I was in Croker last Saturday and what a relief it was to see attacking football triumph over the sterile, negative tactics, defensive style which has blighted our game in recent years!!!Mattie Forde and Wexford were a breath of fresh air. Armagh put in their usual quota of heavy and late tackles but in the end it came against them. Bernard Flynn made the point on the Sunday Game that their style of football has passed its sell by date and I hope that this is the case. There are fine footballers in Armagh( Crossmaglen club have them in abundance) and they should try to play the game the way it should be played- aka Wexford, Kerry and indeed our own lads. There is only one side which adopts this anti-football style remaining in this years championship and maybe by next weekend there will be note. Here here to the beautiful game played as it should be!!! galwaycelt (Galway) - Posts: 307 - 11/08/2008 12:49:02 70784 Link 0 |
Have to agree with a Galway man for once. It's been a blight on the game for the last 10 years. Keano (Mayo) - Posts: 412 - 11/08/2008 13:27:35 70854 Link 0 |
The blanket defence worked well for Tyrone and Armagh for a few years and now finally the rest of the country is catching on to it.!!!!!!! on the fence (Donegal) - Posts: 731 - 11/08/2008 13:27:50 70856 Link 0 |
Have to agree GC that the method of football played by ourselves this last few years has been relatively affective,but i agree i reckon everything has it's sell by date. We have some cracker footballers,i just hope we can introduce a new style of play that actually involves 6 forwards. sean og (Armagh) - Posts: 1072 - 11/08/2008 13:30:38 70860 Link 0 |
Hopefully next weekend there will be none. That way we can actually go out and mix and have a bit of craic with opposing down to earth humble supporters. Stevieh (None) - Posts: 10 - 11/08/2008 13:47:43 70889 Link 0 |
I am sick to death of this Southern negativity towards Ulster and especially towards my own county who are being singled out as the only villains left in the championship. You would nearly think it was "Jedi Knights" trying to defeat the "dark-side". mugsys_barber (Tyrone) - Posts: 2160 - 11/08/2008 14:03:47 70914 Link 0 |
no its not the end.i say this because kildare also employ a similiar style.and its disgusting.and it certainly doesnt win games anymore.wexford were superb.armagh were'nt even that bad.wexford were just that good.that man matty is a modern great.best forward in the country by a mile. daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 11/08/2008 14:04:47 70917 Link 0 |
Unbelievable cac bó. Blanket defence??? If certain teams played strong attack, would this be taken by some "pudits " as a form of blanket attack. Wise up and realise that defence is every bit as important a factor in the game as attack. Jaysus, ye will be accusing goalies next of being too good. As recent history shows, teams adopt new methods and other teams evolve to counter as was seen by a great Wexford team this weekend. This blanket defence is becoming as much an integral part of the game as , say, long diagonal attacking. Maybe Dublin will beat Tyrone this weekend and if they do, it will prove my point : that teams evolve. Gortnagarn (UK) - Posts: 112 - 11/08/2008 14:35:09 70967 Link 0 |
so true, agree with every word, the blight of this ulster rubbish is nearly over,i really hope the dubs beat the scorge that is tyrone. that will make it 3 years in a row with no ulster team in semi, and to think some ppl on this site go on about the strengt of ulster football !! great credit to kerry, galway and wexford on sat, armagh were a disgrace, totally obsessed with defence, it was painfull to watch them pack there own half with bodybuilders. football when played proper is a joy to watch lets hope that the succes of real football countys can sway our friends from ulster to ditch there horrible "style" and play the game the right way. also i would give galway special praise , they always play football v kerry, this has cost them in terms of results, however they refused to bow to the easier and less brave option of negative tactics, for this stance i hope they day will come, fair play to galway. broken arrow (Limerick) - Posts: 104 - 11/08/2008 14:35:38 70968 Link 0 |
Please do explain stevieh,i look forward to your reply. sean og (Armagh) - Posts: 1072 - 11/08/2008 14:41:48 70976 Link 0 |
Howya Mugsy! Don't be getting the blood pressure up so early in the week! JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 11/08/2008 14:56:12 71006 Link 0 |
I have to agree with the Barber about the negativity towards Ulster on this board. There was a real sense of pride for Ulster people when our teams started to do well and to compete at the business end of the championship on a regular basis. This was pride in the great achievements of several counties. It was a pro-Ulster thing if you like. RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 11/08/2008 15:04:28 71033 Link 0 |
