If a player plays inter county pay a fee

Nice idea in theory.

But then again in the words of Homer Simpson "In theory, communism works... In theory".

A club looking to sign a player in soccer needs to pay a fee to sign another player as they are effectively buying his contract and the rights to him as a soccer player.

The same or similar (trades etc) in rugby, ice hockey and indeed most other professional sports.

If a rugby club look to sign a soccer player then they don't need to pay a fee, as the player has no contract with any other rugby club or national association only a soccer contract.

There are rules in place regarding transfer between clubs within a sport. These only go as so far the sport in question though.

I can't for the life of me think of any examples whereby rules are in place between different types of sporting organisations for cross code transfers, even if a player transfers from rugby union to rugby league I don't think a fee is required.

hill16no1man

i have said it for long time the gaa are foolish to allow this they even allow them hold trials for our best young players in GAA GROUNDS.
why should county boards develop guys from a young age and then put them in the shop window for other sports to come and just hand pick them.

So we should stop training young players because less than 1% of them might get approached by an Aussie rules team, good idea that.

if they stopped allowing trials take place here it would mean aussies would have to pay for all the trialists to fly over and stay in australia for the trials im sure they wouldnt be as willing to do this.

Could / would the Aussies not just rent out facilities from soccer or rugby clubs instead no?

also surely county boards should be compensated for putting so much money time and effort into devleoping the player only to have him turn around and leave.

Thousands of GAA players leave the country every year for a multitude of reasons, how much compensation do you think they should get?

cant understand why kilkenny is going there anyway for what to sit on the bench for two years in a sport he never played before and what has he to look forward to a run out with the reserve team,he never grew up playing sport looking for money if he chose gaa so he obviously wanted to play it without money being an incentive and its not as if he wouldnt be handed a job if he stayed he had just started college in ucd i think so he was fairly well layed up not like he was on the dole.

So if a lad grew up playing GAA and soccer / rugby / Aussie rules together you'd be ok with them moving?

he could be playing with four differant dublin inter county teams instead will be sitting watching a sport he never played.

Indeed. He'll also be a professional athlete though and will be availing of a once in a lifetime opportunity. Who's to say he won't make it over there? Odds against him fair enough but surely he has a shot of actually playing a match or two over the next two years instead of sitting on the bench for the reserves the whole time.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3692 - 01/10/2012 18:30:10    1275963

Pinkie
County: Wexford

How many do we lose realistically. I would not support this. The GAA is big enough to lose a couple of players. So be it.

Now I'm no MIT graduate but I'd be surprised if the GAA was losing over 1% of players annually to Aussie rules clubs. Personally I'd say my own club have lost more to local soccer and rugby clubs (wonder if we can claim for compensation?) than we have AFL clubs, and likewise we would have benefited from lads giving up other sports and coming back to play for the junior team.

Rosineri1
County: UK

With the job situation the way it is at the moment can you blame any lad for getting paid to go kick a ball around a field in Oz, there are plenty of players county and club heading over there because of the lack of jobs at home. If a lad is being offered a good wage over there fair play to them, I know if I had ever been good enough to be offered it I would have gone to give it a go. Apart from Stynes most of them have come back to play back home eventually.

Spot on.

Thousands of lads are leaving the country on a monthly basis. A tiny fraction of them are doing it because of the chance to play as a professional sportsman.

I wonder if a nightclub in Ibiza offered Eamonn Fennell a job as a dj, or if a financial firm on Wall Street offered Bernard Brogan a job as an accountant would there be such resistance to it? And as you mentioned the man himself, who's to say Ciarán won't be just as successful?

I genuinely have no idea how an amateur team / club could demand compensation from a professional company offering a young lad a job abroad.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3692 - 01/10/2012 18:30:21    1275964

What if a company offers an employee a job abroad, does that company pay the same package? I can see your point at the same time, some clubs are struggling to field. But these are ameture players and therefor they don't have contract or a price.

