6,000 watch Donegal train!

Keep on digging Clondalkindub, tee hee hee!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 11/09/2012 11:55:38    1263966

I'll never get my head around those who chastise any fan that doesn't go to all league and mckenna cup/o'byrnce cup etc games or even early championship games as bandwagon fans. At any sign of a decent sized support be it Dublin or Donegal at a game, or in this case training there always out with the "Where were they in March' and the likes.

I think the only way these people would be happy would be in the 82,000 Croke Park, All Ireland final day, their own county and another with a crowd of about 7 thousand 'true supporters'. No flags or colour, only a pen and a match programme aloud into the stand. Sitting there smugly thinking "peace at last from those pesky fair weather fans".

Antifa (Donegal) - Posts: 143 - 11/09/2012 11:59:41    1263975

If we all copy Donegal the game is Doom. And where have all these cocky Donegal bandwagon supporters come from??

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 11/09/2012 12:08:04    1263982

boyblue

donegal winning the all-ireland will be like england winning the world cup , we're just never goina hear the end of it ! they really have got carried away with themselves. I would actually like to see them lose the final just to see their reaction, even though they won't lose they will be to strong to mayo

We will never hear the end of it either way from u moaning or gloating.

If mayo win i will be on here to congratulate their followers as they really deserve an all ireland.

Donegal supporters sure of ourselves.... you are bound to get a few thats for sure, is it not the same in every county? I went onto the dublin gaa forum last week and it was laughable the amount of talk there was about meeting donegal in the final, and it was not just one or 2 supporters either. Mayo were done and dusted.

I would also say that mayo fans are confident of a big game and are not coming to dublin just for a day out.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3846 - 11/09/2012 12:19:11    1263995

1263982 If we all copy Donegal the game is Doom. And where have all these cocky Donegal bandwagon supporters come from??

Not really doomed, Donegal are actually bringing the game on leaps and bounds along with other counties. Donegal have evolved into a more attacking outfit this season, and next season that trend will continue. Jim McGuinness just used the defensive platform to get his young squad winning, and it has evolved and will keep evolving as these players grow in confidence.

GAA needs a bit of variety, we need more counties challenging for the All Ireland. This is now 3 x All Ireland finals, where we have different teams contesting each final ( 6 teams in 3 years ). That is an outstanding achievement. Also we stand to have 5 different All Ireland football champions in 5 years, which is great.
If you look at hurling in that same period, they desperately need a similar variety to develope the game in counties outside of their normal strongholds.

I think Gaelic football is more popular in many counties than ever before. Teams like Roscommon, Tipperary, Laois, Wexford, Antrim, Leitrim, Clare have all improved over the last 4-5 years. A good run by any of these teams will inspire youngsters to play the game in their given county.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 11/09/2012 12:38:45    1264013

I think donegal have been excellent this year and have been good to watch, just was my opinion the fans were losing the run of themselves i mean there's videos on youtube, song on iTunes, 6000 watching them train. i hope their not skipping mass now just because of the football !

boyblue (Dublin) - Posts: 90 - 11/09/2012 12:59:40    1264042

I'm just surpised that there's a carpark in Ballybofey that can hold 6000 Skylines & Imprezas

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 11/09/2012 13:20:11    1264069

Glad to hear it. I bet there were 1 or 2 Mayo spies up there! In response to the Dublin posts re Donegal being boring - I have to disagree. Have to admit that I've enjoyed watching every Donegal game this year. Very entertaining and interesting to see their style evolving. I still think there's too much hype about it from some corners but that's only my opinion. Hopefully we beat them on the 23rd but I'm sure it'll be a great game whoever wins! UP MAYO!!

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 11/09/2012 13:26:22    1264078

Ah here we go again. Jealously gets you no where. We haven't been in an All Ire Final in 20 Years so of course there is huge excitement in the County. And we are not getting carried away just decking out everything in our County in our colours as we are so so proud of what our team have achieved in the last two years. Its going to be a great day out. Two nice country teams meeting not the disgraceful Dubs. They were a joke against Mayo. And that was the example they were setting to their young supporters.And them on about Fouling well stád, the Dubs invented it! Wind your necks in Dublin and concentrate on your minors and next year. Bye Bye now:)
May the best team win. Dún na nGall Abú!

dgl2012 (Donegal) - Posts: 26 - 11/09/2012 13:31:10    1264086

and what example is it to assault tv pundits coming out of croke park ?? be shamefully drunk , urinate in public and litter carelessly , and this is coming from a friend of mine who is a guard and works and the games. i would of thought dublin fans would be the worst at this but he told me he couldn't believe some of the states donegal fans where in !

boyblue (Dublin) - Posts: 90 - 11/09/2012 14:15:46    1264137

I've no love for Donegal ones as they seem bitter that they have to tend my land but some of you Mexicans are pure grinches.
No wonder the free 26 is in the mess it is in with a load of sour pusses like youse running about.
Hope donegal slap it up ye and bring the trophy home to the hills.

CheFinny (UK) - Posts: 1358 - 11/09/2012 14:48:20    1264164

11/09/2012 14:15:46
boyblue

1264137 and what example is it to assault tv pundits coming out of croke park ?? be shamefully drunk , urinate in public and litter carelessly , and this is coming from a friend of mine who is a guard and works and the games. i would of thought dublin fans would be the worst at this but he told me he couldn't believe some of the states donegal fans where in !

A clubmate of mine lost his life after being assaulted by so called fans of an opposing team ie "Dublin"
However I don't hold the entire county to account for that

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 11/09/2012 14:49:14    1264166

11/09/2012 13:20:11
Floops

1264069 I'm just surpised that there's a carpark in Ballybofey that can hold 6000 Skylines & Imprezas

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 11/09/2012 15:07:36    1264189

since dgl2012 brought fans behaviour into this thread i was just stated the fact that donegal fans aren't all saints and some of there behaviour can be questionably at times

boyblue (Dublin) - Posts: 90 - 11/09/2012 15:07:50    1264190

boyblue

1263836 donegal winning the all-ireland will be like england winning the world cup , we're just never goina hear the end of it !

Bit like Dublin last year!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 11/09/2012 17:08:25    1264312

1264013 clondalkindub

1263982 If we all copy Donegal the game is Doom. And where have all these cocky Donegal bandwagon supporters come from??

I love the "we" in Clons post. Are you thinking of togging for next year?

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 11/09/2012 17:14:22    1264321

Well I play Gaelic football so I think 'we' is the right word to use muck head, no?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 11/09/2012 17:20:01    1264327

11/09/2012 12:08:04

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 11/09/2012 17:46:13    1264358

Antifa

Well said I know how you feel.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4954 - 11/09/2012 19:40:44    1264447

1264327 Well I play Gaelic football so I think 'we' is the right word to use muck head, no?

Well Clon, unless you are a county footballer, which I doubt, I can't see too many club teams trying what Donegal are doing as it would be far too physically demanding. I can't even see many county teams being able to do it properly and if you don't do it properly it will all come crashing down round your ears. A bit like Dublin's performance against Mayo which showed what happens when you don't put the work in.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 11/09/2012 20:03:33    1264473