The stench of anti-ulster bias down here is unbearable!! Its not enough to attack the way we play the game in the north, you have to attack our personalities as well. What ever happened to being one nation under the GAA?? I notice that there are not too many Kerry supporters on here critiscising the Northern teams because in a way they have adapted our template. Now i'm not for one second saying that Kerry are copying the Ulster teams. What people have to realise is this. Whenever a successful formula is created in any sport, one which brings with it titles and the strappings of success it is envitable this system will be copied. Notice how practically every team this year has tried to unearth a Kieran Donnaghey with verying degrees of success. Winners learn from their mistakes and dont make them again, losers yap and moan and point fault with other people. Ironic that most of the posts on this website are from Mayo, Donegal etc. The great perennial chokers of the Gaelic Football. Rio Bingo (Tyrone) - Posts: 788 - 11/08/2008 15:07:19 71043 Link 0 |
Alright there Jayo, All set for the weekend i hope!! mugsys_barber (Tyrone) - Posts: 2160 - 11/08/2008 15:21:33 71092 Link 0 |
** Westmeath and Kerry to name but two of the southern teams play with the blanket defence. Why o why then are Ulster being labelled with the being the only ones who do it? Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 11/08/2008 15:30:08 71117 Link 0 |
I dont think I am being anti- Ulster or biased against northern teams in any way. One of the ugliest teams to watch is Westmeath and they arent from Ulster. I have great regard forTyrone football and saw their u21 teams of the early part of this decade witn a few All Irelands with some breathtaking football and it certainly wasnt defensive in style. Likewise Armagh would be much better off playing "proper" football as Clarke and McDonnell would thrive if they got proper ball every time. I just like to see the game played in a proper fashion with skill and endeavour coming out on top. galwaycelt (Galway) - Posts: 307 - 11/08/2008 15:35:48 71134 Link 0 |
Mugsy I feel your pain and posted something along the lines that Tomas Tralee did last week. The 'lovely' footballing counties in our fair land are also well able for the blanket tactics and cynical football when required! JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 11/08/2008 15:43:55 71155 Link 0 |
Most of the anti-Ulster bile on here has nothing to do with Gaelic football. It's just bitter small minded partitionists who don't like anything about Ulster or the North FULL STOP. You can really feel this raw hatred jump out at you sometimes from many posters. It's the same in Germany where those from the West despise those from the East and look down on them. This mindset has been encouraged by the cheerleaders in the Southern media which detests the Northern Nationalist community. Larry Tompkins wrote an excellent article a few years ago when the 'puke football' nonsense was doing the rounds. He stated that it was just sour grapes from certain elements in the South who couldn't bear the thought of SAM going over the border and that Gaelic football always had always had it's fair share of physical players. Tyrone & Armagh have been involved in some of best most exciting matches in the last 15 years. Peter Canavan, Stephen O'Neill, Stevie McDonnell, Oisin McConville have been a joy to watch. If the last 2 dreadful All Irelands are a benchmark then heaven help the GAA. They were boredom personified. Many posters should take that anti-Ulster chip off their shoulders as it is weighing them down heavily and affecting their judgement. Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 11/08/2008 16:06:48 71214 Link 0 |
The simple facts are because Kerry have so many skilfully players any team that goes toe to toe in a shoot out with them will lose out as Galway did on Saturday ok it was a beautiful game but it was naive of Liam Salmon to play Kerry in this manner.The week before Monaghan played a much more defensive game and came very close to pulling it off.Westmeath played a similar type game against the Dubs and got very close also. Wexford played old style against the Dubs and look what happened......I think their next game will be much closer ( they have started using a sweeper already if anyone noticed) that's if the Dubs get through. chainsaw (Laois) - Posts: 712 - 11/08/2008 16:16:44 71230 Link 0 |
blanket defence cop on! Its called hard work and tactical nous! benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1428 - 11/08/2008 16:29:03 71252 Link 0 |