Where to watch the match in Dublin?

What are the best pubs in Dublin to watch the match... where will the Donegal folk be that didn't get tickets? Luckily I have mine, I'm asking on behalf of others.

squareball_1988 (Donegal) - Posts: 343 - 21/09/2012 12:55:10    1270136

Croke Park!!....thats where about 40,000 of your county men will be while you are in Rathmines looking for some sort of 'big screen'!!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 21/09/2012 12:58:40    1270139

Big Tree, Quinns, if youre in the Drumcondra area, you might even pick up a ticket. If in rathmines area, ive watched before in Cassidys on Camdem St and was hopping, similar The Portobello.

In town ive been in Messr Maguires, they have big screen as well.

Flanders (Galway) - Posts: 604 - 21/09/2012 13:02:07    1270144

Snuf your a legend, you really are some craic!!!

I particularly love the way you sign off, very unique,

Reeegarrrrdds,

Yours sincerrreeelllleeeyyy,

Fattyyfroogggg.... ar nos na gaotha

fatfrog (Donegal) - Posts: 200 - 21/09/2012 13:03:04    1270147

Listen, just go to Jurys Croker hotel....that way you have the atmosphere before the game, during (with both sets of fans - so its like being at the match), and then after when the crowd come out of Croker all excited right away!!

Stay away from the usual tired aul Quinns/Big Tree, which the culchies think are the only pubs that exist in Dublin on match day!!!......You can always be sure when meeting a culchie mate on match day when they ring you to tell you where they are that it will be one of those two boring pubs frequented by the young and sloppy 'first time up to Dublin' crowd!!!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 21/09/2012 13:04:58    1270152

You wont get near Jurys. They are going to be strict with crowds. Parking permits need to be shown to get down that direction.

I'm interested in knowing good spots as well, bout time I sorted a backup plan with no tickets on the horizon!

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1435 - 21/09/2012 13:15:13    1270160

Fagans pub Drumcondra always great on big match days. Great grub also. Short walk to Croker

Enjoy!

ballybannongael (Down) - Posts: 547 - 21/09/2012 13:23:00    1270164

Snufalufagus - I usually drink in the hill 16 on Gardiner Street before games - that place would probably be not upmarket for you eh ;)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11689 - 21/09/2012 13:26:19    1270168

I'm going to watch it in Jimbos 5 bedroom house in Drumcondra whilst hes at the minor match!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 21/09/2012 13:31:18    1270173

Clearys or the Celtic!

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 21/09/2012 13:53:54    1270188

The Big tree is usually good craic the Skylon or the Maples if you want a quiet spot to watch the match , Best of luck to all the Teams Minor and Senior and their supporters just wish I could be there......

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 21/09/2012 14:02:12    1270200

Anywhere! Personally I still think Rody Bolands is as good as it gets for a match.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 21/09/2012 14:20:41    1270217

Snufalufagus

Listen, just go to Jurys Croker hotel....that way you have the atmosphere before the game, during (with both sets of fans - so its like being at the match), and then after when the crowd come out of Croker all excited right away!!

Stay away from the usual tired aul Quinns/Big Tree, which the culchies think are the only pubs that exist in Dublin on match day!!!......You can always be sure when meeting a culchie mate on match day when they ring you to tell you where they are that it will be one of those two boring pubs frequented by the young and sloppy 'first time up to Dublin' crowd!!!!

--------------------------------------------------------------

It's just tradition for a lot off people. Get to Dublin, head for Quinns for the craic. I see nothing wrong with it??

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 21/09/2012 14:31:30    1270227

Barry's Hotel is a great place to get yourself 'up' for the match!

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 21/09/2012 14:33:42    1270228

watch it at home in comfort. none of this pub business.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 21/09/2012 14:35:43    1270232

ye wanna get into Jurys early but defo the best spot....Gaffneys in Fairview great owl pub but normally predominently Dubs but Ive no doubt both sets of supporters will be very welcome there. Craic normaly 90 and real old traditional bar staff who know how to look after the punters well....Meaghers in Ballybough, out and out GAA pub,tryn to decide where to head to meself, thats if I dont end up in Croke Park itself...

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 21/09/2012 14:54:59    1270249

Have to agree with Snuf regarding Big Tree and Quinns. Abu Grabib be more comfort and probably less time to get a pin - in a plastic cup...uurgh!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 21/09/2012 15:06:11    1270259

Have to agree with Snuf
hurlingdub , 21/09/2012 at 15:06
----------------------------------------

Most people do lad!!....most people do!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 21/09/2012 16:09:07    1270314

Have to say i'm a fan of the Big Tree - always have great memories of the place whenever Galway have been up in Croker.

The Red Parrot is a decent old place too.......

To anyone going or in Dublin this weekend the atmosphere will be electric anyway!!!!!

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 21/09/2012 16:12:32    1270317

HAHA snuf ya have to agree with ya there,.. everyone i ask in mayo were there goin watchin the match they say quinns or the big tree...But i read somewere today that theres gonna be 80,000-100,000 people on the street were quinns is

murphy89 (Mayo) - Posts: 128 - 21/09/2012 16:27:10    1270337