You are right about the Aussie companys having fees in place to protect players from just leaving or being poached, but they are professional sports people and they have contracts.

wise_guy (Tyrone) - Posts: 1584 - 01/10/2012 18:34:34    1275966

dhorse
County: Laois

hill16no1man

1275492 There's a difference with rugby and soccer as the player grew up playing them sports aswell as playing gas so they were already members of that sport where as with Aussie rules they are joining a completely new sport

Would you feel better if irish people went to play AFL as amateurs?

hahahaha that would never happen though as the only reason they go to the afl is because they are getting paid so take that away and whats the lure of afl?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/10/2012 09:44:26    1276173

ffgg
County: Longford

do you have a problem with irish players leaving to play afl as in the players themselves hill?....and the reason irish players leave the league of ireland is both money and actually playing for good teams in proper competitions instead of garbage

i have a problem with the gaa alowing another sport hold trials on gaa pitches and having their pick of our rising stars of our game.
can you imagine manchester united allowing leinster rugby walze and hold trials in old trafford and letting them just take any of thir players?
yes but these same players then return to play for the republic of ireland who are equaly as bad in quality and it seems it doesnt bother them then to play for a team who dont get anywhere

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/10/2012 09:48:25    1276175

kilkenny move is plain and simply for money some people can sugar coat thispro carrear malarky but look at tommy walsh hes wasted over there hes a second rate player in the club where as he was a top player in our game,nobody in ireland grows up wanting to be an aussie rules star they play gaa from a young age with aspirations of winning an all ireland for their county,if we continue to glorify young players going over to australia what will happen is the aspirations of young players growing up will change and they will see the gaa as only a stepping stone as a way to getting a move to australia to play their sport.
for people who say times are hard and jobs are scarce thats true for the ordinary person but take kilkenny do you really think he would be left idle.
he started in ucd only two weeks ago so he was hardly on the dole he would have been well hooked up by the dublin county board had he chose to stay those guys have a lot of connections and plus if he walked in for an interview all by himself even any company would want to have him employed if he is going to be a big sporting name its great promotion for their buisness

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/10/2012 09:56:35    1276182

hill16no1man

1276173 dhorse

hill16no1man

1275492 There's a difference with rugby and soccer as the player grew up playing them sports aswell as playing gas so they were already members of that sport where as with Aussie rules they are joining a completely new sport

hahahaha that would never happen though as the only reason they go to the afl is because they are getting paid so take that away and whats the lure of afl?

i know of 3 irish players over there playing amateur AFL , should they be barred from GAA membership in your scheme of things, or even barred from re entering the country perhaps

Considering The despicable insinuations you made regarding A GAA player going to AFL your notions are totally off the wall.
Irish citizens are entitled to travel where ever they wish and earn a living in whatever manner they wish, the fact that the happen to be amateur members of sports or any organisation is irrelevant.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 02/10/2012 13:12:58    1276353

hill16no1man

1276182 kilkenny move is plain and simply for money some people can sugar coat thispro carrear malarky but look at tommy walsh hes wasted over there

Would he not be a better judge of that than yourself

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 02/10/2012 14:24:34    1276446

all your making is assumptions hill you have nothing to back it up..what course is he even doing in ucd?and the republic of ireland arent that bad especially compared to the league of ireland!..this argument that its about money is what i dont understand...they dont get paid well over there bar the very top fellas and you claim he would walk into a job round here?

ffgg (Longford) - Posts: 2571 - 02/10/2012 14:43:46    1276464

never seen such hatred sprouted on here from 1 gael about another

ffgg (Longford) - Posts: 2571 - 02/10/2012 14:44:23    1276466

Rubbish. If a lad wants to play soccer or rugby or Aussie Rules or whatever good luck to him. If he wants to play hurling or football good luck to him too. There are enough men in the country who want to play for their county and club solely for the honour of doing so. Enough about the "poor players" and that they need to be paid. If they want to be paid let them play something else. End of story.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2581 - 02/10/2012 15:08:16    1276492

dhorse

hill16no1man

1276173 dhorse

hill16no1man

i know of 3 irish players over there playing amateur AFL , should they be barred from GAA membership in your scheme of things, or even barred from re entering the country perhaps

Considering The despicable insinuations you made regarding A GAA player going to AFL your notions are totally off the wall.
Irish citizens are entitled to travel where ever they wish and earn a living in whatever manner they wish, the fact that the happen to be amateur members of sports or any organisation is irrelevant

i never said anybody should be barred from gaa membership for any reason but i would like the gaa to do something in terms of stopping players levaing our game jsut becuase another sport dangles money in front of them,look how hard it is to transfer from one club within the gaa to another so surely they can come up with a simliar process nullifying players being tapped up

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/10/2012 17:50:13    1276674

ffgg
County: Longford

whats not to assume he never played aussie rules before and they offer him mony and he goes its hardly rocket science!!!!
he definatly started college in ucd andy kettle even said it the other day it was one of the main reasons he thaught he was staying.
the republic of ireland are awful come on would you they got hammered in every match after they finaly qualified and now they were an embarresment in kazakstan in their last match.yes he would walk into a job when he finishes college with aucd degree and a profile as a top inter county player its easy p.r. for a buisness

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/10/2012 17:54:40    1276678

hill16no1man

i never said anybody should be barred from gaa membership for any reason but i would like the gaa to do something in terms of stopping players levaing our game jsut becuase another sport dangles money in front of them,look how hard it is to transfer from one club within the gaa to another so surely they can come up with a simliar process nullifying players being tapped up

That's the thing you don't seem to get with this.

