Spillane assaulted by Donegal 'fans'!!!

benjyyy
It is a side effect, but only on people who are loutish in the first place. Not the other way around. Some people would have you believe that the main reason is the drink, but then if that was the case then wouldnt every person who drinks have this reaction? People hide behind the excuse of it being down to drink, becasue it is easier than facing the hard truth of it actually being down to the effect of drink on their own personality, which is a totally different thing.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 07/09/2012 11:16:01    1261398

clougherna

spillane ran donegal in to the ground last year tryed to put down every thing they worked hard for dublin played the same game in the semi final and he blew them up to be heros am not at all shocked he got a few shots

So he deserved to be hit by a bunch of cowards......ridiculous statement. If we all decided to hit everyone we didn't agree with well......there would be one hell of a fight if all the hoganstand posters ever got together.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11752 - 07/09/2012 11:22:27    1261407

1261368 Jimbo you know I love you buddy and your a way more intelligent guy than I'll ever be but I just can't agree with you on this one.
_________

Dont talk yourself down like that.

I'm no better than you or anyone else.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 07/09/2012 11:36:37    1261421

clougherna

spillane ran donegal in to the ground last year tryed to put down every thing they worked hard for dublin played the same game in the semi final and he blew them up to be heros am not at all shocked he got a few shots

Cop yourself on and follow the lead of the genuine Donegal posters on here.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 07/09/2012 11:44:16    1261429

clougherna

Sounds like o'rourke had far more to say thatn spillane to me. And even brolly agreed.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 07/09/2012 11:55:34    1261441

benjyyy

1261030 P.Mus

1260989 I got three tickets for the AI final yesterday was going bring the kiddies, not sure if it's safe now with with i'm reading about the donegal supporters. Prob stick them up on done deal later tonight.

NOT SURE IF SERIOUS?! But if so...forget about Donedeal...I'm your man....3 tickets would be absolutely perfect too (Goldilocks and all that)

Us Donegal are a vicious lot, stay away I say! Ps I can collect...

Sorry fella got them sold last night, made quite the few shillings on them to. It is badly awanting!

P.Mus (Cavan) - Posts: 386 - 07/09/2012 11:58:56    1261446

sedico

1261068 P.Mus

1260989 I got three tickets for the AI final yesterday was going bring the kiddies, not sure if it's safe now with with i'm reading about the donegal supporters. Prob stick them up on done deal later tonight.

You can say what you like about assaults on Pat Spillane but the above is a new low for GAA Fans.

Selling you kids on donedeal just to attend the AI Final. Shame on you.

LOL one finds that quite amusing. Cheers

P.Mus (Cavan) - Posts: 386 - 07/09/2012 12:04:25    1261453

P.Mus

1261446 benjyyy

1261030 P.Mus

NOT SURE IF SERIOUS?! But if so...forget about Donedeal...I'm your man....3 tickets would be absolutely perfect too (Goldilocks and all that)

Us Donegal are a vicious lot, stay away I say! Ps I can collect...

Sorry fella got them sold last night, made quite the few shillings on them to. It is badly awanting!
_______________________________________________________________________________________

Thats disgusting to hear

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1447 - 07/09/2012 12:05:49    1261457

Today's Independant.ie

"Mr Spillane said he had not reported the incident to gardai because he could not identify the people who had hit him."

I do believe that this incident did happen and it's a disgrace. I also believe that PS should have reported it to the authorities .. why? .. because the dutch gold cretins from every county will see this as been the norm and it won't be too long before anyone walking away from a game to be "fair target". These useless morons don't need an excuse to attack individuals or destroy property belonging to someone else. They have their social networks ,when they get sober, to discuss events of the day. The chances are that the Gardai would never be able to identify these culprits but sometime in the future another gang of gougers will get caught. Name them and shame them !!

Donegal supporters hold your heads up high. You have nothing to be ashamed of or apologise for. Every town in the country has more than it's fair share of these idiots (male and female). They carry on like this when they are at home so what's going to stop them from doing the same when they travel away for matches etc. Your reputation has not been tarnished in any way and I am looking forward to final. Hope it will be a good one and may the best team win.

P.S. On another matter .... Is it me or has the lead up to the Hurling final been extremely subdued ??

derrymore (Kerry) - Posts: 180 - 07/09/2012 12:06:30    1261460

Fair play derrymore, my sentiments exactly...

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9977 - 07/09/2012 12:29:57    1261487

Passed Pat on the day and there was plenty of cheering as he passed by but that's the sort of banter you'd expect. Can't believe some morons thought it was acceptable to physically abuse him and still can't understand how it happened with so many people around. Obviously, anyone who would give a man in his late fifties a dig should be condemned and preferably charged for it.

However, some of the comments on here are absolutely pathetic. I remember the incident ruanua mentioned and a few more besides and some of the posters should exercise a little awareness of their own "fans"' previous actions before tarring an entire county over the actions of a few thugs. These numpties were obviously Irish as well so does that mean that all Irish people are animals, according to your logic? Wise up.

