If a player plays inter county pay a fee

On the Kilkenny issue and a lot of other gaa players going down under, Isnt it a handy set up for the Aussie clubs .
INTER COUNTY players have already been accustomed to strength and conditioning , nutrition. good coaching.
Aussie teams can watch them on tv and then decide whether to take a closer look. or just make a phone call and try them out ,if it doesnt work just send them back.
I think once a player has played inter county at any level , there has to be a compensation package that goes to the club and county board ,from these clubs.
At the moment the Aussies are in a win win situation. If it was the other way round , I bet there would be systems in place to safeguard their prized sports people.
We are talking about our national sport.
Its not necessarily about stopping lads going , everyone has only one shot at their life and good luck to them, but its not an even playing field at the moment,

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 29/09/2012 14:38:48    1274716

+1

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 29/09/2012 15:13:51    1274726

Dublin has a super underage structure,it is so good its going to end up as feeding system for Australian clubs!

You look at last weeks minors..that Dublin minor team is one of the best minor teams ever,so good in fact i bet it could beat most previous u21 winners!

Dublin minor team this year you could have 4 or 5 players who will definitely be scouted out by Australian clubs!

By the looks of things Dublin will win u21 and minor for a few years to come ......and dublin seniors,well they will just have to do with the bits the Australian dont want!

Dublin will have start doing there maths

conditioning , nutrition. good coaching = 2 buckets of calf nuts!

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 948 - 29/09/2012 17:23:48    1274780

Guys until the day arrives where players get proper payment to participate in GAA then no such fee can be put in place.
These guys have a choice to leave and the professional game would appeal to 90% of us.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 29/09/2012 17:29:00    1274784

Alas you canot recieve a fee for something you do not own.
There is no contract between the gaa and any player.

atta (Meath) - Posts: 710 - 29/09/2012 17:31:31    1274785

i have said it for long time the gaa are foolish to allow this they even allow them hold trials for our best young players in GAA GROUNDS.
why should county boards develop guys from a young age and then put them in the shop window for other sports to come and just hand pick them.
if they stopped allowing trials take place here it would mean aussies would have to pay for all the trialists to fly over and stay in australia for the trials im sure they wouldnt be as willing to do this.also surely county boards should be compensated for putting so much money time and effort into devleoping the player only to have him turn around and leave.
cant understand why kilkenny is going there anyway for what to sit on the bench for two years in a sport he never played before and what has he to look forward to a run out with the reserve team,he never grew up playing sport looking for money if he chose gaa so he obviously wanted to play it without money being an incentive and its not as if he wouldnt be handed a job if he stayed he had just started college in ucd i think so he was fairly well layed up not like he was on the dole.
he could be playing with four differant dublin inter county teams instead will be sitting watching a sport he never played.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/09/2012 17:57:41    1274792

atta

Alas you canot recieve a fee for something you do not own.
There is no contract between the gaa and any player.

you need a transfer to join any other gaa club and look how hard they make it for to do this eamonn fennell sat out for 4years but yet they allow foreign sports walk in and hand pick players

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/09/2012 18:15:46    1274800

All a player has to do is not renew his membership of the GAA and then he is out of it!....Simples!.....The GAA will then have no 'silly' juristiction over him!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 29/09/2012 18:19:54    1274801

Point is everytime a new young promising player comes along for your county and gets a bit of media attention, in the back of your mind is i hope the aussies arent watching. its nothing to do with lads trying something different, lets be honest once money is mentioned and playing football as your full time job ye cant blame them having their heads turned. problem i have is that its made so easy for the aussies , they dont have to worry about the consequences . bring over a few and sure if one makes it grand.
Gaa allowing them do this is a disgrace , that will get worse as players become more conditioned here from younger ages.
we are the feeder club , only difference it costs the aussies nothing.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 29/09/2012 20:19:30    1274869

athcliath

whats happening now is going to be very simliar to what happens in soccer at club level in ireland
any player playing in the airtricity league who cathches the eye is immediatley lured by a move to england for money
this is condoned by everybody in ireland and the same thing will happen now with more and more young players in gaa they will be classed as heroes for going over and playing afl instead of been criticised for selling out from a game they grew up playing and joining another sport just for money so much so that any young gaa player dream will no longer be to make their county team it will be to get a move to australia

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/09/2012 20:30:24    1274879

I agree Hill,

It took the league of ireland a long time to cop on, players went to england got sucess for english clubs and clubs here got a clap on the back, now they have structures in place that soften the blow for the clubs or make it attractive for it to happe.
when it comes to the Gaa lads all we get told is sure ye cant blame them whats here for them. thats not the point, ye dont invest time and effort into these lads for another country to reap the rewards for nothing.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 29/09/2012 20:46:11    1274895

Hill 16
I get your point but transfers between clubs come under the rules of the gaa.
The Gaa is stoned mad to allow trials on there own grounds but the facts are
if they didnt there are plenty of other playing fields which will be available to trial players on.

atta (Meath) - Posts: 710 - 30/09/2012 20:57:10    1275356

How many do we lose realistically. I would not support this. The GAA is big enough to lose a couple of players. So be it.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 30/09/2012 21:57:22    1275413

how many players do the GAA lose to rugby and soccer and do they look for any money of them. In total how many lads have gone down under and not come back? If a lad returns from Oz, should the GAA play the AFL a fee?

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 01/10/2012 09:10:16    1275429

There's a difference with rugby and soccer as the player grew up playing them sports aswell as playing gas so they were already members of that sport where as with Aussie rules they are joining a completely new sport

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 01/10/2012 10:49:06    1275492

hill16no1man

1275492 There's a difference with rugby and soccer as the player grew up playing them sports aswell as playing gas so they were already members of that sport where as with Aussie rules they are joining a completely new sport

Would you feel better if irish people went to play AFL as amateurs?

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 01/10/2012 16:06:54    1275816

do you have a problem with irish players leaving to play afl as in the players themselves hill?....and the reason irish players leave the league of ireland is both money and actually playing for good teams in proper competitions instead of garbage

ffgg (Longford) - Posts: 2571 - 01/10/2012 16:22:49    1275834

With the job situation the way it is at the moment can you blame any lad for getting paid to go kick a ball around a field in Oz, there are plenty of players county and club heading over there because of the lack of jobs at home. If a lad is being offered a good wage over there fair play to them, I know if I had ever been good enough to be offered it I would have gone to give it a go. Apart from Stynes most of them have come back to play back home eventually.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 01/10/2012 16:53:10    1275867

ya cant blame a lad full stop for wanting to play professional sport

ffgg (Longford) - Posts: 2571 - 01/10/2012 16:55:31    1275869

same should go for Munster rugby!

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1737 - 01/10/2012 17:09:25    1275884