The GAA can only enforce rules regarding transfers within the GAA, the key word being WITHIN, from one club or county to another.

It can be pretty difficult for a player to transfer from one soccer team to another, from one rugby club to another, from one baseball club to another.

Why. Because there's rules in place by governing organisations regarding transfers within the respective sport.

If by some miracle the GAA brought system whereby they tell the AFL club to pay compensation, what's forcing the club to actually pay it?

Who would the GAA appeal to if the money wasn't paid over?

In soccer a team can appeal to FIFA, in rugby it's the IRB, in baseball it's the MLB.

Unless you want a joint governing body set up to oversee the GAA and Aussie Rules then there's no way the GAA can force a club to pay compensation.

The GAA can only nullify players transferring between GAA teams, they have no power over what a player does in a sport that doesn't fall under its remit, to try and do so would be illegal.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3692 - 02/10/2012 18:00:03    1276686

but my pint is this back slapping and praising players for leaving the gaa just becuse they will get paid in another sport is going to do serious damage to our games over the next decade if ex players media nd gaa people alike continue to congratulate guys for leaving the association.
we are the biggest sports in ireland we should not be loosing players

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/10/2012 18:08:00    1276696

hill16no1man

but my pint is this back slapping and praising players for leaving the gaa just becuse they will get paid in another sport is going to do serious damage to our games over the next decade if ex players media nd gaa people alike continue to congratulate guys for leaving the association.

The GAA loses thousands of players each year.

Only a tiny fraction of them are leaving because of the chance to further their sporting career.

Why only try and tackle the issue of only losing players to other sports?

If the GAA can in any way help a lad make a decent living for himself and his family, along with helping him gain some important life experience, then isn't that a positive thing that we should be proud of rather than trying to prevent happen?

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3692 - 02/10/2012 18:14:19    1276705

whats not to assume he never played aussie rules before and they offer him mony and he goes its hardly rocket science!!!!
he definatly started college in ucd andy kettle even said it the other day it was one of the main reasons he thaught he was staying.
the republic of ireland are awful come on would you they got hammered in every match after they finaly qualified and now they were an embarresment in kazakstan in their last match.yes he would walk into a job when he finishes college with aucd degree and a profile as a top inter county player its easy p.r. for a buisness

again making assumptions and talking about something you know nothing about...aussie rukes players especially irish 1s make damn all money and they offered him a career and opportunity.......the republic of ireland are awful yes relative to world class teams i never said they were any good i said they were compared to the league of ireland.......again making an assumption he would walk into a job..lots of companies are against gaa players because they are playing a sport which requires such an effort both in training and matches..you have yet to provide what course he is doing in ucd?

ffgg (Longford) - Posts: 2571 - 02/10/2012 19:35:04    1276780

f_in_doubt

hill16no1man

The GAA loses thousands of players each year.

Only a tiny fraction of them are leaving because of the chance to further their sporting career.

Why only try and tackle the issue of only losing players to other sports?

If the GAA can in any way help a lad make a decent living for himself and his family, along with helping him gain some important life experience, then isn't that a positive thing that we should be proud of rather than trying to prevent happen?

we are loosing the top names in sport though thats what im saying they should tackle,setanta o hailpin was a rising star in hurling,tommy walsh was one of kerrys best players,marty clarke downs best player and now kilkenny was fast becoming a top player,we need the big names to stay at the top in our sport if we sit back and let them go and pat them on the back we will soon become a feeder sport for others.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/10/2012 20:11:17    1276808

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2012/0929/1224324602384.html

there you go read it ffgg

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/10/2012 20:17:35    1276812

the article states he goes to ucd what course?..you claim he will walk into a job and you refuse to respond to the rest of my post....ucds great an all but professional sport in australia sounds pretty good for someone who has given dublin gaa so much already

ffgg (Longford) - Posts: 2571 - 02/10/2012 20:22:48    1276815