 24/10/2012 14:17:36 1287577 Link 0 |
Ah here... he might as well be... jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 24/10/2012 14:23:25 1287583 Link 0 |
Sorry the Master a good few people on here from Donegal have said Keogan should get it. Read the posts. He has been nominated for his performances in all of Meaths championship matches. I just threw in the club thing, but it has nothing to do with him getting this award. Anyway in fairness I wouldn't expect a Mayo fan to want a Meath player to get an award. But fair play to O'Connor if he gets it, 2 years in a row for ypoty would be a great personal achievement for him. ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 24/10/2012 14:48:58 1287605 Link 0 |
Liam and his attempt at been a wum is funny, try harder next time, if there was a transfer market in gaa Keoghan and Reilly would be two of the most sought after players in the country, as all honest fans would admit, i think it's telling that alot of the people saying keoghan should get this are from donegal and they won the all ire, also a number from kildare who let's face it would have very little time for players from the royal in general, but i do feel he deserves this award royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/10/2012 14:57:04 1287609 Link 0 |
Keoghan will get YPOTY but not an all-star benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1446 - 24/10/2012 15:07:09 1287616 Link 0 |
royaldunne if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3692 - 24/10/2012 15:11:26 1287617 Link 0 |
A grand total of 2 donegal posters said he deserved it Class Apart, and one of them said tht he should get it simply because defending is an art. I didnt know artists were more deserving...? As for this thing about saying nobody wants a meath lad to win it, I couldnt give a toss tbh. Meath are old news for mayo, they arent in the championship long enough to meet us these days so this perceived rivalry thing is nonsense. Surely I could say the same as to why you arent saying o'connor should win it? And furthermore, shouldnt I be totally against mcbrearty after donegal beating us in the final? That old chestnut goes on and on. Keoghan is the type of player I like; an intelligent defender who enjoys defending, and I rate him. But he didnt get stern enough tests, compared to the other two, to get that award, plain and simple. TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 24/10/2012 15:17:20 1287620 Link 0 |
Realdub, those in Dublin would know about poor years 16 so at 14 next year hopefully we won't have too many more, royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/10/2012 15:33:49 1287636 Link 0 |
If in doubt :) let's not start all that again lol royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/10/2012 15:43:26 1287648 Link 0 |
The master not long enough in champ? Well 09 was last meeting not exactly yonks ago now is it's,,? Or did you forget about that? royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/10/2012 15:47:27 1287650 Link 0 |
Liam was wrong keoghan on what we have seen of him this year would make a dublin team as for the reilly's no chance! K reilly or Rory o'carroll I'd take rory every day of the week as for G reilly well he wouldn't get into a half forward line of of flynn, a brogan and cullen either so no sorry! Graham was a flashin the pan in 2010! He is a good athlete but is extremely wasteful when playing decent opposition! Was played in midfield for meath this year which to me made meath look like a poor club team who put there quickest player in midfield and just tell him to put his head down and run with the ball because you have no forwards inside worth kicking it in to! When the game was there to be won agianst dublin he kicked wides and coughed up possesion and showed his true class! pigonastick (Dublin) - Posts: 487 - 24/10/2012 15:51:15 1287652 Link 0 |
Its not really a rivalry, its more Mayo hate Meath full stop. ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 24/10/2012 15:53:37 1287657 Link 0 |
In those 16 years we were sometimes a kick away from success or we were otherwise knocking on the door, where were ye? Our 16 barren years make Meath's 14 look like an eternity! realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8816 - 24/10/2012 15:59:15 1287665 Link 0 |
Eh pigon.? G Reilly top scorer from play? He is sublime and actually apart from a brogan. Can't see anyone elsewhere today compete with him " plus he is still only 23 and has many more years to torment opposition royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/10/2012 16:04:21 1287673 Link 0 |