It's a bit disheartening watching the scramble for the moral high ground and the geographical point-scoring that's happening here

Naomh Ultan Abú (Donegal) - Posts: 298 - 07/09/2012 12:31:06    1261489

He is a elderly man, so geriatrics of Ireland don't have a opinion that may differ with others as you are liable to be assaulted, this this thing about not real gaa fans is only sticking your head in stand and i doubt drink had much to do with it it's called been a coward and a ####bag.
All,counties have them but how proud they must be that a group of them had to beat up a sixty year old

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/09/2012 12:39:30    1261500

In fairness Pat never mentioned it and kept it quiet until Joe Brolly hinted at it on the last Sunday Game and then wrote in a paper about it. 10 days later he was contacted and only then went public. Always a few eejits let their friends/county down. I could list so many county fans, where a few isolated incidents by a few were not the norm for 99% of GAA supporters. Let it lie now.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 07/09/2012 12:45:58    1261509

07/09/2012 12:31:06
Naomh Ultan Abú

1261489 Passed Pat on the day and there was plenty of cheering as he passed by but that's the sort of banter you'd expect. Can't believe some morons thought it was acceptable to physically abuse him and still can't understand how it happened with so many people around. Obviously, anyone who would give a man in his late fifties a dig should be condemned and preferably charged for it.

However, some of the comments on here are absolutely pathetic. I remember the incident ruanua mentioned and a few more besides and some of the posters should exercise a little awareness of their own "fans"' previous actions before tarring an entire county over the actions of a few thugs. These numpties were obviously Irish as well so does that mean that all Irish people are animals, according to your logic? Wise up.

It's a bit disheartening watching the scramble for the moral high ground and the geographical point-scoring that's happening here

He (RIP) was from my club - Though puts in perspective some of the broad brush nonsense being spouted on here by posters including two from Dublin

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 07/09/2012 12:46:59    1261510

tir conaill abu ...what are you on about it is true of course why would pat lie ...this has been creeping in for quiet a while now since tryrone came on the scene

and the micky harte win at all costs game ...at the end of the day it is a game of football and if the northern teams want it that badly let them have sam and keep it

i want too go too games and be happy in the knowledge that it is safe too be there

traleegerry (Kerry) - Posts: 738 - 07/09/2012 12:57:39    1261524

traleegerry

1261524 tir conaill abu ...what are you on about it is true of course why would pat lie ...this has been creeping in for quiet a while now since tryrone came on the scene

and the micky harte win at all costs game ...at the end of the day it is a game of football and if the northern teams want it that badly let them have sam and keep it

You are trying to tell us that handbags at GAA matches only started 10 years ago??? This is revisionism gone mad.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 07/09/2012 13:05:06    1261536

traleegerry
If you would take the time to read my posts you would see that I have completely condemned this attack on Pat Spillane and have the utmost respect for the man. I didn't see the attack or the extent or severity of it but most posters on here seem to think they have. My point about the "true" part is that only Pat and the people involved know the truth on this so I am not going to speculate on what actually occurred. If he said he got a dig then so be it and I have previously condemned this.

There's a bigger picture here and it's not just a GAA thing, it's the overall behaviour of society. The culprit in this instance was from Donegal, I feel ashamed of that but it could be one of your own county men in the news in the future, like it was Louths with the attack on Sludden in the past. The true GAA fans are the ones posting on this forum otherwise why would they be here at all so I would appeal to everyone to take responsibility for your own actions at a game as its the game that will be tarnished and not just the fan or the county. We have other sports loving this negative press especially in my own county and are only too willing to put the boot in.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 07/09/2012 13:10:17    1261541

Thuggish behaviour of a small minority of idiots can't be used to cast a stain on the reputation of the many genuine Donegal fans who cause no trouble whatsoever. Every county, my own included has it's fair share of scumbags but thankfully they're heavily outnumbered by the genuine fans. And I seriously doubt any of these 'heroes' would've tried to hit Pat without their friends to back them up. He may be getting on but he's a lot bigger than people think..

dubupnorth (Dublin) - Posts: 1897 - 07/09/2012 13:12:15    1261545

only a child or a fool could really be offended by a tv pundits comments. Its ridiculous.

that said the vast, vast majority of donegal fans are brilliant people and great craic, it should never have happened but its just a storm in a tea cup at the end of the day. Looking forward to the final, am in section 302 hopefully full of Donegal fans

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4664 - 07/09/2012 13:29:55    1261565

traleegerry
...this has been creeping in for quiet a while now since tryrone came on the scene.and the micky harte win at all costs game ...at the end of the day it is a game of football and if the northern teams want it that badly let them have sam and keep it

gerry I regularly went to club matches in the Sportsfield (Austin Stack Park) Tralee in the 70's and 80's. "creeping in for quiet a while now" is a total joke. I was present on occassions where the booing, abuse hurdled at players and groups turning on each other was the order of the day. Not at every game by no means but there were days where under the old scoreboard was chancy to say the least. It was more prevalent at the football matches. The hurlers used to take care of all business on the playing field. Blinkers off gerry please as we cannot blame Tyrone or anyone else for this behaviour. Gladly I don't witness this carry on much any more but when I have unfortunately it has been at underage games.

"at the end of the day it is a game of football and if the northern teams want it that badly let them have sam and keep it "
And our Kerry lads didn't explode with joy/passion after beating Tyrone in Killarney.

We all need to take a step back and have a good look at ourselves. Nothing personal gerry. i haven't lived in Kerry for a long time but I can assure you this has been going on for years............ in all counties.

derrymore (Kerry) - Posts: 180 - 07/09/2012 13:56:42    1261595